Reviews by germanomio

    germanomio's avatar
    germanomio
    France France

    Showing 1 to 30 of 36.
    rating


    Epice Marine by Hermès

    Declaration on the seashore !
    No thing new to expect from this one

    01st January, 2014

    rating


    Un Jardin en Méditerranée by Hermès

    Oh! Hermès what have you done ?
    you ruined one of your most interesting fragrance : the reformulation smells cheap fig and very light in comparison of what it was
    very sad

    24 November, 2013

    rating


    Guerlain Homme L'Eau Boisée by Guerlain

    a very nice variation
    maybe better than original EdT and surely an improvement of the original l'Eau
    the vetiver note is zesty, slightly salty and not too rooty
    it gave me the same feeling as smelling a fresh vetiver root (I tried it in Madagascar)
    the IsoE is not too proeminent
    the overall impression is fresh and natural; it reminds me of Terre d'Hermès but lighter and far less synthetic (and it doesn't give headache as TdH !)

    20th August, 2012

    rating


    Eau d'Hermès by Hermès

    animal notes combined with a cologne style head and some white flowers
    the animal notes have been tempered down but it remains elegant and very unusual mix

    13 July, 2009

    rating


    L'Instant de Guerlain pour Homme Extreme by Guerlain

    more than a simple concentrated version of the eau de toilette, this eau extreme is wonderful mix of bitterness and sweetness, with a strong cocoa note
    a gourmand woody oriental

    very powerful, enormous sillage and staying power

    17 June, 2009

    rating


    Mitsouko Fleur de Lotus by Guerlain

    a wonderful variation on Mitsouko
    the original fragrance is still recognisable but softened by a floral note slightly watery
    great

    17 June, 2009

    rating


    Eau de Gentiane Blanche by Hermès

    contrary to what memechose wrote, gentiane has already been used in perfumery; an example is Guerlain Aqua Allegoria Gentiana

    but back to Hermes cologne: the opening is bitter and rooty, slighty earthy (I guess it's the gentiane note) with no citrus (as one could expect from a cologne) and it smells a little bit like a wet old paper ; this head note remains for a while then appears a woody note slightly green and rather fresh that reminds me of Bois d'Ombrie (is it olive tree?)

    quite unusual; longevity seems rather long for a cologne concentration

    24 April, 2009

    rating


    Eau de Pamplemousse Rose by Hermès

    a very good rendition of grapefruit
    you can get all the notes you smell while cutting a grapefruit: first the zest then the juice

    the drydown is very Ellena's style

    I recently tried Terre d'Hermes and suddently I understood what was Eau de Pamplemousse rose: it is the cologne variation of TDH , a strong grapefruit in the head with the same woody/mineral drydown in a lighter way
    I guess this one was not too difficult to conceive ...

    24 April, 2009 (Last Edited: 13 July, 2009)

    rating


    Habit Rouge Sport by Guerlain

    sorry but this variation is a complete failure (not to say a complete sh...)

    first the name : how to add the suffixe "sport" to the classic HR ? (if ever a sport fragrance does mean anything?) the spirit of HR (even if associated with horseriding) can't be associated with sweat!

    second the concept: why and how transforming an oriental into a fresh/sporty fragrance ? surely because all perfume designers are launching sport fragrances and that Guerlain needs to stay ahead on all the markets; but why choosing Habit Rouge ? Guerlain has recently released Homme that would be a perfect sport fragrance

    third the juice: it's no longer HR, all the oriental notes have vanished replaced by green notes (bamboo?) which don't smell sporty at all; to summarize: a disater

    the only thing to save would be the red bottle

    HR surely needs a lighter (the Eau de toilette légère wasn't particulary light), fresher variation that would appeal new consumers but not of this sort

    my first thumb down for a Guerlain

    31st March, 2009

    rating


    Sous Le Vent by Guerlain

    to me Sous le Vent is all about colours : the head is fresh-green with a hint of spices then it evolves toward something i would call yellow-green (a luminous feeling, like the first rays of sun on your face at spring with a gentle wind); the middle notes are back to fresh-green and soapy-green and the drydown is spicy-green (with a note that reminds me cinnamon?)
    very subtle and refined, very unisex

    11th March, 2009

    rating


    L'Ame d'un Héros by Guerlain

    to me , apart some details, it's indiscernable from Coriolan
    the opening is a little bit more transparent and "fizzing" than the original (or simply my bottle got old and the opening is not so bright)
    the overall evolution is same
    the drydown is a little bit lighter

    when Coriolan will no longer be available discounted on the Internet, L'Ame d'un Heros may come as a natural replacement
    i loved the original bottle and the bee one is alson magnificient

    11th February, 2009

    rating


    Pi by Givenchy

    overly sweet and synthetic !
    a shame

    12 January, 2009 (Last Edited: 13 July, 2009)

    rating


    Aqua Allegoria Laurier-Réglisse by Guerlain

    a very disappointing one
    where is the reglisse and where is the laurier ?
    the fragrance is confuse, as a sketch of what it should have been (or what i thought it would have been)

    neutral because it's Guerlain and it's my favorite House (all their releases can't be masterpieces...)

    08 September, 2008

    rating


    Aqua Allegoria Figue-Iris by Guerlain

    the Fig by Guerlain ...
    the only fig i know without coconut
    the fruity and green notes of the fig are associated with light milky notes
    the association with iris makes it very elegant and powdery , very feminine and quite gourmand scent

    08 September, 2008

    rating


    Guerlain Homme by Guerlain

    i found it fabulous in its style : it is certainly not a smell that we use to know from Guerlain even if i think they tried to make a synthesis of different notes from their other compositions
    the head is very fresh with lime and mint (a note found in some aqua allegoria, closer from the mint in Mentafollia rather this of Herba Fresca) and green and a little bit acid (with rhubarb), but the note of rhum was not detectable to me by itself but it certainly adds some strenght

    the floral accord in the middle is very pronounced with the geranium overwhelming (a strange unusual note indeed very masculine and also fresh); a hint of green tea is also present

    the drydown is maybe a little bit more formal and conventional but the woods are elegant, mixing vetiver and cedar (the vetiver note is a tribute to JPG's Vetiver) and very well crafted, but i did'nt perceived the rhubarb note; when i smell these basenotes it reminds me many things from other compositions (without being able to told which, something familar from other Guerlain)

    my overall impression is that they created something new, very different of the other fragrances for men released nowaday (of course they want it to be a good seller) with still the high standards of quality of this noble House

    the bottle is heavy and masculine and i like it a lot

    26 August, 2008 (Last Edited: 22 July, 2009)

    rating


    Aqua Allegoria Anisia Bella by Guerlain

    a great unisex summer fragrance
    fresh and light, slightly spicy and bitter and not sweet at all
    at first i was afraid to smell like "Pastis" (a french anised aperitive alcohol),
    but Guerlain made a very nice job and it appears that Anisia Bella is rather closer to the anise seed than to a liquor or a syrup
    i also get a note that reminds me salt or the seashore
    it's surely a particular fragrance and you must like anise to wear it
    discontinued from the Aqua Allegoria line but easily found discounted on the internet

    23 April, 2008

    rating


    Aqua Allegoria Mentafollia by Guerlain

    leaves of fresh mint crushed in the hand in the early morning while sun is rising and flowers around are opening their petals
    a fragrance fair to this view and which name corresponds excatly with the impressions created
    so fresh so minty (far more minty than Herba fresca)
    dedicated to hot sunny summer days

    23 April, 2008

    rating


    Aqua Allegoria Herba Fresca by Guerlain

    to me surely the best Aqua Allegoria
    a refreshing garden in spring while herbs are growing
    the mint, the fresh cut grass the aromatic herbs
    all are there while walking around, crushing some leaves in your hands
    barefoot in the grass
    wonderful and one the most evocative fragrances i have ever smelled

    23 April, 2008

    rating


    Bois d'Arménie by Guerlain

    a gorgeous fragrance
    a complex and perfect blend of woods and benjoin with a hint of vanilla and flowers
    it's sweet but not excessively so that it's suitable for a man
    a scent for winter, near the fire while snow is falling silently outside

    10th April, 2008

    rating


    Vetyver / Vétiver by Givenchy

    recently re-issued
    this is a smoky vetiver with a roasted note that reminds me of Hermessence Vetiver-Tonka (with a far greater longevity) mixed with the drydown of Terre d'Hermes
    also very reminescent of Guerlain's Vetiver original formula (the 80's one)
    it doesn't evolve a lot and the vetiver not isn't very pronounced
    the smokiness makes it rather a winter scent

    10th April, 2008

    rating


    Tam Dao by Diptyque

    a dry fresh clean sandalwood
    a little bit simple and prosaic but of high quality
    does not evolve a lot
    perfect for a young man or for office, as it's not an offensive scent

    09 April, 2008

    rating


    Oyédo by Diptyque

    thyme and mandarine
    simple fresh but a little bit too linear

    09 April, 2008

    rating


    Philosykos by Diptyque

    the top notes and the base notes are wonderful but the coconut in the heart is too much for my taste
    in the head you get the green and fresh fig (rather the fruit than the leaves) not too milky (compared to l'Artisan's one)
    once the coconut has disappeared Philosykos gives its best: a perfect blend between the woods (cedar) and the fig tree's leaves
    one of the most beautiful fig based fragrances

    09 April, 2008

    rating


    L'Instant de Guerlain pour Homme by Guerlain

    The EdT is fresh and light, opens with citrus/grapefruit and anise and a discreet note of cocoa and slowly evolves to a pleasant vanilla drydown with a bitter note
    Very different of all the man fragrances created in the last years
    Surely one of the most appreciable

    The EdP (eau extreme) shares the same notes as the EdT but the citrus opening is briefer, the heart and the drydown are at the same time very bitter and sweet
    a masterpiece

    03 April, 2008

    rating


    Mouchoir de Monsieur by Guerlain

    a kind of supreme elegance from past times
    a dandy's perfume

    one must dare wearing it, surely more difficult to wear than Jicky with which MDM shares many notes
    one of the most magnificient fougere ever created, light and fresh, slightly animalic due to civet (i guess that nowadays it's synthetic civet) with a powdery drydown
    ten thumbs up for me !

    03 April, 2008

    rating


    Égoïste / L'Égoïste by Chanel

    neither bad nor excellent nor original
    over-rated for sure
    i would rather say it's inoffensive
    a discreet masculine fragrance fresh and not too sweet

    08 January, 2008 (Last Edited: 13 July, 2009)

    rating


    Terre d'Hermès by Hermès

    an interesting fragrance in its topnotes that mix dry mineral notes, woods and hesperids
    but the drydown is ... non-existent !indeed, IMO, there's not really a drydown : all notes seem to stay the same in a very linear and boring way
    all what the fragrance has to "tell" us is done in the first minutes and then it just repeats itself
    and as the staying power is very long, one gets the same "conversation" all daylong;

    17 December, 2007

    rating


    Eau Sauvage by Christian Dior

    to me was great and innovative in the 60's but got old, very old nowaday...

    17 December, 2007

    rating


    L'Heure Bleue by Guerlain

    sublime !!!!
    a classic among classics

    17 December, 2007

    rating


    Mitsouko by Guerlain

    i've tried the new formulation
    and i found it far more pleasant that the old one
    yet they are very close, the new one has lost this "frying oil" odor i got in the old one and found so displeasant ; it's maybe less earthy and mysterious, but still as deep, rich and complex and surely more wearable by men even if it's more floral
    some will think a masterpiece has been massacred and some, as me, will think that a new masterpiece was born !

    17 December, 2007

    Showing 1 to 30 of 36.