Perfume Reviews

Reviews by rbaker

Advertisement

White Fire by Tiziana Terenzi

On my skin the ozonic-fresh opening has a herbal undertone, which makes for an interestingly refreshing mix of top notes. Then the piece de resistance in the scent makes an appearance: a nice, pleasant jasmine; not a pretty one but a heavier, woody and soapy variety that is different from many of those soft-light varieties.

The base notes, I must say, drop down in creativity considerable, with the standard troika of woodsy, ambery and musky notes is customary regularity; they are if less impressive quality and quite thin on me.

As far as longevity goes, I get soft sillage, less than impressive projection; it is close to my skin but the longevity is a very good seven hours. The bottle design is lovely.

It is always exciting to see a small, outsider niche house taking on the biochemical mass-laboratory-based profit-obsessed mega-corporations by being novel, different and exciting, but overall this creation does not hit the top mark. Very promising, though.
29th July, 2015

Very Sexy Attraction by Victoria's Secret

In this scent on me the first impression is that of sweet cherries, which later on turn into a more floral theme: I get lily and hints of orchids. All this is clearly synthetic, but not all bad; it is neither overwhelming nor totally cloying, and for those cherry-lovers looking for a spring scent it might be worth a try.

As das as the performance is concerned, I get moderate sillage, good projection and four hours of longevity. Overall in the middle range.
28th July, 2015

Vaniglia, Bourbon & Mandarino / Vanilla, Bourbon & Mandarin of Sicily by Antica Farmacista

Now this is perfumer's minimalism at work: mandarin ice cream enhanced by a very good and quite natural vanilla - a delicious summer scent. Rich, creamy, not too sweet and never cloying, and a boozy undertone adds substance. Whilst the sillage is moderate and the projection good, I only get four hours of longevity on my skin - but a delightful four hours. Sometimes less is more: 3/5.
27th July, 2015
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

L'Extrait Classique X by Jean Paul Gaultier

A rose opening blended quite nicely with an orange note that enhance the brighter yet quite intensive nature of the roe core. He drydown turns a touch darker with a tuberose that is more on the lightweight side, and dominates until in the base a tonka emerges. The tonka is rich and not too sweet, but a bit predictable and unexciting.

This is definite one of the more substantial scents of this house, rich, more intense than others but in the end end it lacks a bit of creativity. I get strong sillage, very good projection and six hours
of longevity on my skin. Nice for cooler spring days. 2.5/5
26th July, 2015

Yvresse Legere by Yves Saint Laurent

A rich ripe peach opening brands with a lovely blackcurrant to form a voluptuous start. The drydown turns into a darker style of rose, with a white floral undercurrent providing a pleasant counterpoint. Now the base raises the bar further with a dark patchouli together with a rather convincing mossy impression proving for a satisfying finish.

This is not your usual chypre; is is more fruity in the top without any bergamot, and the drydown is more floral than classically expected.

I get moderate sillage, good projection and seven hours of longevity. Rich, voluptuous whilst quite elegant - a winner and one of L'Oreals convincing creations. 3/5
24th July, 2015

Parisienne by Yves Saint Laurent

The opening is taking after forest berries, more blueberry-like, and developed in to a floral drydown with a fairly nice rose with a white-floral background taking centre stage. The rose is not of great quality but good enough in this floral blend. So far this is pleasant as a fruity-floral composition.

The base adds touches of spicier notes, especially patchouli but I am also getting a light musk impression towards the end. The base notes are all right but on my skin somewhat dull and unexciting, as well as a bit too generic. I get moderate sillage, good projection and five hours of longevity. 2/5
23rd July, 2015

Jean Paul Gaultier Classique by Jean Paul Gaultier

Rose, anise, orange and all this with a fruity undertone of ripe peaches - a rich and satisfying opening reminiscent of visits to an old-fashioned pâtisserie. The fruitiness continues into the drydown, with imoressions of prunes and ginger mingling with a pleasant floral sidekick - mainly iris-based.

A rather nice scent so far, which loses in richbess and originality in the base, where On my skin it mainly emanates generic expressions of vanilla and white musk - a finale that is a tad disappointing after such a good start.

As far as the performance goes, I get strong sillage, good projection and seven hours of longevity. Good, in other words.

This scent for cooler spring days is letting me down towards the end, but otherwise it is overall deserving of a positive score, albeit just by the skin of its teeth. It is richer than many other scents and -
ignoring the end phase - lacks any major thinness, wateriness or superficiality. 3/5
22nd July, 2015

L'Eau The One by Dolce & Gabbana

A fruity opening that is given freshness with an overarching bergamot calorie and orangey undertones. This opening develops nicely on my skin, and is blended rather well. The drydown is centred around white florals, mainly a nice lily-of-the-valley, but the other constituents are less convincing.

On me the base is the weakest part of it all; mainly vanilla and musk and quite generic. I could see this apt to be worn in spring. As far as the performance is concerned, I am getting fairly soft sillage, limited projection and three hours of longevity only - rather lightweight compared to the more substantial scents D & G could muster up in the last. 2/5
21st July, 2015

Dolce by Dolce & Gabbana

A fresh-fruity mix of top notes that develops into a white floral drydown. There is a gently-sweetish maple-like hint in the background that is, however never really cloying or overwhelming on my skin.

In the base there is a change towards a white musk, that I find to be a bit dull and synthetic. I get moderate sillage, good projection and five hours of longevity.

My main issue in this scent, which is suitable for spring, is the overall generic nature of its components. It is quite pleasant, but not more. 2/5.
21st July, 2015

Ma Dame by Jean Paul Gaultier

Orange is at the core of the fresh opening, but overall this scent is dominated by a pleasant rose that is a touch synthetic on my skin, but quite nice.
Musk is the core of the base, with generic wood in the background.

I get moderate sillage, adequate projection and five hours of longevity. Pleasant in spring but nothing special. 2/5
20th July, 2015

L'Eau 2 Kenzo pour Homme by Kenzo

Fresh, pleasant and bright is the opening, consisting of grapefruit mainly. The drydown is mainly lavender, and the base adds vetiver and hints of bitterness.

The sillage is soft, the projection all right and longevity is four hours on my skin. Not the greatest performance. Schnitter is right: Allure Édition Blanche is much better in all aspects.

Overall nothing special, but a bright summery
lightweight. Pleasant. 2.5/5
19th July, 2015

L'Eau 2 Kenzo pour Femme by Kenzo

A fruity lime opening that is all right but a bit common leads to a floral drydown, where synthetics roses are overlying a white floral background. The base is a generic white musk impression - very generic overall and not unpleasant but - mediocre.

As far as the performance is concerned, with moderate sillage, adequate projection and four hours of longevity on my skin it is - mediocre. 2/5
18th July, 2015

Jeu d'Amour Eau de Toilette by Kenzo

The top note is a bit fruitier than the original released previous year, but still citrus-based, with a similar floral drydown.
The base is different, with a light musky bent and a tonka background, not really sweet though. Overall lighter, softer sillage and projection with three hours of longevity. 2/5
17th July, 2015
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

L'Eau par Kenzo by Kenzo

A nice summery minty vibe is the main part of the opening phase on my skin. Soon a slight berry mixes with floral component and hints of spiciness - a stage that I find a bit too generic on my skin. The basehas a white musk added with a pleasant tonka
Impression that is neither cloying not too sweet.

Performance is a tad week on me with soft sillage,
Limited projection and three hours of longevity. Light, pleasant but not special. 2.5/5
17th July, 2015

D&G L'Imperatrice 3 by Dolce & Gabbana

A fruity watermelon opening note sees nice kiwi fruit impression intermingled with it, resulting in a pleasantly summery beginning. I get a rhubarb-like component in the drydown, followed by a musky base; the latter is a bit less well made.

I get soft sillage, decent projection and five hours of longevity. Not particularly exciting but well made - this is overall pleasant and nice. 2.5/5
16th July, 2015

The One Sport by Dolce & Gabbana

A thin and watery opening camouflaging as herbal-aquatic of nature leads to a nonspecific drydown with hints of a thin cardamom. The base - yes, still thin and quite dull - is a generic musky impression with a laboratory-synthetic patchouli unworthy of such an illustrious house.

The sillage is soft, the projection poor and it lasts less than three hours on my skin. This is a flanker that is unworthy of even bearing the the name as the original, which is so much better. 1/5
16th July, 2015

Rose The One by Dolce & Gabbana

There is citrus in the opening - grapefruit mainly - with a fruity berry and they both mix quite pleasantly. Then white florals kick in - muguet mainly - and the titular rose arrives too; it is not a very convincing or natural rose, but it's all right. In the base the standard synthetic woodsy-musky concoction is quite boring, and a rather average vanilla does not alter this, although this scent is never overly sweet or cloying.

This a day-to-day scent suitable for warmer spring days, with moderate sillage, decent projection and six hours of longevity on my skin. 2/5
16th July, 2015

Radiance by Britney Spears

Fruity berry notes that a somewhat generic open this one, followed by a jasmin drydown that is solid but nothing special. The base is centered sound a reasonable iris note, but then develops into the frequently-found woodsy-musky finale that is so common these days.

I get moderate sillage, good projection and seven hours of longevity - so the performance is actually very good on my skin. OK for spring.
15th July, 2015

Hidden Fantasy by Britney Spears

A sweet mandarin mixes with verbena in the opening, with hints of spiciness and a sweet aroma that reminds me a bit of a pastry shop. It develops very nicely on my skin and is soon followed by a jasmine-based drydown. Synthetic, of course, but not without its original twist. The base consists of the usual woodsy/pseudo-ambery/ vanilla triad and is the least impressive part of this creation, although I have seen and smelt much worse specimen.

With all its sweet components it is surprisingly not cloying on me and quite plant overall. I get moderate sillage, adequate projection and seven hours of longevity in this nice spring scent. Overall it is not without its weaknesses, but is never too intrusive and on me deserves a positive score - but only just. 3/5
15th July, 2015

Cosmic Radiance by Britney Spears

The top notes are a nice try of an orangey fruity lychee combination, which are a touch overly synthetic but not bad. The drydown consists of a rather generic floral mix, and a resonanable albeit thinnish tuberose with jasmine stands out on my skin. The base is the most disappointing part IMHO, with the usual culprit of a generic woodsy-musky-vanilla cocktail making me hope for last orders soon - and not in vain: I get less that four hours of longevity, whilst the sillage is soft and the projection all right.

Could be nice in spring. 2/5.
14th July, 2015

Circus Fantasy by Britney Spears

This one opens with a limitedly typical raspberry note with an overarching synthetic-fruity impression. The subsequent generic floral notes produce an attempt of peony that is not overly impressive either. The base - well if I ever sought out a representative of a generic-dull-sweet base note complex, this is it. I get moderate sillage, good projection and three hours of longevity.

Overall: negative. 1/5. This is it.
14th July, 2015

Wonderstruck Enchanted by Taylor Swift

A synthetic sweet fruity-berry concoction with an ultra-generic white floral drydown. The base continue in the same vein: synthetic-sweet woodsy vanilla with a lighter musk - the usual synthetic suspects. Performance is less good than the original delivers with moderate sillage, adequate projection with five hours of longevity. A touch less annoying than the original. 1.5/5
12th July, 2015

Wonderstruck by Taylor Swift

A nigh sickeningly sweet scent, especially initially full of fruity berry-apple notes, and a cloying tonka on my skin. There is some relief in the drydown, which alas is as generic as they come. Strong sillage, very good projection with six hours of longevity - overall that is not saving this one. 1/5
12th July, 2015

The One Desire by Dolce & Gabbana

Lychee - quite fruity - and a white floral note mainly consisting of muguet blend in well with more customary orange-bermamot top notes. Quite original. A pleasantly sweetish lily-cum-jasmine drydown has added fruity plummy components mixed with a light toffee undertone.

The weaker spot is the somewhat generic base, with rather standard woodsy musk impressions with a generic tonka prevailing, but overall this is a nice creation.

I get moderate sillage, good projection and six hours of longevity.

This a nice spring scent, but it does not reach the standard and quality of the original version, which is superior IMHO. Nonetheless this flanker is worthy a positive score. 3/5.
11th July, 2015

Dolce & Gabbana pour Homme Intenso by Dolce & Gabbana

A herbal opening with green herbal side tones and an overarching gently ozonic core - this is pleasant start that comes across quite different from the original on my skin. In the drydown rather artifical notes of lavender and sweetish pipe tobacco are added, but they are not too cloying. The woodsy note - a mild cypress with hints of cedar and labdanum are not bad.

Whilst this is not an exciting composition, its top notes are interesting and it is well made. I get moderate sillage with adequate projection and six hours of longevity - not really more "intenso" than the original. A reasonable flanker - 3/5.
11th July, 2015

Dolce & Gabbana Pour Femme Intense by Dolce & Gabbana

The slightly herbal-acidic citrus freshness in the opening is nice and even not unoriginal.
The drydown's tuberose remains a touch less impressive, but is all right - a bit on the flat side on my skin. Then woodsy notes in the base provides a pleasant background to a nutty marshmallow impression.

I get moderate sillage with good projection and five hours of longevity on my skin. Nice for warmer autumn times, overall this scent lacks too qualities and is a touch too generic after then opening phase, but is well enough construed to give it a positive score - just. 3/5.
10th July, 2015

Gucci Guilty Intense Pour Homme by Gucci

The citrus/lemon opening with the added neroli makes for a fairly simply classic, pleasant opening impression. Alas the drydown is less impressive, with a dull and generic-synthetic patchouli being on the underwhelming side. Still, it has a touch more character than many of the insipid juices this a house has produced of recent.

I get moderate, adequate projection with five hours of longevity. 2/5.
09th July, 2015

Gucci Flora : Gracious Tuberose by Gucci

The fruity, peachy top notes are fairly sweet in my skin, definitely a soft and ripe peach - this is a nice start, and soon the tuberose sets in. It is a lighter version of tuberose, not the rich, deep variety.

The base is quite disappointing in contrast, with the wood notes being less convincing. I get moderate sillage with good projection and five hours if longevity. For warmer autumn days. 2/3.
09th July, 2015

Gucci Flora : Glorious Mandarin by Gucci

Mandarin oeony jasmine musk
Yup, I am getting a dominant mandarin impression as top note. Is it a generic and synthetic one? Yup.

The drydown is centred around white floral and jasmine impressions. Are they generic and unexciting? Yup.

The base adds a slightly boozy light white musk. Is it convincing? Nope.

What about the performance? Soft sillage, adequate projection with four hours of longevity. Is this impressive? Nope.

A mediocre flanker? Yup, like the original.

2/5? YUP

08th July, 2015

Gucci Flora : Gorgeous Gardenia by Gucci

A sweet, fruity top that is overly sweet and cloying on my skin develops into a generic white floral drydown. The patchouli in the base is dull and even less convincing than in the original. Sillage is soft on me, the projection adequate and longevity four hours. 2/5
08th July, 2015