Perfume Reviews

Reviews by Slayerized

Advertisement

Ferrari Essence Oud by Ferrari

IMO the best Ferrari fragrance I ever smelled.
Perfect fragrance as the rose is not too strong nor dirty (don't like that) in the oud-rose combo but soft and a little powdery and also the oud itself does not scream neither smells medicinal or band-aid like. Fragrance lasts through the day with perfect sillage, evolves a lot and ends up after about 10-12 hrs with a very nice, dry and powdery leathery labdanum smell that actually smells a bit like the main smell of Davidoff Leather blend, which is an excellent leather fragrance! Really love this stuff!
Rating: 9/10

20th July, 2015

Cuoio by Pal Zileri

Wow!
Very, very similar to Tuscan Leather by Tom Ford but it's a little sweeter on the raspberry part and the projection and longevity is not as huge as TL, which is imo a good thing as TL is a bit too much, however this is still above average regarding projection and it lasts all day! Excellent luxurious stuff being 7x cheaper than TL! Thumbs up and recommended! Rating 9.5/10
24th May, 2015

Leather Blend by Davidoff

An amazing just slightly sweet leather that is imo way more masculine than feminine. The blend is perfect and three notes are easily to be separated: saffron, amber, and the main player: leather! The rose note is hardly, if not, to be detected imo.
The leather note is a little rough in smell but stil smooth, elegant and modern and it's rounded to a slight oriental smell by the amber! Projection is average after a heavy start and longevity is like 10 hrs. People who like Tuscan Leather or Knize Ten and want a good masculine smelling leather that is more done in an oriental (amber) way than raspberry sweet (TL) or floral-amber-vanilla (KT ) can't go wrong with this one! Finally a real winner by Davidoff! Rating: 9/10
24th May, 2015
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Acqua di Giò Profumo by Giorgio Armani

This is pretty good! Especially for an aromatic aquatic.
It is somewhat similar in main smell to the Essenza version but this one has a different flowery heart and a base of patchouli and incense which really stands out and makes it a fresh-spicy-warm-green aromatic aquatic imo with a darker vibe than normally is the case with aquatic like fragrances. Cannot compare it to anything so far and the projection and especially longevity are above average with this edp.
It is not a masterpiece but it's way better than 99% of most aquatic like fragrances (read: calone), smells very nice inoffensive and lasts all day which is a big pre! Versatility is also good as it's an all year fragrance except winter imo.
A drawback is maybe the high price for such a fragrance but it lasts about 3x longer than most aquatic-marine like fragrances so there is compensation for the higher price. Bottle is also beautiful. Rating: 8.5/10
25th April, 2015

Vétiver by Piver

A very fresh vetiver with a nice citrus-green apple mix in the opening mixed with pepper. Very refreshing and modern smelling combo. The drydown is a bit smokey, which makes it very masculine with a nice vetiver-woody base surrounded by flowery and spicy elements. It lasts and projects at least average. Recommended if you can find it! Could have been, to my imagination, a (more modern) flanker of the Guerlain one, next to the 'Sport' and 'Frozen' versions! Rating: 9/10
17th April, 2015

R by Révillon

I cannot agree more with the perfect review of ericrico. Not that much to add........
To me this is one of the the best smelling fresh fragrances out of the designer range of frags I own/know.
It will remind you of many but still smells different! A positive aspect is that it smells pretty natural and not that synthetic as many other fresh (aquatic) fragrances. As said; the notes are very well blended and I can only agree to that. The drawback is that it does not last longer than 4 hrs tops and is just below average on sillage about one hour after application.
As there are many occasions one wants to smell clean, fresh and inoffensive for 3-4 hrs, this is a must buy for me!
Rating: 9/10


08th April, 2015

L'Eau d'Issey pour Homme Oceanic Expedition by Issey Miyake

Smelled this at a department store and to me this was smell-wise a 90% copy of Cartier Declaration Cologne. Very citrus and fresh with a lot of especially grapefruit and ginger going on. Main difference is that The Miyake has a base with white musk and the Cartier with vetiver. Thumbs up as Declaration Cologne is one of my top favorite summer fragrances and very hard to get so this is an excellent replacement. The Miyake has excellent projection and longevity for a fresh scent. Not original but very well done indeed! Thumbs up: 8.5/10
30th March, 2015

Guerlain Homme by Guerlain

To me Buysblind review is spot on from start to finish! Nothing to add to that splendid review for me as it is exactly how I think about Guerlain Homme (and its flankers).
I do want to add that I agree that they differ a lot from what we're used to regarding Guerlain classics as Heritage, Habit Rouge and Vetiver, but these 4 different homme versions imo have to be seen in a kind of persective and will be praised all over as well in let's say 10-20 years from now; at least that is what I think will happen. To me Homme L'Eau Boisee is best!
10th April, 2014

Borsalino Panama by Borsalino

A nice inoffensive but complex fragrance

A very good but indeed safe smelling fragrance with 4 hrs longevity at best.
It starts very fresh and turns to a nice spicy sweet tobacco-ish fragrance with patchouli, musk, vetiver and lots of things going on! The citrus is always there on the background which remains its freshness. Despite its inoffensive smell this is a very complex fragrance with many notes to pick out in this well blended fragrance. The projection is average but again, this would have been an excellent fragrance if the base would be a tad stronger!
Good for spring mornings! Rated: 7,5/10

Pros: Refreshing, good smelling fragrance
Cons: Longevity could be better"

23rd October, 2013

Guerlain Homme L'Eau Boisée by Guerlain

A perfect fresh lime-vetiver-woods combo!

A brilliant lime-vetiver fragrance that opens like the L'Eau version but when the vetiver kicks in it turns into a little smoky, way better lasting fresh vetiver-lime-wood combo that is utterly pleasing! The kind of vetiver and Iso-E super that is used in this fragrance is the same as is used in Terre D'Hermes. You can smell that easily through the fragrance! Generally speaking, the fragrance smells much like Terre D'Hermes with the orange replaced by lime. Terre D'Hermes is more an earthy-fresh-vetiver-orange combo while Boisee is more smoky-fresh-vetiver-lime combo, added with nice woods! Longevity is about 4-6 hrs at least depending on application and projection is average. Maybe a future masterpiece like Terre D'Hermes as I don't think Thierry Wasser tried to copy Hermes with this particular Homme version. For me the best in the Homme line together with the Homme Intense version as being second and most suitable for warmer weather during spring and summer. Also perfect for office any time! Thumbs up: 9/10.

Pros: Lasting, fresh and a very pleasant inoffensive smell!
Cons: It looks a little like a Terre D'Hermes flanker"

20th September, 2013

Photo by Lagerfeld

A good, soapy, well blended masculine! (but only vintage!)

The vintage is worth while purchasing but the reformulation is a horrible soapy and synthetic mess!
Vintage smells natural, fresh, masculine with a nice bergamot, aldehydes opening and has very good projection and longevity. To me it smells like a lighter (in smell) but equally strong Versace L'Homme.
Photo is more formal, flowery and does not have that tad of leather in the base. Not dated at all, just buy the one as pictured above!
Rating: 8/10

Pros: Well blended, good and natural smelling with good longevity/sillage
Cons: Reformulated in a very very bad way! Don't buy reformulation!"

05th September, 2013

Giorgio for Men by Giorgio Beverly Hills

Good old school patchouli based powerhouse!

What else to add to the mostly positive reviews!
This is an excellent (mainly) patchouli-honey-amber-oakmoss fragrance which is reformulated but still very good with amazing sillage and longevity and it turns to a smooth smelling fragrance for hours like Givenchy Gentleman, to which this is often compared, also does! I just bought this (again and dirt cheap) with dark green color and it's amazing! A little goes a long way and less is more with this one! Do not overspray and not more than 3 sprays which is already a lot as the bottle sprays lots of juice with one squirt! Still perfectly wearable these days when not applied too much.
Comparisons with Givenchy Gentleman are a little off as GG is imo way darker, more based on a patchouli-leather-vanilla combo than this one! Both excellent and worth having both!
Rating: 8/10

Pros: Good sillage and longevity, nice smooth smell.
Cons: Can be cloying but only when oversprayed!"

05th September, 2013

Curve for Men by Liz Claiborne

For the price you have to pay for this stuff (almost nothing) it is worth having imo!
The smell is very pleasant and has a little of many. It smells green, mossy, woodsy, floral and a little spicy. To me it is a soft but noticable fragrance with decent longevity (5-6 hrs) and a quite inoffensive smell which makes it perfect of office use and other people quite like the smell of it. I won't rebuy it but but for as long as I have my 75ml I will enoy it now and then! Perfect for fall and spring. Thumbs up for an excellent quailty to price! Rating: 7/10
12th May, 2013
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Clubman Special Reserve by Pinaud

An excellent quite unique, smooth leather aftershave/cologne sold for peanuts in a big 177ml bottle.
A must have for lovers of leather fragrances. RobAtSGH's review says it al and I can only concur to what he wrote. This is not the heavy Knize Ten like leather but the smooth one added with patchouli and all kind of spices like cinnamon and vanilla. Some say it smells like wax for horse saddles and gloves. Imo this is price-quality related much better than most of the current expensive stuff that is being sold nowadays. Depending on applicatiion this stuff also lasts quite a while and sillage is average though strong at the beginning. Excellent value for the (little) money. I don't agree that this smells like Aramis or has to be decanted in a spray bottle. Thumbs way up! Rating: 8.5/10
12th May, 2013

Canoé by Dana

This has an excellent opening but turns into a, to me, too sweet of a vanilla musky like smell which does not suit me that well. I hardly wear it and prefer the better Pinaud Aftershave/Cologne which gives me the same vibe/smell but less sweet and more fresh. Mind that I have a current version of this reformulated stuff which is most probably not that good as it used to be. Rating: 5.5/10
12th May, 2013

Clubman by Pinaud

Most useful things already have been written about this aftershave/cologne. It is and old barbershop smell indeed and to me it smells like a mix of Brut Original and Canoe edt but better and fresher than both!
A must have for ever fragrance lover as this is excellent and lasting stuff in a cheap big bottle (177ml).
This can be used both as aftershave or cologne as it is way stronger than current aftershave releases and lasts easily for hours! Good old school stuff! Rating: 7.5/10

12th May, 2013

Brut Musk by Fabergé

I own only the aftershave which is very much like the original version only with some musk and woods added which makes it less fresh and more heavy and masculine. This one is more for fall-winter while the original is more for spring-summer imo. Like the original this one also has huge sillage first half hour and lasts when applied heavily like 4 hours which is excellent.
Rating: 7/10
12th May, 2013

Adidas Ice Dive by Adidas

I only own and used the afershave which is excellent when you need a short lived but very fresh and inoffensive smell based on mainly fruity and lavender ingredients with a light wood base that is easy to be layered with all kind of fresh aquatic fragrances. I use it mainly during spring and summer.
This is sold for peanuts, therefor thumbs up! Rating: 7/10
12th May, 2013

Cool Water Summer Dive by Davidoff

Compared to the original this is way mintier and more citrus in the opening and heart phase.
Extremely fresh and perfect for warmer weather while the original could be worn all year round and is thicker and heavier. This is a warm spring/summer fragrance only imo. The drydown is pretty similar to the original but overall this flanker has less sillage and longevity compared to the flagship! I got it dirt cheap and when you like the orignal and can get this really cheap as well, don't hesitate. The advantage of this version is that it is easy to be layered/blended with the original to smell more fresh! Thumbs up! Rating: 7/10
04th May, 2013

Etienne Aigner No. 2 by Etienne Aigner

I owned this fragrance but I heard it was a reformulation, I didn't like it as it had a generic lemon soapy vibe I really couldn't handle (normally I don't mind for soapyness). It is strong and kind of fresh but not my cup of tea. I sold it and never smelled the vintage but this new version gets a thumbs down. Rated: 5/10.
04th November, 2012

Etienne Aigner by Etienne Aigner

This an excellent, warm masculine fragrance!
It's from the 70's but still can easily be worn today.
It is a warm, soft, smooth and longlasting fragrance for cold fall/winter evening/nights! The drydown is a delicious mix of mainly patchouli, vanilla, oakmoss and amber which are made of mainly natural ingredients and therefor smells like niche quality!
It's discontinued but I am happy I could score a 50ml splash bottle of this which I decanted! Thumbs up! Rating: 8.5/10
04th November, 2012

Lacoste (original) by Lacoste

This is indeed a simple citrus scent of the '80 that smells clean and fresh with a mossy base.
It starts out with lots of lemon which fade after 20 mins and are joined by some flowery stuff before the mainly cedar and moss take over for the drydown. It has some similarities to YSL pour homme (little sour citrus) and even Gillette Cool Wave aftershave for the mossy drydown! This is though weaker than the YSL and has less going on. I see this fragrance more as a very strong aftershave (like Cool Wave) that lasts for a good 3-4 hrs before it fades; it has for me that fresh vibe that a good aftershave gives me. Sillage is average to close to the skin. Best to use during spring and summer for its fresh sensation.
Very good fragrance if you want to smell fresh and masculine for a few hours the '80s way!
Thumbs up! Rated: 7.5/10
12th September, 2012

Sir Irisch Moos by Sir

This green fragrance is what you call 'a good bang for the buck' as it's very cheap if you buy it at the right places (mainly in German drugstores)!
It's called a cedar chypre which is green, spicy, fresh, mossy and elegant at the same time!
I own the edt and aftershave and both are strong thought the edt is at least 3x stronger even than the aftershave. Perfect for layering of course. It's a perfect outdoors frag for spring or fall days and is has huge projection the first hour after application. The notes of pine and coriander really stand out and make this frag really green and spicy. After that it gets more closer to the skin and the more elegant side comes out as the scent turns into something more smooth. It is still very noticable though as it has a solid base of oakmoss. It lasts therefor at least a good 6 hours and sillage is average afer the strong opening. Recommended stuff if you like your chypre strong, green and masculine! Thumbs up! Rated: 8/10
11th September, 2012

Gillette Cool Wave by Gillette Series

This is for me the best aftershave one can buy when looking to quality to price!
The previous reviews of eg. Grottola and Shamu are spot on and I have little to add to those perfect reviews! This is a masculine very fresh-mossy longlasting aftershave. It doesn't have that much sillage anymore after 1 hour but it keeps lingering close to the skin for many hours more indeed when splashed on liberally!
I could get some new versions of this gem in Germany and looking at the text on the bottle and fragrance which is only in German and Russian, I think it's launched here in Europe just for some specific countries; eg. here in The Netherlands it's impossible to get. I also did not see it in Belgium, France or Spain where I am frequently. I therefor bought 400ml of this stuff which was €3.75 a bottle of 100ml!
I also own a vintage which is very old and there are some remarkable differences. Mainly as my vintage says it does NOT contain any alcohol and the new ones do. Nevertheless do they smell pretty much the same and are equally long lasting with equal sillage as well. The only difference is that the vintage is maybe even more mossy and the new one is more fresher but it's just a minor difference imo. This is how an aftershave must be! This aftershave is also perfect for layering with many fresh/fougere/aquatic fragrances like Revillon R, Cool Water, Azzaro Chrome. Bvlgari Aqva (Marine) etc. Many thumbs up and regarding it's an aftershave it deserves a perfect rating! Rated: 10/10
10th September, 2012

Montana Parfum d'Homme (original) by Montana

Montana Red Box

Did anyone know that the perfumer of this fragrance is the same who created Davidoff Original in 1984? Edouard Flechier! Two very good masculine fragrances to say the least!
I agree that this is more of an aromatic fougere than a leather scent. Like Francesco Smalto pour homme there is a lot going on in this frag. It starts with a lemon-lavender that smells so good as it is surrounded by aldehydes, cinnamon, lavender, mandarin orange, tarragon, pepper and bergamot. Delicious opening! One of the best smelling openings for me.
After that the flowers kick in with pine tree needles and sage which give it a green-spicy touch that defines the heart stage of this fragrance. The masculine basenotes eg. with leather, patchouli, ambergris and oakmoss end up this frag into a real 80's ubermasculine frag! I would not say a powerhouse, though it qualifies for it first hour, but after that the blend that is left is too smooth to define this frag as a powerhouse. Real good noses can get a lot out of this fragrance I guess as there is so much going on. Not many frags are lemony, green, floral, spicy, smokey, soapy, leathery, herbal and mossy in one! Montana has it all! This fragrance is very versatile as it mellows down after one hour and the smell lingering around you is hard to dislike! Perfect for outdoors during fall and winter and even early spring evenings! For work, don't apply too much and let it dry down for at least 30 mins before entering the office, but actually better use another fragrance for work tbh. Not that suitable for summer and formal occasions. To me one of those perfect outdoor fall-winterfragrances like Quorum, Francesco Smalto pour homme and Lapidus pour homme.
Longevity is average, like 6-8 hrs on me and sillage is above average first hour and average after that. It gets close to the skin after 4 hours depending on amount of application. Another nice creation by Flechier of pure original masculanity like he did for Davidoff's first in 1984! Rated: 8.5/10
07th September, 2012

Eau Sauvage by Christian Dior

One of the great all time French classics!
Lots of things going on in this clean citrus scent with very natural smelling ingredients hence being considered a masterpiece.
It opens with very fresh and pure smelling lemon and basil with a fruity herbal touch, lots of flowery stuff going on in the heart, which combo with the herbs give it a little dirty vibe, with a base of vetiver, musk, amber and oakmoss.
To me the flowery heart combined with the fresh herbal opening makes this fragrance so different from other fragrances in this genre with its brilliant dirty vibe. The blend of all these complementing notes and their smell is so perfect that it's called a masterpiece by many! It's refreshing, elegant, very mature, and gives you a very gentlemanly sophisticated feeling! Only for real men I'd say! To be used for 30 and up. To me it's more of a edc than edt as the lasting power is like 2 hrs tops when applied liberally and on clothes! After that the scent lingers on for still a while but so close to the skin that it is hardly detactable anymore for yourself and others. It is worth the first two hours and of course to be extended by reapplication. Mainly to be used in spring and summer. Rated: 8/10
04th September, 2012

Francesco Smalto pour Homme by Francesco Smalto

I bought two 100ml bottles like 1.5 year ago of this old 80's powerhouse due to all reviews I read, not being able to test it.
It was not in vain as I really love the stuff! Ubermasculanity in a bottle! This juice really rocks and contains all powerhouse qualities! It's macho, dark, smokey, leathery, ubermasculine, strong, lasting and projecting! Most powerhouses don't have all these qualities as Shamu points out correctly as they are mostly not smokey and this dark! (assuming the brilliant Tsar is no powerhouse)
The opening is a mix of lavender, flowers and leather mixed with anise. The anise seems odd but makes this dry fragrance smell pretty different than any other powerhouse I can think of. The anise complements the other masculine notes during opening and smokey heart stage and disappears when the drydown sets in. The drydown which is pretty soft compared to the first 1.5 hour of the opening and heart goes on for many hours lingering around and never seem to leave you which makes it a pretty long lasting fragrance. The drydown is also still a little smokey with some masculine stuff going on. lots of patchouli, leather and oakmoss are the key players there which keep it dark. As ericrico pointed out there is no freshness at all in this scent but just brilliant boldness in a bottle! To be used in fall/winter only! Longevity is 8+ hrs and sillage above average first two hours and average to close last 6-8 hrs of its long life time. Thumbs way up! Rated: 9/10
04th September, 2012

Aqua Quorum by Antonio Puig

I bought this blind a few years ago and never regretted it! To me it's not an aquatic per se but more a 'fresh aromatic fougere' which can be used all year around actually but does best during warmer summer days as it's very refreshing!
It belongs to the same genre as eg. Cool water, Eternity and Polo Sport and it has a little of all these frags combined and costs like 1/3 of the price of the others. It's is compared mainly to Polo Sport, but AQ has no seaweed note.
It starts heavy and sharp and a little 'alcoholic' with lavender and flowers surrounded by grapefruit. The base of amber, leather and oakmoss do give a very masculine and spicy edge to this very fresh fragrance like the drydown of Cool Water has as well. This is far better than most aquatics thrown at the market last 15 years, especially looking at the price! It lasts for like 8 hours even and has above average sillage.
It's versatile and 100% masculine! The only drawback I can think of is that it's not that original as it seems it has copied and combined some of the best accords of Cool water, Eternity and Polo Sport together to create AQ but I don't care. Note that this frag is nothing similar to it's green brother Quorum!
Thumbs way up! Rated: 8/10
04th September, 2012

Homme Nature by Yves Rocher

To me this fragrance was really a surpise looking at the quality to price ratio!
Got this almost for free in the Yves Rocher Shop (€8 or something like that for 50ml) here in NL.
Made out of mainly natural ingredients, this fragrance smells really green, little herbal and fresh!
A clean green woody herbal indeed as one calls it that starts with a cucumber like smell that is surrounded quickly by mainly sage, mint and ivy. The base of moss and sandalwood makes it smell masculine and like you walk in a forrest with a fresh but mossy like smell with a little herbal sweetness to it! Very natural and green indeed! It is not unisex to me, lasts about 5 hours and sillage is average. Best to be used in the summer but can also easily be used during spring and fall! Thumbs up for this good stuff! Rated: 8/10
04th September, 2012

Sander for Men by Jil Sander

This is a good light woody spicy (a bit of pepper) scent that can be used at any occasion at any season but has for me one big drawback (and therefor I sold my bottle) and that is: This is TOO inoffensive and TOO safe after the fresh opening, that lasts 15 mins, to get a thumbs up. For me a fragrance must at least have something daring or contain an interesting part that makes it special. Can be a tiny 'part' but must be there in a frag for me. This frag lacks on that level and is therefor pretty boring in my opinion. This is one of the most perfect fragrances for people who only want to own one fragrance all year around and stick to that. Sillage and longevity are safe and average. Not for frag addicts! Neutral: Rated: 6-/10

01st September, 2012