Reviews by bFlay

    bFlay's avatar
    bFlay
    United States United States

    Showing 31 to 60 of 151.
    rating


    Vikt by Slumberhouse

    This is what old Italian men wear to pay their respects at the funeral home! Creates exactly that unpleasant sense memory. Very dated sweet and moldy herbaceous quality. Fennel and musty dankness waft in a cloud of sweetness around the wearer. One must consider a pair of too short seersucker pants and a porkpie hat to complete their image when wearing VIKT by Slumberhouse...

    28 May, 2014

    rating


    Pi Neo by Givenchy

    Rich and intense! Very warm blend of bergomot (bitter orange, not sweet) and true cedar notes. These stay with you and project for hours. Up close, you get the patchouli notes that are equally warm and give a smoky depth with a tinge of sweet caramel that doesn't overwhelm. PI NEO manages to be fun, flirty, charismatic AND mature. No small feat!

    22 May, 2014

    rating


    Dior Homme Intense by Christian Dior

    Richly masculine floral with a tannic acid/leather vibe beneath a subtle lavedar and iris heart. Does not evolve much...just projects those notes for 6+ hours, then fades away. Becomes very slightly "too sweet" near the end of wear. This is minor and likely only noticeable to the wearer. Quite a nice fragrance overall.

    21st May, 2014

    rating


    Royal Bain de Caron / Royal Bain de Champagne by Caron

    So I tried this after having it recommended to me several times by my local shop girl. I will allow as other reviewers talk of the many different reformulations that my experience may have been bottle/batch specific. RBdC is...interesting. I'm doubtful of the "shared" designation as it is very sweetly floral, definitely lilac and a pure lilac at that. The cedar note is there and im not sure it harmonizes very well with the lilac. Together they tend to smell like Grandmother's hope chest when opened on a hot, humid day. This MIGHT be pleasant for a certain niche of women, but really doesn't spark a masculine vibe...or a youthful one. RBdC does last remarkably long - over 8 hours on skin.

    19 May, 2014

    rating


    Concentré D'Orange Verte by Hermès

    Very intense orange note at the top that subsides after ten minutes to allow a sweet pine sap/clover/spring water accord to rise up and marry the citrus note. Very nice...while it lasts. However this is a sweet fragrance that is tough for a man to wear and may be too earthy green for women. Polarizing fragrance to be sure! Lasts approximately 5 hours on skin/clothes.

    16 May, 2014

    rating


    Habit Rouge by Guerlain

    Too pungent. Overpowering rose and astringently chemical quality of concentrated gourmands...cinnamon, clove, and maybe orange oil. Tips the balance between bold and obnoxiiusly overpowering. Does last well over 7 hours just on skin.

    15 May, 2014

    rating


    1932 by Chanel

    Fresh masculine floral that has the green and watery qualities of an oriental fragrance profile but marries it with smoky woods and gourmand spices. Sufficiently unique enough to translate as a modern fragrance but retains the classic vibe of yesteryear's barbershop. That's the intensity of this...light, watery with a little leather and rose to make you feel "spiffy"...just like a barbershop. This is a delightful departure from the "strong statement" fragrances of today. This is a perfect selection to have on hand beside your other "signature scents". Lasts 6+hours on skin and clothes.

    14 May, 2014

    rating


    Jeans Couture Man by Versace

    JEANS COUTURE MAN is...unremarkable. Has notes of sandalwood and citrus that are pleasant, but fade rather quickly. Very sweet and dries down to a strong, synthetic musk oil base. Lasts perhaps 5-6 hours on skin. Might be a good one for teenagers to start out with as it is somewhat fresh and clean without being overpowering or complex.

    08 May, 2014

    rating


    Chrome by Azzaro

    Citrusy with a mild, but persistent sandalwood note that translates as soapy and fresh rather than smoky. CHROME is the paragon of masculine fresh fragrances. A nice "daytime anywhere" kinda fragrance that appeals without much personality. This is a perfectly nice fragrance to have in a collection of more bold and definitive choices. Lasts 5+ hours on skin and clothes.

    20th April, 2014

    rating


    Aura for Men by Jacomo

    Terrible, TERRIBLE fragrance! smells of children's sunscreen, fake watermelon and lemon oil. There's some old lady face powder in there too. Horrid. A cacophany of foulness all around.

    05 April, 2014

    rating


    Aqua Colonia Santal by Florascent

    I actually enjoy this fragrance with its' rich gourmand spices, notably clove and cinnamon, but also mace and a bare hint of ginger and pink peppercorns...quite nice. Unfortunately this breaks down very quickly (less than 3 hours) and becomes very powdery sweet but stale in the way of fabrics in a room where incense is frequently burned. I don't get sandalwood at all... Not a bad scent, just unremarkable and disappointing with its' poor longevity. Definitely has its' uses though if you want to punch up another gourmand fragrance or desire a pleasant scent that wears off quickly...allows for something else to be worn later in the day perhaps.

    05 April, 2014

    rating


    Acteur by Azzaro

    I actually liked this when I tried it on a few occassions...at least while it lasted. Manages to be both subtle and startlingly potent with spices and strong rose notes. Opens with an astringent, medicinal smell that dries down to a moist green apple heart (not listed in profile, but that's what my nose divines!). Rose and spice with a green tea and apple accord sort of dances back and forth while wearing. Unfortunately, ACTEUR breaks down quickly and messily. Most traces are gone from skin and clothes within 4 hours.

    14 March, 2014

    rating


    Spice and Wood by Creed

    Ahh...Spice and Wood by Creed. Fairly nice fragrance with all the notes I should love. However, this is EXPENSIVE and just doesn't deliver for its' price point. Opens with a hard liquor smell of whiskey, gin, or any cheap hard liquor from the "bottom shelf" really. This does subside a little after 15 minutes and an apple/iris quality comes through. This presents as musty in my opinion because of that lingering sour alcohol. I find an all too fleeting clove note in the middle that seems to overpower the rest of the notes and almost presents as pure clove oil rather than cologne. Lasts 5-6 hours before breaking down to a musty, watery generic wood fragrance. Overall, it is disappointing. I admit my opinion is influenced by the price. If i'm paying premium prices, I want flawless. This isn't it.

    11th March, 2014

    rating


    Jeke by Slumberhouse

    Wet burnt rubber tires on a bonfire of molded brush! Horrible!

    27 February, 2014

    rating


    Dior Homme by Christian Dior

    I want to like this more... I sampled this on numerous occassions and thought it was a nice scent. Not an "incredible fragrance", but nice. It's expensive so that had kept me from purchasing it for more sustained wearing. About a month ago I found it at a reduced price in a discount store and picked up a bottle. Opens with a sweet spicy floral quality. Has a distinctly waxy accord that invokes thoughts of low-end cosmetics. However, I get compliments on this and actually enjoy it some hours after applying when it breaks down and develops a more predominently spicy note and a pure iris accord. I like iris notes, I think it is the best masculine floral. So Dior Homme is nice. I would not pay full price for it and probably won't wear it frequently or certainly not on any special occassions...

    27 February, 2014

    rating


    Black Afgano by Nasomatto

    Horrible! I was shocked when I finally got to sample this after being intrigued by the profile on Basenotes. BLACK AFGANO smells like motor oil, rotting organic compost, and illicit smokable greenery. Odd pop-ups of citrus and sage notes occassionally, but hard to discern or classify through the muddy, oily almost fetid scents mentioned before. I ALMOST think I could have gotten a bad bottle, but I suspect this smells as intended. Definitely a test before you buy. It is prohibitively expensive too. Lasts over 10 hours on skin/clothes.

    13 February, 2014

    rating


    Kouros by Yves Saint Laurent

    KOUROS by YSL is nice enough...in a bland, boring, very dated sort of way. Opens with a harsh woodsy furniture polish vibe that transitions to a potent clove and cut-grass heart that comes across synthetic and oily rather than natural or fresh. Sort of reminicent of lemon oil furniture polish. Very reminicent of the 80s scents for men. Not bad, just unremarkable. Lasts approximately 4-6hrs on skin.

    13 February, 2014

    rating


    1881 Fairplay by Cerruti

    Wonderfully jolting hit of spice at the top of this fragrance. Almost savory pepper quality that slowly melds with green herbs and dry woods that deepen and are brightened by vanilla sweetness. This is easily one of the most complicated and thoroughly changed fragrances I have ever come across. Fascinating and broad in its scope. Certainly suitable for a wide range of people. Professional, yet bold with good sillage and longevity of 7+ hours on skin and clothes.

    14 January, 2014

    rating


    Salvatore Ferragamo pour Homme by Salvatore Ferragamo

    Boldly citrus and clove! Opens with the purest essence of citrus zests that almost presents as lemon oil. Distinct grapefruit qualities quickly follow and are punctuated with pungent clove so rich and bold that one can taste it. Again, very pure essence of the oil (clove). Delightful men's fragrance that lasts 5-7 hours on skin and clothes.

    25 December, 2013

    rating


    Bigelow Barber Cologne Elixir Black No. 1581 by C.O. Bigelow Apothecary

    Like this better than C.O. Red. Presents a very simple, watery version of classic men's gourmand fragrances. Vanilla, oak, tobacco notes from start to finish. Very linear with longevity of around 6 hours. Inoffensive. Would be great for youngsters just starting to wear cologne.

    25 December, 2013

    rating


    Bigelow Barber Cologne Elixir Red No. 1584 by C.O. Bigelow Apothecary

    Inexpensive, relatively unique fragrance. Opens with an interesting spice (think cinnamon candy) quality that unfortunately dissipates within moments. Then you're left with a very linear synthetic fruit scent that is reminiscent of cough syrup. I sometimes think I detect a warmer, vanilla-honey-fig note coming through. All notes are gone within 4-5 hours.

    25 December, 2013

    rating


    Paul Smith for Men by Paul Smith

    Orange and sprightly! Not particularly masculine, rather more unisex. Very green and evocative of fresh cut grass. Peppery middle notes. Iris comes out in the base after dry down and is very minimal...that can be good or bad depending on one's tastes. Pleasant fragrance, inoffensive. Lasts 4-6 hours on skin.

    13 December, 2013

    rating


    Back to Black by By Kilian

    Very warm vanilla opening that is moist, not smoky. Reminiscent of chamomile tea with milk and honey. Unfortunately, that honey comes to the fore after an hour or so of wear and overwhelms with cloying sweetness. Develops very feminine qualities then fades within 3 hours. Back to Black is pleasant enough and inoffensive for most company.

    07 December, 2013

    rating


    Lagerfeld Classic by Lagerfeld

    Sampled this twice. Very sweet. Very powdery and cloying vanilla quality. One note. No depth. Lasts 3 to four hours on skin.

    07 December, 2013

    rating


    Azzaro Pour Homme Night Time by Azzaro

    Opens with brash sweet orange oil-not bergamot- that evokes furniture polish. Softens to basic hodge podge of current/common "masculine fragrance" notes. Sweet and watery woods and spices with occasional weak punches of that oily furniture polish scent. Doesn't project much at all and lasts less than 5 hours on clothes/skin.

    13 May, 2013

    rating


    Clarity Man by Michael Hill

    Startling fresh but warm men's fragrance. Bought it in shop after sampling. Opens with watery fruits that are a little muddled, but sprightly in the way of true fruit essences. Dries down to a richly masculine woods and roses heart. I'm not sure about the watermelon specifically. Also not sure that the various wood notes are distinct enough to pick out one from the other. Overall this is just slightly different than other men's fragrances with similar profiles. I find it to be reassuringly familiar and projects well with longevity of 6-7 hours.

    06 May, 2013

    rating


    Spicebomb by Viktor & Rolf

    Raucous, Loud, Demands attention! SPICE BOMB is rich with a cacophonous opening of fruits and spice like tea and jam in the sauna...dries down to leather and spice with a little undertone of sweat from that same sauna. Good juice. Lasts 6+ hours on skin.

    04 May, 2013

    rating


    Tumulte pour Homme by Christian Lacroix

    Really, really fun fragrance. Rich classic "male" notes mingle with the more modern trend toward green and sweet fragrances for men. Opens with an herbal/floral quality that evokes grass, rain, and a bit of juniper and/or lily. This evolves quickly to a warm patchouli that isn't so much smoky as it is muddled and muted. The heart of this fragrance is really a cedar quality softened by the green notes. Tumulte pour Homme is just a little unique and reassuringly familiar. A great fragrance for the middle-of-life man who works and plays in broad spectrum social environs. Light enough for day. Bold enough for night. Fun, not serious and sometimes that is attractive.

    23 April, 2013

    rating


    Eau Sauvage by Christian Dior

    I liked this well enough to buy it. Opens with pungent LEMON that is very pure and natural, if a bit overwhelming as that is all you smell. After 30 minutes or so, it softens and an interesting savory herb (rosemary, basil?) projects slightly through the lemon. Lasts at least 5+ hours on skin/clothes.

    23 April, 2013

    rating


    Rive Gauche pour Homme by Yves Saint Laurent

    This is the sophisticated and unmistakably masculine version of a lot of bergamot-woods-spices and floral fragrances available today. Opens with a reliable top note of citrus and dry woods that dries down to pervasive smoky cloves and patchouli. The patchouli is quite light and really harmonizes the more pronounced cycles of orange/bergamot and sweeter notes. I don't get a pronounced floral note from this. RIVE GAUCHE POUR HOMME is truly for men and conveys that throughout wear. It is remarkably versatile, suitable for day or night, work or play. Lasts over 7 hours before breaking down. A great contender for any thinking man's "signature scent".

    31st March, 2013

    Showing 31 to 60 of 151.