Reviews by rbaker

    Showing 31 to 60 of 897.
    rating


    Bleecker Street by Bond No. 9

    The gently-floral-blackcurrant opening is a delight. Later in the drydown a herbal note is accompanied by a nice jasmine, but the wood notes that follow remain a bit indistinct on my skin. The base is more convincing, with gentle amber and patchouli eventually merging into a subtle vanilla finish that lasts for the final hours. This is a restrained and discrete scent, but in spite of poor silage and limited projection I get an excellent longevity of seven hours. Just in the positive score realm and nice in spring.

    12 July, 2014

    rating


    True Star Men by Tommy Hilfiger

    The opening is a mix of a reasonable grapefruit with a steely-metallic fresh impression. In the drydown I get liquorice, but is quite faint, as is the rather generic wood note in the base; towards the end a slim vanilla emerges, which is o limited sweetness. Limited projection and poor silage on my skin, but the longevity is quite decent at around five hours.
    Interesting opening but a bit dull from then on.

    11th July, 2014

    rating


    Hugo Just Different by Hugo Boss

    The mint opening - feature of some of HB's scents is nice, developing into a strong drydown with coriander providing a nice contrast. Later herbal-floral notes dominate, with fresia, gardenia and green notes clamouring for attention. The base is constructed on a labdanum skeleton that is fleshed out with a soft patchouli with mildly musky-spicy undertones. Very good silage with excellent projection are combined with four hours of longevity. Strong, confident and powerful, it is not too original but is substantial enough to -just - warrant a positive score. Good for autumn.

    10th July, 2014

    rating


    Boss Bottled Unlimited by Hugo Boss

    The mint at the start is quite pleasant, but it is a nice pineapple note - not too synthetic - that dominates the course of development of this creation. It lingers for a while before giving way to a somewhat generic wood notes with labdanum mixed in. Simple but not and not bad at all; just not really soaring to heights of excitement. Good silage and very good projection, with a longevity of about three hours. Worth a try.

    10th July, 2014

    rating


    Boss Nuit pour Femme by Hugo Boss

    A synthetic and dull sweety peachy opening with a generic floral drydown that leads into a laboratory-wood base. Not unpleasant but dull with really with little merit, including a shortevity of less than three hours on my skin.

    10th July, 2014

    rating


    XXX Large by Etienne Aigner

    The opening blast I get is that if lemon, a hint of bergamot and touch of a deeper, amber and lavender background. The drydown is characterised initially by floral impressions, a bit like geranium, but increasing taking a salty, ozonic and maritime turn that prevails until the end, although it is pushed into the background by an emerging synthetic wood note in the base. This is not a very exciting scent, it is pedestrian so to speak, but quite solidly made and not bad overall. Acceptable silage and limited projection are combined with a good longevity of about seven hours. On the border between neutral and positive scores, its comparative generic nature tilts it towards neutral overall.

    10th July, 2014

    rating


    Armani Attitude by Giorgio Armani

    Lemon and coffee make for delightful top notes, with the zest of the citrus fruit providing a distinctive counterbalance to the rich depth of the coffee impression. After the first few hours the lemon vanishes, being replaced by a nice lavender with and amber undertone. Later in the drydown cardamom and a mildly smoky patchouli are added, and provide a nice depth and complexity that is enhanced by a good opopanax aroma. In the later stages of the base impression a wood component is added that at that stage is rather dull and generic. After about ten hours the wood improves into a good cedar note, and the coffee becomes stronger; this swansong of cedar and coffee is a great farewell. Apart from the weak phase in the second half of the drydown this is a pleasant composition, quite well blended in most stages, with good silage and projection. On my skin the most impressive part is the tremendous longevity of over thirteen hours, or make that nearly fourteen if you are superstitious.
    Overall not without flaws, but the performance lifts it into a positive score. Good for warmer autumn days.

    09 July, 2014

    rating


    To Be The King by Police

    Besides citrus in the opening I detect cedar, cardamom and very nice nutmeg that dominated on my skin for a while, at times paired with lavender  In the drydown  succeeded by a union of artemisia and an ambery spice note is added; at times I get memories of Spicebomb notes.  Vanilla and cedar are more prominent in the drydown. Good silage and projection, and about four to five hours of longevity. Of all the scents in Police's cute skull-shaped bottles, this is my favourite.

    25 June, 2014

    rating


    Andy Warhol by Bond No. 9

    Indubitably the opening is characterized by a delightful plum note,  which is counterbalanced by a touch of bergamot-related freshness and a woody undertone.   A wood note seems to be present throughout the scent's development, not a very sophisticated one but simply lending another layer of depth.  Equally, the plum notes lingers on for hours on my skin, but in in middle notes floral components are added, mainly jasmine and a soft, rounded patchouli.  In the base vanilla is present quite definitely, blending in nicely without being too dominant or too sweet on me.  
    I get good silage and projection and six hours of longevity.  Great for spring. 

    I was told in the Bond Street NYC flagship store that they could confirm this fragrance's discontinuation. 

    20th June, 2014

    rating


    Vetiver Extreme by Guerlain

    Quite like the original in many aspects, but I get a bit less of the wood side, and it is a bit richer and with a touch more sweetness. Very agreeable. The longevity is the same on my skin, nearly five hours. A case where the flanker holds up to the original version. Elegant.

    15 June, 2014

    rating


    De Viris by Jacques Bogart

    The amazing opening is the epitome of classic freshness: orange, bergamot and an absolutely outstanding petit grain - sensational in its intensity and natural richness. The drydown continues the theme of classic perfection, with ylang ylang and clary sage combined with a mildly spicy white pepper note; but it is the patchouli that adds edge and herbal undertones; there is possibly a myrrh component present too. Cedar and a nice sandalwood commence the base notes, where a pleasant musk emanates later on, but still here freshness has been preserved, mainly due to the addition of a beautifully natural vetiver.
    The performance is outstanding, with very good silage, as well as exceptional projection and a longevity that on my skin extends beyond twelve hours. Overall a very classic traditional scent with subtle twists, composed of top-quality ingredients and very well blended without losing structure. We can attribute the creation of a couple of all-time masterpieces to Jacques Bogart, and De Viris is one of them.

    12 June, 2014

    rating


    Downtown by Calvin Klein

    The opening blast combines the traditional bergamot-citrus-neroli trio with a fruity violet drydown; I also get a bit of rose petals and a hint of peppery spices. On my skin the main issue is that this is all overly synthetic. There is wood and a light white musk in the base, and the latter gradually peters out in a pleasant manner. The performance is most impressive with good silage, great projection and nine hours of longevity. Overall not bad at all, but overall nothing very convincing either.

    10th June, 2014

    rating


    Di Boghese by Borghese

    A fresh bergamot opening modified by floral components, jasmine on my skin with lily-of-the-valley. Light, elegant, a gentle sweetness. The base is deeper with wood and chypre impressions, but is very close to my skin and not strong. Well blended, light, and three hours of longevity. Discretely elegant.

    06 June, 2014

    rating


    Profumo di Montecatini by Borghese

    Fresh, light with citrus and bergamot, And in the drydown a touch of wood notes. A touch of petitgrain is present on my skin. Pleasant in summer with about three hours of longevity.

    06 June, 2014

    rating


    Kipling by Weil

    What an opening: bergamot, citrus and lavender combine with a superb artemisia, and are underlined by a great juniper impression that adds an extra unexpected twist; a slightly boozy note is also notable. The drydown is a classic floral triad of carnation, geranium and jasmine, again just delicious. The base continues in classical style with cedar, patchouli and leather, but the star here is a wonderfully rounded and herbal oak moss of top-notch quality turning this into a fougère base of the finest quality. The performance is a power-laden Formula-1 heaven: great silage, supreme projection, and an absolutely astounding longevity on my skin: I am getting seventeen hours! Wow, a grand classic but not unoriginal and certainly a masterpiece of Weil, and one of the great chypres.

    04 June, 2014

    rating


    Wall Street by Bond No. 9

    Cucumber is often combined with tea or other plants, but combining it with marine notes is quite a novel idea - and makes for a splendid opening. The marine notes stay prominent throughout, with some transient lavender accompaniment and some bergamot-vetiver style variariations adding freshness on my skin. In the base the dominant note is a synthetic but pleasant ambergris, an urbanised version so to speak, as the whales might not make it to South Manhattan. Toward the end white musk is also in the background. Silage and projection are very good most of the time, and I get a longevity of over six hours, albeit closer to my skin for the last couple of hours. Overall this is a Bond that shows originality and thinking outside the square - one of their convincing creations.

    03 June, 2014

    rating


    New York Oud by Bond No. 9

    The beginning and end is oud - intense, rich but not dark, on the brighter side and not too synthetic. Later rose notes are added, a hint of harsher vetiver and wood notes. Simple, straightforward and convincing. Excellent silage and projection with a longevity of over eight hours. An oud for the bright side of life.

    02 June, 2014

    rating


    Roses de Chloé by Chloé

    Bergamot and fresh roses - light, bright and fresh. The rose notes take on a fresh green tinge in the drydown, like rose leaves. It is pleasant but lacks depth and is quite generic. Nonetheless quite pleasant in summer. The silage is limited, the projection he same, and on my skin I get a longevity of three hours. Nothing too remarkable, pleasant, close to my skin and a good work scent.

    01st June, 2014

    rating


    L'Eau de Chloé by Chloé

    A generic citrus-rose that never really takes of on my skin. It is gone after thirty minutes. On me a non-event. Try before you buy.

    01st June, 2014

    rating


    Little Italy by Bond No. 9

    Mandarins galore - that is the opening blast and that is essentially what this product is all about. Clean, a bit sweet, sheer mandarin. On my skin it is not too synthetic, and later it is more like a mandarin lemonade. Towards the end a jasmine component lurks in the background, but the core fruit remains dominant. In all its monochrome single-fruit simplicity it is well done and quite convincing. Silage is good as is the projection. Initially it seemed to collapse after the first hour on my skin, but it returned to give a total longevity of five hours - splendid for a citrus-based scent, albeit very close to my skin for the last couple of hours. Bold Bond simplicity with a nice result.

    01st June, 2014

    rating


    Free Life by Etienne Aigner

    The traditional opening blast of bergamot, lavender and sage is given a nice twist with a wood note; this results in a slightly boozy gorgeous blend of top note. Jasmine, geranium and a bit of rose arise in the middle phase, a rich and pleasurable mix. The base contains sandalwood, but on my skin it is dominated by the crescendo of a rich and glowing amber note. The quality of the ingredients is superb, and it is extremely well blended without losing structure. Good silage and projection, with somewhat over five hours of longevity. A rich autumnal delight from a time Aigner produced great fragrances, but this might be their masterpiece.

    31st May, 2014

    rating


    High Line by Bond No. 9

    A grassy bergamot gives a green freshness to the beginning and makes for a pleasant and summery opening. There are aldehydic and ozonic notes in the background. In the drydown floral notes, mainly tulip with a dash of rose. Later in the base an oakwood notes is overshadowed by a musky component. The top notes are very nice, but after that a generic designer feel at a mediocre level prevails. Good silage and projection with five hours of longevity on my skin. Soft, gentle and nothing exciting in spite of a great underlying concept.

    30th May, 2014

    rating


    West Broadway by Bond No. 9

    Pleasant fresh-green opening that after several hours develops into a floral drydown with a bit of sweetness that remains a bit nonspecific on my skin. The base is a lightweight generic musk of little distinction. Silage and longevity of this warmer-weather scent are very good and the longevity excellent at eight hours, but in this case this is not enough for a thumbs up.

    29 May, 2014

    rating


    Chaps Musk by Ralph Lauren

    The opening blast with citrus and lavender is very nice, whilst the drydown has more of a floral character. A delicious anise is in the background, and on my skin it lasts throughout and even becomes a bit stronger over time. The counterbalance is a crisp sharp patchouli later combined with a good musk tone that is never too harsh but maintains a nice edge. There is a wood note in the base that blends in well. A bit crisper that the original, this is a great scent for spring on cooler days. Good silage and very good projection, with a splendid longevity of nine hours on me.

    28 May, 2014

    rating


    Hamptons by Bond No. 9

    A fresh, light, shiny, silvery bergamot with a floral undertone - that is the gist of the top notes and of the drydown, although further into the middle phase the character of the floral notes shift to jasmine. The base is a generic diappointment of a nondescript woodsy nature. Solace is adequate as is the projection, and I get three hours if longevity. Good for summer.

    27 May, 2014

    rating


    Bond No.9 Perfume Oud by Bond No. 9

    Oud and rose to begin with, but not with oriental lusciousness - this has a modern, slinky and elegant touch. The oud is a bit on the soft side initially, but then it develops a more convincing character. The drydown is a bit sweeter with a vanilla added, and in the later stages a more generic fruitiness is not particularly enticing. Performance is excellent though with very good silage and projection, and a total longevity of fourteen hours - this just tilts it into positive score territory. Good for warmer autumn days.

    25 May, 2014

    rating


    New York Amber by Bond No. 9

    Amber heaven! This is the summary of the opening blast: Amber galore of good-quality ingredients, with fresh undertones, and a touch of floral spiciness with saffron when heading towards the drydown. This is an amber that is not heavy, has a brighter sparkle and is of some elegance without lacking depths and richness. After the first couple of hours we are crashing to the ground of more mundane levels of existence, as the flowery-osmanthus middle notes are fare less exciting, and the woody ambrox base is plain and simply generic, although not ouright very bad, just mediocre. The silage is allright, the projection excellent initially, and the overall longevity very good at about seven hours, albeit close to my skin for the second half.
    This then is a glorious scent initially and a more average and restrained creation later on - ideal for a cool-season office scent that pampers in the initial hours and then is more unobtrusive. With the overall decent performance I would give it a positive score overall - just.

    24 May, 2014

    rating


    Chez Bond by Bond No. 9

    A nice top note mix of citrus and green notes with a touch of sweetness. The middle notes have a tea aroma, and there are woods and a touch of vetiver in the base. Overall the top notes are pleasant, but the rest is quite dull and generic on my skin. I can see why it has been compares with Cool
    Water, but Chez Bond is more elegant, although overall not a very exciting scent. Silage is limited, projection all right, but the longevity very good at nearly seven hours n

    23 May, 2014

    rating


    Kenzoair by Kenzo

    In the top notes the mixture of licorice and anise develops beautifully on my skin, a very nice idea, with a touch of bergamot-freshness in the background. The drydown brings a lovely vetiver into play, whilst the base is to me the least interesting part with its rather generic wood-amber impression. This scent is openly flouting its synthetic nature, but it is well made and in its simplicity nonetheless quite convincing. Whilst silage and projection are nothing to write home about, the longevity of over six hours is fairly respectable. Good in spring.

    22 May, 2014

    rating


    Casran by Chopard

    There is definite bergamot as main accord in the top notes, with a yuzu-like line note and some added cardamom. A middle note based on lavender's greenness with a touch of sage, which does not really develop well on my skin, is followed by a fairly generic base of woody spiciness. Overall with the good top notes it is not bad, but not particularly interesting. Limited silage, decent projection and about five hours of longevity on me.

    21st May, 2014

    Showing 31 to 60 of 897.