Perfume Reviews

Reviews by Stereotomy

Total Reviews: 120

L'Homme by Yves Saint Laurent

Gold metallic powdery with light shining amber base. Good in warm weather. Can dry down to a cheapish-hollow feeling.
20th June, 2015

Sun Men by Jil Sander

Sweet balsamic woody oriental. Looks like a dense scent from application onwards. However, near the end it becomes very thin and synthetic. Does develop well in heat.
31st March, 2013

Tom Ford Noir by Tom Ford

Guerlain's Habit Rouge in a modern habit. The typical floral-dirty note of Habit Rouge is toned down, but the powdery remains. The citrus opening is also toned down, instead replaced by a darker, medicinal-herbal opening.
20th February, 2013
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Tom Ford Extreme by Tom Ford

Tom Ford Japon Noir on oriental steroids! I can't see people's comparison with Black Orchid. It's much too dark, broody, not sweet enough and herbal for that.

Japon Noir however, I can see a faint image of that in TF Extreme. The last part of the drydown is similar to the heart of Japon Noir, only less loud.

TF Extreme: it's bitter, herbal, slightly sweet and definitely packs a punch. I like.
19th February, 2013

Tsar by Van Cleef & Arpels

Van Cleef and Arpels going the formal fougère side. Less sweet compared to Pasha, more powdery-herbal, less wood in the middle. More work than play, for more mature people.
19th February, 2013

Pasha by Cartier

Minty chypre-fougère, slightly sweet, slightly formal, old-fashioned. Herbal component in the top, rosewood component lurking in the middle. Reminds me of YSL's Jazz, although Pasha is more formal.

Would classify it as a summer chypre, not too cloying and the mintyness gives it a cooler vibe in the heat.
19th February, 2013

Grey Vetiver by Tom Ford

Ah, the power of suggestion. Smelling Grey Vetiver, the color grey immediately comes to mind, and following that an image of Grey Flannel.

It's a more subdued Grey Flannel offering, less dusty, more vetivery. Very serious, no play. I smell a grey haze. People liken it to Encre Noir and I have to concur with the vetiver base. Grey Vetiver however is more powdery, somewhat sweeter, than Encre Noir.
18th February, 2013

Neroli Portofino by Tom Ford

Tom Ford goes Acqua di Parma. A soft neroli/bergamot combo, subdued, understated. If you like these colognes (Parma, Genova) but find them too sharp generally, then Neroli Portofino is a nice alternative.
18th February, 2013

Bulgari Man by Bulgari

Very shrill, thin, unclothed Bulgari Homme Soir. Fits in the same category as Bleu de Chanel, which was also launched around this time. A 'smells nice in the office' woody-violet scent. Very safe, very middle management.

Prefer Bulgari PH by a mile.
31st October, 2010

Blu Mediterraneo Tuscan Cypress / Cipresso di Toscana by Acqua di Parma

Acqua di Parma's mainstream aquatic line with a niche twist. Cipresso di Toscana is very agreeable.

A fresh, aquatic light oriental, with a dash of wood (cypress they say, but could be a synthetic with the impression of cypress) and a fresh, slightly minty smell on top of it. Mix in some lightly spicy floral component, and you got this product.
14th August, 2010

Allure Homme Sport by Chanel

Citrus - synthetic woody with a slight sweet vanillic aftertaste in the white musk bottom. Smells pleasant, like a mid-level manager.
01st August, 2010

Allure Homme Edition Blanche Eau de Toilette by Chanel

A creamy lemon on a synthetic sandalwood base. Very Chanel Allure Homme-series. Smells like a mid-level manager in a multinational.
31st July, 2010

L'Eau de L'Artisan by L'Artisan Parfumeur

Light inoffensive floral (synthetic) muskyness. Dries down to a slightly feminine base. Way overpriced, but if you got the budget and want to complete your L'Artisan collection: why not.
10th July, 2010
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Idole de Lubin by Lubin

Very mellow, mild woody oriental with a saffron twist.

It's not loud at all, just a woody, slightly-slightly medicinal heart with saffron. More formal than fun. In the beginning there is some tartness, but this subsides quickly when moving into the middle notes.

It's okay, I suppose.
09th June, 2010

Fierce by Abercrombie & Fitch

Big 'meh' after finally trying this one out. Not that it's a bad fragrance for teenagers or young adults, it's just that this theme, a woody aquatic, has been done before.

I can imagine a lot of teenage girls swooning for this one.
09th June, 2010

Live Jazz by Yves Saint Laurent

Aromatic, woody-citrus with a spearminty twist.

Dries down to a Bond No 9 Riverside Drive-kinda thing, minus the obviously more expensive Ambergris-part in Riverside Dr.

Not bad at all.
23rd May, 2010

Eau des Baux by L'Occitane

A vanilla-woody-almost gourmand. The cypress is featured prominently here, being a woody note that you haven't smelled that often before in other scents.

I find the base a bit cloying though, lots of sweet amber and vanilla.

Could wear this as a clubbing scent, but not sure how the wood will be interpreted by the people around you.

It's not a bad scent - certainly not for this price - but I'm not raving about it as some others.
15th May, 2010 (last edited: 21st June, 2010)

Rose 31 by Le Labo

Very light, transparant, soft woody-rose. I picture a rose in a sterile clean room when I smell this scent. Very different than the roses found in Hammam Bouquet, C&S No. 88 or Floris No 89 and the likes.

Very wearable, not so much original, and quite expensive. Oh and, I'd say this is perfectly unisex, and a summery floral scent.
09th April, 2010

Bleecker Street by Bond No. 9

Yeah, I don't know about Bond No. 9. They pump out fragrances that are barely more exciting than offerings from Axe/Lynx, but somehow when you smell it, you do detect layers and some form of complexity in it.

Riverside drive is a light green woody oriental, but the base reminds me of Bulgari PH (pepper) mixed with Bond's Riverside Drive.
09th April, 2010

Dans Tes Bras by Editions de Parfums Frederic Malle

Moderately high pitched, slightly sweet, powdery floriental. Feminine, would be attractive when paired with the right woman / outfit.
03rd April, 2010

Bois d'Iris by The Different Company

Very sterile woody/iris/honey scent, like a high end store freshner.
03rd April, 2010

A Scent by Issey Miyake

Starts off very soapy. Dries down to a powdery synthetic floral. Meh.
11th March, 2010

Steam Aoud / Oud Hoggar Mota by Montale

I like this one, though I don't really care for most of the Montale line. It starts off with the smell that you know from freshly dried clothing out of your dryer. A bit of powdery detergent, and fabric softner.

I like the drydown though: it reminds me of something between Timbuktu and Dzongkha. A slightly spicy woody dry white musk.
28th January, 2010

Jasmin et Cigarette by Etat Libre d'Orange

Oh I like. I own L'Occitane's Thé Vert au Jasmin, and Etat's Jasmin et Cigarette is the more mature, more indolic, slightly sweeter, slightly more oriental version of the L'Occitane.

The jasmin used in Jasmin et Cigarette is the indolic kind, so you might smell a bit poopy at first. The drydown is very, very nice. The scent becomes warm (instead of cool, which is the case with the L'Occitane), and the indolic part retreats a bit to make way for the sweet tobacco accord and the soft, powdery jasmin.

Not bad at all. Longevity is poor, sillage is okay.

23rd January, 2010

White Aoud by Montale

Sweet, soft white musk. Very sensual, and would look better on a woman than a guy. Maybe some synthetic, non-indolic, powdery jasmine in the middle?
22nd January, 2010

Aoud Lime by Montale

This one smells like how cleaner used to clean household utilities shops should smell. Or maybe something to freshen up the airconditioning in the shop. Very citrussy, and a slight, light oriental twist in the middle. Guess it's the aoud.
22nd January, 2010

Citrus Bigarrade by Creed

Creed's version of the Aqua di <insert Italian city name> -like scents.

Its citrus is sharper and edgier than Aqua di Genova, and it lacks the rose + woods of Aqua di Parma Colonia.

I'd rate it behind the aforemented two scents. If you're a Creed fanatic, you might like this as your summer Eau de Cologne. Might also repel some bugs, as it contains a lot of citral and stuff.
21st January, 2010

Baie de Genièvre by Creed

I like it. You gotta smell this one on the skin, as it's a heavy scent. The basenotes of orientals don't seem to come off of paper that wel.

It actually smells like a slightly toned down Serge Lutens, with sweet woods similar to the ones used in Santal Blanc or Miel de Bois. It's not as bombastic as Lutens scents though

Not bad.
21st January, 2010

Vocalise by Maître Parfumeur et Gantier

Fruity floral with winegum aspects. Nice if you like fruity florals and have the snobbery to go to niche for that.

Depending on how pretty a girl is, I'd hit Vocalises.
09th January, 2010

Paestum Rose by Eau d'Italie

Fresh, slightly sweet rose. Light woody, light balsem support. Nice for a summer or spring day.
22nd December, 2009