Reviews by rbaker

    Showing 91 to 120 of 1110.
    rating


    Tiger Oud by Roberto Cavalli

    There is oud in this, and it is well presented most of the time, but the main player is a deep, dark rose. Now this dyad alone seems to be a somewhat simplistic approach towards a scent, but it works well on my skin, with hints of fresher rose impression coming and going, a rather pleasant development on my skin. I get moderate sillage with good projection with about five hours of longevity on my skin. Simple but well executed. Good for autumn; 3.25/5.

    15th January, 2015

    rating


    Nero Assoluto by Roberto Cavalli

    A rather synthetic orchid opening leading into a woodsy vanilla drydown. Simplicity that is well executed with top ingredients can yield great results - this rather unexciting scent does not. I get adequate sillage and projection, but only a longevity of a couple of hours in my skin.
    Not bad. Mediocre. 2.25/5

    14th January, 2015

    rating


    Made to Measure by Gucci

    The orange-bergamot top note is paired with fairly standard lavender, and an aniseed note provides for a bit of variety. The drydown, unfortunately, degenerates into a generic melange, whilst a synthetic patchouli together witha watery ambery impression does not help it a lot. Adequate sillage and projection with four hours of longevity on my skin.

    A promising start. Shame about the rest. 2.5/5

    14th January, 2015

    rating


    Aqua Amara by Bulgari

    A lovely mandarin opening - Little Italy synthetic so to speak - but quite nicely done. Neroli in the drydown, all with a bitter, at times grapefruite-like twist. Refreshing. A mildly ambery base with a light, soft patchouli.

    It lacks the aquatic vibe of the original but actually develops more convincingly on my skin, with moderate sillage, good projection and four hours if longevity. Just a positive score. 2.75/5

    14th January, 2015

    rating


    Aqua pour Homme by Bulgari

    A mandarin opening, mixed with petit grain, leads to a lavender-based drydown, when a aquatic sea-salt seaweed note is added, giving its name to this fragrance. Woody and sage impressions are emerging in the base. It is refreshing is a generic, unexciting manner, with soft sillage, adequate projection and three hours of longevity. Mediocre. 2.25/5.

    13th January, 2015

    rating


    John Varvatos by John Varvatos

    Fruity, fruity is the opening, with green herbs and a mildly peppery note in the drydown. The base is a bit fuller and richer, with a nigh medicinal light ambery impression mixed with a suede and vanilla - all right IMHO a but not more.

    On my skin this never really takes off. Solidly manufactured, a bit too generic, and lacking distinction. I get decent sillage and projection, and it lasts three hours. Middle-of-the-road- 2.5/5.

    13th January, 2015

    rating


    Artisan by John Varvatos

    A pleasant mandarin citrus opening with a kitchen herb note leads to a somewhat exotic drydown, dominated by gentle spices and floral impressions. The base has a woodsy flavor. Never exciting, this is a nice, solidly crafted scent with decent sillage and projection on my skin, but an abysmal longevity - no, shortevity on me of two hours. Nevertheless, pleasant it is.

    13th January, 2015

    rating


    Vintage by John Varvatos

    Whilst this is no Baie de Genièvre, I get a nice juniper berry note in the opening, together with a pleasant jasmine. The drydown revel as a fairly soft patchouli, which mergers into a base of vanilla and a hint of a fairly generic tobacco coda.

    Developing nicely on my skin; I get adequate sillage and projection with four hours of longevity. Pleasant. 3/5.

    12th January, 2015

    rating


    Duel by Annick Goutal

    There is a pretty dull mate with a boozy undertone, later followed by the development of a generic floral impression. It is never really a sweet scent. What follows is a woodsy-leathery drydown that unfortunately never develops convincingly on my skin. This is a shame as the comfort is interesting. I get limited sillage and projection with three hours of longevity. 2.5/5.

    12th January, 2015

    rating


    Petite Chérie by Annick Goutal

    A fruity pear-peachy opening soon mixes with a dominating floral drydown of a somewhat unexciting rose and whiffs of a white flower-like note. Later herbal hints lead lead to a vanilla base. Not bad, but a bit dull on my skin, although a nice idea.

    I get soft sillage with limited projection and three hours longevity. All right. 2.5/5

    12th January, 2015

    rating


    Nuit De Longchamp by Lubin

    A heady bergamot/ylang-ylang and light floral note is soon saturated by rose, iris and jasmine against an orangey backdrop - a very traditional opening. Later wood and patchouli lead to a base that sees a few aromatic notes added.

    On my skin a floral sweetness is evident, but is is never too sweet or cloying. Recent sampling gave me the impression that the quality of the ingredients might have suffered a bit, but it is still a nice scent. I get moderate sillage, very good projection and seven hours of longevity. Traditional. And nice. 3.25/5

    12th January, 2015

    rating


    Black Jade by Lubin

    Bergamot and rose in the opening mix with a jasmine note that soon merges into a mildly peppery incense that is softened by a non-sweet cinnamon. Nice. The woodsy drydown, however, is dull on my skin, and the vanilla-dominated base a bit generic to me. I get very soft sillage, limited projection and four hours of longevity. Overall disappointing; 2.5/5

    11th January, 2015

    rating


    Gin Fizz by Lubin

    TLemon-bergamot freshness mixed with a mildly boozy juniper note - a pleasant start follows by a jasmine and iris drydown - nice. The base is more nindescript and dull on my skin, and a light musk emerges in the drydown. Soft sillage and limited projection on my skin with four hours of longevity.

    A nice discret summer office scent. 3/5

    11th January, 2015

    rating


    Allure Eau de Parfum by Chanel

    A pleasant white floral ironing with magnolia and lily, witha lemony-orangey note added for freshness. He rose in the drydown is quite convincing and merges well with a jasmine impression. A good vanilla dominates the base.

    On me this is more intense and develops better that the original EdT. Good sillage and projection, but the longevity is the same as the EdT: six hours. 3/5

    10th January, 2015

    rating


    Allure Eau de Toilette by Chanel

    A white floral opening of magnolia and lily, a touch of a somewhat nindescript rose in the opening, with a strong peachy accord and a hint of orange on my skin. A sweetish jasmine further enhances the floral notes, to merge into a vanilla drydown that is not particularly special. A bit unexciting, with good sillage and projection and six hours of longevity. 2.5/5

    10th January, 2015

    rating


    No. 5 Eau Première by Chanel

    No. 5 light: similar aldehyde-neroli opening, the rose a bit less opulent, the same sandal and musky-vanilla towards the end - lovely, less grand but a less rich alternative. Enjoyable, moderate sillage, good projection and five hours of longevity on my skin. 4/5

    08th January, 2015

    rating


    L'Incendiaire by Serge Lutens Les Salons du Palais Royal Shiseido

    In the beginning there was fire - greeting us with a smoky burning incense note - the mentioning of Amouage - e.g. Epic Man - is very apt indeed. And a bit of oud is present too. This incense is smooth, soft but very elegant and beautifully styled into a very civilised fire, more open fireplace than bush fires.

    In the drydown floral components are added, a fairly bright carnation mainly, and hints of caramel and whiffs of ambery notes make an appearance. Later in the base notes a fairly gent while musk is added, combining with a very subtle midern take on discrete powderiness.

    Now the performance - moderate sillage, good projection and truly splendid longevity: 11 hours in my skin. A very stylish, elegantly designed creation for autumn - 4.25/5.

    08th January, 2015

    rating


    Songes by Annick Goutal

    Frangipani and jasmine galore, a light white floral opening, and floral it remains! Although the drydown displays ylang-ylang nicely, there are some temporary light peppery whiffs, but the base adds a nice vanilla that dominates until the ends, with a few wood notes added here or there. I get little amber, and essentially on me it is a white floral/vanilla fragrance.

    Is it too sweet? Not on my skin, it is well balanced in its sweetness. It is well blended, and whilst not of high originality it develops quite nicely. I get adequate sillage and projection, with four hours of longevity. For spring days for the sweet white floral lover. 3.5/5

    07th January, 2015

    rating


    Le Chèvrefeuille by Annick Goutal

    A nice honeysuckle scent; less sensational than Creed's masterpiece but well done. It has a green herbal slant, and also a floral tendency, more jasmine than narcissus. Not that typical for honeysuckle then, but very nice as fragrance.

    Performance is all right, with adequate sillage and projection; I get four hours of longevity. Good in spring. 3.25/5

    07th January, 2015

    rating


    Vanille Exquise by Annick Goutal

    Yes, the name of the game is vanilla galore, but neither too heavy, top sweet nor cloying. Almond hints and a distinctly nutty undertone give it a mice twist, and a wood base, mainly gaïac, and a white musk note round it off. Not sensational, this is an elegant vanilla scent; the name is very appropriate.

    I get decent sillage and projection, with a less than expected longevity of four hours. 3.25/5

    06th January, 2015

    rating


    Le Muguet by Annick Goutal

    This is a rather simple white floral with lily-of-the-valley in the core, and fruity-benzoin drydown. I am afraid in me it is dull, with limited sillage and projection and three hours of longevity. One of the more disappointing products of this great house. 2/5

    06th January, 2015

    rating


    La Violette by Annick Goutal

    This is a floral opening, mainly violet, on a herbal-green background; I get some basil and clove impressions mixed in. The drydown has a darker rose not to in it. An intruguing combination. On my skin there is no real development into a base note evident.

    This is well done, simple with a touch of originality. Sillage is moderate, projection good, and the longevity stands at six hours. This is spring material. 3.25/5

    06th January, 2015

    rating


    Alain Delon / AD by Alain Delon

    The opening is a traditional bergamot-basil-wormwood mix, not unlike some of the contemporary dunhills. The juniper and especially a lovely cinnamon aroma giv it a special twist. The expectedly floral drydown is carnation-heavy, perfect with a matching boutonnière, although a great geranium hovers in the background. Whilst wood - mainly cedar - and non-sweet vanilla dominate in the base, the moss is of good quality too.

    My main issue with this scent is that the base is a bit dull on my skin, otherwise it uses high-quality ingredients and is well-blended. Good sillage and projection with six hours of longevity.

    This has classic chypre written all over it, and is well done. Great in spring. 3.75/5

    06th January, 2015

    rating


    Chai by Robert Piguet

    A nice lemon-bergamot opening gives way to a good tea note, which initially is light and gets darker with time, as if more roasted leaves are added. Later a nice beeswax notes adds richness and depth. A simple composition and not particularly exciting it it's development, worth trying though. Decent sillage and projection with four hours of longevity on my skin. Just in the positive realm; 3/5

    05th January, 2015

    rating


    Jeunesse by Robert Piguet

    The blackcurrant In the opening is very nice, as is the raspberry impression that follows soon - a note possibly underused by others. He pomegranate in the drydown is also lovely. Not really very sweet in my skin, this is a bright fruit cocktail, simple but well executed.

    As far as performance is concerned, I get moderate sillage, good projection a and an impressive longevity of seven hours. Fruity mix for not-too-warm summer days. 3.25/5

    04th January, 2015

    rating


    Notes by Robert Piguet

    After a bergamot-herbal opening and a synthetic floral drydown I get lots of synthetic vanilla sweetness. Too generic, too uninteresting. Adequate sillage and projection with eight hours of longevity on my skin. A disappointment in spite of good performance.

    04th January, 2015

    rating


    Chakra VII Bliss by Aveda

    On my skin I get an incense opening with a resinous nigh-ambery note, that sees olibanum and a touch of darker floral whiffs added in the drydown. Wood notes emerge in the base, mainly fir-like. Very good ingredients, that result in good sillage, very good projection and about five hours of longevity on me.
    A bit flat on me after a while in spite of the great effort.

    04th January, 2015

    rating


    Chakra VI Intuition by Aveda

    An citrus-based composition, mainly lime and orange on me, with floral, woodsy undertones. Simple, natural, well done. Soft sillage, adequate projection and three hours of longevity. Gently refreshing. 3.75/5

    03rd January, 2015

    rating


    Chakra V Creativity by Aveda

    Initially there is a brief citrus start, followed by a floral drydown, with geranium and rose mainly present on my skin, and later ylang-ylang. Good natural ingredients, it alas remains dull on my skin overall. Adequate sillage and performance with four hours of longevity.

    03rd January, 2015

    rating


    Chakra IV Fulfillment by Aveda

    Built on a classic combination of yang-ylang, an orange hint, a lovely jasmine and a later herbal-moss drydown with a woodsy base, it is overall delightful, well blended and composed of ingredients of wonderful quality. More recently the wood is more prominent and has a touch of a spicy component. The traditional nature of the component hides a scent of beautiful natural harmony.

    As far as the performance goes, I get strong sillage, very good projection and six hours of longevity. Not extremely original but very well made. 4.25/5

    03rd January, 2015

    Showing 91 to 120 of 1110.




Loving perfume on the Internet since 2000