Reviews by danny1967

    Showing 1 to 10 of 10.
    rating


    Aventus by Creed

    pineapple & fruits (nothing 'specific' that comes to mind, just fruit, similar to the reaction that i have when drinking a 'tropical' cocktail of juices, think tropicana, combination of various tropical juices) with a hint of vanilla. that's it. have i mentioned the pineaple?
    after 30min it dries down into a generic, fruity, ambery vanillic fragrance, similar to tens if not hundreds of high street fragrances. the only difference? the exorbitant price tag that you have to pay because the name creed is attached to it.
    no, no, no, a thousand times no. will not give in to the hype and pay close to £200 for something that smells like pineapple. try it first, ask for samples, buy samples of it off ebay and wear it as many times as humanly possible, and then, only then, if you are convinced is worth the price tag go buy it.
    oh, and i keep forgetting to say the most important thing, it smells like pineapple. i don't think i've mentioned it before.

    26 July, 2012 (Last Edited: 27 July, 2012)

    rating


    Eau de Gloire by Parfum d'Empire

    it's amazing how much is this reminding me of hermes bel ami! a very nice, soft, citrusy leather, quite linear but perfectly wearable during spring and summer. i'm also quite partial to the aniseedic note so all in all, thumbs up.

    01st May, 2012

    rating


    Guerlain Homme L'Eau Boisée by Guerlain

    let me put this way (in the simplest, most concise way possible): if you like terre d'hermes you'll like this one, if you don't like terre d'hermes, you won't.

    03 April, 2012

    rating


    Fils de Dieu du Riz et des Agrumes by Etat Libre d'Orange

    have tried this at les senteurs two weeks ago, it is probably the only fragrance in which i can stand the coconut and the rice notes but ultimately it is way to sweet for me, veering towards the feminine, also quite innocent and inoffensive, after the usual releases from eldo which some can be quite controversial, this strikes me as.. well, bland.
    i still like it but i don't think i can wear it. i do have to give it another try though, les senteurs did not have samples for this yet, have only tested it once on my wrist. also, i guess that etat libre d'orange have given in to the political correctness and have changed the original and experimental name (albeit only temporary as i have been told) that they've had for this fragrance, which was 'filipino houseboy'. hmmm.. doesn't have the same sound as the incomprehensibly french 'fils de dieu du riz et des agrumes', loosely translated in english as 'son of god and citrus rice'.

    06 March, 2012 (Last Edited: 21st March, 2012)

    rating


    Voyage d'Hermes Parfum by Hermès

    soapy is the first thought that comes to my mind. the spice (courtesy of the cardamon) is very evident, followed by juniper and a very slight amber note. i did not smell the original edt so i cannot really compare them. the only thing i can tell you is that it is very linear and in the drydown it smells like an expensive barber shop. to that end, it reminds me a lot of helmut lang eau de cologne, but it is the 'poor man's helmut land edc' so if you cannot find or afford helmut lang edc then i definitely recommend buying this one. another overpriced product from hermes? yes. i give it a neutral because i cannot say that i don't like it but i definitely wouldn't buy it, especially considering the price.

    16 February, 2012

    rating


    Bois du Portugal by Creed

    first time i've smelled this i thought, oh no, dirty piss (as opposed to clean, funnily enough), wet rags, pungent, animalistic, very sharp, intrusive, extremely unpleasant, ironically it is extremely potent compared to other creed fragrances which are famous for not lasting. i had to wash my wrist after 10min as i couldn't wait for the drydown and couldn't care less. avoid at all costs.

    26 January, 2012

    rating


    Baume Du Doge by Eau d'Italie

    this starts quite promising actually, a blast of resinous, exotic spices, quite sweet but also incensy, unfortunately after half an hour you are left with only.... oh, no: toothpaste. yes, a minty, fresh toothpaste. i will have to pass i'm afraid.

    06 January, 2012

    rating


    Basala / Basara by Shiseido

    am i the only one that thinks it smells like joseph abboud (the first formulation in the brown bottle) and (especially) gucci nobile? same linear composition, quite severe but also warm, extreme longevitiy and sillage, one spray max two and it is quite heady, i definitely wouldn't recommend it for summer.

    16 November, 2011

    rating


    Costume National Homme by Costume National

    i can totally see this is a dominique ropion creation as it is strikingly similar to the scent he created later on for frederic malle's house, french lover, of course much cheaper and easier to find than french lover.

    09 November, 2011

    rating


    Isfarkand by Ormonde Jayne

    i have to say, i don't get it! but then again, i find most ormonde jayne perfumes a bit strange. i am quite lucky in the sense that i work just around the corner from her boutique on old bond street and the shop assistants know me well after buying 'orris noir' for my wife following a 2hrs assault on the shop assistant's knowledge. i do go in from time to time and they are kind enough to offer me samples but i can never get my head around their perfumes. firstly, i find even the so called 'male' perfumes that ormonde jayne has to offer more on the 'unisex' side. maybe i'm a bit more traditional like that but i think they smell much better on women. isfarkand on me smells a bit like rubber and plastic, just behind the bergamot and vetiver notes. i'm wearing it right now, it's a warm, 21C, sunny london afternoon (i know, shocking) and even though it's wearable and it has a good longevity (sprayed about 4hrs ago), i cannot make my mind about it. i'm inside the house in my pyjamas, maybe that's why, maybe i should wear a suit or some 'elegant' clothes and be 'out and about' or maybe it's the weather. i'll give it another try tomorrow when surely it will be raining.

    09 October, 2011

    Showing 1 to 10 of 10.




Loving perfume on the Internet since 2000