Perfume Reviews

Reviews by rbaker

Advertisement
Total Reviews: 2073
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Eau de Lierre by Diptyque

Green, green, green - that is the core of the the top notes here. The ivy leaves blend with a - somewhat less impressive- geranium, but it is the cyclamen that really puts its defining stamp on this mixture. Crisp, a touch fresh, like sitting is an ivy-clad garden in early spring. Very well made.

Unfortunately, like so often, after a commercially advisable attention-grabbing initial phase that is meant to prompt the sampling customer in the shop towards an impulse-purchase of the product, from the drydown onwards it is much less impressive. Whilst the touch of mild green pepper in the heart notes is not bad, the base with its ordinary woodsy white musks is rather unoriginal and dull.

I get moderate sillage, adequate projection and seven hours on longevity on my skin.

This spring creation deserves a lot of credit for the lovely top notes, with the rest developing from acceptable to boring and completely generic towards the end. Overall in the positive realm, but by a narrow margin only. 3.25/5.
23rd September, 2017
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Dolce & Gabbana Pour Femme (new) by Dolce & Gabbana

A delightful opening blast that is given a slightly restrained citrusy aroma - mandarin, whiffs of lemon and a good lashing of neroli - with a fruity undertone. The result is not overtly fresh, but more on the calmly refreshing side. In spite of the rather usual selection of components the result of mixing these is surprisingly beautiful.

The drydown develops a pleasant jasmine with an undertone of white florals, whilst the base steers into a sweeter direction, with a very balanced vanilla joining a marshmallow impression to create an olfactory desert that is never too sweet or cloying. This is due to the admixture of woodsy aroma that helps mitigating the sweetness.

I get moderate sillage, excellent projection and a very impressive eleven hours of longevity on my skin.

This is a lovely scent for cooler summer evenings, belended well of ingredients of high quality and combining fresh richness with elegance. The performance is excellent. 3.5/5.
22nd September, 2017
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Light Blue Pour Homme by Dolce & Gabbana

The citrus opening is not particularly riveting or exciting, but it is a solid yet rather generic set of top
notes of mandarin and of whiffs of lemony/ grapefruit components of medium ripeness; neither very sweet nor very acid-laden.

The core is much more nondescript; a mélange of nonspecific floral and woodsy component with a very synthetic and anaemic rosemary note - not unpleasant but not more than that. The base with its dull and anonymous soup of white musks and the failed laboratory attempts to create a mossy impression smells of what I imagine to be the bouquet of acid rain in a Petri dish.

I get moderate sillage, adequate projection and seven hours of longevity on my skin.

In this summery, albeit not very fresh, creation some credit might be due for the opening phase, but the rest is a highly generic and dull petrochemical concoction of questionable merit. Overall - not reaching beyond mediocrity. 2.25/5
21st September, 2017
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Blanc by The White Company

Light and airy. A fresh orange-citrus opening that is quite restrained and unlined by a fruity impression.

In the drydown geranium and rose a set of floral heart notes, with touches of neroli present at times.

The base adds white musks and a slightly ambery finish.

The sillage is moderate, projection is adequate and the longevity six hours on my skin.

A nice, light and elegant summery vibe, nothing too exciting but crafted well. 3/5.
20th September, 2017
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Volutes by Diptyque

Review of the Eau de Parfum:

Here the honey is stronger and the tobacco still plays the second fiddle, together with the iris.

The performance is excellent with thirteen hours of longevity. My preferred Volutes. 3.5/5.
10th September, 2017
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Essences Insensées 2015 (Jasmine) by Diptyque

This jasmine is delightful. Rich, intensive with a creamy touch of sweetness. Sheer natural richness.

Into the drydown a pleasant orange a slightly green undertones with whiffs of a herbal earthiness. This as adds touches of variety to this otherwise soliflore creation.

I get moderate sillage, excellent projection and a very good seven hours of longevity on my skin.

This beautiful spring scent is unusual in combining high-quality natural ingredients with a very acceptable longevity. True, the olfactory accompaniments to the jasmine core are a bit second-rate and less enticing, but the overall result still impresses. 3.5/5.
10th September, 2017
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Velvet Sublime by Dolce & Gabbana

A tangerine impression - more gently fruity than zestily fresh - blended with a white floral mix; in the latter orange blossom clearly dominates. Pleasant and agreeable as top notes.

In the drydown this is a rather linear development overall, but added touches come and go: an undertone of neroli, whiffs of ylang-ylang, and touches of tonka - but the orange blossom never goes away completely.

I get moderate sillage, excellent projection and nine hours of longevity on my skin.

Quite lovely a spring scent this is, if, however, a tad generic in the later stages at times. Performing well, and overall just a thumbs-up. 3/5.
09th September, 2017
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Volutes by Diptyque

The opening is a honeyed iris impression combines with a restrained tobacco undertone. It is not overly sweet, and the tobacco is a bit bland.

The drydown adds a gently spicy pepper, at times accentuated by whiffs of a herbal impression.

The honeyed overlay is still present in the drydown; as a matter of fact is never goes away, lingering on until the end.

The main addition in the base are touches of styrax and benzoin with the occasional hint of opoponax. This is all, of course, bathed in the honey aroma.

I get moderate sillage, excellent projection and a splendid twelve hours of longevity on my skin.

Whilst this autumnal creation is neither particularly original nor a very complex creation, it is quite well executed and the honeyed tobacco - with the honey overwhelmingly in the foreground - is not unpleasant. At the border between neutral and thumbs-up, pushed, albeit just by the skin of its teeth, into the positive range by the good performance. 3/5.
08th September, 2017
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Light Blue by Dolce & Gabbana

The opening presents a pleasant citrus-based mix, with a fruity underpinning. Pleasant but quite nonspecific. The drydown is more floral, with jasmine a definite component, but a pleasantly discreet green touch is coming and going also.

The base presents woddsy impressions blended with white musks.

I get moderate sillage, adequate projection and a very decent seven hours of longevity on my skin.

The opening is quite agreeable, although a touch subdued and the citrus not very vivid or bright. The rest of this spring scent is rather generic and pale overall. In total - mediocre. 2.5/5.
07th September, 2017
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Eau Mohéli by Diptyque

The opening blast is a delightful combination of floral freshness with a green touch. Combing the usually quite heavy and sweet ylang-ylang with vetiver works extremely well, as this vetiver is on the brighter and fresh side - it is lacking and woody or earthy characteristics. Additionally, a crisp patchouli gives the whole a green and tangy undertones. A simple but great and creative approach.

Alas this high standard does not last, and the second half does not only see a collapse of the perfomance to a skin scent on me, the notes are also becoming paler and flatter. Their nonspecific generic woodsiness is not exactly enticing. Only a nice sweetish vanilla-incense impression, which arises towards the end, merits closer attention; but is is very close to my skin.

I get moderate sillage initially, good projection and an overall longevity of six hours on my skin.

With the first part of this spring creation being of impressive beauty, and with most of the rest quite a disappointment, the total score is in the positive realm but in the lower region of positivity. 3.25/5.
05th September, 2017
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Voyage by Nautica

A pleasant aquatic opening with an ozonic flavour.- this is the impression I get from the opening blast. The nautical theme is evident, and the seashore saltiness feel is re-created well.

The drydown, adds pleasant summer fruits. The later stage, however, is much less exciting, and a nonspecific woodsy-herbal mix is no match for the agreeable beginning.

I get moderate sillage, very good projection and a respectable eight hours of longevity on my skin.

Their first half is a pleasant aquatic summer creation; not particularly exciting but executed well. The rest is a synthetic mélange of limited merit. Still, on the strength of the initial experience it - just barely - makes the thumbs-up. 3/5.
04th September, 2017
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

The One by Dolce & Gabbana

A pleasant mix: fruity initially and then floral.
Peach and lychee are present very obviously in the opening blast, touch up with a bit of bergamot for brightness. The peach is sweet and ripe, with the bergamot, together with hesperidic whiffs, preventing it from being overly cloying.

The drydown develops impressions of jasmine and lily-of-the-valley, with touches of iris in the background. The initial fruitiness spills over into the floral heart notes.

So far this has been a pleasant, albeit neither a very original nor an overly exciting experience. The base, in contrast to the earlier phases, is very disappointing with its flat and dull attempts at the usual attempts to create the usual mix of white musks, vanilla and a hint of vetiver.

I get moderate sillage, adequate projection and seven hours of longevity on my skin.

The earlier stages of this spring creation are pleasant, but the rest is a generic and overly synthetic disappointment. Overall in the middle range. 2.75/5.
01st September, 2017
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

The One Gentleman by Dolce & Gabbana

This is quite an interest opening phase, a floral herbal mix that, whilst neither summery nor fresh, has a certain brightness and elegance about it. The lavender and the herbal component blend well, and a soft patchouli rounds it off.

The later stage is less bright, with cardamom, a nigh-juniper-like fruitiness and a - never cloying - vanilla changing the direction the development of this composition takes over time.

I get moderate sillage, good projection and six hours of longevity on my skin.

This first phase of this spring creation is not wildly creative in the selection of its ingredients, but the resulting impression is surprisingly original in the overall outcome. The later stages are too linear, a bit overly generic and paler on me, but overall this is quite agreeable. On the whole I'd give it - barely though - a positive score. 3/5.
31st August, 2017
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Essences Insensées by Diptyque

A floral take, opening with a pleasant violet on a slightly heliotropic background. Pleasant, with a touch of airy elegance, and quite restrained.

The drydown adds a slightly fresh herbal touch, but a rose note arrives soon, accompanied by a mimosa impression. The latter gains in prominence, and soon the mimosa is at the centre of attention; it is the most convincing ingredient on my skin

Vanilla is the main addition to the base. An unobtrusive vanilla, which is, like this composition as a whole, never very sweet or cloying. The beeswax is present in the background.

I get soft sillage, adequate projection and seven hours of longevity on my skin.

Whilst this spring scent is agreeable overall, from the heart notes on it is quite flat and anaemic, a bit too generic at times, and in the base too close to my skin. 2.75/5.
30th August, 2017
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Velvet Exotic Leather by Dolce & Gabbana

The opening note are a mix of labdanum and a soft leather impressions. The leather is very smooth and restrained, with the gentle incense blending in seamlessly. Although there is a mild styrax in the background, there is no harshness, tanginess or smokiness on me throughout this phase of the development.

The second phase is characterised by a shift to the herbal, accentuated by the occasional slightly boozy whiff of olibanum, but soon this is drastically weakened and it becomes a nonspecific woodsy skin scent on me.

I get soft sillage, limited projection and four hours of longevity on my skin.

This autumnal scent is not disagreeable, but is is quite anaemic and generic overall. Whilst maybe a good choice in leather fragrances for those who dislike stronger leathery notes, it is too generic to convince. 2.5/5.
29th August, 2017
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Kimonanthe by Diptyque

A pleasant and smooth spice mix characterises the opening phase and the early drydown. Not particularly medicinal in nature, and not too spicy either, a restrained clove enhances the gentle spice aroma. No sharpness or harshness on me, and no smokiness to speak of either.

The later phase adds a nonspecific osmathus-influenced woodsy undertone, whilst the spicy tone remains until the end.

I get moderate sillage, excellent projection and an impressive nine hour of longevity on my skin.

An autumnal or wintery spice scent, but so restrained that it does not need the cold weather that other, heavier, spice compositions thrive in. A tad generic overall, but the good performance is its forte. 3/5 - just in the positive realm by the skin of its teeth.
29th August, 2017
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Velvet Tender Oud by Dolce & Gabbana

Another oud-rose product.

The oud is evident from the very beginning. It is a rather soft oud, never harsh, tangy or pungent on me. This is not a bad thing. On the other hand, there seems to be the impression that there is nothing of the real stuff in here; this agarwood grew in the laboratory, not as a tree in nature.

The second core component - surprise, surprise - is the rose. Now this rose, a Damascene, is of much higher quality, and is not grown in the laboratory vial. Whilst it lasts less long, in all its discreetness it is actually more convincing.

In the base the fake oud and a nonspecific woodsiness remain until the end.

I get moderate sillage, excellent projection and a very good nine hours of longevity on my skin.

A soft and smooth - here the name hits the mark - synthetic oud with a pleasant rose - overall this autumnal scent is passable but not at all original. 2.75/5.
27th August, 2017
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Eau des Sens by Diptyque

An orange impression combines with orange blossom defines to opening blast. Unlike in a classical Eau de Cologne there is no bergamot used here, and there is only minimal neroli used in Eau de Sens.

In the drydown juniper is at the core, a pleasant juniper with a boozy touch. The base adds a very soft patchouli, never sharp or tangy, woodsy notes, with slightly boozy with touches and herbal undertones. The latter stage has a bright, light and agreeable soapiness attached to it.

I get moderate sillage, very good projection and eight hours of longevity on my skin.

On me this scent - good for warmer spring as well as cooler summer days - is never a fully refreshing cologne for hot days; it is more of a refined, elegant and discreetly hesperidic composition. Whilst it is not ultra creative, it is well-blended and displays variegated stages of development that can sufficiently enthuse. 3.25/5.
26th August, 2017
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

A*Men Kryptomint by Thierry Mugler

Inevitable there is the A*Men DNA in the background - from beginning to end that is - with the vanilla sweetness and the soft patchouli. Superimposed on this is an added layer, and this added layer changes with time.

In the top notes it is the mint that gives this flanker its name. More after dinner mint that the fresh herb itself, soft, creamy and rich, blending in very well with the vanilla. Whilst here Krypto could mean 'super' like in 'super mint', I see the mint here are embedded and hidden in the A*Men foundation blend, maybe more 'cryptic mint.'

In the heart notes the floral side is the added layer, geranium with whiffs of carnation. Towards the end the pure A*Men base eventually remains, albeit in a rather attenuated version is one compares it with the original. The similarity between his one and Ultra Zest has already been commented on.

I get moderate sillage, excellent projection, but a rather disappointing six hours of longevity on my skin.

A pleasant idea but a bit disappointing as a synthetic summery mint scent. It lacks the addition of a genuinely original and convincing element that defines the flanker so brilliantly as in, for instance, Pure Havane. Still, agreeable albeit nothing exciting. 2.75/5.
25th August, 2017
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Dolce & Gabbana by Dolce & Gabbana

The Classic.
Full of big floral notes.
Intensive.
Some aldehydes.
Muguet, mandarin, freesia, and carnation are dominant on my skin.
Finishing with a vanilla coda with white musks and generic woods.

I get moderate sillage, excellent projection and six hours of longevity on my skin.

A nice classic and rich floral with fresh undertones. The later stages are a bit too nondescript, otherwise it holds up well. 3.25/5.
24th August, 2017
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Velvet Wood by Dolce & Gabbana

A woody opening notes that fairly soon morphs into a leather accord. Initially a restrained benzoin is evident, but here it is mercifully restricted to merely accompanying role.

This leather is smooth, new, soft with minimal tannin present. Unlike many other leather fragrances, I do get neither any smokiness nor any incense here; just leather. In the base the background woodsiness remains, together with a soft and generic patchouli impression.

I get moderate sillage, good projection and five hours of longevity on my skin.

A soft autumn leather scent for warmer days that is a bit too generic to entice, but overall is not bad as a gentle leather composition. 2.75/5
23rd August, 2017
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Eau de 34 by Diptyque

The opening phase is a delight. I get a lot of lemon, grapefruit and verbena. This is mixed with lavender and juniper, resulting in the citrus notes being softened and warmer; this is not so much of a zesty summer cologne but more of a bright and warm set of opening notes that is executed very well.

The drydown develops a nice geranium, whilst the citrus too notes linger for longer, blending in well with the floral components. There a whiffs of birch leaves present, but only very weakly so and quite unconvincing.

The base turns woodsy, which is represented by a discreet cedar impression. This is a soft cedar without much of a pencil-shavings component on my skin. A gentle spiciness, thanks to some - rather unexciting - patchouli, with a touch of labdanum give the final stages additional depth.

I get moderate sillage, very good projection and seven hours of longevity; with the last couple of hours being very close to my skin.

A very nice summery opening with a good drydown, with some notes that a on the flat and weaker side, whilst the core components are well-made. 3.25/5.
22nd August, 2017
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Dolce Floral Drops by Dolce & Gabbana

This opening blast is just delicious: white florals galore, mainly daffodil, water lily, whiffs of oleander and a good lashing of neroli- the latter supplying added brightness.

The drydown remains floral and bright, amaryllis and more wather lily. Unfortunately, that second have sees a drop in intensity and quality, with nonspecific and overly synthetic musky and woodsy notes dominating - surely D & G can do better than that!

I get moderate sillage, good projection and five hours of longevity on my skin.

The beautiful first part lets it cross the line to a positive score. The rest is disappointing silence. 3.25/5.
21st August, 2017
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Australian Sandalwood by AbdesSalaam Attar Profumo

The sandal impression is there from beginning to end, very natural and at later stages varies by the addition of a mildly peppery-spicy restrained undertone. Unlike many other sandalwood scents, this one has no significant cedar component on my skin.

The sillage is moderate, the projection limited and the longevity is five hours.

Whilst possibly lacking the subtle refinement of some of the classic sandalwood creations, this lovely spring scent can surely stand its own. Very natural and pure and well made - after Le Labo others are resorting to the Australian stuff with good success. Linear in concept, it is sufficiently nuanced to impress even though it has only one major ingredient; the latter being, however, of high quality. 3.25/5.
21st August, 2017
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Oyédo by Diptyque

An orangey opening mixed with a touch of lemon, a bit sweetened and not very bright, more like a lemon curd, is at the beginning of the top notes.

Son this darkens a bit, with a herbal tone, mainly thyme, appearing in the middle phase. Then a crisp aroma of a metallic fizziness is added in, which is quite an unusual note that gives this composition a rather unique touch.

This is followed by a woodsy development that makes an attempt at a sandalwood impression - the latter is not particularly successful.

I get moderate sillage sillage, very good projection and nine hours on longevity on my skin.

A spring scent with quite an original touch, wearable also on cooler summer days, which is marred by heart and base notes that are overly synthetic and at times too forced. Overall not bad due to an original approach, but short of being truly convincing. 2.75/5.
19th August, 2017
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Polo Modern Reserve by Ralph Lauren

The freshish, slightly ozonic opening soon takes on a slightly green undertone; the latter being undelined by a slightly juniper-berry boozy characteristic.

The drydown turns a bit sweetish-spicy with cardamom and a nonspecific woodsy tilt, and at a later stage a very soft patchouli develops that lasts right until the end.

I get moderate sillage, very good projection and nine hours of longevity on my skin.

Less impressive than the original Polo, more generic but with a good performance - overall this is not bad but does not make the cut to achieve a positive score. 2.75/5.
18th August, 2017
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

A*Men Ultra Zest by Thierry Mugler

It was a bit surprising to see a flanker of the rather heavy, sweet and intense A*Men promising an ultra-zesty version. Imagine YSL Opium announcing that they will release a flanker called Opium Eau d'Orange Verte. Still, the top notes of Ultra Zest do the name some justice: an orangey-and-mandarin citrus opening, with touches of ginger and a minty freshness rounding it off. Not a revolutionary set of top notes, but well made in the TM tradition.

The drydown looses the freshness of the opening notes after a while and replaces it with a sweeter mix of a spicy cinnamon with a soft patchouli. In the base the trademark TM vanilla kicks in and ensures that we end up in the well-known A*Men comfort zone of sweet warmth.

I get moderate sillage, good projection and six hours of longevity, with the last couple of hours being very close to my skin.

As initially mentioned, the conceptual inconsistency between the original and this spring flanker are not easy to reconcile. TM resolved this conundrum by splitting it into two distinct phases: the zesty start - a bit enhanced with some A*Men intensity that unfortunately results in some attenuation of the zesty component that belies its name - and a second phase more like the original A*Men in character.

Overall, it is neither fish nor flesh, but still, if it was not for the disappointing performance it might just have made a positive score. 2.75/5.
17th August, 2017
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Essences Insensées 2016 (Rose) by Diptyque

This is a rose fragrance from beginning to emended through and through. It opens with a gorgeous centifolia aroma, a rose in full bloom, intense, with just a delightful modicum of natural sweetness. Delicious.

Whilst this is indubitably a soliflore composition, there is still some development occurring with time. The rose becomes a bit lighter, and whiffs of the leaves and the wood of the stems shine through, although this remains a rose blossom creation at heart.

I get moderate sillage, very good projection and six hours of longevity on my skin.

A delightful rose scent for day and nighttime in spring, composed of high-quality ingredients executed well. Whilst a tad linear and lacking vivaciousness and depth at times, it is still a lovely gift for rose lovers. 3.5/5.
16th August, 2017
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Eau Plurielle by Diptyque

The opening is as if I find myself transposed into the sunny landscape of green meadows, with the fragrance of freshly cut grass permeating the air most beautifully. Delightful it is indeed, this fresh and bright opening, which, combined with a very young ivy, has added spritzes of citrus added to it at times.

Later on a rose impression is added , but even her the green leafy parts of the rose are in the foreground.

At times as fruity undertone develops, which over time mixes with the woodsy notes that is the hallmark of the later stages of this perfum's development. By now the green freshness of the top notes is toned down considerably, and the woodsy side, with a touch of white musk added in, is dominant until the end.

I get moderate sillage, very good projection and six hours of longevity on my skin.

The wonderful green freshness of this summer spring scent is a beauty. It reminds me a bit of Geoffrey Beene's Bowling Green, only lighter and a bit more elegant. Whilst it lacks some the crispness and fruitiness of L'Ombre dans l'Eau, the similarity cannot be denied. It is a bit linear at times, but nonetheless is is a lovely addition to the stable of this impressive house. 3.5/5.
15th August, 2017
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Aël-Mat by Lostmarc'h

A bright fresh and summery bergamot-based heliotropic opening blast greets me; it is as if a ray of sunshine escaped this pretty bottle. A slightly fruit undertone of berries, peach and hints of pear does not distract from the brightness of the top notes overall.

In the drydown the marine character comes alive: a pleasant and crisp saltiness that is mixed with a touch of jasmine and whisps of cardamom. The base adds a subtle vanilla that adds more depth without taking away from the lightness and elegance of the whole.

I get moderate sillage, adequate projection and five hours of longevity on my skin.

A fresh summer scent that captures bright and sunny days in the seaside in a most uplifting way. Limited performance but blended very well. 3.5/5.
14th August, 2017