Perfume Reviews

Reviews by rbaker

Advertisement
Total Reviews: 2202
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Royal Scottish Lavender by Creed

Soon after the crisp bergamot opening blast - enhanced by background of citrus - the lavender arrives. And a beautiful lavender it is, inititially weaker but growing stronger as the initial bergamot is receding gradually.

The base adds vanilla and a subtle but sublime touch of sandalwood, with a whiff of light spiciness present towards the end.

I get moderate sillage, good projection and five hours of longevity on my skin.

This delightful spring day scent is beautifully blended of such high quality that in its simplicity their quality is enhanced. Not complex, not ultra-innovative, but a classic mix superbly executed. 3.5/5.
23rd February, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Viking by Creed

The opening blast combines a fresh bergamot with a spicy herbal undertone. Quite interesting.

When the components become clearer and more differentiatiated in the drydown, there is the gradual development of a fairly bright and somewhat edgy patchouli, together with touches of clove.

Two other constituents are if importance in this creation: firstly, a salty flavour, at times with an ozonic whiff, which is the obvious connotation of the North Sea as evidenced in its name. Nomen est omen here indeed.
Secondly: a fresh and slightly sharp minty undertone, which varies in intensity over time.

The base is maintaining the sea-crispy-spicy character until the end.

I get moderate sillage, good projection and six hours of longevity on my skin.

Thisnscent for cooler summer days by the seaside is quite original in its concept, although definitely not unique. It is blended well of good ingredients. 3.25/5.
22nd February, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Virgin Island Water by Creed

The opening with its bergamot, citrus, and the signature coconut set the tone of tropical freshness; and the gradually developing rum-infused booziness firms the hints towards the Caribbean theme.

Further into the drydown, a floral theme is added into the mix, with ylang-ylang most
prominent on my skin, although jasmine and a good measure of ginger are present in the background.

The base adds a touch of sugar cane, but through the whole longitudinal development it is the rum and the coconut that constitute the core components on my skin, with the coconut at times rather heavy and creamy at some stage.

I get moderate sillage, excellent projection and a very acceptable longevity of eight hours on my skin.

A rich tropical creation that puts Caribbean inspirations into the bottle. At times some notes are pushed a bit too much to the periphery, but overall the concept works well. 3.5/5.
21st February, 2018
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Windsor by Creed

The slightly boozy opening in delicious, with the fresh lime being given additional depth and substance by the woodsy pine undertone.

The drydown develops a lovely rose, which soon is overwhelmed by an intensive, nigh Hammam-Bouquet (the original vintage)-style tuberose, which is not too waxy. Far a while this tuberose is quite the dominant note in my skin.

Cedar and eucalyptus are indeed evident in the base, but the balance is tilted towards the cedar in me. In the first version of Windsor the drydown and the base had a more green touch, which made is rather special indeed.

I get moderate sillage, good projection and five hours of longevity on my skin.

This scent for spring and cooler summer days is beautifully blended in high-quality natural ingredients. I prefer the first original version.
Personally speaking, this is one of my favourites for Royal Ascot. 4/5 for the original, 3.75/5 for the second release.
18th February, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Orange Cream Pop / Orange Cremecicle by Demeter Fragrance Library

The opening blast hits the Orange Creamsicle very nicely, without being too sugary.

After the initial stage of the first fifteen minutes, it changes, and a change to the positive it is not. Is becomes much less orangey and decidedly more chemical, developing a layer of synthetic fruitiness that is draped over the orange creamsicle impression and overwhelming it.

Later in the developent vanilla becomes more prominent, and towards the end it has morphed into a rather pleasant, albeit very linear, vanilla ice cream impression.

I get moderate sillage, very good projection and eleven hours of longevity on my skin.

All right for cooler summer days, but the positive aspects are marred by the synthetic side. Although not designed to be layered, like e.g. the Jo Malones, it goes nicely with other orange-based scents, like, for instance, layered with Couvent des Mimimes’ Eau Aimable, or with Roger & Gallet’s Bois d’Orange. Overall 2.75/5.
01st February, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Vanilla Cookie Dough by Demeter Fragrance Library

Vanilla is the core, definitely.
Cookie dough? Tick.

A nice and doughy vanilla core, which is rich but not too cloying. The is a caramel component further into the drydown, but at times I get indolic hints which can be distracting and rather synthetic.

This is a Demeter that performs excellently, with strong sillage, splendid projection and a superb longevity of fourteen hours on my skin.

A comforting gourmand in winter, is is rather linear and at times a bit monotonous and not without drawbacks. Still, the scent keeps the name’s promise, and the performance is magnificent. Overall - just - positive. 3/5.
31st January, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Mountain Air by Demeter Fragrance Library

What does mountain air smell like? It depends on what grows in the mountains and many other things. In this Demeter there are certainly ozonic impressions; at times there are enhanced by a fairly nonspecific citrus undertone.

The other side is a floral component, mainly lavender. And the third part is a white musk note; and if I would have to pinpoint one major ingredient as most characteristic of this blend on me, this would be it.

I get soft sillage, limited projection and six hours of longevity on my skin.

A daytime spring scent that is quite generic and synthetic; and the performance is nothing to write home about. Mountain Air? This one runs more on hot air. 2.5/5.
30th January, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Rice Paddy by Demeter Fragrance Library

This starts as a fresh-ish and fairly sweet composition, with some hints of cooked rice present at times, but is is more a mix of coconut, some vanilla, sugar cane and touches of floral garnishing that I get here.

Over time there is little development. I get soft sillage, adequate projection and eight hours of longevity on me, with the last few hours close to my skin.

A spring gourmand with only a fraction of the whole actually having anything to do with what the name promises. Maybe more of a rice pudding than a rice paddy? 2.75/5.
29th January, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Grass by Demeter Fragrance Library

Whilst there is a hint of grass - including touches of sweetgrass - initially, it develops a rather chemical undertone. Further down the track there are hints of a nigh-fruity impression, and generic floral touches.

I get moderate sillage, good projection and six hours of longevity on my skin.

A touch of initial brightness in this spring scent does not hide its overly synthetic and pale overall character. 2.25/5
28th January, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Honeysuckle by Demeter Fragrance Library

Honeysuckle indeed, but with two unexpected qualifications:

(1) less sweet than most other honeysuckle scents I know. There is some sweetness, but it is counterbalanced by a touch of acidity with a nigh green undertone at times. It becomes a bit sweeter with time.

(2) White floral undertones, with hints of muguet.

I get moderate sillage good projection and seven hours of longevity on my skin.

A nice spring floral. Pleasant. Quite linear but not without some development. 3/5.
27th January, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Golden Delicious by Demeter Fragrance Library

Whilst the opening blast indubitably expresses and apple note not too far from a Golden Delicious in general, this pleasant top note only lasts for a few minutes. The acidity component is quite fitting initially, but it turns unpleasantly chemical after the first moments and becomes too prominent.

In the drydown the whole develops into a fruity/acid blend that is very generic and quite bland at times.

I get moderate sillage, adequate projection and six hours of longevity on my skin.

This spring daytime creation is characterised by an agreeable start initially, followed by a rather bland and overly synthetic follow-up. 2.5/5.
26th January, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Fuzzy Navel by Demeter Fragrance Library

There is expected peach in the opening. Is is pleasant, nice fruity peach with a slightly steely undertones at times, but not too synthetic.

Where is the schnapps? I hardly detect any good booziness here, except a whiff in the first few minutes of the opening blast of peach.

I get soft sillage, adequate projection and seven hours of longevity on my skin.

As a very linear, simple Demeter-style soli-fruit spring scent it is very agreeable, but the ingredients that make the difference between a peach and a Fuzzy Navel are missing. 2.75/5.
25th January, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Freesia by Demeter Fragrance Library

This being a Demeter product is does not come as a surprise that the sole note in it is - freesias!

Nonetheless, this freesia is quite well done, very straightforward, naturally, but quite typical. Pleasantly sweet, never cloying or intrusive. The latter is made impossible by the limited performance: moderate sillage, good projection but only four hours of longevity on my skin.

An agreeable spring scent, extremely simple and linear - and not vibrant enough to excite as a soliflore; but it is not overtly synthetic and overall solidly crafted. Just, barely, a positive score. 3/5.
24th January, 2018
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Leather by Demeter Fragrance Library

There is a leather note that is quite simple in its concept: a plasticky leather with a synthetic character. At times a beef jerky aroma is present too. The longer I wear it, the more the synthetic side comes to the fore.

I get moderate sillage, good projection and eight hours of longevity on my skin.

An autumnal, rather linear leather scent that is not bad, but at best described as mediocre. 2.25/5.
23rd January, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Caramel by Demeter Fragrance Library

This is a good caramel impression: nice typical aroma, buttery, quite creamy and rich. At times a hint of toffee shows.

I do not get much development here; is gradually fades out and does not lose much of its richness until the end.

I get moderate sillage, excellent projection and ten hours of longevity on my skin.

A pleasant and convincing wintery gourmand that is not too synthetic. A tad too linear maybe, but performing very well and convincing enough as a caramel composition. 3/5.
22nd January, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Angel Food by Demeter Fragrance Library

A good rendering of the sweet that the title promises: a lot of coconut in the opening blast and the first hour, but later in the drydown vanilla-cum-bakery impression gradullay moves into the foreground. At times I get some almond aroma too.

Towards the end it all is merged into a somewhat nonspecific sweet note.

I get moderate sillage, good projection and eight hours of longevity on my skin.

A pleasantly comforting autumnal gourmand that, in spite of a weaker ending, is a good transformation from the cake into a scent. 3/5.
21st January, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

First Love by Demeter Fragrance Library

This is an unashamedly floral composition.

Jasmine and rose are in the forefront, with honeysuckle-sweetness providing added depth. Initially gives a touch of freshness by a citric backgound, I can detect whiffs of oleander and lotus in the later stages. Towards the end a faint woodsy-greenish impression arises, as if from the stems and leaves of the flowers.

I get soft sillage, good projection and five hours of longevity on my skin.

Whilst this spring scent is not exceptionally original and the performance is not spectacular either, the ingredients as quite nice and the blending is very well executed. 3/5.
20th January, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Cucumber by Demeter Fragrance Library

There is a lovely cucumber that dominates the opening phase, but after the first twenty minutes a fruity, nigh-melon-y sweetness develops. It reminds me of the sweetness I remember from some pickled Polish Ogorkis. There is, however, neither acidity nor vinegar here, just the gentle and somewhat generic sweetness.

I get soft sillage, adequate projection and four hours of longevity on my skin.

A spring scent with a nice opening but with a generic sweet undertone that prevails over time. It is never cloying though, just anaemic and a bit thin. Not a fresh cucumber after the opening stage. Not right for a cucumber sandwich. 2.5/5.
19th January, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Earl Grey Tea by Demeter Fragrance Library

There is no tea in this.

There is a hint of an overly synthetic bergamot in it - the other characteristic ingredient of Earl Grey Tea.

The rest is a nonspecific generic slightly sweet impression of a mildly boozy liquid soap with whiffs of artificial fruitiness at times.

The sillage is soft, the projection limited, and the longevity four hours on my skin.

A spring scent for those who want to avoid Earl Grey Tea. 1.75/5.
18th January, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Caribbean Sea by Demeter Fragrance Library

It starts out with the expected marine-saltwater impression, but it is a fairly standard approach, a bit on the generic side.

Unfortunately this sea-aroma evaporates quite soon, and a nonspecific fresh drydown is all that remains.

I get soft sillage, adequate projection and eight hours of longevity on my skin.

This summery marine scent is quite flat and anaemic compared with the good representatives of this species of fragrance- think Gianfranco Ferré’s Bergamotto Marino or Creed’s Erolfa, for instance. A mediocre composition at best. 2.25/5.
17th January, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Christmas In NYC by Demeter Fragrance Library

The opening is characterised by the usual wintery Christmas feel of spices, caramel, cinnamon, vanilla and the likes. Somewhat predictable but pleasant.

Later in the drydown this mix turns less pleasant, and this is mainly due the increasing presence of strong synthetic characteristics. Additionally, the sweet spiciness becomes increasingly generic.

I get moderate sillage, excellent projection and ten hours of longevity on my skin.

A warming and comforting winter scent, initially conveying traditional, albeit not particularly original, winter Christmas feelings, but eventually turning out to be somewhat too generic and disagreeably synthetic overall to convince unequivocally. 2.75/5.


16th January, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Condensed Milk by Demeter Fragrance Library

In the first moments of the opening phase I get hints of condensed milk, nicely done, but only lasting for the first five or ten minutes.

Then, further into the drydown a slightly sweet mix appears, which is characterised by hints of vanilla, coconut and, towards the end, very faint touches of caramel.

I get soft sillage, good projection and a total longevity of nine hours on my skin.

Initially quite well designed, but most of it is rather generic and without any interesting development. 2.5/5.
15th January, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Cannabis Flower by Demeter Fragrance Library

A typical, pleasant and slightly spicy resinous herbal impression to start off with; but soon developing into a nonspecific, slightly herbal mix.

I get soft sillage, adequate projection and seven hours of longevity on my skin.

Some nice moments, but basic overall, rather linear and a bit thin at times. 2.5/5.
14th January, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Crème Brulee by Demeter Fragrance Library

There a brief moment in the opening blast where a reasonable vanilla impression is present - for about a minute or two.

After that it sinks into the morass of biochemical fragrance design - the undesirable way: a bland, slightly sweet and vacuous concoction. Nothing more, I’m afraid.

I get soft sillage, adequate projection and four hours of longevity on my skin.

An autumnal mix that is overall too synthetic and too generic to win any points. And there is no point to this scent anyway. Crème brûlée it is definitely not. 1.5/5.
12th January, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Capim-Limão by L'Occitane

This is a great and refreshing opening: a lemony lime impression, bright and refreshing. Well made, quite natural in its core in its simplicity.

There is not much development here, but firnthis sort of fragrance the performance is quite respectable: I get soft sillage, adequate projection and three hours of longevity on my skin.

Summer and lime in a bottle. Just the Cachaça is missing. 3/5.
11th January, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Bonfire by Demeter Fragrance Library

A good initial impression of wood, slightly sweet, with a good, moderately intense smoky note. After a white the smoke retreats to some extent, and the wood merges with the aroma of smoked and burnt sausages and meat.

At the end, the wood and the smoke fade out gradually.

I get moderate sillage, excellent projection and nine hours of longevity on my skin.

Whilst this winter scent does conjures up memories of Guy Fawkes bonfires, the burnt meat undertone is rather chemical and unpleasant. At the best moments the smoke and wood work together quite convincingly though. Overall an mixed impression. 2.75/5.
10th January, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Fireplace by Demeter Fragrance Library

An opening consistent of sweet woodsiness is notable for the absence of the fire that is promised in the name of this creation.

Over time I get occasional moments of mild and sweet woods, but a mildly boozy undertone is more present and also more persistent. Whiffs of a very attenuated smokiness come and go; they are rare though. Occasional medicinal vibes cause brief disturbances only. Otherwise I don’t get much further development here.

I get moderate sillage, very good projection and nine hours of longevity, albeit rather close to my skin towards the end. 2.75/5.

A winter warmer in concept and result, although with less fire and smoke than one would expect given its name. Overall a bit too generic and nonspecific, but the warm red wood impression is pleasant. 2.75/5.
09th January, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Marshmallow by Demeter Fragrance Library

Themis is another Demeter gourmand creation of this suspiciously proliferating house. And again a sweet and rich product, with the strong aroma of waffles and sweets from the Demeter bakery.

As far as the marshmallows are concerned, they are lurking in the background and are mostly overwhelmed by the sweetness and force of the care waffle note.

I get moderate sillage, excellent projection and nine hours of longevity on my skin.

A rich and comforting wintery gourmand, a bit linear and generic at times, but performing well. 2.5/5.
08th January, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Vitória Régia : Flor do Dia by L'Occitane

After a citrus opening, a pleasant floral scent with a good lotus impression mixing with white florals.

Soft sillage, adequate projection and three hours of longevity on my skin.

Nice in spring but a bit linear. 3/5.
07th January, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Snow by Demeter Fragrance Library

There are some features of snow on a wool coat in this blend, but only briefly. For most of the time this is a slightly earthy and clear impression, that has whiffs of gently spicy undertones towards the end.

I get soft sillage, limited projection and six hours of longevity on my skin.

Not a bad scent for warmer winter days, nicely conceptualised but a bit generic. The opening blast is nice. 2.5/5.
05th January, 2018