Reviews by donna255

    donna255's avatar
    donna255
    Northern Ireland Northern Ireland

    Showing 1 to 19 of 19.
    rating


    In Peace by Space NK

    This one is not ground breaking in any sense of the word.

    Soft clean powdery. Very wearable Actually makes me think of Donna Karan's Cashmere Mist

    14 April, 2012

    rating


    Bas de Soie by Serge Lutens Les Salons du Palais Royal Shiseido

    Nothing like No19.

    Starts with a hint of spicy hyacinth, then comes the iris cool grey and airy.
    Like Cellophane this does not have big sillage.

    I totally love it.

    05 August, 2010 (Last Edited: 31st August, 2010)

    rating


    Y by Yves Saint Laurent

    I have the parfum and the edp versions of Y.

    ELEGANT ELEGANT ELEGANT!!!!!!

    The first opening blast I get peach and stop and think Mitsuoko. Then the moss and woods come through and Y tranforms into its own creation. I wear Y and I feel feminine and oh so lady like. Others think it is unisex but for me chypres and especially Y are just pure femininity.

    26 July, 2009

    rating


    Melodrama by Space NK

    Unfortunately now discontinued. It goes for big money on ebay too.
    And yes this is a Sheldrake, upon release Space NK where very proud he had created for them and advertised the fact.

    Opens with a blast of aldehyde which then settles into a classic feminine chypre. Melodrama does smell like a bygone classic which fragrance houses don't make anymore. Shame on the other houses more interested in pumping out celeb fragrances.

    For those who love chypres you really need to hunt down Melodrama and try. The reason for its early discontinuation? The younger modern market does not realize nor understand what a classic chypre should be. Their loss.

    08 July, 2009

    rating


    Cadolle No. 9 by Cadolle

    I came across Cadolle No9 from Les Senteurs way back in the late 90's. James sent me a sample and I fell madly in love. Created in 1925, I own the now discontinued edp version.

    No9 is rich heady very decadent feminine fragrance. Starts like a big floral sweet and morish a summer garden in the sun. Then the base comes in, changing the garden to far eastern resins and woods. Think Cecil B Mills silent exotic epic starring Gloria Swanson.

    30th April, 2007

    rating


    Halston by Halston

    I love this one! I have even got compliments from people who dislike fragrance when wearing it.

    I own the perfume verison and it is dry woody and has a clean freshness. Even the next day your clothes still linger with Halston and still smell fresh.

    23 March, 2007

    rating


    Baladin by Nicolaï

    I was given a bottle of Baladin.

    As has been said tarragon and thyme give a leather accord.
    I reach for it when nothing else appeals.

    09 January, 2007

    rating


    Haute Provence by Nicolaï

    Starts with clean lavender then changes into something darker. Think of an old overgrown forest, not dank but lots of woods and flowers growing wild the scent mingles.

    09 January, 2007

    rating


    Infini by Caron

    I managed to get the 1970 parfum. Infini is divine a wonderful green aldehyde. Fresh not overly sweet.

    07 January, 2007

    rating


    Cèdre by Serge Lutens Les Salons du Palais Royal Shiseido

    Tuberose is just plain nasty on me. But Cedre works,that strange medical note like an addict I just want to keep sniffing it. Rich what else from Lutens,the tuberose is behaved and the cedar makes sure it stays that way.

    25 January, 2006

    rating


    Ambre Sultan by Serge Lutens Les Salons du Palais Royal Shiseido

    this amber is not sweet,no way,this baby is dark and dirty. Think hot sweaty sex,pure animal lust dirty. The AMBER of all ambers. Sex in a bottle.

    25 January, 2006

    rating


    L'Eau d'Hiver by Editions de Parfums Frederic Malle

    Lovely fragrance. Soft with bursts of helitriope and sweet honey finishing with musk. The name Water of Winter gives the impression this is a warm christmas fragrance. But it would suit all year,not heavy or in your face.

    26 November, 2004

    rating


    Le Parfum de Thérèse by Editions de Parfums Frederic Malle

    Parfum de Therese is wonderous!!!! Created by the same perfumer as Femme and when I first tried I got the link. Warm fruits lush and ripe give way to smooth soft leather. Edmond studied with the great Ernest Beaux and it shows. Therese has hints of Chanel's Cuir de Russie. This fragrance does not feel modern but classic infact timeless. The best of the Malle range

    26 November, 2004

    rating


    Alpona by Caron

    I had read about Alpona in the Emperor of Scent by Chandler Burr. But as it was only available from a Boutique as Urn never thought I would be able to try.
    The chance came and what can I not rave about this wonderful of fragrance. Classed as a Fruity Chypre,this is not your usual of this family.
    Starts with a blast of orange,which I usually hate in fragrance,but this is not cloying sticky orange. Perhaps it is the grapefruit which helps balance the orange. Lush roll the word on your tongue and that is Alpona. Ripe,lush rich wonderful. Thyme and myrrh sit in the middle giving an oriental feel
    to the juicy fruits. I hope I am making your mouth water as that is what Alpona is all about.For anyone who loves fruity chypres you have not lived until you try the Nirvana that is Caron's Alpona.
    Everyone can wear it men or women.

    18 November, 2004

    rating


    Narcisse Blanc by Caron

    I was given a sample of Narcisse Blanc in a swap,it was an unexpected
    extra. I already owned Narcisse Noir and on first sniff thought Blanc was the same fragrance. But when I decided to put one on each wrist I got the full story. Were Noir is civet sex goddess oriental,Blanc is quieter softer. Of course it does have the orange blossom of Noir but here is is creamy and used with a lighter hand. This gives some the impression of Blanc being cold and even metalic compared to the oriental heat of Noir. But I really like both. Blanc is more feminine without the sex goddess diva feel of Noir. So if you feel Noir is not you try Blanc she is more of a lady.

    18 November, 2004

    rating


    Eau de Russe by Crown Perfumery

    I really loved this!!!! I bought it blind going by the notes alone and I was not disappointed. Wonderful. Starts quite like Guerlain's Mitsouko then settles into a lovely warm oriental. Both sexes could wear this one. Clive Christian should be shot for discontinuing this beauty.

    17 November, 2004

    rating


    Crown Fougère by Crown Perfumery

    I own this one,bought really cheap I may add. I bought it because of the lavender,which I love. It has a warmth and yes a distinct geranium note.
    Legend has Charlie Chaplin wore this.

    17 November, 2004

    rating


    Crown Ess Bouquet by Crown Perfumery

    Another Crown which I was able to buy for a few pounds,due to the fact it is now discontinued.
    A summery clean lavender,citrus and basil fragrance. Easy to wear in warm wheather

    17 November, 2004

    Showing 1 to 19 of 19.