Perfume Reviews

Reviews by rbaker

Advertisement
Total Reviews: 2184
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Earl Grey Tea by Demeter Fragrance Library

There is no tea in this.

There is a hint of an overly synthetic bergamot in it - the other characteristic ingredient of Earl Grey Tea.

The rest is a nonspecific generic slightly sweet impression of a mildly boozy liquid soap with whiffs of artificial fruitiness at times.

The sillage is soft, the projection limited, and the longevity four hours on my skin.

A spring scent for those who want to avoid Earl Grey Tea. 1.75/5.
18th January, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Caribbean Sea by Demeter Fragrance Library

It starts out with the expected marine-saltwater impression, but it is a fairly standard approach, a bit on the generic side.

Unfortunately this sea-aroma evaporates quite soon, and a nonspecific fresh drydown is all that remains.

I get soft sillage, adequate projection and eight hours of longevity on my skin.

This summery marine scent is quite flat and anaemic compared with the good representatives of this species of fragrance- think Gianfranco Ferré’s Bergamotto Marino or Creed’s Erolfa, for instance. A mediocre composition at best. 2.25/5.
17th January, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Christmas In NYC by Demeter Fragrance Library

The opening is characterised by the usual wintery Christmas feel of spices, caramel, cinnamon, vanilla and the likes. Somewhat predictable but pleasant.

Later in the drydown this mix turns less pleasant, and this is mainly due the increasing presence of strong synthetic characteristics. Additionally, the sweet spiciness becomes increasingly generic.

I get moderate sillage, excellent projection and ten hours of longevity on my skin.

A warming and comforting winter scent, initially conveying traditional, albeit not particularly original, winter Christmas feelings, but eventually turning out to be somewhat too generic and disagreeably synthetic overall to convince unequivocally. 2.75/5.


16th January, 2018
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Condensed Milk by Demeter Fragrance Library

In the first moments of the opening phase I get hints of condensed milk, nicely done, but only lasting for the first five or ten minutes.

Then, further into the drydown a slightly sweet mix appears, which is characterised by hints of vanilla, coconut and, towards the end, very faint touches of caramel.

I get soft sillage, good projection and a total longevity of nine hours on my skin.

Initially quite well designed, but most of it is rather generic and without any interesting development. 2.5/5.
15th January, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Cannabis Flower by Demeter Fragrance Library

A typical, pleasant and slightly spicy resinous herbal impression to start off with; but soon developing into a nonspecific, slightly herbal mix.

I get soft sillage, adequate projection and seven hours of longevity on my skin.

Some nice moments, but basic overall, rather linear and a bit thin at times. 2.5/5.
14th January, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Crème Brulee by Demeter Fragrance Library

There a brief moment in the opening blast where a reasonable vanilla impression is present - for about a minute or two.

After that it sinks into the morass of biochemical fragrance design - the undesirable way: a bland, slightly sweet and vacuous concoction. Nothing more, I’m afraid.

I get soft sillage, adequate projection and four hours of longevity on my skin.

An autumnal mix that is overall too synthetic and too generic to win any points. And there is no point to this scent anyway. Crème brûlée it is definitely not. 1.5/5.
12th January, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Capim-Limão by L'Occitane

This is a great and refreshing opening: a lemony lime impression, bright and refreshing. Well made, quite natural in its core in its simplicity.

There is not much development here, but firnthis sort of fragrance the performance is quite respectable: I get soft sillage, adequate projection and three hours of longevity on my skin.

Summer and lime in a bottle. Just the Cachaça is missing. 3/5.
11th January, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Bonfire by Demeter Fragrance Library

A good initial impression of wood, slightly sweet, with a good, moderately intense smoky note. After a white the smoke retreats to some extent, and the wood merges with the aroma of smoked and burnt sausages and meat.

At the end, the wood and the smoke fade out gradually.

I get moderate sillage, excellent projection and nine hours of longevity on my skin.

Whilst this winter scent does conjures up memories of Guy Fawkes bonfires, the burnt meat undertone is rather chemical and unpleasant. At the best moments the smoke and wood work together quite convincingly though. Overall an mixed impression. 2.75/5.
10th January, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Fireplace by Demeter Fragrance Library

An opening consistent of sweet woodsiness is notable for the absence of the fire that is promised in the name of this creation.

Over time I get occasional moments of mild and sweet woods, but a mildly boozy undertone is more present and also more persistent. Whiffs of a very attenuated smokiness come and go; they are rare though. Occasional medicinal vibes cause brief disturbances only. Otherwise I don’t get much further development here.

I get moderate sillage, very good projection and nine hours of longevity, albeit rather close to my skin towards the end. 2.75/5.

A winter warmer in concept and result, although with less fire and smoke than one would expect given its name. Overall a bit too generic and nonspecific, but the warm red wood impression is pleasant. 2.75/5.
09th January, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Marshmallow by Demeter Fragrance Library

Themis is another Demeter gourmand creation of this suspiciously proliferating house. And again a sweet and rich product, with the strong aroma of waffles and sweets from the Demeter bakery.

As far as the marshmallows are concerned, they are lurking in the background and are mostly overwhelmed by the sweetness and force of the care waffle note.

I get moderate sillage, excellent projection and nine hours of longevity on my skin.

A rich and comforting wintery gourmand, a bit linear and generic at times, but performing well. 2.5/5.
08th January, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Vitória Régia : Flor do Dia by L'Occitane

After a citrus opening, a pleasant floral scent with a good lotus impression mixing with white florals.

Soft sillage, adequate projection and three hours of longevity on my skin.

Nice in spring but a bit linear. 3/5.
07th January, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Snow by Demeter Fragrance Library

There are some features of snow on a wool coat in this blend, but only briefly. For most of the time this is a slightly earthy and clear impression, that has whiffs of gently spicy undertones towards the end.

I get soft sillage, limited projection and six hours of longevity on my skin.

Not a bad scent for warmer winter days, nicely conceptualised but a bit generic. The opening blast is nice. 2.5/5.
05th January, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Rain by Demeter Fragrance Library

This effort to mimick a concept that was beautifully implemented in the past - see Guerlain’s Après l’Ondée - is not convincing. A thin, calone-influenced core with touches of citrus, nonspecific floral touches and whiffs of moist hair.

I get soft sillage, limited lrooand six hours of longevity on my skin.

Very watery - aptly so given the name - but too pale and anaemic to enthuse. 2.25/5.
04th January, 2018
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Sunflower by Demeter Fragrance Library

Towards the beginning there are moments where a decent impression if sunflowers is conjured up all right. For most of the time I only get a generic floral blend.

Sillage is moderate, the projection good and the longevity six hours.

Not bad for spring - nothing exciting though. 2.75/5.
03rd January, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Lime by Demeter Fragrance Library

After an unpleasant and harshly chemical opening blast, an agreeable lime impression appears for a few minutes. Then, again, a nonspecific chemical notes appears, not merely aldehydic but a bit like stale plant material at times.

Later in the drydown, with the stale note continuing, pleasant moments come and go. They consist of mainly citrus impressions, some darker lime-lemon notes with at times a nigh-balsamic undertone. These impressions are again quite pleasant.

I get moderate sillage, good projection and eight hours of longevity on my skin.

Not bad for cooler summer days - this is not a bright and refreshing lime - but marred by the less impressive phases. 2.75/5.
02nd January, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Egg Nog by Demeter Fragrance Library

The warm egg white aroma and the rich warmth of this drink are represented very well. At times hints of spiciness are also present; I get quite a bit of nutmeg in particular at times. There is the expected boozy undertone too.

I get moderate sillage, excellent projection and five hours of longevity on my skin.

This is a very linear, nice and comforting winter concoction. The drawback, apart from it’s blatantly synthetic character, is the weakness of the boozy component; after all, the drink is based on brandy or other similar goodies. Otherwise quite agreeable. 2.5/5.
01st January, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Cotton Candy by Demeter Fragrance Library

The first minutes render the best impression of cotton candy as such - then a nonspecific sweetness sets in.

Over time I undertones of vanilla with generic fruity characteristics, at times veering toward strawberries or caramel - the latter only in the most fleeting whisps.

I get soft sillage, limited projection and and overall longevity of six hours on my skin.

Fun and games in spring, a bit bland and thin. 2.5/5.
31st December, 2017
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Chocolate Cherries by Demeter Fragrance Library

The chocolate is really what determines and defines this composition: rich, smooth, halfway between milk chocolate and dark chocolate - nice.

As a longstanding consumer of Trader Joe’s Chocolate Cherries I feel that the main thing that is lacking here is a convincing cherry component. Sure, hints of of come up occasionally in the guise of a fruity undertone, but the eventual bite into the cherry is not well reflected in this cologne. This is more the aroma on the outside of the chocolate cherry only.

I get moderate sillage, excellent projection and eight hour of chocolate-laden longevity on my skin.

A nice autumn chocolate gourmand, at times with too much of a synthetic component and too linear-syrupy. 2.5/5.

30th December, 2017 (last edited: 31st December, 2017)
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Clean Windows by Demeter Fragrance Library

The title is not wrong: after an initial aldehydic onslaught a light drag and chemical cleaner impression is what this is all about. At times whiffs of white musk pass by, but otherwise a weak cleaning fluid is the name of the game.

One could have though the leather rug used in window cleaning would make an appearance here too, but I not get this at all.

I get moderate sillage, adequate projection and five hours of longevity on my skin.

This is about as bland, synthetic and generic as it gets. In order to cheer myself up, I will have a sniff at the freshly cleaned windows here - the real deal. 1.25/5.
29th December, 2017
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Laundromat by Demeter Fragrance Library

Yes, laundry aromas, memories of our Scout showing me the laundry facilities at college....

Quite light, clean, slightly soapy. Fresh, clean, slightly soapy, bright.

I get soft sillage, limited projection and six hours of longevity on my skin.

Light and nice for spring days. One can muse over the raison d’être of such types of scents. What next - air in a vaporiser?
But I have to skedaddle to do my laundry - the real thing.... 2.5/5.
28th December, 2017
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Frasier Fir by Demeter Fragrance Library

After a chemical opening blast that is not very pretty the core impression sold develops. And this is indeed a recognisable fir as promised in the name.

The fir aroma is quite typical, deep, rich and has a pleasant balsamic undertone. It is less complex than, fir instance, Bogner’s Deep Forest, but characterful enough to convince.

I get moderate sillage, very good projection and seven hours of longevity on my skin. This is for the Cologne.

A respectable autumnal fir impression, that is quite linear but otherwise crafted very well. 3.25/5.
27th December, 2017
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

This is not a Pipe by Demeter Fragrance Library

This Magritte-themed composition is a pipe fragrance indeed. Initially very chemical, it turns out to be pleasant, soft and with a fruity flavour that blends in surprisingly seamlessly and is not overly intrusive.

The tobacco is smooth, with touches of dark Virginia and not harsh at all - no Perique or Latakia can be traced in this blend.

There is not much development to be found here. The sillage is moderate, the projection excellent and the longevity seven hours on my skin.

Nice for autumn. 3/5.
26th December, 2017
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Waffles by Demeter Fragrance Library

Abiss’s description of burnt caramel is pretty spot on; I get only a bit of the burnt aspect and somewhat more of a browned-toasted undertone.

What I don’t get here is any meaningful development over time.

The sillage is moderate, the projection is excellent, and the longevity an impressive ten hours on my skin.

A pleasant autumnal gourmand scent that is a tad too synthetic and generic to excite, but quite agreeable overall. 2.5/5.
24th December, 2017
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Pink Grapefruit by Demeter Fragrance Library

The opening blast strikes me as a weirdly chemical attempt to recreate a nonspecific citrus aroma. Not enticing at all. Fortunately, after a few minutes, this evaporates and the grapefruit appears.

The grapefruit is indeed the core of this creation. There is nothing spectacularly pink about this fruit. It is quite restrained, not sour at all and equally not very sweet either. There is just enough sweetness to make a pleasantly fruity experience. Of note: this grapefruit is neither refreshing nor particularly zesty.

Otherwise I do not get much development here.

I get soft sillage, good projection and five hours of longevity on my skin.

This is not an unpleasant creation for cooler summer days. It is rather synthetic though. Whilst being a synthetic scent with never be able to capture the texture and the nuances of its natural counterpart, it can sometimes result in a composition that is sufficiently characterful and sophisticated such as to make a convincing product - here Hermès’s Eau d’Orange Verte comes to mind as one typical example. Whilst being pleasant is a slightly anaemic way, this Demeter does not fall into this more interesting category. 2.75/5.
23rd December, 2017
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Mahogany by Demeter Fragrance Library

The specific wood nitenin the title is notoriously difficult to realise in a fragrance, and this product is no exception: a pleasant woodsy impression, quite nonspecific but with a nice and gently spicy undertone.

Otherwise I get little development. The whole mix fades out gradually whilst the spiciness moves into the foreground over time.

I get soft sillage, adequate projection and six hours of longevity on my skin.

A scent for warm autumn days, which is agreeable but quite synthetic in character. 2.5/5.
22nd December, 2017
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

New Baby / Baby's Head by Demeter Fragrance Library

This indeed hits a note that could remind one of the head and scalp of a freshly bathed baby.

This baby scent this is very much derived from the baby powder used. In other words this product is a baby powder impression. Clean, a bit fresh and soft. And a tad powdery.

I get soft sillage, adequate projection and six hours of longevity on my skin.

A spring day scent if you want to smell like a baby’s head. Alas also a bit too linear. But pleasant. 2.5/5.
21st December, 2017
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Sex On The Beach by Demeter Fragrance Library

A nonspecific fruitiness greets me on th e opening blast, and with some effort a slightly peachy undertone is discernible too. The booziness is very discreet - but that is where the similarity with the cocktail that gave this creation its name ends indeed.

No cranberry aroma and no vodka. And...this is so blatantly synthetic in a cheap and boring manner that has not one iota of originality or conceptual creativity going for it.

I would need a lot of the cocktail to even consider this a good fragrance.

I get moderate sillage, very good projection and six hours of longevity on my skin.

A scent for cooler summer days of questionable quality. 1.75/5.

The sole solace: the memories of the best SOTBs of the past - like the ones at Beach Blanket Babylon in Notting Hill.......
20th December, 2017
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Sanrio - Hello Kitty by Demeter Fragrance Library

This is one of the most glaringly synthetic compositions I have ever experienced. Apple, berries, white florals in the background, but so evidently carelessly - or cheaply - concocted that many laundry detergents seems more appalling. The boringly linear character does not make things better.

The name might indicate a childish target audience, but even for that target audience does this product leave a lot to be desired.

Hello Kitty’s - sort of - consoling feature that is it not particularly sweet, and it lacks the nauseating artificial sweetness that other, similarly generic and synthetic creations emanate - Victoria’s Secret comes to mind. This Demeter falls shorts of being such a weapon of sugary olfactory mass destruction.

I get moderate sillage, adequate projection and six hours of longevity on my skin.

A good example of how to create a dull, ultra-generic and very synthetic spring scent. 1.75/5.

19th December, 2017
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Orange Blossom by Demeter Fragrance Library

The opening blast bombards my nose with a chemical onslaught - an unpleasant one that is - before settling into a fairly nonspecific white floral impression.

Moments reminiscent of a flat orange blossom come and go, but for most of the time I only get a generic floral note of little distinction.

I get soft sillage, adequate projection and and six hours of longevity on my skin.

A nondescript spring creation that is rather linear and not very exciting or convincing - neither as orange blossom nor as a fragrance in general. This is not Demeter’s finest hour. 2/5
18th December, 2017
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Bronze Goddess Eau de Parfum by Estée Lauder

The opening has a discreetly summery undertone, with a soft bergamot joining a pleasant mandarin and a smooth jasmine to create a nice jasmine; the latter floral blends in nicely with the brighter notes. This is not a full-on refreshing opening though.

The drydown gradually introduces sweeter components, with frangipani is combined with coconut and a well-intergrated vanilla impression; here a subtle backgound aroma is noticeable that reminds me of some of the Piz Buin sunscreens; memories of the sunscreen in the air when walking along the seashore in summer come to mind. At times whiffs of a very lean and contemporary powderiness can also be noted.

I get moderate sillage, very good projection and seven hours of longevity on my skin.

A pleasant summery beach-evoking scent; in the tradition of Bond No.9’s Fire Island and the likes. A bit dull at times but overall very agreeable. 3/5.
17th December, 2017