Reviews by rbaker

    Showing 61 to 90 of 1110.
    rating


    Fabulous by Victoria's Secret

    A fat berry opening with a sweet white-floral centre drydown. The sweetish mix is generic, awfully synthetic and lasts two hours on my skin. Thumbs down.

    01st February, 2015

    rating


    Victoria (new) by Victoria's Secret

    A fruity berry-centred composition with a floral drydown, rose and hints of jasmine. Later I get a tonka-custard type of base. Not bad bad quite generic and synthetic.

    I get moderate sillage with adequate projection and a bit over three hours of longevity on my skin. 2.5/5

    01st February, 2015

    rating


    Bombshell by Victoria's Secret

    There is a sweetish strawberry fruitiness in the opening, with a drydown that is white-floral centered and a vanilla base. The opening is not bad, the rest is very generic. I get moderate sillage, good projection and four hours of longevity. Overall mediocre. 2/5

    31st January, 2015

    rating


    Angel Gold by Victoria's Secret

    A fresh bergamot-based top notes followed by a somewhat generic sweetish-floral drydown and a fruity - musky unexciting base. Not bad, nut quite mediocre. Moderate sillage, adequate protection and three hours if longevity in my skin. 2.5/5.

    30th January, 2015

    rating


    Verdon by L'Occitane

    An refreshing lemon-mint opening with bergamot and a slightly sea-salt ozonic note - lovely! The drydown is a bit more mundane, with acceptable lavender and a somewhat sweetish wood note. On my skin there is soft sillage, adequate projection, and I get four hours of longevity on my skin.

    The top notes just warrant a positive score. Nice in summer. 3/5.

    30th January, 2015

    rating


    Eau d'Ikar by Sisley

    The citrus opening blast is quite nice, with a hint of bigarrade-style bitterness initially. The drydown is more mediocre, a floral jasmine-iris combination that leads to rather generic woody vetiver base.

    Overall after the too notes it is lol a bit unexciting. Soft sillage, adequate projection and three hours of longevity in my skin. Pleasant on cooler summer days, albeit disappointing overall. 2.5/5

    29th January, 2015

    rating


    Pink Bouquet by Moschino

    The best if this scent is the opening: a convincing pineapple-raspberry fruit cocktail with bergamot injecting a refreshing and bright component. The drydown brings a shift towers white florals, mainly muguet with peony and a light jasmine note - this phase is a bit more generic and unexciting. A synthetic fruity cinnamon base does not do much for me, I'm afraid, although it is not bad either.

    Still overall this is not bad. I get moderate sillage, adequate projection and about four hours of longevity on my skin. The nice top notes just push it into the positive score territory. 2.75/5

    28th January, 2015

    rating


    La Fille De Berlin by Serge Lutens Les Salons du Palais Royal Shiseido

    A splendid Otto rose is at the heart of this composition. It is not dark but is is rich and intensive -no lightweight - albeit on the brighter side. It's main accompaniment is initially a slightly sharp acidic compinent, that is soon replaced a peppery spice note, a touch of darkness that blends in very well with the rose. At times other floral notes appear transiently, and towards the end green rose-stem undertones appear, but the rose always reigns supreme. Good quality ingredients are blended very well without losing structure; this is important as otherwise it might become a very monochromatic scent.

    The whose concept is not particularly original but well executed. The performance is very good, with moderate sillage, excellent projection and over seven hours of longevity on my skin. Great for late spring and early summer. 3.75/5

    28th January, 2015

    rating


    Nuit de Cellophane by Serge Lutens Les Salons du Palais Royal Shiseido

    The fruity top notes with their orange-peach-apricot impression are not bad l, but the white flower drydown is ether generic and unexciting. And that's it in my skin. Not overbearingly sweet, but distinctly unexciting. Soft sillage, adequate projection and a longevity of four hours. Sounds middle-of-the-road? It is. 2/5

    27th January, 2015

    rating


    Swarovski Edition by Swarovski

    The initial generic fruitiness witha synthetic citrus notion is awfully generic, as is the sweetish-floral drydown. A vague wordiness in the base did not redeem this product. The performance on my skin is equally unimpressive, with soft sillage and poor projection; it lasts two hours. No Swarovki crystal ball is needed to see that it does not work for me.

    27th January, 2015

    rating


    Aura by Swarovski Love Collection by Swarovski

    A flowery composition, lily mainly on my skin, a touch of freesia and a drydown of white musk and a generic wood impression. Mmh. Not in anyway interesting, albeit not bad either. What is bad is the performance with soft sillage, limited projection and a shortevity of an ephemeral two hours on me, on a hot day three hours. I'd stick to the superb crystal ware.

    27th January, 2015

    rating


    Aura by Swarovski

    I get quite a decent unspecific sweetish-fruitiness in the top, but nearly pushed a side by a liberal dose of benzoin that counterbalances the fruitiness not very well. The white-flowery drydown and the white musk are also rather generic in my skin and quite dull. I get soft sillage, adequate projection and three hours of longevity. Dull, generic on me. 2/5

    27th January, 2015

    rating


    Acqua Nobile Magnolia by Acqua di Parma

    After a fairly typical AdP opening of citrus notes a white-flower drydown, where the magnolia combines with muguet and jasmine. The drydown is not bad, but not spectacular. In the base I get a fairly generic vanilla.

    Overall not very exciting, although the middle phase is worth a try. I remain a bit underwhelmed though.
    Soft sillage with adequate projection and about four hours of longevity. 2.5/5

    26th January, 2015

    rating


    Almond Cucumber by Shay & Blue

    The cucumber is nice, and there is a refreshing feeling to this scent that is counterbalanced by a pleasant almond and, at a meter stage some floral notes with wood - the latter are a bit unspecific on my skin. The first part is quite convincing though and wants a -just- positive score. I get moderate sillage, adequate projection and four hours of longevity. 3/5

    26th January, 2015

    rating


    Atropa Belladonna by Shay & Blue

    A lovely blackcurrant opening leads to a white floral drydown, with narcissus and hits of muguet on my nose. Later a rich jasmine emerges that is well executed, quite natural and of good quality. A soft patchouli rounds it off, leading into a woodsy tonka base that avoids excessive sweetness.

    A pleasant combination with moderate sillage, good projection and a superb longevity of nine hours on my skin. 3.5/5

    25th January, 2015

    rating


    Sicilian Limes by Shay & Blue

    A lovely lime note witha marine bent, and a herbal rosemary-thyme hint in the drydown. The base is lightly woody and a bit nonspecific, but overall this is quite a refreshing citrus summer scent.
    Moderate sillage and good projection, is boasts an excellent longevity for a citrus-based fragrance: seven hours on my skin. 3/5

    25th January, 2015

    rating


    Eau de Sport by Alain Delon

    A pleasant bergamot-citrus note combines in the opening with a laurel impression, with hints of lavender added in. Soon a discrete cinnamon emerges, with berry-fruitiness and a whiff of anis providing just a bit of sweetness that further into the drydown develops into a more floral phase. I get mainly geranium and carnation.

    Overall this is a light, bright and somewhat restrained scent with soft sillage, adequate projection and five hours of longevity on my skin, fading slowly over the last hour. Good for cooler summer days. 3/5

    24th January, 2015

    rating


    Pin 12 by Le Labo

    The pine is there from the beginning and of great beauty. Soon, however, lavender appears and a white musk aroma together with a bergamot note adds a lighter twist. Later in the drydown a smoky cedar wood note takes over, the pencil shave overpowers the pine as the main wood component. Whiffs of olive crop of transiently.

    Towards the end a light amber impression, with the cedar, fades out slowly I get decent sillage and projection with five hours of longevity.

    A fine scent. 4/5

    23rd January, 2015

    rating


    Alain Delon Plus / AD Plus by Alain Delon

    The opening is sensational: laurel, lavender and rosemary-based herbal deliciousness combines with touches of petit grain and bergamot for freshness. Natural and beautiful. The drydown is a flower basket to highest quality, mainly carnation and geranium with a light rose with lavender in my skin. Later, a gentle honeyed sweetness arises.

    The next phase statrts with a very nice cypress note and hints of cedar. The later base is a bit dull, with a somewhat attenuated moss impression.

    Overall mostly a wonderful chypre of the highest quality, just the base does not hold up to the initial top level of this scent. I get moderate sillage, good projection and a wonderful longevity of ten hours. 4/5

    23rd January, 2015

    rating


    Tommy Girl Brights by Tommy Hilfiger

    A fruity bergamot-lavender leads to a distinclly floral drydown, mainly jasmine and iris on my skin, contaminated with a very generic-synthetic light rose. A white tea and white musk lead to the base, with a dull saffron-woodsy impression leading to an early end.

    I get soft sillage, limited projection and two hours of longevity. Light summery shallowness, not bad but not more than that. 2.75/5

    22nd January, 2015

    rating


    Santal Blanc by Serge Lutens Les Salons du Palais Royal Shiseido

    Whilst there is the light white sandalwood as the core, it actually opens up with a resinous and peppery-spicy undertone. In the drydown it takes a floral turn, incorporating iris, jasmine and a light whiff of rose, and in the base the inevitable cedar arrives - few sandalwood scents theses days don't have a dominating cedar sidekick attached to it. In all fairness the cedar sticks to a supporting rôle here.

    Overall this follows a fairly traditional concept that is very well executed with top-notch ingredients. Good for warmer autumn days, it displays soft sillage and adequate longevity ion my skin with a very good longevity of seven hours. A brighter sandal scent. 3.5/5

    22nd January, 2015

    rating


    Douce Amère by Serge Lutens Les Salons du Palais Royal Shiseido

    An opening of grass, hay and pollen with a hint of absinthe, later developing into a floral drydown of lily and jasmine. A lovely cinnamon adds depth, whilst the base is predictably a vanilla that is here of the highest quality.

    This is an elegantly restrained scent with soft silkage and adequate projection, but its restraint belies the superb longevity of eight hours on my skin. For spring at work - elegantly. 3.5/5

    21st January, 2015

    rating


    Miel de Bois by Serge Lutens Les Salons du Palais Royal Shiseido

    One of the best medium-heave honey notes I have encountered in a while is the centerpiece if this composition - intense, rich; bees must be attracted so beware. A woodsy note is the background initially, possibly oak, but the drydown takes a floral turn with iris and hints of hawthorn, like a distant memory of Aubepine Acacia near a bee farm. Some darker whiffs of musk are added towards the end.

    A wonderful fragrance, rich, original. I get moderate sillage, very good projection and five hours of longevity. Not for the faint hearted, and: try before you buy. Great in autumn. 4.5/5

    20th January, 2015

    rating


    Chypre Rouge by Serge Lutens Les Salons du Palais Royal Shiseido

    The opening conjures up a coniferous image with herbal undertones - delightful. The drydown in one of the best wax-honey impression I have come across for a while, a rich Manuka - like flavour and exceedingly well done. The piece de resistance is the base, where the resinous beeswax merges into a more traditional beautiful velvety amber. A soft patchouli with spicy hints of oak moss and a balancing tonka; never really sweet and never cloying.

    Great quality of the ingredients; well-blended and maintaining great structure and superb development on my skin. I get moderate sillage, very good projection and we've hours of longevity.

    A great masterful composition. 4.5/5

    20th January, 2015

    rating


    Carbone de Balmain by Pierre Balmain

    A floral opening, predominantly violet - on the sinister side - with a lovely ivy note - like standing near an ivy-covered wall - with a heavy sweetish aroma of an overripe fig. The drydown veers into the realm of incense and dark peppery spicy scents, with a tonka base. It sounds sweet and cloying but it isn't.

    The concept is quite original; it is a rich, deep and dark experience with good sillage and projection and six hours of longevity in my skin. Wintery I'd say. 3.5/5

    19th January, 2015

    rating


    Rose Velours by Van Cleef & Arpels

    From the start I get a lovely rose, rich, not really dark, soft, with a classic bergamot providing some initial freshness. Cooked and hints of jasmine in the drydown lead to a base of orris and an ambery sweetinsh honey note, with a pleasant cedar and hints of sandalwood gradually developing in the base.

    No wildly creative outbursts then in the selection of the ingredients, but they are of good quality. I am especially impressed with the good development in the transition form a rose-floral to a honey-cedar base. I get moderate sillage, good projection and six hours of longevity. 3.5/5

    18th January, 2015

    rating


    Cologne Noir by Van Cleef & Arpels

    Whilst the ginger-pepper-bergamot-orange opening is quite pleasant, the drydown becomes a non-descript woodsy mélange on my skin that shows little interesting development. The performance is nothing special either, with moderate sillage, acceptable projection and four hours of longevity.

    A nice start, the rest mediocre. 2.5/5

    18th January, 2015

    rating


    Bois d'Iris by Van Cleef & Arpels

    This is about iris - and a good iris it is, counterbalanced by woodsy impressions. Not too sweet, with shades of spice and greenness inter-playing with the main theme. I get moderate sillage and good orojection, and four hours of longevity. Simple and of good quality - that's good enough for me. 3.5/5

    17th January, 2015

    rating


    Orchidée Vanille by Van Cleef & Arpels

    The oud is quite nice and combine not only with the - by now - almost expected rose note, but hints of an orangey-fruity background provide good counterbalance. Tonka is they name of the game in the second half, not excitingly original but quite well done.

    It develops well on my skin, with moderate sillage, good projection and five hours of longevity. Great in autumn. 3.25/5

    17th January, 2015

    rating


    Knize Forest by Knize

    A lovely bergamot with petit grain and lemon-orange underpinning make for a refreshing opening. Soon a coniferous wood emerges, but in the drydown a green herbal line is most obvious, like stepping from the thickets of a forest into a glade or clearing where a herb garden is planted, a wonderful combination. Carnation and geranium's floral contribution give it a softer touch, but in the base the darker forest impressions take over.

    The base is as mavellous as the whole scent. Sandalwood, with labdanum, but most importantly an oakmoss in the grand tradition and of high-quality ingredients, carry the later stages of the excellent development on my skin. Towards the end a beautifully resinous amber appears, providing a stupendous apotheosis that is rounded off with a earthy dark musk.

    I get moderate sillage, very good projection and eight hours of longevity. More herbal than Bogner's forest fragrance, this is a classic of this genre - and one of my favourites.

    16th January, 2015

    Showing 61 to 90 of 1110.




Loving perfume on the Internet since 2000