Perfume Reviews

Reviews by patsavouta

Advertisement

AB Spirit Silver by Lomani

The juice is nice, a neat reminiscent of legendary aventus by creed as already said (in kind of the same way as cool water reminds us of GIT) great deal.
08th July, 2014 (last edited: 10th August, 2014)

Drakkar Noir by Guy Laroche

this is another classic one, always unique, signature, masculin as sexy, present as air, true as life, dark as night sky; i cannot recognize any notes in this one, it's just drakkar noir..Remebering it from late 80's i bought recently another bottle to re-feel the essence. Probably one of the most powerful and real men scents ever created, so well mixed ingredients that produce a stable spirit of drakkar noir. Same sence for me from the spray till many hours later, works individually and slightly different to any skin tries that, working really effective in mine, plus make women melt. One of a kind.
09th November, 2013

Green Irish Tweed by Creed

It's a masterpiece. Followed and reinformed quite succesfully by Cool Water, i have to respect the elder thing. Too expensive though and poor longevity.
30th October, 2013
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Comme des Garçons Eau de Parfum / "A New Perfume" by Comme des Garçons

(another) joke
it smells like that kind of metal to me. It's impressive a scent smelling like this,
disturbingly industrial weird thing is present, may sound toxic and offensive;
i feel i don't like smelling like that actually. The dry down is getting more and more acceptable though.
Unique, but not for me

Pros: extremely unique, if u liked Kouros by YSL it may work for you
Cons: disturbing, toxic in a way"</p>
19th October, 2013 (last edited: 27th March, 2014)

APOM pour Homme by Maison Francis Kurkdjian

old fashioned, classic feel with poor longevity

Unfortunately is a no for me. Classic feel orange blossom with an old fashioned essence and below average longevity. Mostly for matured men in my opinion. It reminds me a little of ADP colognia assoluta which i also don't like and a little bit of Robert Piguet's one, i think notes or bois bleu (although Piguet's one launched later than that)
For my taste it's a waste of money, too expensive and while reminds of other stuff kinda unoriginal.

Pros: classic feel
Cons: unoriginal, old fashioned, poor longevity, too expensive!!"</p>
18th October, 2013 (last edited: 27th March, 2014)

L'Eau Serge Lutens by Serge Lutens Les Salons du Palais Royal Shiseido

unisex, fresh and clean essence, poor longevity, too expensive

tried this today.
when first attached i was like i love that smell, i like smelling this, its a fresh bucket of clean- yet elegant- yet somehow floraly- somehow sweet- but still stay fresh -while not green at all- scent . I had the feeling i want to re apply.. It's absolutely unisex with both gender sides making a succesful balance (although the dry down may considered as more masculin type of thing, making it a reminiscent of 360 for men by Perry Ellis for my nose and skin.
After that it all pretty dissapears quite quickly without nothing left back..
Not a bad scent. Top notes acted pleasantly to me..Starts sounding good and 'expensive' but doesnt last long to my skin, not much present yet too expensive for its average dry down

Pros: Fresh and clean, elegant, light and delicate
Cons: too expensive, dry out lacks originality, poor longevity"

18th October, 2013

360 Degrees for Men by Perry Ellis

heavy yet light and fresh / weird attitude aquatic

i always wanted to try this, while it's rare to find on actual stores nowadays, and i am a fan of fresh/clean stuff.
I finally blind bought a gift set from strawberry net in a very good price and here i am..
360 for men is quite a difficult case of scent; It sounds really fresh, clean, aromatic and pleasant but is so strong at the same time, probably one of the strongest fresh kind of scents. Agree that you have to take it easy with the number of sprays. I went about 4-5 sprays using also the after shave balm while i was shaved before and here are the results:
The first 2-3 hours the scent is so strongly present that it may touches the limit of being disturbing; the synthetic stuff is pretty obvious but it's not so bad cause it seems all ingridients are nicely blended. Citrus notes along with others in a stable combination and mixture. One girl arround mentioned that is a nice manly scent. Something minty comes to my senses also, even if there is no mint on the given notes. I have some issues about if it can be disturbing to others arround me (or even myself!) while the first hour is really present and heavy. It dries down cleanly, after some hours i was happy when it was lowered down, i was like i was fed from that pretty enough but after that nothing left.. it's like crashes at the first 2-3 hours and then dissapears completely..
sometimes there are some 'ck's eternity for men' flashes in there but cannot consider it as reminiscent. It also has an essence of old style of 90's kind of thing. Im not sure if i love it but it's an interesting case of how a light freshy cologne can be so strong although for some may sound characterless. For me is a weird yet interesting experiment Also liking the minimal design of the bottle.

Pros: fresh, clean aromatic with good longevity
Cons: too strong, for some tastes may lacks character"</p>
07th October, 2013 (last edited: 27th March, 2014)

Chypre Palatin by MDCI

classic feel, a little old-fashioned yet elegant

Tried this today at work. it's an interesting scent, kind of warm but not burnt. Cannot easily recognize a lot of notes, there is a very good mix of ingredients and that's how i agree with Darvant it's a kind of orchestra. Something citrusy is arround (probably clementene hits my spot) and an essence of oldfashioned feel but pretty elegant exists. Strong texture makes all essences become one scent that it's there for quite many hours (good and reasonable longevity) It's kind of heavy but not as much as you cannot handle.
All in all i think it's a good scent, not for my taste though - wouldn't wear it - i also find it a little more masculin than feminin (it's under unisex section) and mostly for elder men about 50+, finally not sure if it's original enough (some brut kinda thing issues appeared in seconds yet in a lot lighter way) and it's so expensive!!

Pros: good longevity, presence
Cons: a bit oldfashioned, too expensive"

06th October, 2013

Virgin Island Water by Creed

someday i decided to blind buy VIW..
the product is not bad of course, has an insisting coconut thing (i love copra!) but there is an oldfashioned sense there also, but in not so good way like something from the old grandma's closet that i didnt really die for :/
After that (and probably from the beginning) a lot of sweetness arround - obviously the sugar cane did this in a way that the smell doesn't feel fresh then but sweet ..Also not that clean as it shown from the marketing terms and the longevity is below average// all in all is a not bad scent, but really expensive so you have ti try it first before buy :)


Pros: coconut feel
Cons: oldfashioned, poor longevity, so sweet"
30th July, 2013 (last edited: 29th May, 2014)

Photo by Lagerfeld

used to wear this when it was launched it was the clean soapy effect that gave me i can never forget; fresh and clean like a surprising good soap you just used in the bathroom..
retried it lately and found it a bit' heavier' than i remember; not sure if they changed the juice, probably it's discontinued now..
12th May, 2013

212 Men by Carolina Herrera

when this first came out i was a fan, fresh yet plastic but clean, mostly for synthetic lovers i guess.. not mad now about this, but it used to push some buttons in the past ; pretty signature too.
09th May, 2013 (last edited: 12th May, 2013)

Pleasures for Men by Estée Lauder

When this one first came out i was kindly surprised by lauder and quite addicted to the scent: fresh and quirky, totally summer feel and pleasant with a signature; sounds like it's a CK product but it's not, i always has the feel it tries to be something between eternity and escape from CK.
When i purchased it lately to remember the essence i felt there was something quite urinal in there, while testing after shave balm conclusing it's not a bad scent and reasonably liked it back daze.
05th May, 2013

Eternity Summer for Men 2009 by Calvin Klein

The start is really summery and salty in a nice fresh way; not so original probably but pleasant; this essence doesn't last much though while right after some minutes i agree that is a strong reminiscent of the original scent, may quite a little bit lighter. If you like original eternity this one would do you well on summer or as a back up
05th May, 2013
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Optimistic for Him by Paul Smith

i still insist that the very best of Paul Smith is London man.. i bought this during one trip to london and it worked quite ok but i also think it's quite generic and used.
23rd April, 2013 (last edited: 27th March, 2014)

Voyage d'Hermes Parfum by Hermès

Kirie eleisson! the opening is a real incense. it makes me almost cough!!! (most hopefully not gag reflex)
i can smell no cardamon in there, i can easily smell burned incense and pepper, so much pepper in an overdone way, considering to its high prize sounds like a cheat for my nose, no offence to hermes, but won't wear that.
23rd April, 2013 (last edited: 12th May, 2013)

Crave by Calvin Klein

it seems i'm one of the few that liked this.. i found it fresh and contemporary, while i kinda liked its plastic bottling; understood the chemical kinda synthetic thing but i felt ok with it; im quite dissapointed this one is discontinued.. like emporio white.. quite the same result on my skin yet both discontinued.. :/
17th March, 2013 (last edited: 12th May, 2013)

Poison by Christian Dior

such a dreamy scent for my nose!!! my mom's best friend when i was a kid used to wear this and sometime i was sprayed this to my jacket just to have it near...i was so attracted by this scent!! i was surprised how much this scent was there even the next day and the next of the next.. never trying this on my skin but as a fragrance lover i have to say that this one i felt has an inner power.. classic!
14th March, 2013

Musk by Alyssa Ashley

simple, plain powder from the super market probably makes better than that.. i guess a no no for me, all i smell is powder, and not for so long..
14th March, 2013

Sentiment for Men by Escada

top notes are great to my nose : clean, fresh and pleasant.really like the openning; after about 4-5 minutes the smell turns out exactly like 'truth' from CK to my skin.. just surprisingly figured out that they launched the same year :O i think its discontinued
13th March, 2013 (last edited: 18th March, 2013)

Trussardi Uomo (new) by Trussardi

dont really exactly remember the original essence but it sounds so similar to it in a way.. tries to get good at first, try to make a hint but it cant really make it for me i think..not a buy for me probably, drakkar noir is better and more original in my opinion thinking it's a similar attitude perfume.
06th March, 2013

Kouros by Yves Saint Laurent

when i was a young boy i have seen this perfume and smelled it about 3-4 times: all of them smelled like shit! i mean in real!!! i never purchased this perfume as an adult.
04th March, 2013 (last edited: 29th April, 2013)

Paul Smith Extreme Men by Paul Smith

loving the original one, when i tried this i got mixed up! this one doesnt remind me dior's farenheit at all; first notes brings me too many essences, a lot peppery, considering woud be probably a 'warm' one, a messy nice surprise to nose, while there's something sweet and quite fresh at the same time.. pepper is still visible almost all the time
Base notes are kinda woody, always surprising with some flashes of the original scent now and then, and a feel of a pleasant smell.
Dry out is pretty soft and clean makes u think its a quite reasonable perfume. Pepery yet really original and quirky, also loving its colory design on bottle :)
04th March, 2013 (last edited: 06th March, 2013)

Lalique White by Lalique

first top notes appear really wellcoming, so fresh and clean, makes a good scenery.. the dry down of base notes after about 5 mins reminds me a lot of versus by versace : a true feel of a real lemon lime, (which never figured out myself if it's acceptable or not while a lot of cheap lemony perfumes that exists on supermarkets never worked) filled though with a peppery character involving with your skin and turns out to be a classic perfume feel of something really smart and light flavoured clean essence ; quite nice white bottle (you cannot see how much is left :() '.. all in all a good fresh summery perfume that starts with a playfull character and ends as a more mature kind of manscent, nice work lalique :)
01st March, 2013 (last edited: 29th March, 2014)

Insensé Ultramarine by Givenchy

loved the original Insensé so didnt real follow the ultramarine version those days, just reown it recently though to retry it, and quite woo: the top notes sounds a lot chemical and plastic, there was a 'plasticness' in the original but it was different , this one feels like weird somehow but of course not really bad, though really synthetic and heavy enough in a way! at least it dries out quite responsible i even feel an elegant breeze on my clothes even the next day of use... Voting for the original all the way tho! but supporting this while its the only product involved with the original :)
01st March, 2013 (last edited: 12th May, 2013)

cK One Summer 2012 by Calvin Klein

this one smells like a great scent for summertime.. tried it on summer vacations on a greek island and really enjoyed..fresh yet green, invisible but present, fruty enough to be delicious.. an essence of freedom, trully unisex, good prize, limited edition, well done!
27th February, 2013

Rykiel Homme by Sonia Rykiel

elegant, soft and crisp one of my all time favourites.. not present in a disturbing level but stands right for my skin.
16th June, 2011

Escape for Men by Calvin Klein

fresh and sweet, pretty signature scent, nice one.
29th May, 2011

Fahrenheit by Christian Dior

classic all the way... warm but not burnt, hot but not cheap, fresh but not soapy, sweet but not chocolatey, fahrenheit is another fragrance that gets involved with your skin and makes the trick..actually present anywhere, anytime!
29th May, 2011

Minotaure by Paloma Picasso

definitely a signature perfume, and probably the inspiration for later joop! pink juice.. quite present, pretty original, spicy and warm as hot!! liked it in a way
29th May, 2011

Paul Smith for Men by Paul Smith

for me its the best perfume from paul smith for man. reminds a lot of glorious farehneit by dior, but still stands original and alternative, personal favourite.
29th May, 2011