Reviews by

    's avatar



    's avatar



    's avatar



    's avatar



    's avatar



    's avatar



    's avatar



    's avatar



    's avatar



    's avatar



    's avatar



    's avatar



    's avatar



    's avatar



    's avatar



    's avatar



    's avatar



    's avatar



    's avatar



    's avatar



    's avatar



    's avatar



    's avatar



    's avatar



    's avatar



    's avatar



    's avatar



    's avatar



    's avatar



    's avatar



    Showing 1 to 30 of 276.
    rating


    Centaure by Maître Parfumeur et Gantier

    This fragrances does intrigues me. It has many subtle nuances, yet easily perceived after some uses.

    I can say this is a true green fragrance,. but not light or ethereal as many in the market. This is a heavy green one.

    The opening is a bit strange, smells something dirty and wet.

    The main player here is the mint note, which joins the composition after the top notes and remains there for the whole drydown.

    Definetely worth trying this fragrance: complex and very artistic, also much different from the actual releases.

    15 May, 2013

    rating


    Dark Aoud by Montale

    Only few words can describe Dark Aoud: heavy, dense, linear, raw.

    It's a very unidimensional scent: sandal, oud and musk from the beginning to the end.

    Also there's a tiny note of incense (maybe frankincense due to the small sweetness that appears after some hours).

    There's no comparition with other sandalwood bases fragrances: this is totally different.

    If i could compare, i would say Bois des Iles is a little small bird and this is a hungry hyena.

    Sillage, lasting power and projection are hazardous.

    One of the best Montale releases so far.

    10th May, 2013

    rating


    Ferrari Silver Essence by Ferrari

    Ferrari Silver Essence is another great surprise from this house, along with Essence Oud and Essence Musk.

    Looks like Ferrari wants to climb to a higher level in fragrance market with these newest releases. There's no comparision with older releases: the new ones smells much more natural and better balanced.

    Silver Essence is a wonderful coconut based fragrance, surrounded by a round woody note and some spices.

    The drydown is absolutely great, with lots of sillage and a heavy projection. It lasts about 10 hours on my dry skin.

    Definetely worth sampling, and why not buying?

    10th May, 2013

    rating


    M7 Oud Absolu by Yves Saint Laurent

    Wonderful designer fragrance. It's in the same level or even better than other oud fragrances that are "niche".

    But i have to say actually this is not a main oud based fragrance. It's a well composed one that plays with patchouli, incense and oud, and also this has a nice resinous smell when dries down.

    Sometimes i smell a cherry syrup that's not comfortable to my nose.

    Sillage, lasting power and projection are medium-high.

    10th May, 2013

    rating


    Rive Gauche pour Homme by Yves Saint Laurent

    Awesome fragrance!

    Very masculine, this is a masterpiece for sure.

    Anise, lavander and rosemary is the most pronounced notes to my nose.

    As said this has a barber shop smell, which is wonderful to my nose.

    Classic yet modern, this is an all-year-around scent.

    If you like Azzaro, Chanel Platinum Egoiste, you'll love Rive Gauche.

    Sillage, lasting power and projection are good.

    06 May, 2013

    rating


    Gardénia by Chanel

    Pure white flowers blend that smells wonderful. Gardenia for sure. As said, creamy and sweet, although very linear.

    More feminine than unisex.
    Sillage and projection are soft... but present.

    Lasting power is weak, around 2 hours.

    06 May, 2013

    rating


    Orange Sanguine by Atelier Cologne

    Fruity orange. Pure orange juice.

    Smells very close to natural.

    Easy to wear, great fragrance, but lacks of a consistent/heavy base.

    Ethereal... wonderful while alive.


    21st April, 2013

    rating


    Cuir de Russie by Chanel

    Wonderful animalic and dark leather.

    It's deep enough to make you think you're all covered by leather.

    The opening is a bit rancid leather, but then turns to a smoother leather with the tobacco note.

    Not an easy fragrance to wear, but beautifully constructed and blended.

    Sillage, lasting power and projection are medium-high.

    21st April, 2013

    rating


    Roses Musk by Montale

    It's not only roses and musk... it does have a great jasmine note and vanilla.

    Sweet and bright roses with a great animalic note.

    Not so heavy neither ethereal.

    Better for women, but it's unisex in my opinion

    It's like a watered down version of Mancera Roses Vanille.

    Reminds me of JHAG Lady Vengeance.

    Sillage, lasting power and projection are great.

    21st April, 2013

    rating


    31 rue Cambon by Chanel

    Very different take on patcholi and iris surrounded by great florals.

    Not easy to use, the opening is very aldehydic but the drydown is powedery and sweet.

    Unisex for sure.

    Sillage, lasting power and projection are average.

    21st April, 2013

    rating


    No. 22 by Chanel

    This is was a challeging fragrance to my nose.
    In the beginning i just did not like it and found a bit dated to my nose.

    After some months trying, i've realized why this is called a masterpiece by some people.

    This is a heavy aldehydic floral that turns to a beautiful floral and soapy scent when dries down.
    First notes are a bit difficult to my nose, but the powdery and woodsy drydown is just wonderful.

    I guess the tuberose note along with vetiver gives the fine tune to this fragrance.

    Very well blended, this fragrance can be used for men without problems.

    If you like aldehydes and florals, this is a must have.

    Sillage, lasting power and projection are good.

    19 April, 2013

    rating


    Calamity J by Juliette Has a Gun

    To my nose Calamity J is a nice mix of amber, patchouli, a bit of iris and vanilla, with a nice musk note that's not very animalic/dirty.

    It's sweeter than Citizen Queen and also less metallic. Also Calamity J doesnt have the huge aldehydes.

    It's very well balanced and unisex in my opinion.

    Great scent that's suitable for all year.


    26 March, 2013

    rating


    Citizen Queen by Juliette Has a Gun

    To have Citizen Queen, you have to mix powedery iris, dry roses and a touch of leather. Then add lots of aldehydes and a hint of musk.

    Citizen Queen is a nice interpretation of these ingredients that leads into a vintage sensation that reminds me of Chanel 22.

    The result is something very creamy and powdery scent, a bit sour/metallic though.

    It has a gentle projection and nice sillage, with a reasonable lasting power.

    More feminine than unisex, but i do like and use it.

    Very different fragrance that's worth at least a try.

    26 March, 2013

    rating


    Coromandel by Chanel

    I almost have no words to describe Coromandel.

    Im about to say this is the most beautiful fragrance i've ever smelt.

    The patchouli is very well blended with benzoin and the result is a wonderful sweetness.

    The incense note is very light and gives it a nice depth.

    The opening may be a little harsh, but as it dries down the sweetness starts in a creamy way.

    Here again the comparisions are inevitable.

    While Montale Patchouli Leaves is more linear, Coromandel is much more a complex and well blended scent.

    While Borneo 1932 is raw, Coromandel is soft.

    In my opinion Borneo 1932 is an "unfinished" version of Coromandel.

    Sheldrake finished the job that had been already began and together with Polge created this beautiful composition.

    Definetely Coromandel is a piece of art. Masterpiece. Unique. Addictive.

    20th March, 2013

    rating


    Sycomore (new) by Chanel

    Comparisons with Encre Noire are inevitable.

    While Encre Noire smells much more a raw and earty vetiver, Sycomore is brighter and lighter.

    I guess the main difference is about the supporting
    notes.

    While sandalwood turns this into a creamy fragrance, the cashmere wood makes Encre Noire darker and heavier.

    If you have enough money it's worth having both them. Actually if you dont, i'd stay with Encre Noire.

    20th March, 2013

    rating


    Azzaro Pour Homme L'Eau by Azzaro

    Definetely a great flanker.
    It's a nice interpretation of the original Azzaro, but here the notes are much softer.
    Great lavender and sandalwood notes makes this a great and safe option for summer.
    Reminds me a lot of Azzaro and also reminds me of Rive Gauche.
    Sillage, lasting power and projection are soft.

    20th March, 2013

    rating


    Sultan by Al Rehab

    Sultan is spicy, musky, dusty and a bit fresh at the same time.

    The main note here is musk, which is light and there's also some florals and citruses, which turns this scent a very good one from Al-Rehab line.

    Very exotic and cheap, definetely worth it's price.

    Another great surprise from this house.

    17 March, 2013

    rating


    Héritage by Guerlain

    Heritage smells mostly sandalwood, patchouli and pepper.

    One of the best releases of all the times, Heritage is a must have for any collector.

    Classic and heavy oriental, it's far heavier than other sandalwood based fragrances like Bois des Iles.

    It smells like Chanel Egoiste but in my opinion Heritage is deeper and a bit more complex.

    Sillage, lasting power and projection are strong.

    16 March, 2013

    rating


    Scuderia Ferrari Black by Ferrari

    Clearly inspired by Boss Bottled, Ferrari Black is a good scent, but smells too synthetic to my nose.
    The apple note is very loud and also the other notes are sharp and that turns my stomach sometimes.
    Sillage, lasting power and projection are high.

    16 March, 2013

    rating


    Terre d'Hermès by Hermès

    Wonderful vetiver based scent.
    The benzoin note and patchouli gives it a depth and an edge.
    It's more a mature scent and like Rive Gauche, it's already a classic.
    Sillage, projection and lasting power are medium.

    16 March, 2013

    rating


    Chergui by Serge Lutens Les Salons du Palais Royal Shiseido

    Tobacco and honey. Then a bit of incense and amber. Now you have this brilliant scent.
    Chergui is one of the easiest Serge Lutens to wear.
    Great for colder seasons, it's unisex in my opinion.
    Pleasant and very well blended, it's lasting power is around 10 hours.
    Projection and sillage are moderate.

    16 March, 2013

    rating


    Noir de Réminiscence by Réminiscence

    Think about resins.
    Then add an eucalyptus note.
    Now a bit of vanilla.
    Shake well with a incense note.
    Now you have Noir.
    This is a very complex fragrance that is mostly about resins with eucalyptus that sometimes can burn your nose.
    Very unique and not easy to wear.
    Sillage, projection and lasting power are medium-high.
    Definetely thumbs up!

    16 March, 2013

    rating


    Habit Rouge by Guerlain

    This is about Habit Rouge EDT.
    I can't write much about this classic. Actually a masterpiece.
    Classic citrus opening joined by vanilla that turns into a wonderful sweet leather based scent.
    Unfortunately sometimes it smells like urine in my skin... maybe the amber note mixed with leather? I dont know.
    Sillage, lasting power and projection are medium-high.

    16 March, 2013

    rating


    Habit Rouge L’Eau by Guerlain

    This is the most wearable version of Habit Rouge.
    Smells clean and not so dated than the classic.
    The vanilla and hazelnut notes are very noticeable along with the classic citric note.
    Sillage, projection and lasting power are medium-high.
    Definetely worth it!

    16 March, 2013

    rating


    Happy for Men by Clinique

    Citrus and marine notes blended in a great way that turns this fragrance into one of the best for summer.
    There's also some fruity notes and a faint wood note that gives it an edge.
    Opening and middle phases are really great, very fresh and comforting.
    My only and big complaint about this fragrance is about the lasting power... the scent is gone in one hour.
    Sillage and projection are also low.
    Unisex for sure.

    16 March, 2013

    rating


    Cristalle Eau Verte by Chanel

    Wonderful citric composition that smells much like Bel Respiro, but slightly heavier.
    This is a real fresh and green fragrance and it's wearable by both men and women.
    Definetely a must have for summer days!
    Sillage, lasting power and projection are medium.

    13 March, 2013

    rating


    Chance Eau Tendre by Chanel

    This is a great fresh floral fragrance that's unisex in my opinion. Lots of citruses over a floral base that smells quite nice on men too. Sillage, lasting power and projection are low-medium.

    13 March, 2013

    rating


    Must de Cartier pour Homme by Cartier

    This is a subtle skin scent that lingers for hours. It's floral and sweet in the right amount, sometimes smells like coconut.
    Smells good also in women, so i consider this unisex.
    Dont expect anything heavy, but a subtle and sophisticated scent that will make you feel relaxed.
    As said, sillage and projection are light, while lasting power is good, around 8 hours.

    13 March, 2013

    rating


    Theorema Uomo by Fendi

    Luckly i've found this gem left alone in a shelf at Buenos Aires. I did not think twice: bought it.
    Smells like a classic woody-vetiver fragrance, it has a good lasting power, sillage and projection. The geranium and musk gives it an edge over many vetiver based fragrances, that's why i consider this a wonderful fragrance.

    13 March, 2013

    rating


    Chanel Pour Monsieur by Chanel

    Pour Monseiur is a classic fougere. Heavy on oakmoss and cardamon, it opens with a citric burst and slowly fades to a woody oakmoss base. Definetely a classic that worth at least a try.
    Sillage, lasting power and projection are average.

    13 March, 2013

    Showing 1 to 30 of 276.