Reviews by runstile

    runstile's avatar
    runstile
    United States United States

    Showing 1 to 15 of 15.
    rating


    El Attarine by Serge Lutens Les Salons du Palais Royal Shiseido

    I visited Paris in the spring and was set of bringing back a bell jar, and this was it. After going to the boutique twice, I ended up with this one.

    The top starts off bright, and yes it does have some immprtelle/cumin in it, which gives it an edge. The heart is certainly honeyed, but not sickeningly so such as in Rahat Loukoum and not sweet as in Louve @Off-Scenter. The apricot dominates, and as far as I'm concerned, are just right in sweetness (in reality and in this composition). The drydown is composed of dusty woody notes that give a nice foundation.

    I am very familiar with this line, and while this might be a brighter, woodier, stinky Daim Blond, I love it. I was looking for something distinctive and I got it. MKK seemed cuddly in comparison.

    22 September, 2011 (Last Edited: 26 June, 2014)

    rating


    Etienne Aigner No. 2 by Etienne Aigner

    A very smooth, powdery spicy scent. The citrus in the top fades nicely into this soft base that smells almost identical to Sisley's Ecological Compound (a face moisturizer). A classical scent.

    09 February, 2009

    rating


    Shalimar by Guerlain

    I tested both the EDC and EDT. I wasn't too fond of the EDC, it was a little too powdery. However, the EDT on my wrist was amazing. At first, it was a little too feminine, it might have been the powdery iris heart, but once the base came through, it was amazing! The ambery dry down persisted 24 hours on my skin and was heavenly. I finally see what everyone is talking about.

    02 December, 2008

    rating


    Dior Homme by Christian Dior

    I bought this one after testing it on my wrist, not too blown away. I'm glad I decided to order some online, because this scent is fantastic. Yeah, it goes on a little powdery at first, similar to lipstick I guess, however, the other notes are refreshing and the development is silky smooth. The dry down is incredible, a soft, sweet, but earthy scent. I couldn't quit sniffing my wrist about 4 hours into it. Longevity and sillage are also very good. 5 stars!

    11th October, 2008

    rating


    Douce Amère by Serge Lutens Les Salons du Palais Royal Shiseido

    Initially its a blast of anise and some warm vanilla (I think). Afer a few minutes, the anise settles and takes a seat to the other accords. This juxtaposition of notes is quite enjoyable. I almost get a coconut note in the base, but I think its the blend of cinammon, vanilla, and anise. This is a great sweet scent for either gender.

    11th October, 2008

    rating


    Prada Amber pour Homme by Prada

    This scent was probably my gateway to my fragrance addiction. I wore the hell out of it in the summer of 2005 and now it remains as a comforting, soft, warm and slightly luxurious scent for evening or cooler weather. It is a great comfort scent and the deluxe bottle with atomizer makes a great statement!

    02 October, 2008

    rating


    Dzing! by L'Artisan Parfumeur

    Heaven in a bottle. This is a buzzy, bubbly vanilla that mellows out and lasts forever (12 hours on me, although I always moisturize), has perfect sillage with 1 or 2 sprays, and garners compliments from everyone. I get a bit of leather and smokey odors, along with the vanilla/burnt sugar note, but words don't describe it. My new found staple.

    29 September, 2008 (Last Edited: 28 June, 2009)

    rating


    Premier Figuier by L'Artisan Parfumeur

    Purplebird has it right with real and raw, however, I think this adds to its sensuality. My favorite go to for a sensual summer scent that is totally unisex. I love the richness it has along with the fresh green notes, a great contrast. Longevity is great for eau de toilette, I've smelled it the next morning. If you don't mind coconut and you're a fan of green scents, you'll probably like this one.

    19 September, 2008

    rating


    Kouros by Yves Saint Laurent

    Tested this the other day at Perfumania, where the SA (who likes BLV Bulgari and other light scents) was repulsed. I don't care, she was also repulsed by Shalimar and many other great feminine scents. I happened to love this one. I won't bother listing the notes, but it is oddly fresh and spicy at the same time. I think it is the florals that keep me coming back, I love geranium. For some reason it conjures up vivid feelings of nostalgia; to me, this is the most important part of fragrance. I think I remember smelling it on my dentist? Not sure, but I will buy a bottle soon enough!

    29 May, 2008

    rating


    Bois du Portugal by Creed

    There's something about this scent alright. At its first impression, it does remind me of my grandfather. However, this is the scent that all fakes were made to be. This is the original, natural, pure expression of dominant masculinity. The top notes of citrus and lavender are heavenly and addicting, while the base softens up and lasts almost like a Lutens, very un-Creed like in its longevity. I own two sample decants, and will have a bottle by next fall!

    19 May, 2008

    rating


    Lime, Basil & Mandarin by Jo Malone

    A good scent, great for relaxing summer days/nights. Lasts great for a cologne. It does have a sourness to it, but I like it and I've gotten lots of compliments on it.

    19 April, 2008 (Last Edited: 30th April, 2008)

    rating


    Oxygène Homme by Lanvin

    ugh. top notes ruined it for me, stinky, almost cumin like. Maybe its the coriander and juniper, I don't know for sure. Dry down was not bad tho, and lasted a while.

    13 April, 2008

    rating


    Wall Street by Bond No. 9

    It has a great opening, bright and fresh with some richness. After a few hours, it fades into something not so complicated but smooth and present, with consistent, moderate sillage. It also has excellent longevity. Ladies love it, I've gotten tons of compliments, however it is still not my favorite scent.

    27 December, 2007 (Last Edited: 15 July, 2008)

    rating


    Erolfa by Creed

    Lemon/Tangerine, salty ocean air, herbs. That is the initial blast of Erolfa, condensing itself into some woody notes along with the salt remaining later. This is my favorite daytime/summer fragrance, and lasts a good while (5-8 hours) on my skin with 2 sprays. The sillage is decent, but it is really a close-to-skin scent after the first few hours, only satisfying the wearer and whomever is lucky enough to get closer. I'm writing this review and smelling my wrist at the same time, and I still can't describe something about it. It is elusive (read Vibert) and this keeps me coming back to smell; it is truly addictive!

    12 December, 2007 (Last Edited: 09 May, 2008)

    rating


    Ambre Sultan by Serge Lutens Les Salons du Palais Royal Shiseido

    Ambre Sultan blasts you away with the initial top notes;, spices, pepper, and some sourness (herbs). Then the drydown develops into warm vanilla and woods which lasts forever. The sillage is quite good too. I've had different reactions from people; some say it smells like playdogh, some vanilla, some just "warmth". Sadly, my partner hates it!. Oh well, I still adore it, it is a masterfully structured creation.

    03 December, 2007

    Showing 1 to 15 of 15.