Reviews

Reviews by david

Advertisement

J Casanova pour Homme by J Casanova

Vintage J. Casanova pour Homme is almost an exact copy of Cacharel pour Homme.
25th December, 2014

Joop! Nuit d'Été by Joop!

A masterpiece, sadly overlooked. Perhaps not known outside Germany ?
Think classic Secret de Venus/ Zibeline from Weil. There you have it.
A masterpiece.
26th September, 2014

Aventus by Creed

Synthetic dishwasher and fabric softener fragrance rolled into one.
22nd March, 2013
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Fishbone Man by Fishbone

I disagree entirely with PigeonMurderer on this one.

This is a very simple blend, based around caramom and grapefruit.
The simplicity of this fragrance is its beauty.Great for Summer daytime wear.
I have received more compliments wearing this than any other fragrance !!!
I´m pretty sure the directory has listed the wrong notes for this fragrance.
This is exactly the same fragrance as Marrakesh Tales, (re-issued under a different name).
Well worth tracking down.
5 STARS*****
18th May, 2011

Marrakesh Tales by Mäurer & Wirtz

A very underrated and unknown gem.A simple blend, based around grapefruit and cardamom - a dry fresh fragrance, excellent for summer daytime wear. Its simplicity is its beauty. I HAVE HAD MORE COMPLIMENTS WEARING THIS THAN ANY OTHER FRAGRANCE !!!
scmcg is absolutely right - Fishbone Man is exactly the same fragrance,( re-issued under a different name.)
Both are discontinued and hard to find, but worth tracking down. 5 STARS*****
18th May, 2011

Blend 30 by Dunhill

I agree entirely with Dry_Martini´s review.
I did a back-to-back strip card test of Blend 30 and Patou Pour Homme. The similarities are remarkable. They are twins !!
03rd March, 2011

Lord Molyneux by Molyneux

It seems that I am really at odds with everyone else on this one.
I am very impressed with it. It reminds me very much of Boss Spirit. It is, as with Boss Spirit, VERY STRONG, so it is easy to overdose.
This fragrance, released one year before, was very much the forerunner to Boss Spirit.
09th February, 2011

Piazza di Spagna by Roccobarocco

This is a copy of Cool Water.
No more needs to be said.
28th January, 2011

Kéora by Jean Couturier

This is a real insider tip and worth tracking down. A handsome flacon, similar to the art decco Patou pour Homme flacon.
The juice itself - a rich smooth vanilla oriental. Quite spicy, with the merest hint of sweet pink bubblegum. Goes in the direction of Shalimar.
30th September, 2010 (last edited: 13th February, 2014)

Burberry for Men (Version #2) by Burberry

A very underrated fragrance. I do not agree with the negative review at all.
A wonderful warm amber fragrance. Very classy and longlasting.Perfect for winter.
27th September, 2010

Bleu de Chanel by Chanel

Cheap and nasty synthetic disaster of a fragrance. Slightly less in the face than Cool Water,............but only slightly.
10th September, 2010 (last edited: 19th October, 2012)

Carven Homme (original) by Carven

I nearly fainted when I first tried this in a tiny perfumery in france.
I wasn´t expecting very much after Carven´s new formula Vetiver and their slightly downmarket image here in france. This is one of the most beautiful perfumes ever created. It is now on my top 5 list.
I do not see the Gucci Envy link here, and it has absolutely nothing to do with Zino.
It has all the beautiful rich quality of L´Instant Pour Homme from Guerlain. Not the edt version, but the Eau de Parfum version. This is a safe blind buy. You won´t be disappointed! Get it fast !! It has definitely been DISCONTINUED, and you can find it for knock down prices on the net.
17th March, 2010 (last edited: 09th February, 2013)

Eau Noire Cologne by Christian Dior

The most beautiful perfume ever created.
30th April, 2008
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Vetiver Hombre by Adolfo Dominguez

Beautiful, sophisticated and ultra masculine. One of the best vetiver perfumes ever created.
This remains permenantly on my top ten list.
23rd April, 2007

Burberry London for Men by Burberry

Thi is a clone of Angel Innocent.
After the drydown gets very ugly.
12th January, 2007

Poivre by Caron

A gorgeously narcotic perfume.
The pure perfume is incredibly rich.You only need a single dab.The ruby red colour is amazing.
A wonderful fusion of black pepper,clove and carnation.
09th June, 2005 (last edited: 12th January, 2015)

Tabac Blond by Caron

In my view this is the ultimate perfume.
Suitable for both women and men.It smells like a million dollars.Luxury pure.A timeless classic.
Eat your heart out no.5
09th June, 2005 (last edited: 17th November, 2011)