Perfume Directory

Rive Gauche pour Homme (2003)
by Yves Saint Laurent

Advertisement

Rive Gauche pour Homme information

Year of Launch2003
GenderMasculine
AvailabilityIn Production
Average Rating
(based on 1217 votes)

People and companies

HouseYves Saint Laurent
PerfumerJacques Cavallier
SupplierFirmenich
Creative DirectorTom Ford
Parent CompanyL'Oréal Group > YSL Beaute
Parent Company at launchPinault-Printemps-Redoute > Gucci Group > YSL Beaute

About Rive Gauche pour Homme

Over thirty years since the launch of the original female Rive Gauche fragrance, comes this woody-fougere masculine partner, courtesy of Tom Ford.

Created by Firmenich's Jacques Cavallier (Issey Homme, Opium Homme, Ultaviolet Man). The scent was previously available in a refillable "intense" version, which has a stronger patchouli note.

Rive Gauche pour Homme fragrance notes

Reviews of Rive Gauche pour Homme

BoxPred Show all reviews
United Kingdom
Neoclassical. Masterfully crafted to modernise the classic barbershop scent. This is a fragrance I would class as potentially addictive. It just works.
25th September, 2017
Powdery, clean scent. A touch more lavender than I'd ideally like, so to my nose the balance is a little off, but that's a minor quibble. Not my favorite "barbershop" fragrance (that would be Derby), but a great addition to the collection that will get a lot of use on formal occasions.
05th September, 2017
It's not certain. Exactly where does the sweet and classy charm of this suave 70's style fougère come from? Is it the hint of patchouli mildew that makes an ordinary grey barbershop into something more intriguing?

Knowing La Collection to be a reformulation, the critic resolved to approach the juice in a spirit of objective scepticism. All resistance proved to be futile however as any doubts were effortlessly swept aside by its colossal loveliness - like a gnat in a blizzard.

The easy sophistication of this revised version (composed by Jacques Cavallier under the brilliant art direction of Tom Ford) completely ravaged the heart of the critic.

He is, consequently forced to admit that (whether or not the work was motivated by sly pastiche, retro heroics, or is simply a case of Watch out Azzaro!) todays Rive Gauche pour Homme is not only one of the most classically elegant and civilised masculines on the planet; thanks to the aforementioned fusty nuance it becomes, for the critic, one of the most chic Man Perfumes to be found anywhere in the known universe.

In the light of such a worthy opponent, Azzaro aka King of the Fougères, really should be a tad concerned.

****/*
01st August, 2017
This one is a classical "Gentleman's perfume" very good not only for daily office use but also for a dinner, a formal occasion or maybe just for personal comfort in a rainy October Saturday morning lying on the couch covered with a hand-made wool english blanket slowly sipping coffee from a mug.
The perfume remains all the time "tender", "soft", "powdery", somehow nostalgic.
It is a classical fougere which could easily be taken as an 80's, even a 70's made perfume definitely not staying in pace with it's contemporaries.
A splash of bergamot at the beginning followed almost immediately from a very well made lavender.
The Geranium is also very well made and makes a fantastic counterplay to the lavender. Creamy, powdery, just wonderful.
In the final phase i barely get the patchouli note but i really like the woodie accord.
On my skin it lasts around 8h.


8,5/10
29th May, 2017 (last edited: 08th June, 2017)
Rive Gauche is one of those fragrances that I could never imagine anyone disliking. There are other fragrances that I enjoy but I could also see that they are not everyone's cup of tea.

With Rive Gauche what you get is "clean". How can anyone not like "clean"? This is the ultimate Barbershop scent. Not a cheap back street Barbershop. We are talking a high class Parisian Barbershop from years gone by. The upper class gent.

Stunning! Just wish it lasted a little longer on me.
02nd May, 2017 (last edited: 13th June, 2017)
I finally got around to sampling YSL Rive Gauche Pour Homme today, and I'm impressed as I expected. Certainly within the fougere realm, but quite a bit cleaner and less spicy than some of its counterparts (like Chanel Pour Monsieur and YSL Jazz, for example), Rive Gauche lives up to the hype of being an understated gentleman's fragrance that, like the others, emanates maturity and class while not smelling too much of old men, or causing a stink.

Certainly the lavender plays in very significantly in Rive Gauche, as with most fougeres, but it's especially front-and-center to the effect of providing that cleanness into the dry down, following a bergamot/rosemary opening. I'm fortunate to not get too much of the star anise at the opening, as I'd be worried that it'd render it a bit too bitter for my liking. And it the dry down is the familiar mix of oakmoss and other woody/earthy notes--in this case, the soft, semi-sweet guaiac wood with the sharper, earthy patchouli.

A very impressive blend, and one that performs pretty well on my skin, great on longevity, but a more modest projector, contra the reports of some that get a lot of projection from it. It definitely pales in comparison to YSL Jazz or Chanel Pour Monsieur EDP, but it's still solid.

A welcome future addition to my collection, YSL Rive Gauche is yet another gentleman's staple I'm happy to have finally gotten around to trying.

8 out of 10
02nd May, 2017

Add your review of Rive Gauche pour Homme

You need to be logged in to add a review

Shop for Rive Gauche pour Homme products online

Shop for Rive Gauche pour Homme at online perfumeries

Search Amazon for Rive Gauche pour Homme

Member images of Rive Gauche pour Homme

There are no member images of Rive Gauche pour Homme yet. Why not be the first?

You need to log in or register to upload images

Private Notes

You need to be logged in (or register here) to use Private Notes.

Advertisement

Advertisement