Reviews by czesc

    czesc's avatar
    czesc
    Canada Canada

    Showing 1 to 30 of 71.
    rating


    Eau de Quinine by Crown Perfumery

    out of the bottle, very much like tonic water, on the skin more green notes... overall very dated, too dated even to be considered retro. I really don't think I could pull this off around people anywhere near my age (23) and I'm the type of guy to wear alot of (what can be considered) weird stuff... definatley not a blind buy!!

    22 August, 2006

    rating


    Epice Sauvage by Ayala Moriel

    didnt like this one, although theres no bitter orange listed in the notes, id say it was the predominant note in the frag. then alot of spice. didn't pick up on the honey at all. definatley willing to try her other offerings tho! :)

    18 August, 2006

    rating


    Grin by Ayala Moriel

    very old fashioned type, this will instantly bring you back to 1930 whether you were alive during that time or not :) one of my favs that ive tested from ayala so far

    18 August, 2006

    rating


    Opium pour Homme by Yves Saint Laurent

    was dissapointed by this one a bit, heavy on the vanilla and sweetness, predictable spices... not that there is anything wrong with it, just nothing particularily astounding here... still willing to try the EDP tho

    18 August, 2006

    rating


    Bandit by Robert Piguet

    starts nicely, a bit of green, baby power, civet, I could tolerate it and almost like it if it stayed like this, but then it just turns to civet and decay shortly after, and im talking like 5-10 minutes... I even tried it on 2 other people and the same thing happened. I'd watch out.. especially if your a guy trying to wear this!

    17 August, 2006

    rating


    Mackie for Men by Bob Mackie

    apparently women like this one, I have gotten compliments while wearing it, but I dont particularily like it... its very "odd". try it. also apparently theres a swiss army out there that rips this off but i don't know what its called

    21st June, 2006

    rating


    Eau d'Hadrien by Annick Goutal

    after a few years owning this fragrance and really mulling it over I have decided to give it a thumbs up. It is a bit like a lemon detergent at first spray, but the lemon smell is very natural, comparable to crown's "imperial" and the natural earthy tones on the drydown definatley save it, in fact more than save it, they make it a great fragrance.

    14 June, 2006

    rating


    Lalique pour Homme Blue / Faune by Lalique

    this really does smell liek a sweeter version of allure in a powdery base, its a hard pick between which one I would rather wear (lalique vs. chanel) each have their own character despite being almost identical. its a tough pick... but this is around 20$ on ebay so you might want to look into it :)

    30th May, 2006

    rating


    Tabac Blond by Caron

    too much of the extrait and you end up smelling like creed's russian leather, its far too potent and takes on a completely different harsh character if over-applied HOWEVER I learned the next day with just a dab its a wonderfully sexy balanced sweet leather thats never too cloying or too sweet. I really don't understand all the "feels like im doing something wrong when I put this on" and "its oh so naughty" type rah-rah about it. People just jump on the hype-wagon I guess.

    solid, well put together and unique leather fragrance, buy it / try it for that reason.

    16 May, 2006

    rating


    Allure Eau de Parfum by Chanel

    my girlfriend wears this, shes young (19, im 22) this is the only other chanel I've experienced other than the ones my mom wears (Coco, No.5, no.19 and Bois des Iles) and those four are far far superior. But its okay because she could be wearing worse :P

    12 May, 2006

    rating


    Joy by Jean Patou

    ultra heavy jasmine which is modified by rose iris and orchid, slight aldehyde note, spontaneous, very rich and natural upon application but unfortunatley this dries down too fecal :( thats the only drawback! This review was written for the 25ml EDT spray, I plan on trying both the EDP and the Pure Parfum in the future

    05 May, 2006

    rating


    Aramis by Aramis

    very dated, the bay leaf makes it almost smell like deli style dill pickles... gets better on the drydown. Definatley a classic but some classics better remain in memory than on the skin ;)

    27 April, 2006

    rating


    Paris by Yves Saint Laurent

    very undecided at first spritz, but calms down nicely after about an hour. from then on its absolutley intoxicating. One thing I must mention is that I smell alot more jasmine than rose, contrary to most of the other reviews

    27 April, 2006

    rating


    Duel by Annick Goutal

    pure black tea, and not my cup of tea let me tell you!

    26 April, 2006

    rating


    Sables by Annick Goutal

    I dont understand the many comparisons between this and Dior's Eau Noire, they smell absolutley nothing alike. This smells something like dry pastries and herbs and some sweet spices as well but I dont like the mixture of it at all. smells like someone's spice cupboard at home. just all mixed up

    26 April, 2006

    rating


    Pi by Givenchy

    vanilla and baby powder to start with just hints of synthetic fruityness, I really takes a long time to calm down into something warm and wearable, try it out yourself - you'll see what I mean. I do like it on the tail end of the drydown though

    25 April, 2006

    rating


    Shalimar by Guerlain

    I believe that somehow the whole perfume movement has evolved since the time where this perfume was considered groundbreaking, its seems very primitive, nothing special at all. I only tried the EDT but it left me very unimpressed (especially due to all the love it gets). kinda makes me scared to try the rest of the line for fear of similar disappointments!

    25 April, 2006

    rating


    M7 by Yves Saint Laurent

    smells just like diluted agarwood oil... whats all the excitement about?

    24 April, 2006

    rating


    Boss in Motion by Hugo Boss

    a fun frag for teenagers, way too much orangy candy vanilla for my tastes nowadays but I use to like it (back when I had no taste :).

    23 April, 2006

    rating


    The Dreamer by Versace

    too pungent and in your face, a big recommendation is a little known jewel named M by Mimmina (its not even in our directory yet), its basicly what the dreamer should have been

    23 April, 2006

    rating


    Obsession for Men by Calvin Klein

    probably the only CK thats truly outstanding, its a shame its been discontinued. so spicy so yummy! I use to spray the fur lining of my winter coat with this back in high school so the girlies would all put their noses in it at the bus stop :)

    23 April, 2006

    rating


    Acqua di Giò pour Homme by Giorgio Armani

    something unsettling about this one, sour and salty at the same time and cloying. I don't understand the mass appeal

    23 April, 2006

    rating


    Immense pour Homme by Jean-Louis Scherrer

    feels like I just got out of the rain with this one. Its very pleasant watery notes but not marine at all (ie: not a saltwater smell). Very fresh but without being overly fruity. Definate not a cloying/sweet frag. I had quite a large sampler of this would typically wear it on overcast summer days.

    22 April, 2006

    rating


    Candie's Men by Candie's

    probably one of the first frags I ever tried, I never owned a bottle but I had alot of samples. I really liked it back then and looking back now I think its pretty much one of the best "candy"ish mega fruity mens scents out there. I have really grown to dislike this category of scents however, and I still consider this worthy of its own existance so that tells you alot!

    22 April, 2006

    rating


    Daim Blond by Serge Lutens Les Salons du Palais Royal Shiseido

    its nice but its a little too light for my tastes, really doesnt announce your presence, and it stays very close to the skin on the drydown. I always thought I smelled a bit of cedar on the drydown which is not one of my favourite woods. overall I give this a thumbs up from an objective perspective.

    21st April, 2006

    rating


    Lipstick Rose by Editions de Parfums Frederic Malle

    very musky rose, try rose muskimee by MPG, its the same concept but better on the drydown in my opinion.

    21st April, 2006

    rating


    Cuir de Russie by Creed

    very dated, not something a young guy such as myself could wear (im 22). Its very very lemony to start and dries down into a pleasant but cold leather. I could see this really working on an older guy but its not something a young fly gangsta such as myself could work

    21st April, 2006

    rating


    Musc Ravageur by Editions de Parfums Frederic Malle

    much better put together than epices noir in my opinion, very sweet and musky with a bit of amber and perhaps some woods? however it doesnt really have any je ne sais quoi to it to make it bottleworthy. this will end up another sampled and filed perfume in my history books.

    21st April, 2006

    rating


    cK one by Calvin Klein

    if you put all your pretentions aside (check my wardrobe) this is really not a bad scent. I find it similar in concept to gendarme but a bit sweeter. Its a truly unique scent and I have to give it a thumbs up

    21st April, 2006

    rating


    cK be by Calvin Klein

    ck one's partner in crime, I use the soap in the shower its nice and clean, its not something I would wear as a fragrance tho

    21st April, 2006

    Showing 1 to 30 of 71.