Perfume Reviews

Reviews by rbaker

Advertisement
Total Reviews: 1987
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Beyond Paradise by Estée Lauder

Review of the Parfum:

The opening notes are a blend of bergamot, other citrus notes, a white floral components - mainly hyacinth and jasmine - and a green-grassy philodendron. The overall is an unusual and intriguingly verdant white floral mêlange that is very pleasant on my skin.

In the drydown the jasmine and the floral side gain in strength, and the lovely purity of these notes becomes increasingly clear. In a manner somewhat unusual for this house, considerable restraint is exercised in the application of aldehydes, and there is very little that is tantamount to annoyingly synthetic emanations. Soft but elegantly intensive, and very well executed.

The base continues these themes, but has little to add apart from somewhat nonspecific woodsy undertones. The floral notes are still present, and gradually this potpourri fades out very slowly, with the echoes of floral beauty on my skin the only remainders towards the end.

The sillage is moderate, the projection very good, and the longevity is an excellent ten hours on my skin, with the last couple of hours being very close to my skin.

This spring creation - a scent nice in the evening as well during daytime - is interesting in concept, the ingredients are mostly of good quality and the smooth blending is superb. The first half combines carefully primed originality with high levels of craftsmanship, whilst the base drops in creativity but is still of very acceptable quality. The base is the least inspiring part.

Overall not extraordinary brilliant but very nice, quite original and rather convincing in design and implementation. 3.5/5.
23rd May, 2017
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Sensuous Nude by Estée Lauder

A fruity opening - sweetish - with a slightly orangey undertone dominates the top notes.

The drydown some adds two main streams of development: (1) a floral side, with muguet being quite strong, combined with a bit of jasmine and a somewhat bland rose impression. (2) A concurrently developing coconut aroma, that gradually gains in exposure and lasts deep into the later phases. Both work quite well together.

The base adds - what a surprise! - vanilla again, which is not really a stroke of originality, combined with slightly honeyed woodsy accompaniments that fade out towards the end.

I get moderate sillage, very good projection and eleven hours of longevity on my skin.

The major creative achievement of the spring scent is the unusual use of the coconut. The major drawback is the regrettably generic nature of the rather synthetic ingredients.

Nude? Certainly bare of any natural goodness. 2.5/5.
22nd May, 2017
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Modern Muse Le Rouge by Estée Lauder

A loud, artificial candy-raspberry-cum-blackberry lolly impression greets me, and it is not of the very pleasant type. Very generic, very unimpressive.

The drydown, not unexpectedly, shifts to the floral range, and after expecting another onslaught of laboratory fumes I was pleasantly disappointed: whilst the rose I am getting is rather pale and anaemic, there is a triad of jasmine and magnolia, with whiffs of oleander on its tail, which are, whilst still somewhat generic, synthetic and pedestrian, much more convincing and lack the unbalanced features of the top notes.

The base develops a slightly spicy undertone with an ambery side - this time there are ultra-generic notes - and a vanilla aroma that is agreeable but rather trite indeed.

I get moderate sillage, excellent projection and a impressive nine hours of longevity on my skin.

A spring scent that alters between bluntly biochemical laboratory fakeness and phases of unexciting pleasantness. Be-muse-ingly unamusing but just acceptable. 2.25/5.
21st May, 2017
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Private Collection by Estée Lauder

Review of the Eau de Parfum

The opening begins with a white floral impression, a lovely hyacinth that is given additional fresh touches by a bright citrus undertone. There is a green, nigh grassy undertone present that enhances the feeling of an certain crispness.

Heading towards the drydown the emphasis shifts to the downwards floral side, adding jasmine, narcissus and transient whiffs of geranium in addtion to a very light touch of a restrained bright rose impression in the background. Later on a woodsy pine note is evident, a very dry and refinedly herbaceous pine without any sweetness, and quite different from the traditional Pino-Silvestre-style heavier pine compositions.

A very soft amber leads into the base notes, paired with a restrained mossy undertone, whose subtle tartness is not standing out - this is no Gucci Nobile - but blending in with the rest quite inconspicuously. At times the oak moss is possibly a bit too perfunctory. This is rounded off by a somewhat generic white muskiness - at times veering to a stronger gold musk character, which is thinly draped over the other notes like a gossamer veil without any civety components whatsoever on my skin. Echoes of the earlier floral potpourri follow on into the base, mixing with the rest superbly and harmoniously and forming a round, rich and sophisticated floral-chypre architecture that very gradually vanishes towards the end.

I get moderate sillage, excellent projection and nine hours of longevity on my skin.

This is on the whole a beautiful creation for spring evenings; mature, confident, rich, and mostly composed of ingredients of the finest quality, supremely blended whilst maintaining excellent structure. One of Estée Lauder's best works. 4/5.
20th May, 2017
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Sensuous Noir by Estée Lauder

The floral-vs-spicy dichotomy defines the first half if this creation: a medium dark rose with a lighter touch at times, and a pleasant jasmine, and a peppery touch - just to add a bit of spice, but initially in the background.

The heart notes add an agreeable violet with whiffs of fruitiness, but with time the spicy elements move into the foreground- never heavy, rich or dark though, but gradually developing an ever so discreet balsamic touch.

The base grows sweeter, with a lightly ambery vanilla and sweet honey, but not actually stronger in intensity. Carried on a carpet of acceptably restrained benzoin, is vanishes gracefully towards the end.

The sillage is moderate, the projection excellent and the longevity nine ours on me.

A pleasant winter scent with a nicely balanced floral-spice theme, a bit generic at times, and with a base concept that is rather predictable, but overall nice work and well-blended. 3.25/5
19th May, 2017
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Azurée by Estée Lauder

Wow! The harshness of the initial aldehyde blast is nigh breathtaking and made me feel that this is quite umplesant, but soon the freshness of the bergamot becomes more evident and the top notes finish of much better.

The drydown - in a somewhat predictable pattern - enters a floral phase, with jasmin, not infrequently found in the heart notes of this house, and an unusually subdued ylang-ylang, which displays limited sweetness and is not the creamy and intensive variety, but is more of the lighter and slimmer type. Orris, cyclamen, and a crisp patchouli- both on the terse side - ensure that the tartness of the opening is not lost throughout the later phases of the development on this olfactory journey.

The base peters out in the aroma of a somewhat stolid white musk impression, a weak amber and a somewhat perfunctory oak moss, but - unlike in many other of Lauder's creations - remains on the hasher side, just the harsh side is attenuated with time.

I get moderate sillage, very good projection and eleven hours of longevity on my skin.

A fresh, and times unpleasantly synthetic spring composition, which for long stretches is not bad and quite stimulating in its crispness. At times predictable and at times solidly executed, it is just between mediocre and positive in the score - the good performance carries the day here. 3/5.
18th May, 2017
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Beyond Paradise for Men by Estée Lauder

The opening is a mix of white florals, mainly orange blossom and hyacinth, with a orangey/citrus vying with a rather generic bergmot for an accompanying role. There is an additional ozonic component in the background that expresses fruity-seashore characteristics whilst reeking of laboratory and syntheticness - or syntheticity, but not in Kant's sense. At this stage this is truly a cologne made of calones, and I can understand why some people hate it.

Now the beginning oft the heart notes gives out another strongly synthetic burst, this times more on the aldehydic side, but later on this moves into the background, with the florals now taking over. Apart from a rather pleasant jasmine core, the gardenia, hyacinth and the occasional whiffs of muguet create an unexpected oasis of floral bouquets. They are underlined by a pleasantly executed honeysuckle that is not really extraordinary - this is no Creed Chèvrefeuille - but that provides a rather delightful grounding for the overlying potpourri. At this stage I appreciate its lovely moments and why to some people it is a beautiful creation.

The base sees a continuation of the honeysuckle, a change of the floral side to less hyacinth, the addition of a somewhat weak hibiscus, as well as the ascent of an amber impression that is quite soft and a tad insipid.

The performance is reasonable, with moderate sillage, very good projection and nine hours of longevity on my skin.

A spring creation for cooler days that has its high and lows. Neither excellent nor truly awful, although in its worst moments it is quite bad, and in its best moments rather intriguing. Overall 2.75/5.

Beyond paradise there might be not only hell - maybe purgatory.
17th May, 2017
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

White Linen by Estée Lauder

A freshish florally immersed aldehydic blast greet me with a bright "hello"! Associated with a pear-peachy fruitiness, a few early floral components soon develop: a soft ylang-ylang with a nice muguet impression - both smooth and both are pleasantly sweet.

The second phase completes the shift towards the floral: lilac and rose initially, later on also the aromas if orchids and a light jasmin. All these are nothing extraordinary, and quite agreeably executed.

The base brings another turn: a honeyed vanilla cinnamon sweetness pick up where the ylang-ylang left, with woodsy-ambery undertones providing a good counterbalance to the sweeter spots.

I get moderate sillage, excellent projection and nine hours of longevity on my skin.

This is a pleasant spring day scent, although no match to the others of the triad is was released with. Some ingredients are well made, some are a tad too generic, but it is blended quite well and shows considerable variability throughout its development - this prevents too much boredom in this somewhat lighthearted and predictable composition. Given its performance is solid, this pushes it - just - across the line into positive territory. 3/5.
16th May, 2017
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Private Collection Amber Ylang-Ylang by Estée Lauder

There is definitely ylang-ylang present from the top notes on, but it is quite restrained, quite elegant and not of the rich and creamy variety. This ylang-ylang is therefore more in the background throughout the drydown, and it is overshadowed by the other components of this creation. Most notably, the amber arises and forms a leitmotif throught the whole developemnt of the fragrance.

The next important note is a pleasant rose, lovely but again not very intensive. A pleasant cinnamon develops too, quite prominent and present until the end.

The base adds a strong, smooth slightly incense-laden and creamy vanilla, and by combining with the cinnamon and the amber to a warm, pleasant and gently sweet triad it creates added depth. The ylang-ylang is long gone by now.

I get moderate sillage, very good projection and a superb longevity of thirteen hours on my skin.

A lovely and smooth winter composition, a bit predictable and times but not without nice features. 3.25/5.
15th May, 2017
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Youth Dew by Estée Lauder

Review of the vintage formulation.

An explosion of rich, intense darkness characterises the opening blast: ripe orange flavour and a deep but soft, resinous spiciness appear in tune; and an overripe peachy undertone adds a fruity undertone. This spiciness is the result of a mix of clove and a gently balsamic overlay, nigh-camphorated but with an only minimally medicinal hint at times.

The concept reminds me a bit of Creed's Orange Spice, but the more clove-based and balsamic nature of the spiciness as well as the judicious addition of uplifting bergamot with a modicum of aldehyds distinguishes it favourably from the Creed: this original Youth Dew is the more complexly layered and construed product of the two.

Whilst the top notes a rich and dark, the drydown sees the lightening of the mood ito a brighter, very floral range. A bouquet of flowers emanates: a dark and velvety rose expresses reminiscences of the ealier moments, but the subsequently added carnation, and especially the orchid with a comparatively restrained ylang-ylang cast off the shadows and move towards a brighter momentum.

The base comes in two phases on my skin: initially a vanilla impression is added, and subsequently a soft and light patchouli with an ambery background note develop gradually. The floral heart notes, now attenuated considerably, are nonetheless still present, and towards the end they they merge with the slightly dusty amber to create light, feathery and bright whiffs of a slim, modern powderiness.

The sillage is moderate, he projection excellent, and the longevity a splendid thirteen hours.

This autumnal evening vintage scent, a dark, thick and viscous oily juice, is of wonderful richness, complexity and with a neverending development of permutations and variations. The contemporaneous version, whilst still very respectable, is not of the same high standard. The vintage formulation is masterfully blended whilst maintaining excellent structure, and is constituted of ingredients of superb quality.

Whilst this is at times a bit heavy and can be a touch overbearing, and is probably not everyone's cup of tea - that's the colour of the juice anyway - and whilst one should definitely try this product before one buys it, this is indubitably one of Estée Lauder's finest creations. 4.25/5.
14th May, 2017
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Armani Privé Ombre & Lumière by Giorgio Armani

The opening commences with a jasmine impression that is very convincing in its intensity and composition. Touches of bergamot brighten it up, whilst a bit later it is associated with whiffs of woodsy undertones.

The drydown adds distincty floral ideas, with hints of gardenia soon being overcome by a dominant freesia note. This all mixes with the jasmin very convincingly.

Towards the base the woodsy side is more evident again, with a darkish muskiness being combined with an ambery undertone. The base lacks a bit of the dynamism of the previous phases and is a bit static at times.

I get moderate sillage, excellent projection and eight hours of longevity on my skin.

This spring scent for cooler evenings is not very complex in concept, but a real gem in its masterful execution. The quality of most of the ingredients is very high, and the whole is blended beautifully without losing structure. Armani's Privé series is touted as top of the range of this house, and in Ombre & Lumière at least one can see why. 4/5.
13th May, 2017
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Pavillion by Estée Lauder

Review of the Vintage Parfum:

A beautifullly enchanting jasmin greets me at the opening gate to this olfactory experience, intense and rich, but counterbalanced by the brightness of a skillfully placed liberal dose of aldehydes. A delicious dyad of top notes.

The heart notes added on in the drydown are a most and foremost dryish, slightly green-tinged violet. Added on is a lovely orange blosom with the occasional whiff of hyacinth. This is a floral mix of intense, elegant richness.

Towards the base the floral side is retreating gradually, and an amber impression develops; a fairy light amd smooth amber, with traces of the aldehydes turning up again here and there. Moments of minute powdery touches are present towards the end.

I get moderate sillage, excellent projection and a splendid longevity of eleven hours on my skin - apt for a perfume.

The beauty of this gorgeous spring creation is based in the top quality of the ingredients, the judicious application of the well-balanced aldehydes and the superb blending. In spite of its comparable simplicty this is one of Estee Lauder's finest.
4.25/5.
12th May, 2017
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Bronze Goddess Capri by Estée Lauder

Fruity berries - blackcurrant mainly - with a mandarin/lime citrus mix - one would possibly expect a fresh, sunny and sprite result with this combination of top notes. In reality, the citrus is rather subdued and restrained, and has a veil of a shadow cast over it. Still, pleasant it is nonetheless.

The heart notes take quite a while to come off the ground, but once they take off they develop into a delightful floral potpourri, with peony in the foreground, with a gentle jasmine, a character-laden muguet and whiffs of oleander forming a well-blended quartet of blossoming beauty. This is the highlight of the whole development.

The base is a bit of a letdown, and the vanilla is its main constituent without being really of an exciting quality. There is an ambery and white-musky backdrop evident that is undesirably generic in nature.

The main problem with this restrainedly summery creation is its very soft sillage and limited projection: at times I have to bury my nose deep in the subcutaneous tissue to catch a whiff of it. Still, as this product is labeled an Eau fraîche, which to me denotes more of an Eau de Cologne than anything more concentrated, the name is not really misleading and a cologne-like fleetingness is not unexpected. Therefore, I am not holding the overall quite poor performance against it, especially as the longevity is an unexpectedly acceptable seven hours on my skin.

Pleasant on cooler summer days, a bit dull at times - especially in the base - and necessitating very liberal application. 3/5.
11th May, 2017
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Armani Code Profumo by Giorgio Armani

A citrus fruit bowl - very much a laboratory fruit concoction - constitutes the top notes, a citrus that is not refreshing but expresses a sweet ripeness.

The drydown veers towarda the white floral for a while; on my skin the lavender - a rather bland version - stands out in the foreground as the development progresses with time.

The base focuses on one constituent: vanilla. Again: laboratory fruitiness, a dense, intense, relentless vanilla that sees this one through right to the end.

The performance is formidable: moderate sillage, excellent projection and a superb fourteen hours of longevity on my skin.

This spring composition is a laboratory chemist's delight. Intense - a Profumo indeed - exceedingly synthetic, very linear and ultra-generic. It is ok if that is the sort of fragrance you enjoy. Otherwise there is probably more natural raw material in the average lollipop. 2/5.
10th May, 2017
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Armani Privé Sable Fumé by Giorgio Armani

The iris in the top note is of the gentle kind, soft and a bit withdrawn. The smoky incense that developes soon, becoming stronger and is bound to overwhelm the floral entrée - but no, it does not, what a surprise! This delicate interlacing between restrained frankincense-smokiness and the floral counterpart is an example of masterfully balanced blending.

With time the iris recedes though, and the incense - varyingly endowed with benzocin, ambery and woodsy moments, is thr centrepiece of the rest if the development here.

I get soft sillage - unless applies very liberally - with adequate projection, and an unexpectedly excellent longevity of ten hours on my skin.

A lovely high-quality creation for warmer early autumn evenings, its perfomance is a bit of a drawback as is its comparable linearity; but the execution of the concept is, in all simplicity, quite compelling. 3.5/5
09th May, 2017
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Armani Privé Figuier Eden by Giorgio Armani

The opening is delicious: a very nice green fig, wth ust a dash if sweetness, and freshened up by bergamot with orange and a minimally spicy undertone. It is composed in a thoughtful and carefully balanced manner.

The drydown and an accord of tea - I get a mix if green and a weak black tea, accentuated y a slightly peachy fruitiness - not a fat and ripe fruitiness, but more on the elegant and crisper side.

A woody undertone leads into the base notes, where a well-crafted iris constitutes the central component on ny skin. An ambery backgound, a smooth and soft amber, merges with the woods and adds additional depth. All these fade gradually towards the end.

I get moderate sillage, excellent projection and a splendid twelve hours of longevity on my skin

With all the marketing of the Privé series as particularly exalted in quality and creative in concept, Figuier Eden seems to actually fit the bill. This is a lovely spring acent, well blended out of above-average quality ingredients whilst maintaining good structure. One of the more impressive Armanis amongst their releases over the last few years. 3.75/5.
08th May, 2017
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Prada Candy Florale by Prada

He lemony candy opening blast is a bit basic a d mot too bad. The drydown with its honeyed sweetness, on the other hand, is a very nonspecific benzoin-musky mixture, which gradually sheds the fruitiness if the beginning.

Moderate sillage, good projection six hours of longevity on my skin.

Synthetic, chemical but less intrusive and less extemely sweet than some other candy scents. 2.75/5.
07th May, 2017
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

CK All by Calvin Klein

A blast of orange-manarin citrus freshness start the top notes, and this is not a sweet and ripe citrus that I get, but more crisp and fresh. Quite nice.

The drydown adds floral notes, with a lily impression the most evident on my skin. It is quite pedestrian and lacks any interesting characteristics, which, at least to some extent, the beginning displays.

The base evolves into a fruity melange, with rhubarb and a very industrial white musky undertone in the foreground.

I get moderate sillage, very good projection and six hours of longevity on my skin.

Overall rather generic and synthetic, but the beginning stands out as a pleasant summery start. The top notes push from the neutral into the - just - positive category by the skin of its teeth.
06th May, 2017
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Bracken Woman by Amouage

The top notes have to major components on my skin: firstly, a nice, pleasant mixed wildberry-fruitiness and has a nice sweetness with it, and, secondly, a fresh, green fern impression that is expressing the aroma of fields of fern rather well. A delightful opening.

The heart notes are clearly in the floral realm, with lily and narcissus evident, but the latter is a bit attenuated and uneventful; the lily develops better on me. What is an intersting turn at this stage is a well-expressed chamomile tea background, which provides an interesting and original twist in the transition to the base notes.

Towards the end a soft and generic leather develops, and there is little convincing smokiness here; maybe it is a leather in a no-smoking area.

I get moderate sillage, excellent projection and six hours of longevity on my skin.

Pleasant is autumn, this creation is interesting and well-made, albeit a tad generic at times, with the base being quite dull. 3.5/5.

29th April, 2017
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Bracken Man by Amouage

The opening is given a nice freshness with lemon and bergamot, and a deeper and spicier compoenets owing to nutmeg, clove and whiffs of pepper. Freshness mixed with an unobtrusive spiciness. Pleasant.

The drydown starts with nice touches of a cinnomon that is only minimally sweetened, and later on it adds a floral component, with a somewhat generic and sterile lavender impression mixing with a geranium that is not really a bright geranium, but a more darker version of this floral note.

Thr base turns spicier again, thanks to a fairly crisp patchouli mixed with the cedar again. There is an added darker musk evident towards the end, but it is very tame without any truly faecaloid component.

I get moderate sillage, excellent projection and a very good seven hours of longevity on my skin.

As previously commented upon, by its components this spring creation mimics a traditional fougère with some interesting additional twists. As a fougère is lacks important components - there is no genuine oak moss here, and some phases are a tad generic in nature, but overall this is a well-crafted sanitised attempted chypre with some interesting twists. 3.5/5.
29th April, 2017
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Armani Privé Sable Or by Giorgio Armani

The first few hours are floral in nature, nearly completely dominated by a rich and complex iris impression. It is smooth, rich and develops smoky undertones. In the drydown touches of a herbal spiciness are added - an interesting opening phase.

The second part sees the earlier notes dwindle, apart from whiffs of smokiness that linger for a while longer. The core of the socond phase are benzoin and vanilla. At first I get the benzoin to an extent that it raised fears in me that it would take over recklessly, but then the vanilla came to the fore, and its dominant role relegated the benzoin into an accompaniment that accentuates rather than overwhelms the vanilla. Whiffs of woodsy connotations are present at times.

I get moderate sillage, excellent projection and a magnificent thirteen hours of longevity on my skin.

This pleasant wintery scent, in the second stage rightfully descibed as nigh-gourmand by Lovescully, is a bit unimaginative in the second half, although the quality of the ingredients is quite respectable. The performance is excellent. Overall nothing brilliant, but nice. 3.25/5.
26th April, 2017
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Gucci Première by Gucci

Review of the Eau de Parfum:

Asomewhat attenuated bergamot with a fruity undertone gives way to a white flowery impression, which develop into the central accord of this composition's heart notes.

Later on the fruitiness morphs into a white musk component, an in the base this impression lingers towards the end.

I get moderate sillage, limited projection, and three hours of longevity on my skin.

Looking and this sping scent, the opening notes are quite clear, but very, very generic. The later stages are very synthetic too, equally generic and, additionally, quite bland and weak on my skin, never developing fully to an extent that results in a convincing or even a mediocre overall impression. 1.75/5.
25th April, 2017
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Romance by Ralph Lauren

A sweetish and fruity concoction, mainly lychee and a mild ginder accent, which in the drydown shifts to become mainly a floral composition.

The floral impressions in the heart notes are mainly freesia, lotus and violet, the latter being dominant on my skin and the most convincing detail in this mix

The base is a soft patchouli mixed with a woodsy undertone; all this is topped off by white musks. The middle phase and the base are very lackluster and thin on my skin.

I get moderate sillage, good projection and an excellent eight hours of longevity on my skin.

A spring scent that is very synthetic most if the time, and, apart form the violet contribution, overly generic. It performs quite well though, but overall is really not even mediocre. 1.75/5.
24th April, 2017
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Black Label by Mayfair

A Review of the Original Vintage Version made by Yardley:

An opening blast of awesome quality: bergamot, lots of beautiful, orange, a touch of lemon, and some verbena in the background: a paradigmatic chypre opening if there ever was one; crisp and refreshing a Cologne this one truly is!

The drydown develops a gorgeous lavender note, as if freshly picked in the garden, intense, very - typical. This lavender is very close in quality to my benchmark lavender, which is Old English Lavender from the same house. Clary sage, geranium and a woodsy-herbal undertone follow the traditional route in a thoroughly convincing manner.

The base adds a - slightly earthy - vetiver, and, besides a gently crisp patchouli, also employs a lovely oakmoss; but it does that very sparingly. Whilst many oakmoss-based fragrances derive their allure from the full-throttle release of its mossy-spicy sharpness in an unfettered manner, here the oakmoss is applied in a nigh-homeopathic dose like seasoning in an already rich and tasty dish.

I get moderate sillage, very good projection, and a stupendous longevity on twelve hours on my skin - an utterly incredible performance that is unbelievable for a humbly labeled "Cologne."

This spring cent for warmer days is a seminal chypre, less harsh than many contemporaries due judiciously sparing application of the oakmoss and the comparative smoothness of the patchouli. I personally and subjectively would have preferred a bit more prominence of the oakmoss, but its sparing use in this composition results in an objectively convincing result nonetheless.

The high natural quality of the ingredients is beyond doubt, as is the perfect blending. Direct, unfussy, upright and supremely crafted in the traditional way - a very fine example of British Perfumery. 4.25/5.
23rd April, 2017
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Idole d'Armani by Giorgio Armani

An orange-fruity opening, which is soon given a touch of very restrained spiciness by a saffron impression, dominates the first part in this product's development.

The drydown heads into the floral realm, with a mildly dark rose impression most evident on my skin. The base loses the fruitiness as well as the floral bent, and is mainly constituted by a soft, slightly sweet patchouli, which is given additional depth by a minimally earthy vetiver.

I get soft sillage, adequate projection, and six hours of longevity on my skin.

This spring composition is quite nice in some aspects. Unfortunately, it is rather generic and synthetic, and its dull, at times insipid, genericness is the more disappointing feature of the two.

On the other hand, it is well blended and at times the notes compliment each other fairly well. Like blood-orange, I am on the fence with this Armani creation too, and if there was a green-orange option in the dropdown menu I would choose that. In the absence of such a choice, the somewhat disappointing performance on my skin puts it into the neutral category, strongly veering towards the positive though. 2.75/5.
22nd April, 2017
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Armani by Giorgio Armani

Bergamot-aldehydic freshness with a fruity-green undertone, and combined with galbanum - the recipe for the traditional opening of a chypre - and very well executed. Never really spritely fresh though and always a touch of mellowness draped over the top notes, like a shade over a sunny meadow.

The drydown brings out the floral side, with tuberose and other white florals present. Soon, after a phase where an orris accord develops, the main player on the second half boldly arises: an almighty oakmoss of astounding natural beauty, with touches of skankiness courtesy of a musk sidekick, and, towards the end, with a hint of vanilla-based sweetness. In all this, the oakmoss is the solist accompanied by the olfactory orchestra constituted by the other notes.

I get moderate sillage, excellent projection, and a stupendous longevity of an amazing fourteen hours on my skin.

A wonderful autumnal beauty for warmer days, this classic chypre creation is characterised by the top quality of its natural ingredients. Whilst a bit attenuated and maybe a tad dull-ish at times - this is a vintage after all - it is blended masterfully and convincingly. 4/5
21st April, 2017
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Armani Code / Black Code by Giorgio Armani

A ghastly chemical syrup camouflaging as a citrus-bergamot mix determines the opening impression. Insipidly sweet, it feels like Armani took some lessons from the bottom level of Victoria's Secret most synthetic creations.

The drydown adds another weird note from the laboratory, but, quite unexpectedly, in the base things started to look up a bit. A woodsy note combined with a pleasant vanilla - the latter not particularly exciting but solidly crafted - work well together, and constitute the hightlights of this composition.

I get moderate sillage, very good projection and six hours of longevity on my skin.

The base is the best part of this daytime spring creation, but it does not suffice to save this product from a negative verdict. 1.75/5.

Code Black - not a good thing to happen in a hospital...
20th April, 2017
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Gucci No. 1 by Gucci

The top notes mix bergamot, lime and slightly woodsy heliotropes with florals; mainly carnation and hyacinth, to a very successful match of the fresh with the floral-sweet. Well done!

The drydown loses the fresh characteristics in favour of the intensification of the floral, mainly white floral side, with lily-of-the valley and jasmine and in the foreground; again this is a lovely bouquet.

The base is a quite predictable ambery tonka with a discreet and fairly unobtrusive benzoin underlay.

The sillage is quite soft, the projection adequate, and the longevity is an impressive eleven hours on my skin.

A pleasant scent for warmer spring or cooler summer days. The main issue is a certain dullness, a lack of vividness, as if a veil is cast over this creation and and takes away its luster. It is just at the border between neutral, but the good longevity and the decent - albeit not superb - quality of some of its ingredients let it - just - cross the line into positive territory - by the skin if its teeth. 3/5.
19th April, 2017
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Gucci by Gucci by Gucci

The sweetish-fruity opening is rather laboratory-chemical in nature, with an aroma of berries, and a faux-pear-peachy undertone. It is so chemical that I can imagine it work well on a laboratory-created customer, a robot for instance.

The drydown remains firmly in the lab kitchen, this time cooking up a sweetish floral soup that quite skillfully avoids smelling like a real flower - I mean the stuff that grows outside in nature.

After the thumbs-down assessment had taken shape in my mind, it is the base that constitutes the main strength of this creation: whilst still clearly and overly synthetic, it is much less intrusively so, and manages to create a passable honeyed, soft patchouli impression; this impression does not really impress me, but it is quite bearable.

The sillage is moderate, the projection very good, and the longevity is ten hours on my skin.

A spring composition that is hyper-synthetic, a bit less so in the base though; this is one of those rare cases where the longer one waits, the more tolerable it gets. At the border between thumbs down and neutral; the base pushes it - just - into neutral territory. 2/3.
18th April, 2017
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Eau de Gucci by Gucci

The 1993 Edition (monochrome pink packaging):

The first blast is a floral hit extraordinaire: A rich and intenses ylang-ylang is in the centre, which features throughout the development of this creation as a core accord, like a golden thread, until the end. Hints of tangerine and bergamot brighten it up, as does the occasional whiff of lemon. It reminds me in its concept a bit of the vintage version of Lubin's Eau Neuve, but with much more emphasis on the white floral notes.

The drydown adds more florals, with honeysuckle and lily-of-the-valley being the most prominent newcomers here, blending well with a lovely iris, and a touch of a lighthearted tuberose blending in beautifully. A floral bouquet of great distinction.

The base is characterised by a minimally powdery ambery vanilla, intertwined with the white floral notes that spill over into the final stages of this composition.

I get moderate sillage, splendid projection and a stupendous fourteen hours of longevity on my skin. A floral power-performance!

A delightfull summery floral, a somewhat more generic in the final stages, but otherwise very well blended of high-quality ingredients. one of Gucci's finest florals.

The original 1982 in the box bearing the original Gucci red-striped-belt logo is more citrus-centred in the top notes, and expresses more lilac and lily in the heart notes. This is also very nice.

Both are amongst Gucci's finest florals and a 3.75/5.
17th April, 2017