Reviews by Slayerized

    Slayerized's avatar
    Slayerized
    Netherlands Netherlands

    Showing 1 to 30 of 39.
    rating


    Guerlain Homme by Guerlain

    To me Buysblind review is spot on from start to finish! Nothing to add to that splendid review for me as it is exactly how I think about Guerlain Homme (and its flankers).
    I do want to add that I agree that they differ a lot from what we're used to regarding Guerlain classics as Heritage, Habit Rouge and Vetiver, but these 4 different homme versions imo have to be seen in a kind of persective and will be praised all over as well in let's say 10-20 years from now; at least that is what I think will happen. To me Homme L'Eau Boisee is best!

    10th April, 2014

    rating


    Borsalino Panama by Borsalino

    A nice inoffensive but complex fragrance

    A very good but indeed safe smelling fragrance with 4 hrs longevity at best.
    It starts very fresh and turns to a nice spicy sweet tobacco-ish fragrance with patchouli, musk, vetiver and lots of things going on! The citrus is always there on the background which remains its freshness. Despite its inoffensive smell this is a very complex fragrance with many notes to pick out in this well blended fragrance. The projection is average but again, this would have been an excellent fragrance if the base would be a tad stronger!
    Good for spring mornings! Rated: 7,5/10

    Pros: Refreshing, good smelling fragrance
    Cons: Longevity could be better"

    23 October, 2013

    rating


    Guerlain Homme L'Eau Boisée by Guerlain

    A perfect fresh lime-vetiver-woods combo!

    A brilliant lime-vetiver fragrance that opens like the L'Eau version but when the vetiver kicks in it turns into a little smoky, way better lasting fresh vetiver-lime-wood combo that is utterly pleasing! The kind of vetiver and Iso-E super that is used in this fragrance is the same as is used in Terre D'Hermes. You can smell that easily through the fragrance! Generally speaking, the fragrance smells much like Terre D'Hermes with the orange replaced by lime. Terre D'Hermes is more an earthy-fresh-vetiver-orange combo while Boisee is more smoky-fresh-vetiver-lime combo, added with nice woods! Longevity is about 4-6 hrs at least depending on application and projection is average. Maybe a future masterpiece like Terre D'Hermes as I don't think Thierry Wasser tried to copy Hermes with this particular Homme version. For me the best in the Homme line together with the Homme Intense version as being second and most suitable for warmer weather during spring and summer. Also perfect for office any time! Thumbs up: 9/10.

    Pros: Lasting, fresh and a very pleasant inoffensive smell!
    Cons: It looks a little like a Terre D'Hermes flanker"

    20th September, 2013

    rating


    Photo by Lagerfeld

    A good, soapy, well blended masculine! (but only vintage!)

    The vintage is worth while purchasing but the reformulation is a horrible soapy and synthetic mess!
    Vintage smells natural, fresh, masculine with a nice bergamot, aldehydes opening and has very good projection and longevity. To me it smells like a lighter (in smell) but equally strong Versace L'Homme.
    Photo is more formal, flowery and does not have that tad of leather in the base. Not dated at all, just buy the one as pictured above!
    Rating: 8/10

    Pros: Well blended, good and natural smelling with good longevity/sillage
    Cons: Reformulated in a very very bad way! Don't buy reformulation!"

    05 September, 2013

    rating


    Giorgio for Men by Giorgio Beverly Hills

    Good old school patchouli based powerhouse!

    What else to add to the mostly positive reviews!
    This is an excellent (mainly) patchouli-honey-amber-oakmoss fragrance which is reformulated but still very good with amazing sillage and longevity and it turns to a smooth smelling fragrance for hours like Givenchy Gentleman, to which this is often compared, also does! I just bought this (again and dirt cheap) with dark green color and it's amazing! A little goes a long way and less is more with this one! Do not overspray and not more than 3 sprays which is already a lot as the bottle sprays lots of juice with one squirt! Still perfectly wearable these days when not applied too much.
    Comparisons with Givenchy Gentleman are a little off as GG is imo way darker, more based on a patchouli-leather-vanilla combo than this one! Both excellent and worth having both!
    Rating: 8/10

    Pros: Good sillage and longevity, nice smooth smell.
    Cons: Can be cloying but only when oversprayed!"

    05 September, 2013

    rating


    Curve for Men by Liz Claiborne

    For the price you have to pay for this stuff (almost nothing) it is worth having imo!
    The smell is very pleasant and has a little of many. It smells green, mossy, woodsy, floral and a little spicy. To me it is a soft but noticable fragrance with decent longevity (5-6 hrs) and a quite inoffensive smell which makes it perfect of office use and other people quite like the smell of it. I won't rebuy it but but for as long as I have my 75ml I will enoy it now and then! Perfect for fall and spring. Thumbs up for an excellent quailty to price! Rating: 7/10

    12 May, 2013

    rating


    Clubman Special Reserve by Pinaud

    An excellent quite unique, smooth leather aftershave/cologne sold for peanuts in a big 177ml bottle.
    A must have for lovers of leather fragrances. RobAtSGH's review says it al and I can only concur to what he wrote. This is not the heavy Knize Ten like leather but the smooth one added with patchouli and all kind of spices like cinnamon and vanilla. Some say it smells like wax for horse saddles and gloves. Imo this is price-quality related much better than most of the current expensive stuff that is being sold nowadays. Depending on applicatiion this stuff also lasts quite a while and sillage is average though strong at the beginning. Excellent value for the (little) money. I don't agree that this smells like Aramis or has to be decanted in a spray bottle. Thumbs way up! Rating: 8.5/10

    12 May, 2013

    rating


    Canoé by Dana

    This has an excellent opening but turns into a, to me, too sweet of a vanilla musky like smell which does not suit me that well. I hardly wear it and prefer the better Pinaud Aftershave/Cologne which gives me the same vibe/smell but less sweet and more fresh. Mind that I have a current version of this reformulated stuff which is most probably not that good as it used to be. Rating: 5.5/10

    12 May, 2013

    rating


    Clubman by Pinaud

    Most useful things already have been written about this aftershave/cologne. It is and old barbershop smell indeed and to me it smells like a mix of Brut Original and Canoe edt but better and fresher than both!
    A must have for ever fragrance lover as this is excellent and lasting stuff in a cheap big bottle (177ml).
    This can be used both as aftershave or cologne as it is way stronger than current aftershave releases and lasts easily for hours! Good old school stuff! Rating: 7.5/10

    12 May, 2013

    rating


    Brut Musk by Fabergé

    I own only the aftershave which is very much like the original version only with some musk and woods added which makes it less fresh and more heavy and masculine. This one is more for fall-winter while the original is more for spring-summer imo. Like the original this one also has huge sillage first half hour and lasts when applied heavily like 4 hours which is excellent.
    Rating: 7/10

    12 May, 2013

    rating


    Adidas Ice Dive by Adidas

    I only own and used the afershave which is excellent when you need a short lived but very fresh and inoffensive smell based on mainly fruity and lavender ingredients with a light wood base that is easy to be layered with all kind of fresh aquatic fragrances. I use it mainly during spring and summer.
    This is sold for peanuts, therefor thumbs up! Rating: 7/10

    12 May, 2013

    rating


    Cool Water Summer Dive by Davidoff

    Compared to the original this is way mintier and more citrus in the opening and heart phase.
    Extremely fresh and perfect for warmer weather while the original could be worn all year round and is thicker and heavier. This is a warm spring/summer fragrance only imo. The drydown is pretty similar to the original but overall this flanker has less sillage and longevity compared to the flagship! I got it dirt cheap and when you like the orignal and can get this really cheap as well, don't hesitate. The advantage of this version is that it is easy to be layered/blended with the original to smell more fresh! Thumbs up! Rating: 7/10

    04 May, 2013

    rating


    Etienne Aigner No. 2 by Etienne Aigner

    I owned this fragrance but I heard it was a reformulation, I didn't like it as it had a generic lemon soapy vibe I really couldn't handle (normally I don't mind for soapyness). It is strong and kind of fresh but not my cup of tea. I sold it and never smelled the vintage but this new version gets a thumbs down. Rated: 5/10.

    04 November, 2012

    rating


    Etienne Aigner by Etienne Aigner

    This an excellent, warm masculine fragrance!
    It's from the 70's but still can easily be worn today.
    It is a warm, soft, smooth and longlasting fragrance for cold fall/winter evening/nights! The drydown is a delicious mix of mainly patchouli, vanilla, oakmoss and amber which are made of mainly natural ingredients and therefor smells like niche quality!
    It's discontinued but I am happy I could score a 50ml splash bottle of this which I decanted! Thumbs up! Rating: 8.5/10

    04 November, 2012

    rating


    Lacoste (original) by Lacoste

    This is indeed a simple citrus scent of the '80 that smells clean and fresh with a mossy base.
    It starts out with lots of lemon which fade after 20 mins and are joined by some flowery stuff before the mainly cedar and moss take over for the drydown. It has some similarities to YSL pour homme (little sour citrus) and even Gillette Cool Wave aftershave for the mossy drydown! This is though weaker than the YSL and has less going on. I see this fragrance more as a very strong aftershave (like Cool Wave) that lasts for a good 3-4 hrs before it fades; it has for me that fresh vibe that a good aftershave gives me. Sillage is average to close to the skin. Best to use during spring and summer for its fresh sensation.
    Very good fragrance if you want to smell fresh and masculine for a few hours the '80s way!
    Thumbs up! Rated: 7.5/10

    12 September, 2012

    rating


    Sir Irisch Moos by Sir

    This green fragrance is what you call 'a good bang for the buck' as it's very cheap if you buy it at the right places (mainly in German drugstores)!
    It's called a cedar chypre which is green, spicy, fresh, mossy and elegant at the same time!
    I own the edt and aftershave and both are strong thought the edt is at least 3x stronger even than the aftershave. Perfect for layering of course. It's a perfect outdoors frag for spring or fall days and is has huge projection the first hour after application. The notes of pine and coriander really stand out and make this frag really green and spicy. After that it gets more closer to the skin and the more elegant side comes out as the scent turns into something more smooth. It is still very noticable though as it has a solid base of oakmoss. It lasts therefor at least a good 6 hours and sillage is average afer the strong opening. Recommended stuff if you like your chypre strong, green and masculine! Thumbs up! Rated: 8/10

    11th September, 2012

    rating


    Gillette Cool Wave by Gillette Series

    This is for me the best aftershave one can buy when looking to quality to price!
    The previous reviews of eg. Grottola and Shamu are spot on and I have little to add to those perfect reviews! This is a masculine very fresh-mossy longlasting aftershave. It doesn't have that much sillage anymore after 1 hour but it keeps lingering close to the skin for many hours more indeed when splashed on liberally!
    I could get some new versions of this gem in Germany and looking at the text on the bottle and fragrance which is only in German and Russian, I think it's launched here in Europe just for some specific countries; eg. here in The Netherlands it's impossible to get. I also did not see it in Belgium, France or Spain where I am frequently. I therefor bought 400ml of this stuff which was €3.75 a bottle of 100ml!
    I also own a vintage which is very old and there are some remarkable differences. Mainly as my vintage says it does NOT contain any alcohol and the new ones do. Nevertheless do they smell pretty much the same and are equally long lasting with equal sillage as well. The only difference is that the vintage is maybe even more mossy and the new one is more fresher but it's just a minor difference imo. This is how an aftershave must be! This aftershave is also perfect for layering with many fresh/fougere/aquatic fragrances like Revillon R, Cool Water, Azzaro Chrome. Bvlgari Aqva (Marine) etc. Many thumbs up and regarding it's an aftershave it deserves a perfect rating! Rated: 10/10

    10th September, 2012

    rating


    Montana Parfum d'Homme (original) by Montana

    Montana Red Box

    Did anyone know that the perfumer of this fragrance is the same who created Davidoff Original in 1984? Edouard Flechier! Two very good masculine fragrances to say the least!
    I agree that this is more of an aromatic fougere than a leather scent. Like Francesco Smalto pour homme there is a lot going on in this frag. It starts with a lemon-lavender that smells so good as it is surrounded by aldehydes, cinnamon, lavender, mandarin orange, tarragon, pepper and bergamot. Delicious opening! One of the best smelling openings for me.
    After that the flowers kick in with pine tree needles and sage which give it a green-spicy touch that defines the heart stage of this fragrance. The masculine basenotes eg. with leather, patchouli, ambergris and oakmoss end up this frag into a real 80's ubermasculine frag! I would not say a powerhouse, though it qualifies for it first hour, but after that the blend that is left is too smooth to define this frag as a powerhouse. Real good noses can get a lot out of this fragrance I guess as there is so much going on. Not many frags are lemony, green, floral, spicy, smokey, soapy, leathery, herbal and mossy in one! Montana has it all! This fragrance is very versatile as it mellows down after one hour and the smell lingering around you is hard to dislike! Perfect for outdoors during fall and winter and even early spring evenings! For work, don't apply too much and let it dry down for at least 30 mins before entering the office, but actually better use another fragrance for work tbh. Not that suitable for summer and formal occasions. To me one of those perfect outdoor fall-winterfragrances like Quorum, Francesco Smalto pour homme and Lapidus pour homme.
    Longevity is average, like 6-8 hrs on me and sillage is above average first hour and average after that. It gets close to the skin after 4 hours depending on amount of application. Another nice creation by Flechier of pure original masculanity like he did for Davidoff's first in 1984! Rated: 8.5/10

    07 September, 2012

    rating


    Eau Sauvage by Christian Dior

    One of the great all time French classics!
    Lots of things going on in this clean citrus scent with very natural smelling ingredients hence being considered a masterpiece.
    It opens with very fresh and pure smelling lemon and basil with a fruity herbal touch, lots of flowery stuff going on in the heart, which combo with the herbs give it a little dirty vibe, with a base of vetiver, musk, amber and oakmoss.
    To me the flowery heart combined with the fresh herbal opening makes this fragrance so different from other fragrances in this genre with its brilliant dirty vibe. The blend of all these complementing notes and their smell is so perfect that it's called a masterpiece by many! It's refreshing, elegant, very mature, and gives you a very gentlemanly sophisticated feeling! Only for real men I'd say! To be used for 30 and up. To me it's more of a edc than edt as the lasting power is like 2 hrs tops when applied liberally and on clothes! After that the scent lingers on for still a while but so close to the skin that it is hardly detactable anymore for yourself and others. It is worth the first two hours and of course to be extended by reapplication. Mainly to be used in spring and summer. Rated: 8/10

    04 September, 2012

    rating


    Francesco Smalto pour Homme by Francesco Smalto

    I bought two 100ml bottles like 1.5 year ago of this old 80's powerhouse due to all reviews I read, not being able to test it.
    It was not in vain as I really love the stuff! Ubermasculanity in a bottle! This juice really rocks and contains all powerhouse qualities! It's macho, dark, smokey, leathery, ubermasculine, strong, lasting and projecting! Most powerhouses don't have all these qualities as Shamu points out correctly as they are mostly not smokey and this dark! (assuming the brilliant Tsar is no powerhouse)
    The opening is a mix of lavender, flowers and leather mixed with anise. The anise seems odd but makes this dry fragrance smell pretty different than any other powerhouse I can think of. The anise complements the other masculine notes during opening and smokey heart stage and disappears when the drydown sets in. The drydown which is pretty soft compared to the first 1.5 hour of the opening and heart goes on for many hours lingering around and never seem to leave you which makes it a pretty long lasting fragrance. The drydown is also still a little smokey with some masculine stuff going on. lots of patchouli, leather and oakmoss are the key players there which keep it dark. As ericrico pointed out there is no freshness at all in this scent but just brilliant boldness in a bottle! To be used in fall/winter only! Longevity is 8+ hrs and sillage above average first two hours and average to close last 6-8 hrs of its long life time. Thumbs way up! Rated: 9/10

    04 September, 2012

    rating


    Aqua Quorum by Antonio Puig

    I bought this blind a few years ago and never regretted it! To me it's not an aquatic per se but more a 'fresh aromatic fougere' which can be used all year around actually but does best during warmer summer days as it's very refreshing!
    It belongs to the same genre as eg. Cool water, Eternity and Polo Sport and it has a little of all these frags combined and costs like 1/3 of the price of the others. It's is compared mainly to Polo Sport, but AQ has no seaweed note.
    It starts heavy and sharp and a little 'alcoholic' with lavender and flowers surrounded by grapefruit. The base of amber, leather and oakmoss do give a very masculine and spicy edge to this very fresh fragrance like the drydown of Cool Water has as well. This is far better than most aquatics thrown at the market last 15 years, especially looking at the price! It lasts for like 8 hours even and has above average sillage.
    It's versatile and 100% masculine! The only drawback I can think of is that it's not that original as it seems it has copied and combined some of the best accords of Cool water, Eternity and Polo Sport together to create AQ but I don't care. Note that this frag is nothing similar to it's green brother Quorum!
    Thumbs way up! Rated: 8/10

    04 September, 2012

    rating


    Homme Nature by Yves Rocher

    To me this fragrance was really a surpise looking at the quality to price ratio!
    Got this almost for free in the Yves Rocher Shop (€8 or something like that for 50ml) here in NL.
    Made out of mainly natural ingredients, this fragrance smells really green, little herbal and fresh!
    A clean green woody herbal indeed as one calls it that starts with a cucumber like smell that is surrounded quickly by mainly sage, mint and ivy. The base of moss and sandalwood makes it smell masculine and like you walk in a forrest with a fresh but mossy like smell with a little herbal sweetness to it! Very natural and green indeed! It is not unisex to me, lasts about 5 hours and sillage is average. Best to be used in the summer but can also easily be used during spring and fall! Thumbs up for this good stuff! Rated: 8/10

    04 September, 2012

    rating


    Sander for Men by Jil Sander

    This is a good light woody spicy (a bit of pepper) scent that can be used at any occasion at any season but has for me one big drawback (and therefor I sold my bottle) and that is: This is TOO inoffensive and TOO safe after the fresh opening, that lasts 15 mins, to get a thumbs up. For me a fragrance must at least have something daring or contain an interesting part that makes it special. Can be a tiny 'part' but must be there in a frag for me. This frag lacks on that level and is therefor pretty boring in my opinion. This is one of the most perfect fragrances for people who only want to own one fragrance all year around and stick to that. Sillage and longevity are safe and average. Not for frag addicts! Neutral: Rated: 6-/10

    01st September, 2012

    rating


    Antonio by Antonio Banderas

    There are not many reviews of this interesting fragrance but what I read in those that they are all diifferent (mainly on Fragrantica)!

    Anise?!, Honey, no honey, leather, smokey, very masculine, unisex, patchouli, no patchouli, woody, soapy, cinnamon, no cinnamon etc. Fun to read them all!

    What I get is an original, dry, woody, slightly spiced but pretty good masculine smell which exists mainly out of woody notes surrounded by a light citrus, some fir, cinnamon (but very little) and some amber in the drydown. I do not smell patchouli, honey, leather, soap or whatsoever. After the fresh opening of 10 mins the fragrance is pretty linear and inoffensive.
    Good for casual and office! Sillage is average and longevity above average (almost 8 hrs!).
    Not bad and one of the best Antonio Banderas has to offer for men of the age between 25-50 years old. Not bad at all as this fragrance is very inexpensive! I would not buy this again when my 100ml is empty but enjoy it while it's there! Rating: 7/10

    01st September, 2012

    rating


    Boston Man by Antonio Puig

    I bought this in Spain this year for €9.99 in the local supermarket and it is not out of production!
    For this price the quality of this frag is incredibly good!
    It smells very fresh, green and a little herbal and reminds me in some way as being a little brother of the great Tsar by Van Cleef & Arpels though it's not smoky and less dark and way fresher/thinner.
    Longevity and sillage are average (6 hrs) and it's best to use casual or to work.
    Good for the mature man who doesn't want to spend a fortune on fragrances and is fine with just a few cheap frags without smelling cheap! Thumbs up! Rated: 7/10

    01st September, 2012

    rating


    Pour Un Homme by Caron

    Almost 80 years ago created and still going strong! Amazing!

    This masterpiece is only to be avoided when one really hates lavender or vanilla.
    If not, this is a must buy!
    It is mainly a three note composition of lavender, vanilla and musk but so well blended that it is rightfully considered as a masterpiece!
    It opens with a fresh blast of lavender which smells very pure! Shortly after the raw vanilla (which is indeed not sweet) kicks in surrounded by musk which makes this frag pretty unique, very fresh and clean! During the base the vanilla and musk take over on the lavender but the moment this happens is difficult to point out! It's that well blended. the frag gives you a clean, fresh feeling and is perfect for casual wear during the morning in spring or summer after you showered! Longevity is average (6 hrs) and sillage is from above average to average during the course of wearing time. An advantage is that this can be applied in different ways; over-apllication for huge sillage (at first) and decent longevity if one wants this for as long as possible or just a few sprays to start the first morning hours in a very fresh but warm way! It never gets cloying and is pretty inoffensive as it is not a sweet fragrance. For 30+ years and up! Rated: 8.5/10

    01st September, 2012

    rating


    Versace l'Homme by Versace

    For me this is the best the Versace house has ever offered for men.
    This fragrance is for mature bold men who are confident about themselves.
    Being produced for almost 3 decades already and for a reason! Though reformulated this fragrance is still very enjoyable if you like strong manly scents! This frag has it all! A manly citrus opening, followed by manly spices and a manly leathery drydown! Old fashioned or dated? No way! It's still very wearable and classy but again this is not for men who mainly like the after 90's bunch of woody citrus and aquatic scents. This is still wearable old school!
    The sillage and longevity are way above average (8+ hrs) and women like this as well a lot as so is my experience. Brilliant stuff! Masculanity, boldness, confidence and matureness in one! Good for casual as well as formal wear in- and outdoors all year around except real hot weather! This will aways be in my wardrobe for sure! Rated: 9/10

    01st September, 2012

    rating


    Joop! Homme by Joop!

    First of all make sure you have the correct bottle of this juice with 'Homme' written above Joop! on the bottle and package! There are two with this and both are good! The current sold version has 'Homme' written under Joop and is pretty ruined into a sweet mess.

    This juice opens very sweet and loud but for its magic you have to wait till the drydown!
    Only then Joop! Homme shows its glory and refinement. The candy sweetness has then been mixed with delicious cinnamon and vanilla notes and is very enjoyable for a very long time!
    People who say this is way too sweet all the way most probably apply this frag completely wrong or just have the wrong reformulated version! When u spray this like a cheap cologne on your neck with many sprays you smell like a sweet sugar bomb all day and won't receive a single compliment besides the fact it will smell incredible cloying!
    The right application is, imo, 1 spray to the chest and a spray to each wrist and rub it a little behind each ear. That's it, no more! then the frag will soon open up and show you all it has to offer. Good for casual use or clubbing during late fall and winter. Sillage is above average and longevity 12+ hrs. Rated: 7/10

    01st September, 2012

    rating


    Oscar for Men by Oscar de la Renta

    This woody spicy fragrance is, for me, a very complicated one!
    After reading all reviews I see that many say different things about it as well, which confirms my thoughts.
    I own it now for a year and start liking it more and more and more! I am very sensible for black pepper and the oil of this spice is exactly what is used a lot in this fragrance! I can smell the delicious smell of black pepper for hours in this fragrance. It is surrounded by all kind of notes. Cloves and nutmeg on the background, light citrus and neroli surrounding the spices, flowers coming in during the heart stage and a base of leather, sandalwood, musk, balsam fir, vanilla and incense! Impossible to detect all these notes as they are so well blended with the spicy notes! This is a great casual outdoors fragrance for the spring and early summer and can also be worn during the fall imo! I saw a comparison to Cacharel pour l'homme in a review and if that is so (it was cause of the nutmeg) this is Cacharel's BIG brutal pepper brother living far away. Both very good frags in their own way however! Sillage is huge, first hour, and longevity is like 6 hrs. Very good and thumbs way up! Rated: 8/10

    01st September, 2012

    rating


    Cacharel Pour L'Homme by Cacharel

    This fragrance opens as said with a lot of nutmeg but turns into something quite beautiful and sophisticated after 10 mins already! When the citrus and flowers start kicking in this scent is very hard to resist! It smells unique, sophisticated, chic and very masculine! This frag is pretty versatile as it is good for office, casual and formal but mainly indoors, imol! It turns into a close to the skin scent after an hour but it's not a cloying scent so it can be applied liberally to extend sillage and longevity which are average to me (6 hrs).
    It is a big mistery to me that this gem gets bashed by Turin in The Guide by giving it only one lousy star! To me it's excellent, timeless, unique, for the real man and many thumbs up! Rated: 9/10

    01st September, 2012

    Showing 1 to 30 of 39.