Perfume Reviews

Reviews by dpark

Advertisement
Total Reviews: 12
dpark Show all reviews
United Kingdom

L'Envol by Cartier

Quite beautiful, rich warm and enveloping, nothing here not to like, my best choice for 2017!!!
30th December, 2017
dpark Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Viking by Creed

What a complete disappointment. A previous reviewer talked about the arrogance of the brand and this certainly demonstrates this. Creed positions itself as ultra luxury rather than niche, if niche even exists any longer. The much talked about mint opening is anything but fiery, and the dry down rather like a far less expensive aquatic scent. Where is the Norwegian pine, the fiery spice, the woody notes of the longships; nowhere!!! This could have been the most glorious evocation of this fearless, conquering but artistically vibrant race as exhibited at the British Museum as year or two ago.

Most definitely one to avoid!!
30th December, 2017
dpark Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Monsieur by Huitième Art

A very minimal fragrance for the 21st century. This beautifully designed fragrance has depth and darkness, an evanescent mystery. The earthy, woody tones are the immediate heart of the fragrance, the dry down has a note of paper which might be the papyrus, very subtle and utterly mascualine.

I really only wear this for the evening, bought to wear at a black tie ball it certainly turns heads, the fragrance gets noticed and leaves a question.
11th September, 2014
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

dpark Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Cédrat Enivrant by Atelier Cologne

After much anticipation this launched and I hvae a bottle. The opening notes of cedrat (kemon), lime and bergamot give this scent a sparkilng, fizzy opening which soon settles down revealing the heart notes. For me the neart notes are not quite strident enough, a little more of the herbal njotes would hvae given this scent more depth. Unusually though the dry down to the base notes is very pleasant, the rich warm woodiness of the vetiver liongers for some time.

I like this fragrance but I am not sure I like it enough to consider it again but good for the warm weather.
14th April, 2014
dpark Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Boutonnière No.7 by Arquiste

As Pliny said, Fortune favours the bold! To wear is to experience a floral explosion.

This fragrance, billed as 'Gardenia for men' is not for the faint hearted. The heart notes are there from the beginning, and remain throughout this incredibly long lasting scent. I suspect this will either be a loveit or hate it perfume, I happen to love it but wear with extreme caution, it makes a very bold statment!!
11th November, 2013
dpark Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Philosykos Eau de Toilette by Diptyque

Although the idea of a perfect fig note is glorious, evocative of Mediterranean nights the reality rarely lives up to expectation. This is true of Philosykos which, although it has a promisingly sophisticated opening dries down to a slightly difficult to wear sweetness. Glad I tried it but wont be back.
18th January, 2013
dpark Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Lalique pour Homme by Lalique

This is a very pleasing fragrance taking a journey through the woody floral notes that one might expect from a sophisticated house.

Lalique Homme (Lion) is a very pleasant day to day fragrance but not one that will 'set the world on fire', not particularly long lasting but very good for day wear.
10th May, 2012
dpark Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Encre Noire by Lalique

Having been complimented on my scent by a sales consultant in a shop after I had been wearing Encre Noir for some hours I knew it was for me. This deep, rich, sharp woody sophisticated scent exudes style.

Years ago I wore the original Van Cleef and Arpels Homme, this reminds me of the sheer power that exuded, a definite style statement.
10th May, 2012
dpark Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Vetiver Dance by Tauer

Not for the faint hearted, as other reviewers have said a rich, sharp top note leads into the green heart of earthy vetiver. This perfume is very, very strong but ultimately incredibly satisfying, very much worth the effort.
10th May, 2012
dpark Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Juniper Sling by Penhaligon's

Having known Penhaligons for over 20 years it is such a pity it now feels it needs to go down the commercial route.

Juniper Sling is such a good idea but the execution is a complete let down. The opening top note invites interest but the very swift dry down reveals a very mainstream, floral heart which, again lasts for such a short time, also far too sweet for masculine use. The base notes are far too tenacious lasting hours and proving difficult to lose.
10th May, 2012
dpark Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Eau Sans Pareil by Penhaligon's

Eau sans Pareil has been relaunched it the new interpretation of what was a wonderful fragrance is not good at all. The mint and citrus themes that gave the perfume is wonderfully distinctive opening has gone to be replaced with a rather unpleasant, floral sweet note. The perfumer does not seem to have taken as their reference point the old Eau sans Pareil at all which I wore constantly for some years, a great disappointment
12th July, 2011
dpark Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Opus 1870 by Penhaligon's

An utterly sublime scent, a light peppery note gives way to a rich oriental background. This should not be missed!!!!
27th October, 2005