Reviews by rbaker

    Showing 121 to 150 of 1026.
    rating


    Rousse by Serge Lutens Les Salons du Palais Royal Shiseido

    An orange opening with an amber background gives way to a pleasant cinnamon that is, however, a bit lackluster on my skin, but is at the core of the drydown experience, with phases of a tuberose-inspired lipstick impression inserted at times. The base adds wood and a resin note, but again, whilst well blended it seems not really taking off in a convincing manner or structure. Silage and projection are good as is the six-hour longevity. Not bad at all then for a gourmand for colder climes, but just not in the top shelf.

    25th August, 2014

    rating


    Miyako by Annayaké

    The predominant component throughout on my skin is a delicious cinnamon with some cardamom, mixed with a softly gently rich incense note. Wood and jasmine start the drydown, with yang-yang and a whiff of sandalwood included. Rose and a faint amber in the drydown add to the richness of this composition. Quite restrained, creamy, rich but not heavy and well very well blended of quality ingredients. The silage is poor and the projection limited at least, but the longevity is a stupendous twelve hours on me, with the last six very close to my skin. Overall a good spring office scent.

    24th August, 2014

    rating


    Theorema by Fendi

    A citrus-floral combination, mainly orange and jasmine, opens this one, the floral seeing a rose note emerge with ylang-ylang and a mildly spicy note added in the drydown. On my skin the prominent component now is a delicious cinnamon, creamy, rich but never heavy and very well balanced; it gives the whole composition a soft and creamy vibe. The base sees a whiff of amber over woodsy notes mainly, and for the last hours this is on me a skin scent. This is to my the drawback of Theorema: poor silage and projection to a disappointing extent, with a good longevity of seven hours though, but whilst this is not an attention-getter, on the other hand this restraint makes is an ideal cool-weather office scent that is never intrusive. 3/5

    24th August, 2014

    rating


    A*Men Pure Wood by Thierry Mugler

    This is much less loud than the original and most of its other flankers. Oak wood in the opening, with the ubiquitous a*Men vanilla backbone present everywhere. A cypress takes over, to me the best part of this scent, with reminiscences of a cheaper version of Gucci Rush for Men. Later a stale, burnt coffee hint is sonewhat stale and dull, and in the base I get more vanilla. Never cloying. No chocolate or cocoa here. TM-style synthetic, but quite well done. This is an unusually restrained flanker, with the wood note making a pleasant office scent. Adequate silage and projection with six hours of longevity. Just in the positive score area. 3/5

    22nd August, 2014

    rating


    Gentilhomme by Weil

    Mandarin and Bergamot make for a classic opening blast that is very enjoyable, continued it its freshness by a restrained petit grain. A jasmine-hay middle phase settles into an lovely natural oakmoss base, a true fougère with a hint of leather. A typical bright chypre of the era, good for spring, with limited silage, good projection and a very longevity of seven hours. 3.5/5

    22nd August, 2014

    rating


    Jeke by Slumberhouse

    Juniper-type fruity booziness with a smoky stale tobacco component - another superb rich Slumberhouse opening blast. Soon the drydown adds an edgy but not too harsh dark patchouli. Benzoin becomes increasingly predominant, with a spicy somewhat slightly medicinal-incense mix added to a labdanum-focused base. The stunning quality of ingredients, the smooth but structured blending and the depth of this composition are remarkable in this great cold weather scent Good silage, very good projection and a supreme longevity of eleven hours underline the brilliant performance of this composition. Another excellent product of a house that never lets us slumber, but always keeps us on our toes fully alert.

    20th August, 2014

    rating


    Norne by Slumberhouse

    A deep, earthy, dark green aroma from fir tree forests dominate the opening, a combination of amazing slightly smoky depth. In the drydown pine needle covered grounds mix with herbs, clove and later incense notes. A green brooding is ever-present. Like a deeper, earthier mix of Bogner's Deep Forest, Dunhill's Blend 30 and some O'Drius: sensational in ingredient quality and blending. Add great silage and longevity to a brilliant longevity of eleven hours - the last four very close to my skin - and you get a top class fragrance for autumn.

    18th August, 2014

    rating


    To be the Queen by Police

    An orange opening leads to a fruity berry-and-pineapple development. The middle phase has a woodsy edge, with musk and a somewhat generic vanilla forming the core of the base. On my skin this is unfortunately overly synthetic and overall not rising above mediocrity. Adequate silage and projection are accompanied by about three hours of longevity.

    16th August, 2014

    rating


    Ore by Slumberhouse

    The opening combines a first-rate Guaiac with an earthy note of cocoa powder, light chocolate and a rich, creamy balsam with a boozy component. Absolutely stunning. A touch of spice and black pepper in the drydown is followed by a herbal sage leaf aroma. The sum is much more convincing than the listing if these top-quality ingredients could suggest. Rich, deep, creamy, superbly blended whilst well-structured. Masterly, a classic of the indie perfume world.
    Wonderful silage and projection with a sensational longevity of over thirteen hours make this an autumn delight.

    15th August, 2014

    rating


    Sova by Slumberhouse

    A sensational opening with the aroma of dried hay, hops and tonka sweetness combining to a wonder of creative perfumery - a sunny country day - with a touch of wood in the drydown. In the base a waxy note arises, mixed with castoreum with wood and amber in the background. A well-structured composition, supremely blended, well-balancing creaminess and elegance with nigh O'Driu-esque density. Very good silage, great projection and outrageously amazing longevity of over fourteen hours. A Slumberhouse masterpiece.

    14th August, 2014

    rating


    Pear + Olive by Slumberhouse

    A delightful pear opening with a mildly boozy touch makes a fine start. Later, in the drydown, a delightfully gentle chamomile develops with hints of olive - the latter being an ephemeral background note on my skin in spite of its prominent position in the name. Floral elements, especially geranium, are another feature at this stage. He base sees the arrival of creamy woodsy impression, with hints of sandal. In spite its creaminess is is quite restrained. Adequate sillage, decent projection and very good longevity of seven hours - for warm spring days.

    13th August, 2014

    rating


    Kumquat Alhambra / Kumquat by Comptoir Sud Pacifique

    Bergamot and mandarin are the two main components I get in the opening, with the kumquat only faint in the background; in the base a whiff white musk is added. A very simple citrus-based affair. Performance is very good though, with decent silage and projection and over six hours of longevity. Nice in summer, albeit a tad unexciting.

    12th August, 2014

    rating


    Honey Coconut by Love&Toast

    The honey-coconut blast is truly delicious with a sweetness and not cloying or overly heavy in spite of its richness. Later I get some added sandalwood. Overall a fairly linear scent, but of convincingly good quality ingredients and well blended. Good silage and projecting, with an astounding twelve hours of longevity. A great spring/autumn fragrance.

    11th August, 2014

    rating


    Caprissimo by Carthusia

    The lemon opening is very gentle and restrained and accompanied by an unusually soft and mild petit grain note. I get a floral impression - mainly jasmine - added in the drydown, with the base adding some light fragrant wood. These notes never take off into full flight on my skin and remain a bit attenuated, but this might make it a good summer office scent on cooler days for some. Limited silage and projection, bit with a surprisingly good longevity of around six hours.

    09th August, 2014

    rating


    parfums*PARFUMS Series 4 Cologne: Citrico by Comme des Garçons

    Welcome to a true summer fragrance! Bergamot, neroli and lemon make for a refreshing blast characterized by a bigarrade-style refreshing bitterness. In the drydown some gentle floral components are added, mainly iris with a hint of young roses, with a faint cedar notes added towards the end. The real surprise is the longevity, usually very short in such summer colognes: six hours on my skin! That silage and projection are quite acceptable is another bonus. Whilst a touch of artificiality means that it lack the supreme quality exuded by Creed's Citrus Bigarrade, it is one of the best summer scent if you like it zestfully fresh without sweetness. 4.5/5.

    07th August, 2014

    rating


    Navigations Through Scent - Londinium by Molton Brown

    The top note is based on a berry-fruity impression that is a bit dull on my skin; with a drydown that adds a very soft moss-type note. The base with its Whisky-based incense is to me the best part. A lovely combination of notes that, alas, somehow never really takes off on my skin and never really develops convincingly on me. Adequate silage and projection with over six hours of longevity, albeit close to me skin. A nice scent for spring. I suspect this might be different on someone else, so this limited edition for the 2012 London Olpympics is definitely worth trying.

    06th August, 2014

    rating


    Oude Arabique by Dawn Spencer Hurwitz

    An oud opening blast indubitably, but mixed with a mix of wood and a hint of mint-less chewing gum. The oud is not harsh at all, but round and soft. In the drydown sandalwood is more discernible, and in the base a nice balsamic incense-style base emerges, with the oud always there. Very good silage and projection with five hours longevity. A good oud.

    05th August, 2014

    rating


    Costa Mediterranea by I Profumi di Firenze

    A restrained cirus-bergamot opening is not so much a fresh blast as a pleasantly restrainedly fresh impression. The drydown after the first couple of hours adds a sandy-bring note, but the whole scent is very subdued and does not really develop interestingly on my skin. Poor silage and just adequate projection is combined with about five hours in longevity. For cooler summer days.

    04th August, 2014

    rating


    Cuir et Champignon by Dawn Spencer Hurwitz

    The opening blast is indeed a splendid rendition of a moist-earthy leather combined with an autumnal forest-mushroom flavour that is original and convincing on my skin. In the drydown there are transient floral hints present, but the core notes I get are clove and wood with a touch of a balsam notes. In the base the wood declares its cedar nature, with touches of civet and castoreum. The top notes are brilliant, and whilst the rest is not of the same level of creativity, it is nonetheless a very good fragrance. Good silage and projection with over six hours of longevity. 3.5-4/5

    01st August, 2014

    rating


    Sel de Vetiver by The Different Company

    The opening has a bergamot-grapefruit combination, but I get vetiver from early on. A nice, balanced vetiver, that starts lighter and fresher to later adopt more earthy root characteristics that evolve into the celery phase that has a sea-saltiness added that gives it an original touch. I like the latter stage. Whilst not as elegant as some Guerlains and less harsh-earthy than the Molinard, and on my skin a touch less refined than Coeur de Vetiver Sacré, it is an excellent vetiver for spring. Adequate silage and projection with four hours of longevity. 4/5

    30th July, 2014

    rating


    Défilé New York by Histoires de Parfums

    A fresh green opening with a hint of peppermint merges into a floral and fruity drydown, with rhubarb identifiable amongst the potpourri of notes. After the first three to four hours a soft and warm cinnamon of high quality and convincing character emerges, which is the highlight of this scent's development on my skin. In the base a faint chocolate appears in the background, whilst the foreground is taken up by a nice vanilla that is never really very sweet; a touch of a somewthat non-specific wood is noticeable near the end. Good silage and projection with an excellent seven hours of longevity. A floral-fruity-gourmand that is good on warm autumn days.

    29th July, 2014

    rating


    Lady Gaga Fame by Lady Gaga

    This scent packs a lot together from the start. Sweet incense with a honeyed fruitiness, which develops into an overtly synthetic mixed-floral phase a jasmine undertone. This mishmash cluster sounds worse than it actually turns out on my skin, and is neither unbearably sweet nor overly syrupy. Good silage and very good projection combine with five hours of longevity. Whilst not really on the positive-score level, it displays some fun-frivolity and is really not bad.

    29th July, 2014

    rating


    Someday by Justin Bieber

    A generic mandarin-pear fruity accord in the opening leads to a flowery drydown that has a jasmine component added to it. The base is an overly laboratory-synthetic vanilla that remains quite uninteresting on my skin. Adequate silage and projection; I am getting a longevity of three hours. Unfortunately on me this scent hardly reaches the level of mediocrity.

    29th July, 2014

    rating


    Santal Sacré by Decennial

    In the opening I get a well-balanced mix of a light incense with a good sandalwood clearly present, the latter apparently is made from Australian sandalwood. Gradually a pleasant and soft white musk is added, and towards the end it grows stronger without ever being overwhelming. On my skin this a softer, more elegant sandalwood, and in spite of it's linearity it is a nice composition. Limited silage and adequate projection, I get four hours of longevity. A pleasant sandalwood for warmer autumn days. 3/5

    28th July, 2014

    rating


    Filles des Iles Sparkling Floral by Filles des Iles

    Filles des Iles' Floral Pétillant is indeed a sparking floral composition. A fresh mandarin-citrus opening that leads to a drydown where a nice pear note combines with a basket of white florals - lovely and not overtly synthetic. The base sees a sandalwood note in the background, setting the stage for an almond core with a hint of vanilla, which makes for a rich but elegant finish. Limited silage with good projection combine with an excellent longevity of about seven hours, albeit very close to my skin towards the end. Soft, gentle but with clean and convincing components of good quality, it is well blended without losing structure. It it's simplicity and linearity it makes for a young, fresh fragrance that combines good quality and positivity with elegance. A rare find for late spring or early summer. 3-4/5.

    27th July, 2014

    rating


    New York Musk by Bond No. 9

    It opens with a fresh-fruity note that soon metamorphoses into a flowery drydown, but there is a slightly edgy musky undertone throughout. This white musk note is light, fairly soft and discrete, more a condiment than a centerpiece. Wood, a mild patchouli and a whiff of vetiver-freshness round it off. Without being of greatness or uniqueness, it is solid autumn scent but a tad lacking interesting development on my skin. Good silage and projection with four hours of longevity. Good to try for those who like their musk mild and as a faint background only

    26th July, 2014

    rating


    Washington Square by Bond No. 9

    To start of with, I get a pleasant floral geranium-dominated white flower blast, that soon is joined by a pleasant rose; the latter is, however, on my skin not more than an average specimen with limited development. After about five hours it seemed to vanish, but then the base kicked in with a pleasant honey note combined with a very soft and gentle amber; a whiff of suede is added. Good and unobtrusive in the office in spring.
    On me silage and projection are limits, but the eventual total longevity is a stunning ten hours. Nonetheless, on me this does not go beyond a middle-of-the-range impression, so the licence to thrill needs to be revoked.

    25th July, 2014

    rating


    Harrods Amber by Bond No. 9

    The combination of light pepper and saffron, and a rose-related floral core give this scent a warming, pleasant character; I also get the amber note from early on. It is a restrained, unobtrusive amber, more blending in than dominating. A somewhat nonspecific wood note combines with benzoin in the base notes, but the latter is never unpleasant. This is overall a very discrete fragrance on my skin, great in autumn for the office with its limited projection and silage. Longevity is a decent five hours. Good overall but falling short of my expectations compared to other amber scents, unless you like the latter only in small doses. In any case it is worth a try.

    24th July, 2014

    rating


    Fire Island by Bond No. 9

    Yes, from the beginning this is suntan-lotion-laden summer beach atmosphere. At some stages the neroli gives some freshness, and in the base a tuberose hint with light white musk is present, but overall there is not much major development in my skin. The whole idea and concept of reflecting the pre-melanoma-scare beach atmosphere is truly original and a great idea. Silage and projection are adequate, but the longevity is a brilliant sunstroke-inducing ten hours. One of the most original Bonds and one of the most original concept fragrances of the mid-2000s I know.

    23rd July, 2014

    rating


    Shelter Island by Bond No. 9

    The lemon-pepper mix is quite pleasant, and after the first couple of hours is followed by a drydown based on white flowers, mainly lilies. After several more hours, an aquatic-ozonic element emerges that displays a touch of sea-breeze saltiness at times. This floral-seaside dichotomy leads into the base, where a somewhat nondescript wood is complimented by whiffs of myrrh, a nice idea. During the last couple hours on my skin, now very close to the latter, the seas-breeze impression reappears, like a faint memory of earlier moments. Silage and projection are adequate, but the longevity is splendid: I get eleven hours out of it after liberal application.

    22nd July, 2014

    Showing 121 to 150 of 1026.




Loving perfume on the Internet since 2000