Reviews by david

    david's avatar
    david
    France France

    Showing 1 to 15 of 15.
    rating


    Aventus by Creed

    Synthetic dishwasher and fabric softener fragrance rolled into one.

    22 March, 2013

    rating


    Fishbone Man by Fishbone

    I disagree entirely with PigeonMurderer on this one.

    This is a very simple blend, based around caramom and grapefruit.
    The simplicity of this fragrance is its beauty.Great for Summer daytime wear.
    I have received more compliments wearing this than any other fragrance !!!
    I´m pretty sure the directory has listed the wrong notes for this fragrance.
    This is exactly the same fragrance as Marrakesh Tales, (re-issued under a different name).
    Well worth tracking down.
    5 STARS*****

    18 May, 2011

    rating


    Marrakesh Tales by Mäurer & Wirtz

    A very underrated and unknown gem.A simple blend, based around grapefruit and cardamom - a dry fresh fragrance, excellent for summer daytime wear. Its simplicity is its beauty. I HAVE HAD MORE COMPLIMENTS WEARING THIS THAN ANY OTHER FRAGRANCE !!!
    scmcg is absolutely right - Fishbone Man is exactly the same fragrance,( re-issued under a different name.)
    Both are discontinued and hard to find, but worth tracking down. 5 STARS*****

    18 May, 2011

    rating


    Blend 30 by Dunhill

    I agree entirely with Dry_Martini´s review.
    I did a back-to-back strip card test of Blend 30 and Patou Pour Homme. The similarities are remarkable. They are twins !!

    03 March, 2011

    rating


    Lord Molyneux by Molyneux

    It seems that I am really at odds with everyone else on this one.
    I am very impressed with it. It reminds me very much of Boss Spirit. It is, as with Boss Spirit, VERY STRONG, so it is easy to overdose.
    This fragrance, released one year before, was very much the forerunner to Boss Spirit.

    09 February, 2011

    rating


    Piazza di Spagna by Roccobarocco

    This is a copy of Cool Water.
    No more needs to be said.

    28 January, 2011

    rating


    Kéora by Jean Couturier

    This is a real insider tip and worth tracking down. A handsome flacon, similar to the art decco Patou pour Homme flacon.
    The juice itself - a rich smooth vanilla oriental. Quite spicy, with the merest hint of sweet pink bubblegum. Goes in the direction of Shalimar.

    30th September, 2010 (Last Edited: 13 February, 2014)

    rating


    Burberry for Men (Version #2) by Burberry

    A very underrated fragrance. I do not agree with the negative review at all.
    A wonderful warm amber fragrance. Very classy and longlasting.Perfect for winter.

    27 September, 2010

    rating


    Bleu de Chanel by Chanel

    Cheap and nasty synthetic disaster of a fragrance. Slightly less in the face than Cool Water,............but only slightly.

    10th September, 2010 (Last Edited: 19 October, 2012)

    rating


    Carven Homme by Carven

    I nearly fainted when I first tried this in a tiny perfumery in france.
    I wasn´t expecting very much after Carven´s new formula Vetiver and their slightly downmarket image here in france. This is one of the most beautiful perfumes ever created. It is now on my top 5 list.
    I do not see the Gucci Envy link here, and it has absolutely nothing to do with Zino.
    It has all the beautiful rich quality of L´Instant Pour Homme from Guerlain. Not the edt version, but the Eau de Parfum version. This is a safe blind buy. You won´t be disappointed! Get it fast !! It has definitely been DISCONTINUED, and you can find it for knock down prices on the net.

    17 March, 2010 (Last Edited: 09 February, 2013)

    rating


    Eau Noire Cologne by Christian Dior

    The most beautiful perfume ever created.

    30th April, 2008

    rating


    Vetiver Hombre by Adolfo Dominguez

    Beautiful, sophisticated and ultra masculine. One of the best vetiver perfumes ever created.
    This remains permenantly on my top ten list.

    23 April, 2007

    rating


    Burberry London for Men by Burberry

    Thi is a clone of Angel Innocent.
    After the drydown gets very ugly.

    12 January, 2007

    rating


    Tabac Blond by Caron

    In my view this is the ultimate perfume.
    Suitable for both women and men.It smells like a million dollars.Luxury pure.A timeless classic.
    Eat your heart out no.5

    09 June, 2005 (Last Edited: 17 November, 2011)

    rating


    Poivre by Caron

    Fantastic.A very narcotic perfume.
    The pure perfume is incredibly rich.You only need half a dab.The ruby red colour is amazing.
    A wonderful fusion of black pepper and clove.

    09 June, 2005

    Showing 1 to 15 of 15.