Reviews by Calyx93

    Calyx93's avatar
    Calyx93
    United States United States

    Showing 1 to 8 of 8.
    rating


    Missoni (new) by Missoni

    chocolate pool water (the chlorinated kind) - revolting. like dior's dune from a nightmare dimension.

    03rd March, 2014

    rating


    Kanøn Agarwood by Kanon

    I'll echo Swanky's thought that this remotely resembles MPG's Parfum d'Habit. I've worn that lovely juice for years, despite the reformulation, and this certainly bears more than a passing resemblance to the current formulation, but in a very mainstream sort of way. Has the same mossy, leathery opening notes - like old, wet, leather breeches with a touch of horse-hair - but in a petrochemical sort of way.

    It does seem to fall flat rather quickly - revealing even more of its synthetic nature, but it's okay and for the price there are much worse scents available. Just go easy on the sprays and don't expect anything remotely resembling agarwood in the mix.

    04th January, 2013 (Last Edited: 01st March, 2014)

    rating


    Royall Muske by Royall Lyme of Bermuda

    A warm, mild musk accompanied by light bay/pimento, nutmeg and other Caribbean spices - nothing too strong or synthetic. The base musk itself is similar to the one used in Kiehl's Original Musk, but the similarity ends there. It's very comforting and somewhat barber shop in its feel. Musk anosmia comes somewhat soon and the spices are all you'll smell, but people encountering you will still smell the warm musk.

    Perfect for the hot weather - humidity helps it with sillage, but spray some on your shirt and hair to help with the longevity. This is one fragrance I always travel with since it offends no-one and is still different enough to make it interesting.

    17th April, 2011

    rating


    Missoni Colori Collection: Arancio by Missoni

    Initially a very bright and cheerful burst of mandarin and bitter orange - I don't really get the persimmon - probably because they don't have much odor of their own. It's very refreshing and similar to the effect that one gets when first applying Hermes D'Orange Vert Concentre. Unfortunately, that refreshing phase goes by fairly quickly and reveals a rather synthetic smelling citrus caricature - very much in the direction of household cleansers and liquid hand soaps :(

    When layered by the other notes of the collection or immersed amongst them within the original Missoni perfume, it's possible that this artificial personality might go unnoticed. However, it's just too stark on its own to really be a standalone fragrance. I'm having luck layering it upon ambers and patchoulis - gives them a light, modern lift. Considering the Colori collection that this comes from contains the other three main notes of the original perfume, maybe that's only way it's meant to be used - like a twist of rind over a Negroni cocktail.

    *UPDATE - Just decided that it layers rather nicely with Gaultier Ma Dame - somehow the bright yet synthetic tinged citrus of Arancio accents the already neon pink of Ma Dame in just the right way. It rides out on top the rest of Ma Dame's plastic baby-doll rose note and keeps the monochrome fleshy pink a good bit more interesting.

    18th February, 2011 (Last Edited: 29th March, 2011)

    rating


    Love (new) by Aveda

    Weak Australian sandalwood and a bit of limp floral notes - initially nice, but with a bit of a health-food store vibe. It wears off WAY too fast for the price. Nothing "absolute" about this stuff. Tried the Ancient Attar too - slightly more engaging, but it's even more awkwardly balanced and just as short-lived as this stuff.

    Use your money wisely. Get an Amouage attar or true Middle Eastern attars and experience some real rose + sandalwood satisfaction.

    04th January, 2011

    rating


    Fleur de Cabotine by Grès

    Like a very expensive clothes-dryer sheet. Lovely, if that's what you want to smell like. I happen to love it - it makes me feel incredibly clean. It's better than rubbing yourself down with fabric softener - very clean ,very clean - lots of galaxolide from what my nose tells me.

    31st October, 2010

    rating


    Déclaration by Cartier

    Sounded like a winner to me, then I tried it on. Ugh - like a rotten picnic basket - a spoiled food cloud hung over me - nothing like Eau D'Hermes at all, apart from the cumin note. I then took it to a party to give to the host - smelled about the same on him, BUT when sprayed on guest (female), it blossomed into a gorgeous frag - absolutely stunning. Guess it's just down to chemistry really.

    07th September, 2009

    rating


    Rive Gauche pour Homme Intense by Yves Saint Laurent

    (Currently being edited/updated).

    12th October, 2007 (Last Edited: 20th November, 2009)

    Showing 1 to 8 of 8.




Loving perfume on the Internet since 2000