Perfume Reviews

Reviews by rbaker

Advertisement
Total Reviews: 2278
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Wanted by Night by Azzaro

The prominent impression I get is that of sweet fruitiness. The fruity side is quite nonspecific, with touches of ginger and vetiver. The sweetness is mostly cinnamon-based, a bit vanilla-like at times, although otherwise not particularly typical.

So far it reminds me of the original, but here there is added depth and spiciness; a soft spiciness. I do net get any convincing tobacco or woods.

I get strong sillage, excellent projection and seven hours of longevity on my skin.

This spring scent has many characteristics of the original, but this flanker is a bit deeper in its timbre and a bit spicier. The sweetness is quite overwhelming and cloying at times, and the whole is excessively synthetic. Not Azzaro’s finest hour. Apply with caution. 2.25/5.
19th June, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Parfait de Rôses by Lancôme

On me I can detect two phases:

Firstly, the rose. The rose is fresh, light and elegant. More on the elegant side. Neither dark nor creamy, this rose is on the nimble side. There is an agreeable sweetness mixed with just enough greenness to balance out the sweetness.

Secondly, the second phase, constituted of a sweetish and non-distinct impression that is hard to characterise. The rose, initially still present, is inexorably swallowed by this olfactory melasse.

I get moderate sillage, very good projection and six hours of longevity on my skin.

This spring scent’s rede is nice, but nothing truly special. The second phase is rather unimpressive, and the initial rose is not special enough to push this composition into the positive realm. 2.75/5.

17th June, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Tubereuses Castane by Lancôme

When I applied this fragrance in my skin, it was mainly the tuberose that was of interest to me. Although a bit thin, it was nice, more in the restrained and gentle mode and devoid of any waxiness or wood undertones.

The chestnut is less convincing on me, and whilst a generalised nuttiness cannot be denied, it remains rather nonspecific on me.

There is also a tonka noticeable towards the second half of the course of its development, and whilst it is pleasant and agreeable, it remained a bit too faint to contribute more that some sweetness and additional depth to the whole mix.


I get moderate sillage, good projection and and six hours of development on my skin.

Quite a nice tuberose but not very intensive, and the whole is a bit too anaemic to really convince. 2.75/5.
17th June, 2018
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Lavandes Trianon by Lancôme

There are two main elements to this composition:

Firstly, the lavender of course. And it is a nice lavender, typical and more in the traditional vein, soft and herbal.

Secondly, the vanilla. A pleasant vanilla, but devoid of any special features and a tad pedestrian on me.

Otherwise there is limited development in my skin.

I get moderate sillage, very good projection and five hours of longevity on my skin.

Overall it is the lavender that makes this spring scent. It is make of ingredients of good quality, and justifies a - just - positive score, even is the rest is less convincing. 3/5.
17th June, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Jasmins Marzipane by Lancôme

The jasmine is clearly eveident, especially in the first part. His is quite a pleasant jasmine and on the sweet side, and overall more on the restrained side.

The other main component is a vanilla. It is sweet too, but again not very intensive and never intrusive or cloying. Whilst the vanilla is obvious, the marzipan promised in the name is rather faint and more of a transient nature.

Otherwise, in the later stages there are woodsy undertones, as well as white musky tones towards the end.

I get soft sillage, adequate projection and four hours of longevity on my skin.

This spring scent is not bad in its concept, but the execution comes across less complex and is rather generic. Together with a certain lack in vividness, this amounts to a neutral score. 2.75/5.
17th June, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Sky di Gioia by Giorgio Armani

Sweet fruitiness - peony - quite popular with this house at times - and a rather generic and nonspecific rose are the centrepieces of this blend.

he fruitiness - lychee and whiffs of a slightly peachy hint - add to the sweetness. Not much development over time.

I get moderate sillage, very good projection and six hours of longevity on my skin.

A synthetic tone in this spring scent and the quite generic outlook taken here condemn it to being an average creation. 2.5.
15th June, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Air di Gioia by Giorgio Armani

An generalised fruitiness is at the core of this composition, with fresh touches of bergamot and neroli woven into the opening notes.

The drydown developers into the floral range, with peony indeed in the foreground, but in a rather generic fashion. A synthetic patchouli - mixing softly with the floral sweetness - leads into the base, where a nonspecifically woodsy undertone remains until the end.

I get moderate sill ate, very good projection and seven hours of longevity on my skin.

A fruity/floral sprong composition that is rather generic and very much middle-of-the-road. 2.5/5.

15th June, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Parco Palladiano III by Bottega Veneta

The opening blast excluludes brightness, minty indeed but the mint is enhanced by a nigh bergamot-like gentle freshness. Soon in the drydown a green and grassy undertone develops, with the occasional herbal characteristic being thrown in.

Later in the heart notes a creamy fruitiness gradually comes to the fore, a pear impression with elements of a restrained peachiness coming and going. In the base woodsy touches are present towards the end.

I get moderate sillage, good projection and six hours of longevity on my skin.

This summery composition is a bit on the simple side structurally, but not without some originality. Whilst not complex, it is blended well, and avoids excessive sweetness as well as too blatantly synthetic notes. Nothing too special, but crafted solidly. 3/5.
12th June, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Parco Palladiano IV by Bottega Veneta

This one starts out on a floral note, with azalea the main contributor; but a general undertone of white floral notes carries over well into the drydown.

In the second part a woodsy component arises, which takes on characteristics of chestnuts and maroons at times. Later on a pleasant vanilla is added on, and the latter develops into the main component in the base, remaining prominent until he end.

I get moderate sillage, excellent projection and eight hours of longevity on my skin.

This scent for warmer autumn days and evenings is quite simple but not without some creative thoughts. Is it of a nice creaminess, and the sweetness is well balanced and never too sweet or cloying. It is somewhat linear at times, but it is well blended and the quality of the ingredients is quite high. 3.25/5.
11th June, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Parco Palladiano VI by Bottega Veneta

This is a floral scent in its core and from the start. White florals, lots of peony, whiffs of muguet and rose make up the core right into the drydown. The rose is not exactly sunny, but it is more in the bright side on me; I do not get any dark or brooding characteristics here.

Later on woodsy characteristics are evident, with cedar hints coming to the fore, and cinnamon provides a somewhat creamy texture towards the end. PPVI hits exactly the right level of sweetness, and in all its floral appearance there is no excessive synthetic sweetness evident.

I get moderate sillage, good projection and seven hours of longevity on my skin.

A spring floral that is composed of good quality ingredients and well balanced. A tad generic in the impression of the woods, but otherwise rather pleasant. 3/5.
10th June, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Parco Palladiano I by Bottega Veneta

Quite bright in its opening set, it develops soon into a floral - magnolia with whiffs of oleander floral that develops a woodsy side further into the drydown.

Towards the base there are whites musks added in, and a slightly warmer note of an ambery quality develops toward the end, but the latter is rather weak and perfunctory.

I get moderate sillage, adequate projection and six hours of longevity on my skin.

Quite a standard set of ingredients is used in the spring scent, and, apart from the floral part, they are a bit on the generic and pale side. Not bad, not a bit too simple and generic at. 2.75/5.

09th June, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Parco Palladiano V by Bottega Veneta

The first impression from the opening blast is crisp and herbal. With a touch of greenness, this is a pleasant scent, with woodsy drydown.

I do not get much development here, except that the herbs become less prominent with time.

The sillage is moderate, the projection very good, and the longevity about seven hours in my skin.

At times lacking depth and development, this spring scent is nonetheless nicely balanced and pleasant. Overall 3/5.
08th June, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Figuier Fleur by Fragonard

Light, fresh, a brightness the combination of neroli and bergamot delivers. It blends in beautifully with the freesias, magnolia, and the whiffs of oleander I get on the floral side. Nutmeg, cardamom and a herbal note are present towards the end, but the fresh/floral core is always present throughout the whole development.

I get moderate sillage, very good projection and five hours of longevity on my skin.

A summer delight. Simple but satisfying. 3.25/5.
25th May, 2018
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Touch for Men by Burberry

The fruity citrus improession in the opening is combined with a violet that is later light and on the bright side.

The base adds a soft white pepper that is not particularly spicy on me. The base goes down the trodden path that Burberry’s perfumers seem to like: a nonspecific woodsy tone bathed is bland white musks.

I get moderate sillage, adequate projection and five hours of longevity on my skin.

This spring scent is quite pleasant, but quite pale and watery and very synthetic and generic in its ingredients. Middle-of-the-road indeed. 2.75/5.
19th May, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Burberry the Beat by Burberry

The bergamot in the opening is providing a fresh and bright starting point, which is counterbalanced by a soft white pepper that lacks any serious spiciness on me.

A light tea note leads to the floral core notes where iris and a few whiffs of muguet are notable, but they are quite restrained and never cloyingly sweet.

The base is characterised by the presence of a woodsy note, which is rather nonspecific, and the familiar white musk concoction that is used by many houses as an adaptable way of closing a fragrance.

I get moderate sillage, very good projection and five hours of longevity on my skin.

A pleasant spring creation than is pleasant and agreeable and a bit more vibrant than the male version, but too generic to truly make its mark in the positive realm of the scoring board. 2.75/5.
17th May, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Burberry the Beat for Men by Burberry

A pleasant and surprisingly bright violet opening blast is counterbalanced by a soft white pepper impression. The brightness is due to a citrus component in the background.

The drydown adds a boozy undertone, onto which a nonspecific woodsy aroma is superimposed. At tones a dull fruitiness is present towards the end.

I get moderate sillage, adequate projection and seven hours of longevity on my skin.

Pleasant is spring, this scent is pleasant but, at least after the top notes have evaporated, too generic to entice. 2.75/5.
16th May, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Touch for Women by Burberry

The opening is a friendly and quite bright mix of berries and fruits. This description is kept vague as these are rather nonspecific notes, which find it hard to express individual characteristics convincingly.

The drydown comes down on the floral side in a more decisive manner, mainly due to a soft lily with jasmin at the centre, with whiffs of a gentle spiciness underneath.

The final stages add a nonspecific woodsy impression on the base of a pleasant vanilla.

I get moderate sillage, adequate projection and eighty hours of longevity on my skin.

This pleasant and bright spring scent is an agreeable product, whose mostly rather generic nature prevents it from rising above a certain mediocrity. 2.75/5.
15th May, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Aventus for Her by Creed

The fruity apple opening is combined with a soft bergamot added to it. Not a fresh opening, more a bright and fruity one.

The drydown adds a rather nonspecific woodsy undertone, with the soft note of soft white peppers as a counterpoint. Off and on, touches of pineapple are present and maintain the fruity core of this creation, although the pineapple is much weaker than in the original.

The base remains fruity - peachy with hints of pear at this stage - whilst ending on a note of ylang-ylang. The latter is quite straight on me with and lacks depth.

I get moderate sillage, good projection and seven hours of longevity on my skin.

This spring scent is pleasant, but overall lacking of intensity and structure. Pleasantries; that’s all. 2.75/5.
14th May, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Weekend for Men by Burberry

A citrus blast deifiens the opening, with a grapefruit - lacking any significant sour flavour - and with a lemon-mandarin dyad together creating a bright and fresh feeling - nice but following a trodden path.

The drydown adds a herbal core impression that is nice, but not specifically ivy-like in me, with a nonspecific woodsy undertone associated with it. The base is mainly a white musk affair.

I get moderate sillage, adequate projection and seven hours of longevity on my skin.

In this scent for cooler summer days the bright top notes are the best part, in spite of their lack of originality; the rest is rather generic and ordinary. Overall quite pleasant, but a bit on the average side. 2.75/5.
13th May, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Fleurissimo by Creed

This is starting out about as floral as can get. Sure, a touch of bergamot brings of touches of brightness, but the ylang-ylang with the violet are the core of the top notes. The ylang-ylang provides a certain fragrant creaminess, whilst the violet adds depth.

The drydown develops a rose very soon, but this is a very discreet and light note on me. Unlike in many rose compositions this queen of flowers does not play a solo part here; it is merging seamlessly with the other flowers not as a soloist, but as a part of this floral ensemble. Later on tuberose is added in, a lovely tuberose that again is mainly a team player in this setting. A tuberose that displays minimal waxiness, unlike the one in Hammam Bouquet, and is a touch more refined that the well-known tuberose in Fracas. An nice iris with tender whiffs of a jasmin-like floral notes leads into the final stage.

Two additions are noteworthy in the base: firstly, a faint and somewhat nonspecific woodsy element. Secondly, the not unexpected - this is a Creed after all - ambergris. This is not the powerful ambergris á la Fleur de Thé Rose Bulgare; but a more discreet, soft and milder version that is intertwined with the other components of this creation; another team player, not a solo virtuoso.

I get moderate sillage, very good projection and seven hours of longevity on my skin.

A very nice spring floral, suitable for daytime and the evenings, which is very well blended and composed of ingredients of very good quality. Not the most outlandishly creative of fragrances, this is a traditional floral of understated elegance. 3.5/5.
12th May, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Fleur de Thé Rose Bulgare by Creed

The opening presents a dark, herbal and deep rose as its core. No light sweetness here. On the other hand, a mandarin with whiffs of lemon bring rays of brightness into the top notes. Very nice.

The drydown adds a pleasant jasmine, but, more significantly, it also adds a dark herbal undertone reminiscent of the leaves and the stems of the roses. Additional, dark and toasted green tea impression develops gradually; a bit like a Japanese hojicha.

All this merges seamlessly into the ambergris that is so characteristic of Creed. And this ambergris is beautiful: rich, harsh but not too pungent and complex - spot on!

I get moderate sillage, excellent projection and a stupendous longevity of seventeen hours on my skin.

This autumnal rose - suitable for day and night - is not a pretty rose, but a dark, broody and spicy representative of its genre. A rose with a kick. And with excellent performance 3.75/5.
11th May, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Davidoff by Davidoff

This is a traditional opening of the cypre style: lemon, a moderately boozy wormwood note, the mandatory bergamot and a good sprinkle of basil all over it - the good old-fashioned style. And, as the script demands, the oak moss.

On me the oak moss arises quite early in the drydown; a beautiful, rich, rough and crisp oak moss of great quality. Yum yum! Thyme and jasmin - the latter the main floral - round off what makes a good cypre.

In the base the moss is still going strong, with added crispness supplies by a very decent patchouli that is not too dark, and whilst castoreum supplies an added touch of sharpness; the whole works together beautifully.

The performance is absolutely outstanding: strong sillage, brilliant projection and and incredibly superb longevity of nigh seventeen hours on my skin - a longevity monster in the same league as Knize Ten or Creed’s Orange Spice on me.

This autumnal beauty as a paradigmatic classic of a traditional chypre. The quality of the ingredients is excellent, and the blending done very well without losing too much structure. Maybe Davidoff’s finest. 4.25/5.
10th May, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Good Life Woman by Davidoff

He first parts is very nice. The slightly mandarin-tilted citrus compliments the ylang-ylang very well, and restrainedly exudes a light and elegant softness.

In the drydown the floral garden blossoms, with oleander, hints of jasmin and touches of a rose. The rose is the most disappointing on my skin; it is rather a bland example of a rose impression.

From then on it turns gradually sweeter, thanks to the fig and the vanilla growing increasingly stronger. In the end the sweetness prevails, but it is never really cloying on me.

I get moderate sillage, very good projection and seven hours of longevity on my skin.

A pleasant spring creation, with the first have conveying simple elegance and discreet freshness. The second half is a bit more mundane, but overall it - just by the skin of its teeth - deserves a positive score. 3/5.
07th May, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Classic Red by Jaguar

The opening is a bit like a basket of wild berries - raspberry mainly is what I get. A bergamot undercurrent adds a touch of brightness, and works well with the berry impressions.

Whilst the drydown includes initial attempts to develop a floral side, this is soon overridden by a vanilla note that is strong enough to remain dominant until the end. The transient appearance of soft leather and spices does not detract from the dominance of the tonka, which is not huge and not really cloying - demonstrating hat the other components of this mix are too weak to make a mark.

I get moderate sillage, adequate projection and five hours of longevity on my skin.

The pleasant top notes of this spring scent cannot make up fully for the somewhat less distinctive later stages in its development. 2.75/5.
06th May, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Oddity by Rag & Bone

The cardamom and the angelica in the opening blast are gorgeous in their dyadic interplay, and the underlying darkly peppery tone gives them a smooth carpet to rest on. A delicious opening blast!

The drydown remains dark, with a smooth incense that reminds me of entering certain Japanese temples. This is merged with a nigh-cedary side note, which at times resembles the fragrant content of an open cigar humidor. Glimpses of a dark vetiver do not interrupt the general dark and mystical atmosphere. The vetiver lacks any earthiness.

The base adds a sweetness that is never very strong; it is mainly due to a very rich, yet never cloying vanilla impression that blends in seamlessly with the whole, accentuated by a very discreet ambery background aroma.

I get strong sillage, brilliant projection and six hours of longevity on my skin.

This is a fine autumn evening scent. It is rich and intense but refined and well-structured. Once the top notes have passed the ingredients are not exactly breathtakingly original, but the whole is crafted very well. 3.5/5.
05th May, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Bergamot by Rag & Bone

The slightly citric bergamot-pepper opening, together with an orangey petigrain, is bright and light and delightful. Not particularly refreshing, but quite uplifting.

The drydown develops mainly in the floral direction: freesia, whiffs of orange blossom, hints of oleander and a general feeling of white florals. The petitgrain and the bergamot still shine though at times.

The base with its nonspecific woodsy-ambrox core is rather thin, and the white musks in the background are quite generic.

I get get moderate sillage, very good projection and six hours of longevity on my skin.

The bright opening of this summery scent is nice, and the florals are if decent quality. The base is the weakest part due to its generic nature, but it is only covering the last hour or two of this product’s development. Overall - just - in the positive realm. 3/5.
04th May, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Amber by Rag & Bone

A slightly boozy Neroli opens the top notes, which is characterised by a somber freshness. The drydown sports a light and fresh fruity note - plum indeed but a bit anaemic, and the boozy notes is still present at this stage. The amber that gives this product its name arises in the drydown and continues well into the base. It is a light amber that is characteristic enough to be taken seriously, but is lacking any dark and harsh side.

The base expresses and additional tonka impression, whose sweetness is not overwhelming but blends in discreetly with the amber and the - fading - fruitiness. The tobacco side is rather perfunctory on me, resulting in a touch of soft spiciness more than anything else.

I get moderate sillage, very good projection and six hours of longevity on my skin.

A nice scent for cooler spring or warmer autumn days, it is a bit predictable but overall solidly crafted. 3/5.

02nd May, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Neroli by Rag & Bone

The opening sees a neroli - an average rendering of this note - with a citric and mildly spicy set of undertones.

The drydown adds a somewhat unspecific white floral component, with a sweetish vanilla entering the scene in the base notes. That said, this composition is never really very sweet, and never cloying on me.

The rest is characterised by white musks, which are stronger towards the end.

I get moderate sillage, adequate projection and four hours of longevity on my skin.

This spring scent is not bad, but the components are quite bland, and some of them too synthetic in character. All right on the whole, but that’s all. 2.75/5.
30th April, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Cypress by Rag & Bone

The woods are dominating for the start. Cypress - a bit weak, cedar - also very restrained. A touch of vetiver freshness.

Florals in the drydown - mainly geranium - and touches of spiciness - a soft and gentle patchouli mainly.

All these are very curtailed in their strength on me. Quite weak.

I get soft sillage, adequate projection and three hours of longevity on my skin.

An agreeable scent for warmer autumn days. Overall rather anaemic but not unpleasant. Very limited performance. 2.75/5.
29th April, 2018
rbaker Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Rose by Rag & Bone

This is evidently a rose-centred creation. It starts with a rose. This is a light and bright rose, pleasant and in the gentle side. I do not get any heaviness in this rose.

The drydown adds other floral components, mainly iris, but the rose remains dominant on me.

The base is characterised by the admixture of white musks in generous helpings. This white musk is quite bland, and the addition of a nonspecific woodsy undertone does not work for the better either.

I get moderate sillage, adequate projection and three hours of longevity on my skin.

Starting of as quite a lovely rose scent, this one is good for spring in general. Whilst the rose is not the most intensive example of its species, the white musks drag it down to a more generic and mundane level. Overall 2.75/5.
28th April, 2018