Reviews by bFlay

    bFlay's avatar
    bFlay
    United States United States

    Showing 61 to 90 of 153.
    rating


    Eau Sauvage by Christian Dior

    I liked this well enough to buy it. Opens with pungent LEMON that is very pure and natural, if a bit overwhelming as that is all you smell. After 30 minutes or so, it softens and an interesting savory herb (rosemary, basil?) projects slightly through the lemon. Lasts at least 5+ hours on skin/clothes.

    23 April, 2013

    rating


    Rive Gauche pour Homme by Yves Saint Laurent

    This is the sophisticated and unmistakably masculine version of a lot of bergamot-woods-spices and floral fragrances available today. Opens with a reliable top note of citrus and dry woods that dries down to pervasive smoky cloves and patchouli. The patchouli is quite light and really harmonizes the more pronounced cycles of orange/bergamot and sweeter notes. I don't get a pronounced floral note from this. RIVE GAUCHE POUR HOMME is truly for men and conveys that throughout wear. It is remarkably versatile, suitable for day or night, work or play. Lasts over 7 hours before breaking down. A great contender for any thinking man's "signature scent".

    31st March, 2013

    rating


    Gold by Acqua di Genova

    Orange! Wonderful waves of pure, natural citrus oil wafting from a hot and humid garden of lush roses, lilacs, and fruitwood trees! And in that garden someone is has baked a cake! GOLD is just that, sweet and dense without being cloying. Only slight fault is that it breaks down quickly, lasts 4-5 hours on skin and clothes. May be too richly gourmand and sweet for some men, but I like it!

    30th March, 2013

    rating


    Borsalino by Borsalino

    This is almost a 3 star "neutral" for me. BORSALINO tends to be synthetic and chemical-smelling at intervals with crisp, reedy waters and spices. Not discernibly bergamot or as warm as "leather and woods" fragrances might be despite it's pyramid of notes. Still, BORSALINO draws you in and provokes an affection for itself. Opens with green grasses and a vaguely minty accord that dries down to pronounced florals and musk. That's where BORSALINO lives for its' 5+ hour longevity. There is an occasional fleeting note of nutmeg, cedar, and black tea. These are very incidental notes though. I like this just well enough to warrant the Thumbs Up...I imagine most others would too. I'd also imagine this being appealing to both men and women.

    30th March, 2013

    rating


    Arpège pour Homme by Lanvin

    Incredible fragrance! Bold, fascinating, a signature scent for social occasions or evenings out on the town. Opens peppery and sweet then glides into a warm, smoky heart that manages to merge masculine florals and intense spices ( I get both nutmeg and clove). Base softens further to a breathable orange blossom, vanilla, and pronounced patchouli with less smoke. Really fun but dignified! Lasts 7+ hours on skin and clothes.

    20th March, 2013

    rating


    Bergamote 22 by Le Labo

    I really enjoyed this in the shop when I purchased it. Opens with a true orange/grapefruit quality of green and bitter which softens and sweetens within moments to a crisp citrus that really projects and doesn't "read" as cologne. Unfortunately, this breaks down after approximately 2 hours and has a faint medicinal-camphor-betadine note that carries along to the rapid finish within 4-5 hours (after which there is no discernible fragrance at all). BERGAMOTE 22 is different in a basically good way. I would wear it with another fragrance to add interest and boost both scents. Also to hopefully downplay the medicinal in the middle.

    20th March, 2013

    rating


    Edges for Men by Panouge

    EDGES FOR MEN (Panouge) is a lot of fragrance...Very busy, almost a cacophany of scent points assaulting your nose. But I like it. Opens with a very brief, harsh citrus blast that seems synthetic, but calms down to a sweet lemony cinnamon quality that piques and holds interest. Middle is sweet and smoky, sometimes vanilla dominates, sometimes incense. Sweet basenotes leave no doubt that there is vanilla here. No doubt about the cinnamon either. You and all those in the immediate vicinity will taste it. The citrus, orange-bergomot-lemon disappears very quickly. this is a sweet vanilla spice fragrance foremost. Quite nice. Quite a statement. Lasts 5+ hours on skin.

    18 March, 2013

    rating


    Versace pour Homme Oud Noir by Versace

    Warm and spicy potion! Enthusiastic thumbs up! Opens with phenomenal woods and tannic acid notes that warm up to sensual leather and spices (evokes thoughts of clove cigarettes...in a good way). Middle notes are nuianced dry spices and darkness that makes a statement without becoming overbearing. After approximately two hours, I get a mellower woods and leather / tea base that is really pleasant to live with throughout Oud Noirs's 8+ hour longevity when applied to skin and clothes. Overall, a delightful fragrance that renews the familiar notes of many masculine fragrances and updates them well.

    18 March, 2013

    rating


    Polo Black by Ralph Lauren

    Opens with an almost overwhelming benzoin/medicinal smell. This lingers for 20 minutes before I moderate fruity note can be noted. Long after application (an hour or more), there is a vanilla-tobacco-patchouli quality that is pleasant if somewhat predictable. Lasts about 4-6 hours on skin/clothes and occassionally re-introduces that benzoin note...I'm ambivalent...othe "black" fragrances like Kenneth Cole and 1881 are far preferable!

    14 March, 2013

    rating


    Ajaccio Violets by Geo F Trumper

    This is one of those fragrances you have to live with for a while in order to really assess it. Violet blasts forth upon application for an hour afterward. Very slight green aquatic quality, but also a vaguely dry wine accord that I am ambivalent about. Succeeds as a masculine floral to be sure, but certainly not a "one size fits all". Lasts perhaps 5-7 hours on skin/clothes.

    05 March, 2013

    rating


    Double Fraîcheur pour Lui by Molinard

    I love Molinard's Patchouli frags, but found this to be an oddly bland "nothing" sort of fragrance. Vaguely sweet and fresh (like a chemical deodorizer) with a very fleeting watered down citrus note. Yes, there's mint in there too. Mint that evokes medicine, not refreshing green sprigs! This is so mild and inoffensive that I may wear it every now and again when I want to smell vaguely sweet and inoffensive. Lasts about 4 hours on skin and clothes.

    08 January, 2013

    rating


    Accord Boise by Ajmal

    I bought this blind on-line. I'm not necessarily dissapointed, but find Accord Boise rather bland and banal considering its profile of pepper, incense, and ginger. This is NOT a gourmand frag. I don't get coffee, sage, ginger. More of a linear mild woods quality throughout 3-4 hour longevity. Not unpleasant per se, just unremarkable considering its price point in my opinion.

    08 January, 2013

    rating


    17/17 Homme by Xerjoff

    Startling fresh citrus opening with a pungent herbal green and rose middle. Softens to a base of gourmand spices and talcum that occassionally pipes up with those pervasive citrus notes throughout wear. Lasts 6+ hours on skin. I do not detect leather notes at all...which I consider a good thing. Very mild after first thirty minutes and genearlly presents a mature unisex quality that is quite nice for daily or mixed company wear.

    08 January, 2013

    rating


    Expedition by Ajmal

    Muddled herbal and lilac/iris character that seems feminine at the top then dries down to a mellow woods and wine quality that last throughout its 4-6 hour longevity. Not a bad fragrance, but not distinctive or special either. I really don't get the "spicy floral" that is mentioned in the pyramid. Much more fruity and green with abysmal projection. No one more than 3 feet from you will know you're wearing it. This is a very neutral and light fragrance that fits in when you only want to smell vaguely pleasant and inoffensive.

    22 December, 2012

    rating


    Incense Oud by By Kilian

    Smoky sweet warmth in a powder cloud of peppery woods and gourmand spices. This opens with a loud cacophany of muddled notes that can overpower, but softens in twenty minutes or so to those warm sweet notes. Delightfully mature and sophisticated.

    19 November, 2012

    rating


    Gaultier² by Jean Paul Gaultier

    too sweet. Fake vanilla cloying sweetness and cheap musk quality reminicent of feminine deodorant spray. I get a medicinal benzoin note on dry down that is persistent and pretty unpleasant as well.

    29 October, 2012

    rating


    Bernini Men by Bernini

    Wonderfully literal interpretation of orange, nutmeg, and patchouli! Fresh, yet warm and masculine and spicy and sweet. A nearly perfect amalgam of yasterday's standby fragrance notes and the evolution of today's Men's wear! Really intriguing and inviting. Evolves from an orang-y tea vibe at the top to a pungent spicy quality with dry down. Pleasingly bitter orange/bergamot marries with an incense smoke and woods quality that lasts over 7 hours on skin and clothes. I want to spritz this all over my home, not just myself!

    29 September, 2012

    rating


    Black by Kenneth Cole

    Fairly intense juice with a fairly intense opening of suede and musk which softens to a rich spicy floral interspersed with smoke and incense. Masculine and pervasive, most definitely an "apply sparingly" fragrance suitable for day or evening, work or play. Base of leather and incense is both simple and reassuring. Lasts over 6 hours on skin and clothes combined. This is a great signature scent. Sophisticated and mature.

    29 September, 2012

    rating


    Neroli by Czech & Speake

    Intensely orange and floral opening which softens from the bitter ends of citrus notes to a brighter, fruity orange quality upon dry down. There is a questionable and intriguing rose and oak scent beneath the citrus that keeps this interesting throughout a very long wear - lasts 8+ hours on skin. Quite nice and truly "unisex" fragrance.

    26 September, 2012

    rating


    Touch for Men by Burberry

    I like many of the Burberry for men fragrances. This is just alright. Opens with powdery floral notes (violets? Idk). Feminine without discernible woods, leather, or warm spices to make it masculine. Dries down to a talcum and musk base that projects well, but still very sweet and maybe a wee bit overwhelming. Not a bad fragrance overall, but makes a very specific statement that is irrevocable and unrelenting. Test first before buying!

    23 September, 2012

    rating


    1881 Black by Cerruti

    Great specific blend of sweet almonds and woods (I get cedar quite strongly). One can almost taste marzipan whe wearing this. There is an intense vanilla quality that reminds me of RAW VANILLA, but much stronger with bolder projection. Not necessarily spicy or intensely masculine, but 1881 BLACK delivers a complex symphony of rich, deep notes that I find different people interpret and pick out notes of widely contrasting attributes. I get more comments and compliments from wearing this than most of my other fragrances (except combo of Blue Sugar/Acquolina and Patchouli/Molinard). I don't notice the orange as distinctly with this but it is there. I also don't think it projects or lasts as long as others describe. Longevity of 5-6 hours on skin and clothes.
    Definitely a great combination of gourmand notes that are not spices. Really unique. Very great addition to any man's fragrance wardrobe that provides contrast and a counterpoint to the typical warm woodsy/leather/tobacco field of masculine colognes.

    21st September, 2012 (Last Edited: 15 June, 2014)

    rating


    Azzaro Now Men by Azzaro

    Tried this 2 or 3 times before reviewing. Very harsh astringent opening of synthetic green notes and saddle soap. This mellows to a chemically floral scent mixed with saddle soap and perhaps an arguably "leather" quality. Not pleasant as a personal scent.

    20th September, 2012

    rating


    A*Men / Angel Men by Thierry Mugler

    Don't really understand the popularity of this fragrance... It's a tarry vanilla musky scent with a viscous petroleum note that evokes thoughts of old ladies pumping gasoline. Odd but true in my opinion.

    14 September, 2012 (Last Edited: 20th March, 2013)

    rating


    Tactics by Shiseido

    Foul sense memory evoked with this. Smells EXACTLY like a urinal cake...those nasty pink wax deodorizer doo-dads. Specifically, one drenched in used malt liquor! Other reviewers talk of geraniums, rain, etc.? I am flummoxed. This is bad. Try before you buy (try it twice with the consensus of those who might be around when this is worn)

    02 September, 2012

    rating


    Grey Vetiver by Tom Ford

    This starts out with a pleasant bitter orange and nutmeg quality, then hits u with the earthy vetiver note. Unfortunately that "earthiness" continues in a too realistic way. After 20 minutes or so, GREY VETIVER smells like a sweaty horse in a newly plowed field. If a scent can be both slightly sweet and fetid at the same time, this is it. Disappointing.

    30th August, 2012

    rating


    Capucci pour Homme by Roberto Capucci

    Bon giorno! This evokes an Italian bakeshop or sidewalk trattoria. Pungent sweet orange and mulled cider with rich spices and a great masculine base of coffee, leather, patchouli. That sweetness punches through the dark basenotes to make this a refreshing and charismatic fragrance. Last 6+ hours on skin.

    23 August, 2012

    rating


    Yatagan by Caron

    Odd cacophony of muted greens and tanning chemicals (not leather so much as the process of urning hide into leather!). I'm always surprised when i experience a fragrance by a respected house so negatively, but YATAGAN, is thoroughly unpleasant.

    20th August, 2012

    rating


    Patchouli by Anglia Perfumery

    NOT A MASCULINE FRAGRANCE! I love patchouli fragrances, but this was a disappointment. Overwhelming floral top that hangs in the air around the wearer. Very feminine with a waxy lipstick odor upon dry down. Very faint patchouli quality beneath the floral. Thankfully, this breaks down within 4 hours, a mercifully short longevity.

    20th August, 2012

    rating


    L'Homme by Yves Saint Laurent

    I own and really like both YSL L'homme Libre and L'Nuit HOMME. Unfortunatey, this one lacks the character of the other YSL frags. Powdery opening with a stale ginger note barely discernible that fades too quickly. After 45 minutes, this is just a light talcum and vanilla scent that presents as feminine. Lasts about 4-5 hours on skin. (UPDATED 4/29/2014) After having the sample of this for several months, I find that it is nice. Just nice. My neutral rating still stands and I would not pay the premium price for a full bottle of this. It just isn't exciting, doesn't project, doesn't last.

    12 August, 2012 (Last Edited: 29 April, 2014)

    rating


    Pontaccio 21 by Gianfranco Ferré

    Classic and Old School! I've wanted a scent that took me back to the early 80s frags my dad and uncles wore. This is it, PONTACCIO 21. Lime and deep tea infused with rich spices that collectively evoke the smells of a Morrocan bazaar. Opens slightly sharp and soapy before settling in to those great gourmand spices and a woody patchouli base. This is the comforting smell of mature men. Lasts 6+ hours on skin/clothes together.

    10th August, 2012

    Showing 61 to 90 of 153.