Reviews by rbaker

    Showing 31 to 60 of 801.
    rating


    Frank No. 2 by Frank Los Angeles

    The opening is dominated by bergamot and lavender and would be traditional if not a boozy brandy note with coriander would give it a richer and smoother character. The drydown adds a light coffee-latte aroma that is complemented by a plum note, adding a fruity nigh-gourmand impression temporarily. Wood and a light white musk emanate in the base. A somewhat unusual, creative composition of good quality ingredients and very well blended whist keeping sufficient structure to express some development on my skin. As far as performance is concerned, I am getting two distinct phases: the first three hours, which include the top and the begin if the middle notes; here silage and projection are very good. Later only it recedes and remains very close to my skin, with an overall longevity of nine hours.
    This is an unusually versatile fragrance; apart from real heat and very cold days it would be a good scent for most weathers and temperatures and for all seasons. The very restrained second parts makes it also a good office scent. Frankly speaking: very good!

    15 March, 2014

    rating


    Just Cavalli Blue by Roberto Cavalli

    Lychee, bergamot and a smidgeon of mint creates a somewhat pleasant opening, with a light white musk in the base. Far too generic and too unexciting - middle-of-the-road. Respectable longevity of five hours though.

    13 March, 2014

    rating


    Figaro Lanvin by Lanvin

    The opening with vetiver and lavender is very traditional and well executed, with a somewhat boozy component. The middle notes start with hints of clary sage and then very green, grassy and herbal notes, with in the later stages elements of cardamom and cinnamon making appearances. In the base woodsy notes, including cedar, are present. Its simplicity hides the supreme beauty and richness of each stage, the glowing warmth of the middle phase, the amazing quality of the ingredients and how very well and smoothly it is blended without losing structure. Good silage and projection, with a monster longevity of up to twelve hours. A wonderful autumnal scent, one of Lanvin's finest.

    13 March, 2014

    rating


    Porsche Design Essence by Porsche

    The cold, frozen berry-vibe opening is bearable, but then a synthetic concoction becomes evident that is as confused as it is dull. On the base a generic wood is added. Generic with a longevity if four hours - mediocre: this is no Carrera of perfumes.

    13 March, 2014

    rating


    Acqua di Giò pour Homme by Giorgio Armani

    The hesperidic citrus with an aquatic bent discloses this as a summer scent, with a jasmine drydown leading into a fruity phase. It becomes more aquatic with time, with the most notable addition in the base being a rather generic cedarwood note. Nice, refreshing, but in the later phases very generic. Poor longevity of less than two hours on my skin.

    13 March, 2014

    rating


    Just Cavalli Her by Roberto Cavalli

    Apple, bergamot and a blackcurrant impression make for a pleasant opening that's not too sweet. In the drydown lily and a peachy note tilt it towards the floral, with a bit of vanilla added in the base. An agreeable fruity-floral composition with a very short longevity (should be shortevity) of less than two hours on my skin.

    13 March, 2014

    rating


    Ô pour Homme by Lancôme

    Bergamot, orange and mint in the opening are like a bold-printed headline: this is a traditional summer scent! A flowery note with sandal and bamboo develops later on, with a mild light amber note on a grassy background in the base. I never found it to be especially harsh, neither on the paper strip nor on my skin, and more on the elegant side This is it then: a bit mainstream without any dazzling surprises and no chi-chi componenent, just a well-made well-blended versatile scent - and there is nothing wrong with that. Adequate silage and projection with a good longevity of five hours on my skin.

    12 March, 2014

    rating


    Gardenia by Penhaligon's

    The opening is delicious: I get gardenia with some tuberose and jasmine in the top notes, before a beautiful magnolia arrives. On my skin the magnolia forces the gardenia in the background at times, so Magdenia or Gardnolia would have been good names for this scent. Later ylang-ylang and and cinnamon spice aroma lead into the base, and after about four hours it becomes much closer to my skin. After that the vanilla takes on an elegant powdery notes, with waves of white florals, including lily-of-the-valley, occasionally reappearing, just to merge again with the powdery vanilla. Initially silage and projection are quite good, and on my skin the overall longevity is excellent at over nine hours. A splendid, light, elegant floral spring fragrance.

    11th March, 2014

    rating


    Peety by O'Driù

    The opening blast is amazing: a mix of dark rose, orange, jasmine and pepper form a unique, comforting but balanced experience. Then an incense-like aroma deepens it, without being churchy or heavy, with some cardamom and cinnamon present in the background. After the first couple of hours is recedes to be closer to my skin, and a woodsy-vanilla base emerges that over time adopts a powdery characteristic on me. The last few hours this an at times Guerlinesque elegant yet rich powdery note, together with the vanilla, is what remains to the end; never musty or old fashioned, like powder in a silicone wrap. The superb natural purity and quality of the ingredients and the superb blending are evident. Good silage and projection for the first couple of hours, with an excellent longevity of over eight hours in total. One of the most versatile O'Drius I know.

    On me the personalised scent overall is a bit less complex, with less vanilla and lasts less long.

    10th March, 2014

    rating


    Eva Kant by O'Driù

    The opening is a unique, creative and mesmerising entry into the EK experience: lavender and a woodsy impression, given added freshness by an orange-grapefruit citrus background, form a delicious, smooth top note accord. Soon a gently spicy myrrh is added, accentuated by a very mild ginger. The middle notes then therm towards the floral, with a magnolia of beauty combing with ylang ylang very convincingly. At that stage I get a nut-aroma with a herbal component - this all is working together beautifully, merging without losing structure. Later in the base I get a cocoa-tonka note predominating, but whiffs of the myrrhe still come up once in a while. All this is most exquisitely blended of ingredients if the highest quality, whose natural purity and beauty is discretely dazzling. Very good silage and projection, with over twelve hours of longevity on my skin. And astounding masterpiece, and one of my personal O'Driu favourites.

    09 March, 2014

    rating


    Nautica Competition (new) by Nautica

    The opening is a synthetic concoction of a citrus-berry opening worthy of an airfreshener. The drydown tries a rather laboratory-style nutmeg. Little further development on my skin, poor silage with limited projection and three hours of longevity. An unrecognisable travesty of the original version, pretty awful.

    08 March, 2014

    rating


    Joop! Jump by Joop!

    Citrus, caraway and green herbs are all right an opening, but quite synthetic and a bit thin. On my skin this scent improves with the drydown, with a decent coriander emerging. The base is a mix of white musk and tonka, which are of decent quality. A middle-of-the-road aromatic fragrance but with good silage, excellent projection and seven hours if longevity.

    07 March, 2014

    rating


    Joop! Go by Joop!

    A generic fruity-citrus opening straight from the laboratory with a generic flowery-woodsy drydown, not blending well and sweetish-boring. Good silage and projection though with four hours of longevity - which is not necessarily a good thing.

    07 March, 2014

    rating


    Nautica Blue by Nautica

    A pineapple-orange-bergamot opening that is quite pleasant, continuing with floral additions in the drydown, especially jasmine, with a white musk note added in the base. A tad aquatic with citrus-floral-aromatic development, decent silage and projection and five hours of longevity. Nothing to write home about, but not bad either.

    07 March, 2014

    rating


    Acqua di Giò Essenza by Giorgio Armani

    The top notes lack the peachy pineapple character of the original, but otherwise is quite similar compared to the original. The green-floral middle notes appear to be blended better and a are a tad less generic, but the base is as unexciting as the original version. Adequate silage and projection on my skin, and a somewhat better longevity of about five hours. In the end I prefer this flanker to the original.

    07 March, 2014

    rating


    Acqua di Giò by Giorgio Armani

    The citrus-pineapple is merging with the peach to a pleasant slightly boozy opening, that soon takes a floral turn with lily-of-the-valley and jasmine, but the more we get into the drydown the more generic and synthetic the impression becomes. The base adds white musk and an ambrox-like note that is unexciting at best. The overall result is one of the early generic aquatic-floral scents, with limited silage and projection on me. I get a longevity of just three hours.

    07 March, 2014

    rating


    Eau Nomade by Thirdman

    A slightly creamy lemon pairs with a slightly creamy blood orange and an added pleasant fairly restrained spicy note to a pleasant citrus-creamsickle-spice opening. Soon cardamom becomes evident. Overall there is not much development on my skin and the scent is neither complex nor highly original, but the good quality of the ingredients shows, as does the fact that it is very well and smoothly blended without losing structure. Very good silage and projection with five hours of longevity. A simple but convincing Thirdman.

    06 March, 2014

    rating


    Eau Moderne by Thirdman

    This is not dissimilar to Eau Monumentale, but the drydown has a floral bent, iris and a touch of jasmine mainly. On my skin it is, however, more intensive, the notes less dull and overall more convincing. Decent silage and projection with four hours of longevity. Simple but nice.

    06 March, 2014

    rating


    Eau Monumentale by Thirdman

    This basically a mixed citrus scent with bergamot and neroli - this sounds classic but on my skin is appears overall nicely blended but remains unexciting after the first half hours, when its notes turn pale and dull. The base is an indistinctive woodsy note. Adequate silage and fairly poor projection; I am getting three hours of longevity. Not bad, not particularly good.

    06 March, 2014

    rating


    Eau Profonde by Thirdman

    A somewhat flat opening with neroli and a dull bergamot, in the drydown developing into a synthetic and generic wood impression with hints of cumin and a tedious ambergris. Very much a combination that could make up a nice scent, but on my skin it is flat and very unimpressive. Very limited silage and projection, and two hours of longevity on me.

    06 March, 2014

    rating


    Amor Amor by Cacharel

    A warm round grapefruit-orange creamy opens this top note , with jamine and an delightful white musk mixing with a pleasant lily-of-the-valley accord in the dry down. The base arrives gradually, dominated by wood, tonka and a hint of a synthetic ambergris note. Overall this is a bit unexciting, but quite smoothly blended with a bit of roundness and quite attractive. Good projection and silage with an excellent longevity of nine hours - the latter just is pushing it across the line into a positive score - by the skin of its teeth though.

    06 March, 2014

    rating


    Crown Fougère by Crown Perfumery

    From the beginning to the end this is the archetypical fougère, with lavender, gentle spices and a fern note of astounding quality combining to a wonderful opening. A crisp floral touch, mainly geranium and patchouli, mingles with a supremely balanced moss aroma, with just a refreshing sharpness that is never intrusive. After about six hours it is closer to my skin, and leads to cedar-dominated base, with the patchouli-moss background evident up to the end. The balance in absolutely amazing, and the quality if the ingredients is top-of-the-range. This composition is so classic and timeless that it could have been released fifty or hundred years after it's original launch - it is fresh and never stuffy or musty, and never ceases to exude green elegance. Silage and projection are good, and the longevity is an astounding thirteen hours on my skin. This is the mother of fougères.

    05 March, 2014

    rating


    Iris Gris by Jacques Fath

    The opening note is nothing short of amazing: a smooth iris of sensational quality and richness, with an apricot-peach background and orris. It has a velvety nut-aroma enveloping the iris - tremendously beautiful. In the drydown tuberose is added, and then carnation and lily-of-the-valley emphasise a bright flowery phase. After about three hours the scent is closer to my skin and its character changes into a cedarwood basis, with an echo of the iris still present. The quality of the ingredients is unsurpassed, absolutely sensational, with very good silage and projection initially. Overall longevity on my skin is six hours. This is possibly the most beautiful iris scent I ever encountered, a benchmark for all iris-based fragrances in the future, especially in the first half. One of the greats of fragrance history.

    04 March, 2014

    rating


    Cologne Grand Luxe by Fragonard

    A light, delightfully orange-lemon scent with a nice Begamot thrown in. More on the elegant side, with a touch of lavender added in the drydown. Silage and projection are limited and the longevity is a cologne-style two hours. A good summer scent for those who like an elegant and less full-on citrus -based fragrance.

    01st March, 2014

    rating


    Dior Homme Eau for Men by Christian Dior

    I tried this at Macy's in W34th Street in Manhattan, and on my skin the opening was not dissimilar compared to the latest variation of the original I tried, just that it was less complex, with more coriander, and the bergamot and citrus gave the iris more freshness and brightness. A very smooth start, and without too much development on my skin for the first three hours, when I got a switch to a pleasant, albeit synthetic, cedar - but the whole composition is brashly synthetic anyway. Including this second phase, I got five hours of longevity, with good silage and projection. This flanker is not bad, but it is blander that DH, and lacks it's depth, and for a lighter version it is a tad unexciting; hence the neutral score.

    26 February, 2014

    rating


    Trésor Midnight Rose by Lancôme

    The rose and berry is very decent ad in me has a bit if a rich and boozy quality. Later a darker musky notes with a good dose of tonka is added. On my skin this flanker has more depth and richness than the original, and much better silage and projection. Longevity is very good at six hours. The most convincing Trésor so far.

    24 February, 2014

    rating


    Miracle by Lancôme

    The top notes with freesia, lychee and magnolia merge into a rich, intensive floral- fruity peachy mixture that comes off very nicely on my skin. Ginger arrives in the drydown and dampens the sweeter components, that are never overpowering or cloying though, and towards the end a definite lighter amber note is added. Thus all is very well blended and has very good silage and projection. The longevity is superb with nearly ten hours on me. One of the most convincing Lancômes.

    24 February, 2014

    rating


    Hypnôse by Lancôme

    The opening is nice and the passion flower and vanilla result is a sweet floral note that is very pleasant. There is a whiff of vetiver adding freshness, and also jasmine in the drydown. On my skin this is never really very heavy, but in the second half the vanilla really takes over and makes the last phase a bit boring. Not bad, though, with reasonable silage and projection, with five hours of longevity.

    24 February, 2014

    rating


    Poême by Lancôme

    The opening is quite unique on my skin, with the mix of rose, poppy, freesia and other flowers, resulting in a voluptuous, rich and and dense aroma. The drydown adds a honey-vanilla note that fits in very nicely. Very good silage and projection, with a longevity of over four hours on my skin. Very classic and traditional with a subtle twist. Very nice.

    23 February, 2014

    rating


    La Vie Est Belle by Lancôme

    The pear - not an infrequent component in Lancôme products - with berry notes is fairly sweet but never cloying. Tonka, iris and jasmine determine the drydown and are overall well done, with a hint of patchouli added. Adequate silage and projection with three hours of longevity. A nice one, pleasantly sweet, floral and light - spring comes to mind.

    23 February, 2014

    Showing 31 to 60 of 801.