Perfume Reviews

Reviews by rbaker

Advertisement
Total Reviews: 2311
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Cheap and Chic I Love Love by Moschino

Grapefruit, lemon and an orangey note are at the centre of this opening phase. Fresh, but not really strongly refreshing but a touch attenuated; a pleasant start nonetheless.

The drydown emphasises fruity and floral components: redcurrant with muguet, and a touch of rose. In the base woodsy notes appear, with white musks evident towards the end. A touch of sweetness is provided by a slightly spicy cinnamon.

I get soft sillage, good projection and a limited longevity of four hours on my skin.

Quite a nice summer scent, that is, however, not performing very well. The ingredients can be a bit on the generic side at times, but it has its nice moments. It is very balanced, and the sweet side is incorporated judiciously. Overall just making it to a positive score - by the skin of its teeth. 3/5.
16th September, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Fuel For Life Spirit by Diesel

A nice orange-grapefruit opening blast is combined with a cinnamon accompaniment, and both together result is a citrus impression that is given additional warmth and depth. His combination is so well executed that a surprisingly interesting opening phase is the result. Very nice.

The drydown adds white floral components with an overarching iris note that is not bad at all. Later in the drydown a moderately intestive incense arises that is quite plain and neither balsamic nor very peppery. This incense is friendly, approachable and not of the high ceremonial variety.

The base is a bit of a letdown, with a rather generic ambery tone added, otherwise I do not get much additional development in the base notes.

The sillage is strong, the projection excellent and the longevity am good eight hours.

A rich autumnal creation and is overall quite satisfactory and not without an interesting touch. 3.25/5.
09th September, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Eternity for Men by Calvin Klein

The overarching of Eternity is green and botanical for all eternity, or at least until the end. Additional freshness is provided initially by an infusion of an orangey citrus that is quite pleasant.

Soon a nice lavender arises, and together with a good touch of basil continues the green theme, occasionally with a slightly grassy touch.

The base has a nonspecific woodsy undertone, what seems to have become more generic over the years, and is suspicious of some reformulation over time. There is a slash of a slightly anaemic vetiver evident to brighten up the final stages.

I get moderate sillage, good projection and five hours of longevity on my skin.

Overall an agreeable spring scent, which originally was composed of decent-quality ingredients. Having been a staple of mine for years, I could not fail to note a movement towards becoming blander over time, with the top notes deteriorating the least. 3.5/5 for the original impression, now 3.25/5.
03rd September, 2018
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Château Rouge by Ne'emah

The opening note is a citrus - a touch lemony - but not particularly refreshing. The drydown brings on the floral core of this creation, with a jasmin that pairs with a sweetish rose impression.

The base develops a woodsy tone, with a concoction of white musk providing and depth towards the end.

I get moderate sillage, good projection and six hours of longevity on my skin.

Agreeable at times, this spring scent is a tad to generic to entice. 2.75/5.
02nd September, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Laya by Ne'emah

The opening notes are a mix of a nice vanilla with a convincing cedar - aromatic but not too sweet. In the drydown other woodsy vibes are added in, but the main later development is the addition of a dark and rich musk.

The musk lingers on until the end; a soft and dark note that is not particularly animalic on the whole. It blends in well with the vanilla.

I get moderate sillage, very good projection and six hours of longevity on my skin.

A good scent in winter, well crafted and in all its richness never cloying or overly intrusive. 3.5/5.
31st August, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Desert Rose by Ne'emah

The opening is a citrus-fruity mix that is a bit nonspecific initially. The drydown develops an nice jasmine, which is underlined by a rather restrained orange blossom impression.

The base changes tac again, and a woodsy core developed that has an undercurrent of white musks providing a combination that lasts until the end.

I get moderate sillage, very good projection and seven hours of longevity on my skin.

A spring creation that is fairly nondescript with ingredients that are very generic overall. 2.5/5.
30th August, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Shahla by Ne'emah

The fresh opening combines a lemony citrus notes with a green and slightly grassy undertone in a pleasant manner.

The heart notes shift toward a darkish rose, which is given and interesting twist by a good lashing of orris - and leads into a darker and more somber territory.

The base add a rich and dark musk impression, which adds touches of spice and a whiff of animalic spirit.

I get moderate sillage, very good projection and six hours of longevity on my skin.

A nicely versatile autumnal scent that combines a brighter starts with a darker second half. 3/5.
29th August, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Zadig by Emilio Pucci

The opening blast is fresh an fruity, with orange and peach being freshened up by an aldehydic lashing of bergamot.

In the drydown appears what will be to central to the development: jasmine and ylang-ylang, transforming the initial fruitiness into warm and floral oriental vibes. Further sweetness and warmth is added by touches of cinnamon and vanilla, although this sweet tone is never intrusive or cloying and blends in seamlessly with the whole mix.

The base contributes an animalic touch, with a dark and musky civet counterbalancing the sweetness quite effectively, assisted by ambery and leathery undertones towards the end.

I get moderate sillage, very good projection and seven hours of longevity on my skin.

A complex Oriental scent for spring or autumn evenings, that exudes richness combined with elegance. 3.5/5
28th August, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Intoxication d'Amour by D'Orsay

A rich white floral opening developed into a floral side and eventually opens up to develop a delightful sandalwood note, which gradually takes over.

The opening florals a mainly muguet and gardenia, and they are freshened up by an orangey undertones. The floral and the fruity combine most harmoniously.

After a while a very classical lavender arises, and the development heads into a sweeter territory, where peach and honeysuckle add depth and softness.

Since the middle notes a sandalwood impression has been developing and gradually is taking over. In the base it is strongest. It is a pure, cedar-free and without any spicy sidelines - simple and straightforward in a positive way. The sweetness is re-enforced by tonka and blends well with the wood and florals.

I get moderate sillage, very good projection and seven hours of longevity on my skin.

Rich, classical and sophisticated - maybe a touch lacking structure at times, but overall delightful. 3.75/5.
23rd August, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Green Water by Jacques Fath

This review il is of the original 1947 version:

The opening blast is gorgeous: a mix of lemon, bergamot and peppermint, with a touch of verbena - refreshing and bright. Not purely bright for long though, as the freshness is counterbalanced by a herbal component in the drydown; I get clary sage and basil mainly.

After several hours the citrus side is fading, and floral notes develop; I get lavender and a gentle and richly somber rose impression that remain present throughout the base.

From the top notes it is the peppermint that is most persistent; it becomes a bit patchier with time but retains a distinct present until the end, when a musky touch is present. At times I get whiffs of a soft notes of a mossy character towards the end.

I get moderate sillage, very good projection and eight hours of longevity on my skin - excellent for such a citrus/bergamot-based composition.

This is a beautiful scent for early summer days and evenings, which is blended well from ingredient of very high quality. Less crisp freshness but more depth and development than Monsieur Balmain. Traditional in its approach, it is expressing supreme craftsmanship, and the performance is beyond expectations. 4/5.
22nd August, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Iss by Laura Tonatto

A nice mix of sandal, musk and an ambery touch, at times with a waxy undertone. Underlying all this is a citrus impression that adds freshness, and the whole is well balanced, albeit a bit linear.

I get moderate sillage, good projection and five hours of longevity on my skin.

Pleasant in spring and agreeable. 3/5.
20th August, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Grès Monsieur Sport by Grès

The opening blast is simple sheer beauty: lavender, bergamot and, without further ado, a delicious clary sage form a triumvirate made in olfactory heaven: clear and refined.

In the drydown I find a soft and characterful patchouli with a floral undertone, which gradually and seamlessly merges with the opening notes.

The base takes a different turn, with an ambery soft leather note arising that is of particular beauty. Discreetly sweet and honeyed, it combines the slightly mossy amber with an impression of gently tanned Italian nappa calf leather as it is used in small leather accessories. At times it reminds me of Cabaret de Grès, which I use quite a bit.

I get moderate sillage, very good projection and seven hours of longevity on my skin.

This is a gorgeous spring scent that is beautifully blended of top-quality traditional-style natural ingredients. A bit less deeply textured and fresher than dunhill 30, and a bit brighter than Cartier’s Santos Eau de Sport (maybe the greatest Cartier ever made), this Grès is sublime and sophisticated it its classic sportiness. 4.25/5.
17th August, 2018 (last edited: 18th August, 2018)
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Romantique Montmartre by Paris Mon Amour

The opening is a mix of white florals - a bit of oleander here and a bit of muguet there - with a fresh undertone. Not bad.

The drydown soon turns sweeter, carried by a tonka impression with an almond aroma than mixes with the florals nicely. A slight hint of tea leads to a nonspecific woodsy impression that dominates the base until the end.

I get moderate sillage, good projection and five hours of longevity on my skin.

This is quite nice as a spring daytime scent, although a tad generic and quite synthetic. 2.75/5.
15th August, 2018
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Place Vendôme in Love by Paris Mon Amour

The opening is a fruity affair, with apple-orange and a berry undertone most discernible. In the drydown the turn to the floral commences, with ylang-ylang the clear winner in prominence for quite a while, whilst the fruitiness fades into the background.

Jasmine and rose - the latter a bit bland - arise, and towards the end a tonka base is evident and adds to a heavier sweetness than was present previously. Muguet and a bunch of white musks are added in the last hour.

I get moderate sillage, very good projection and five hours of longevity on my skin.

A sweet spring scent that is rather synthetic and quite generic, but never terribly cloying. 2.5/5.
09th August, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Eiffel Kiss by Paris Mon Amour

Rose and strawberry - quite a sweet starts that is balanced by an orange with neroli. Sound chaotic but works together not too badly.

White musks and vanilla emerge further into the drydown, and the sweetness persists and can be cloying, especially further into the base.

I get moderate sillage, very good projection and five hours of longevity on my skin.

Quite an unusual opening in the spring scent but the second part is overly generic and too synthetic. 2.5/5
07th August, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Chérie Elysées by Paris Mon Amour

Sweet vanilla is at the core of this creation. Sweet.

In the drydown jasmine and other florals. Sweet.

In the base site musks are added. Sweet.

I get moderate sillage, good projection and seven hours of longevity on my skin.

Good in spring if you like is synthetic - and sweet. Less extreme in sweetness and artificiality than some scents if Victoria’s Secret but not for everyone. 2.5/5.
02nd August, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Oud Ambroisie by Lancôme

Another rose-oud dominated affair: a brief initial moment where the rose arises, but soon the oud takes over. This is a harsh, quite shrill and strong oud, which, unfortunately, displays the grating intrusiveness synthetic ouds often display nowadays. A patchouli note that is intermingled with the oud at a later stage is quite crisp and, at least initially, does not smoothen the mix either.

Later on a sweet honey-vanilla undertone develops that counterbalances the oud to some extent; and by the time the base is reached, the whole is more balanced.

I get strong sillage, excellent projection and eight hours of longevity on my skin.

Anther rose oud indeed, wintery and towards the base quite agreeable, but quite synthetic on the whole. 2.75/5.
01st August, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Ekos Cacau by Natura

Cocholat and cocoa - with a slight coconut undertone that starts to develop early in the drydown. On me it is not really sweet, but more like (maybe Brazilian?) unsweetened cocoa powder of good natural quality.

I got moderate sillage, good projection and four hours of longevity on my skin.

A lovely spring scent reverberating a chocolaty cocoa feel with touches of coconut. Simple but executed well. 3/5.
31st July, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Figue de Vigne by Caudalíe

Very nice fig-centred fragrance, initially with an citrus touch and added fruity components in the drydown. Some pear at times. Whiffs of cardamom, rose, a very light carnation-like impression and some cedar in the base. Mainly, however, fig galore.

I get moderate sillage, very good projection and six hours of longevity on my skin.

A must for fig lovers. 3.25/5.
30th July, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Tinta Roja by Fueguia

Floral galore! White florals initially - gardenia with hints of muguet greet me first. In the drydown whiffs of rose, but the prominent development is that of a tuberose - neither very loud nor intrusive, but blending in well. Further down the track a vanilla impression arises - again not too intrusive or cloying.

I get moderate sillage, very good projection and six hours of longevity on my skin.

A pleasant spring scent, a bit unoriginal but blended and executed well. 3/5.
29th July, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Brit Summer Edition for Women by Burberry

A citrus-fruity opening sets the tone: discrete freshness is the name of this olfactory game. It is not a bad game, just a bit predictable.

The drydown ad a sweetish almond impression, added to a white flower undertone; I mainly get muguet and peony.

The base is a concoction of white musk with a soft ambery accent towards the end. In the second half a certain powderiness is notable.

I get moderate sillage, good projection and seven hours of longevity on my skin.

This is a summery scent, more bright than truly refreshing, which is quite pleasant, but a tad too generic and synthetic. 2.5/5.
28th July, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Bottega Veneta Essence Aromatique by Bottega Veneta

The opening combines a bergamot with a mix of coriander and a soft and smooth patchouli. The bergamot is more in the background, whilst the patchouli and the coriander play the central roles.

The drydown develops some nonspecific floral themes, developing also vanilla/woodsy accord that remains until the end. Through the later stages I get a prominent powderiness that mixes extensively with the vanilla impression, with the latter being a bit on the chemical side.

I get moderate sillage, excellent projection and eight hours of longevity on my skin.

A spring scent of a certain level of pleasantness, but let down by the second half with its tendency to veer towards the generic and overly synthetic. 2.5/5.
27th July, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Brit Red by Burberry

The opening with its jasmine and slightly fruity undertone leads to a drydown that declares the core character of this composition: vanilla and gingerbread. The stereotypical winter and Christmas imagination is conjured up well. That said, it is never overly sweet or cloying on me.

A touch of rose is present at some stage, but when I wear it the rose is rather perfunctory.

I get moderate sillage, very good projection and eight hours of longevity on my skin.

A pleasant winter fragrance that suffers from a certain generic character in general. Playing nicely with stereotypes, is is a bit predictable, and the quality of the ingredients does not really compensate for that. Nonetheless, not bad.
2.75/5.
26th July, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Burberry Sport for Women by Burberry

A friendly mandarin note greets me in the opening - bright and positive, with a marine undertone faintly present in the background. It is not a refreshing citrus, more uplifting in a restrained manner. Agreeable.

The drydown adds floral characteristics, with some magnolia and muguet being the most identifiable ingredients. The base adds a blanket of white musks that fades out slowly towards the end.

I get moderate sillage, good projection and eight hours of longevity on my skin.

A pleasant summer scent, whose main drawback is its being rather generic and, whilst having good moments, being a bit too bland at times. 2.75/5.
24th July, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Burberrys for Men (Original) by Burberry

The opening displays a traditional mix of bergamot, artemisia and juniper - with the latter in the background on me. Delightful

The drydown develops themes of a rather soft patchouli - no harsh edges here - together with a jasmin that is integrated seamlessly into this mix. A leather impression evolves and gradually takes Centre stage: a slightly dark leather, which is not sharp and only has a minimum of smoky characteristics.

The base develops the leather theme further, and touches of amber are present. A whiff of oak moss is traceable, but it is very much an afterthought and never in the foreground. Moments of nonspecific woodsy components enrich the leather towards the end.

I get moderate sillage, very good projection and six hours of longevity on my skin.

This is a beautiful classic autumn scent for daytime as well as evenings, which is beautifully blended form high-quality ingredients. It is not really very strong, but definitely refined. One of Burberry’s finest. 3.75/5.
23rd July, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Tradition by John Baillie

Woods and tobacco are the main element in this creation. The woods are rich, with sandal and touches of cedar. The tobacco note emerges more as a pipe tobacco; rich and intense.

There are other components interspersed here. Initially touches of bergamot in the background, and towards the end the tobacco sweetens with occasional hints of orris.

I get moderate sillage, brilliant projection and seven hours of longevity on my skin.

A beautiful and indeed traditional autumn mixture, rich and satisfying. It might lack a bit of variety in its development, but it is complex enough to remain interesting throughout. 3.75/5.
22nd July, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Burberry Sport for Men by Burberry

Ginger with fresh citrus - touches of lemon combined with grapefruit with a slightly grassy sideline - make the opening phase pleasant affair. Whiffs of a marine sea breeze impression lead into the drydown, where the ginger is combined with touches of a juniper and cranberry fruitiness.

The base displays woodsy characteristics, but it is mainly grounded in a white musk impression.

I get moderate sillage, very good projection and eight hours of longevity on my skin.

A nice opening of this summery creation, but the subsequent development is a tad too synthetically generic. 2.75/5.
21st July, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Brit by Burberry

The initial phase combines fruitiness and freshness, the latter having a nigh-lemony character. Smooth, fresh, and reluctantly bright.

The drydown is based on the almond impression, balanced and not too sweet. In the base a vanilla,
a good and unobtrusive vanilla, adds further depth.

I get moderate sillage, good projection and eight hours of longevity on my skin.

A pleasant fruity-fresh scent for cooler summer days, which is a bit generic at times and a bit too basic. 2.75/5.
20th July, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Ôud Bouquet by Lancôme

This is a lovely opening: saffron and rose - the rose not particularly distinctive, but nice as being partnered with a gentle saffron. The oud arises soon, and, for a change, this is not a harsh and overly intrusive and loud oud; it is well integrated with the other constituents of this creation.

The second stage is sweeter, with a nice - again non-intrusive - pleasant praline-chocolate undertone. At times touches of mild smokiness and and whiffs of woodsy hints are present.

I get moderate sillage, very good projection and seven hours of longevity on my skin.

This is not a very exciting creation, but an unusually pleasant oud within a nice winter scent. I doubt, though, that the real stuff is there, but it is nice stuff. Not shrill but more round, smooth and creamy, and blended well. 3/5.
19th July, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

L'Autre Oud by Lancôme

The opening has a herbal basil-like undertone, which has saffron as its main component.

The drydown has a familar theme,
Which is frequently used these days: rose and oud impressions; just that the oud is applied in nigh-negligible amounts and the rose is a tad generic.

Woodsy notes and a soft patchouli - these are the basenotes prominent when I wear it.

I get moderate sillage, good projection and seven hours of longevity on my skin.

Another rose oud scent, good for autumn, and again with an oud component that does not really develop satisfactorily. A tad generic overall, but well blended. 2.75/5.
18th July, 2018