Reviews by rbaker

    Showing 151 to 180 of 1026.
    rating


    New Haarlem by Bond No. 9

    When this scent touches my skin, the most wonderful aroma of fresh black coffee arises, soon accompanied by a firm lavender with a herbal undertone. More into the drydown there is coffee and a cedar impression, although the coffee still dominates. Now the coffee is less fresh, a touch less intense and more like cafe au lait. In the base by a great twist the addition of tonka create the atmosphere of a cafe where maple syrup wafers are served, nut never too sweet, sickly or intrusive. In the first phases added bergamot adds freshness, and in the later stages an added ambery wood note prevents the sweetness to be to dominating. Coffee prevails throughout, albeit a bit in the background in the base. Although a great gourmand scent, its lack of intrusive sweetness makes it very wearable on me. It displays good silage and projection, but the longevity on me is utterly sensational: fourteen hours have passed and I can just still catch a whiff of......(a hint: it starts with c). On me this is the gold standard in coffee fragrances, a great, not too heavy winter gourmand.

    21st July, 2014

    rating


    Eau de New York by Bond No. 9

    The citrus opening is very nice, with mandarin dominating supported by bergamot and a touch of petitgrain. Neroli and cyclamen are at the heart of the drydown, still fresh and with occasional floral moments. The base has a rather generic wood note with a very light musk background, but in the last hours a vetiver finale rounds off the development, albeit very close to my skin at that stage. Not very original, solid but not really a top scent, is has limited silage and projection. The longevity, however, is nearly eight hours and thus very good for such a citrus-fresh fragrance. For summer.

    20th July, 2014

    rating


    Riverside Drive by Bond No. 9

    The freshness of the opening, with a mint-basil tone combined with a fruity undertone, with the fruitiness becoming stronger in the drydown whilst fanning out into more distinct varieties. Pineapple, rose and white florals mainly. This is followed by another fresh note composed of aquatic elements with a salty hint. After about tree hours a richer gourmand-style phase develops, with a nigh caramel-cinnamon vibe but not too sweet. This is a tad synthetic but always in a pleasing fashion. Interestingly, after some wood being interspersed, he aquatic side reappears on my skin, only to be supplanted by a light white musk towards the end. Good silage and projection with an excellent longevity if around eight hours. Great in late spring; this is overall one of Bond's convincing creations.

    19th July, 2014

    rating


    New York Patchouli by Bond No. 9

    In the opening I get some patchouli that is quite intertwined with bergamot. Later on I get lots of lilac with lily and a transient whiff of rose. The Bond-ing base of musk, amber and wood - jtd's Bond-ade - is duller on my skin that in other scents of this house. Limited silage and projection with three hours of longevity - nice in spring; not a bad fragrance but overall more on the mediocre side.

    18th July, 2014

    rating


    The Scent Of Peace For Him by Bond No. 9

    The somewhat restrained fruitbasket opening is based on a reasonable pineapple impression, with a juniper mixed in that is nice but not brilliant - this is no Baie de Genievre. The vetiver and bergamot freshen up the drydown very nicely on my skin, with the pineapple still present in the background - my favourite part of this scent. White musk and amber with a hint of soft patchouli constitute a typical Bond-ing base. The silage and projection are adequate, but the real surprise here is its longevity: this pleasant sort of tutti-fruity Aventus-type frags usually is only short-lived on me, but this Bond lasts over eight hours - it is this performance that pushes it over the line to a positive score. Good in spring and early summer.

    17th July, 2014

    rating


    Manhattan by Bond No. 9

    The opening consists of a deep nutmeg mixed with a fruity pear-plum note that lasts for the first couple of hours. This is followed by a luscious drydown of jasmine, honey and rich gingerbread that is bringing back memories of wintery Christmas evenings. In spite of its richness, this scent is never intrusive and never too sweet. On my skin the base is a dyad of white musk and vanilla, again not of unpleasant sweetness, and towards the end close to my skin. Silage and projection are good, and the overall longevity is a splendid ten hours. Not without some originality and well-made, it is a nice not-too-obtrusive winter-warmer in the office.

    16th July, 2014

    rating


    Harrods Agarwood by Bond No. 9

    From the start I am getting quite intense oud, and it is more or less ever-present on my skin, at least in the background. In the top notes a nice non-smoky black tea appear, which is replaced by a violent and patchouli that at times is reminiscent of a softer version of Tom Ford's Purple Patchouli. The base is more restrained, expressing a soft amber note with a mild musk and a whiff of sandalwood and a touch of powderiness at times. All unashamedly synthetic but well done. Good silage and projection, and an excellent longevity of over eight hours. Less complexity than in other Bond's is more convincing here, and amongst the agarwood tsunami of scents that hit us throughout the last years this is one of the better ones.

    15th July, 2014

    rating


    Andy Warhol Montauk by Bond No. 9

    The bergamot gives freshness to the blueberry in the opening, which is nice but not really riveting on my skin. The floral drydown is dominated by lily-of-the-valley, pleasant but never really developing convincingly on my skin, whilst the drydown does not go far beyond generic woods. Poor silage and projection, but a good longevity of nine hours, the second half unfortunately consisting of generic base without any truly interesting features. Pleasant spring top notes but overall not convincing.

    14th July, 2014

    rating


    Andy Warhol Lexington Avenue by Bond No. 9

    The opening is unusual, mixing cardamom, anise and fennel, with a dark lemon accord transiently appearing. Overall a very nice start. In the drydown it declares its gourmand heart, with creme brûlée and sweet almond notes blending well with floral impressions. This is lovely, mild-to-moderately sweet but never too sweet. The is a hint of sandal added in the base, but the latter is the least convincing ingredient of this otherwise well composed scent. It is difficult to give one simple label to this fragrance, it is a bit outside the square in its overall approach. A restrained scent with poor silage and just decent projection, but a decent longevity of five hours on my skin. 3/5. Good for work in autumn.

    13th July, 2014

    rating


    Bleecker Street by Bond No. 9

    The gently-floral-blackcurrant opening is a delight. Later in the drydown a herbal note is accompanied by a nice jasmine, but the wood notes that follow remain a bit indistinct on my skin. The base is more convincing, with gentle amber and patchouli eventually merging into a subtle vanilla finish that lasts for the final hours. This is a restrained and discrete scent, but in spite of poor silage and limited projection I get an excellent longevity of seven hours. Just in the positive score realm and nice in spring.

    12th July, 2014

    rating


    True Star Men by Tommy Hilfiger

    The opening is a mix of a reasonable grapefruit with a steely-metallic fresh impression. In the drydown I get liquorice, but is quite faint, as is the rather generic wood note in the base; towards the end a slim vanilla emerges, which is o limited sweetness. Limited projection and poor silage on my skin, but the longevity is quite decent at around five hours.
    Interesting opening but a bit dull from then on.

    11th July, 2014

    rating


    Hugo Just Different by Hugo Boss

    The mint opening - feature of some of HB's scents is nice, developing into a strong drydown with coriander providing a nice contrast. Later herbal-floral notes dominate, with fresia, gardenia and green notes clamouring for attention. The base is constructed on a labdanum skeleton that is fleshed out with a soft patchouli with mildly musky-spicy undertones. Very good silage with excellent projection are combined with four hours of longevity. Strong, confident and powerful, it is not too original but is substantial enough to -just - warrant a positive score. Good for autumn.

    10th July, 2014

    rating


    Boss Bottled Unlimited by Hugo Boss

    The mint at the start is quite pleasant, but it is a nice pineapple note - not too synthetic - that dominates the course of development of this creation. It lingers for a while before giving way to a somewhat generic wood notes with labdanum mixed in. Simple but not and not bad at all; just not really soaring to heights of excitement. Good silage and very good projection, with a longevity of about three hours. Worth a try.

    10th July, 2014

    rating


    Boss Nuit pour Femme by Hugo Boss

    A synthetic and dull sweety peachy opening with a generic floral drydown that leads into a laboratory-wood base. Not unpleasant but dull with really with little merit, including a shortevity of less than three hours on my skin.

    10th July, 2014

    rating


    XXX Large by Etienne Aigner

    The opening blast I get is that if lemon, a hint of bergamot and touch of a deeper, amber and lavender background. The drydown is characterised initially by floral impressions, a bit like geranium, but increasing taking a salty, ozonic and maritime turn that prevails until the end, although it is pushed into the background by an emerging synthetic wood note in the base. This is not a very exciting scent, it is pedestrian so to speak, but quite solidly made and not bad overall. Acceptable silage and limited projection are combined with a good longevity of about seven hours. On the border between neutral and positive scores, its comparative generic nature tilts it towards neutral overall.

    10th July, 2014

    rating


    Armani Attitude by Giorgio Armani

    Lemon and coffee make for delightful top notes, with the zest of the citrus fruit providing a distinctive counterbalance to the rich depth of the coffee impression. After the first few hours the lemon vanishes, being replaced by a nice lavender with and amber undertone. Later in the drydown cardamom and a mildly smoky patchouli are added, and provide a nice depth and complexity that is enhanced by a good opopanax aroma. In the later stages of the base impression a wood component is added that at that stage is rather dull and generic. After about ten hours the wood improves into a good cedar note, and the coffee becomes stronger; this swansong of cedar and coffee is a great farewell. Apart from the weak phase in the second half of the drydown this is a pleasant composition, quite well blended in most stages, with good silage and projection. On my skin the most impressive part is the tremendous longevity of over thirteen hours, or make that nearly fourteen if you are superstitious.
    Overall not without flaws, but the performance lifts it into a positive score. Good for warmer autumn days.

    09th July, 2014

    rating


    To Be The King by Police

    Besides citrus in the opening I detect cedar, cardamom and very nice nutmeg that dominated on my skin for a while, at times paired with lavender  In the drydown  succeeded by a union of artemisia and an ambery spice note is added; at times I get memories of Spicebomb notes.  Vanilla and cedar are more prominent in the drydown. Good silage and projection, and about four to five hours of longevity. Of all the scents in Police's cute skull-shaped bottles, this is my favourite.

    25th June, 2014

    rating


    Andy Warhol by Bond No. 9

    Indubitably the opening is characterized by a delightful plum note,  which is counterbalanced by a touch of bergamot-related freshness and a woody undertone.   A wood note seems to be present throughout the scent's development, not a very sophisticated one but simply lending another layer of depth.  Equally, the plum notes lingers on for hours on my skin, but in in middle notes floral components are added, mainly jasmine and a soft, rounded patchouli.  In the base vanilla is present quite definitely, blending in nicely without being too dominant or too sweet on me.  
    I get good silage and projection and six hours of longevity.  Great for spring. 

    I was told in the Bond Street NYC flagship store that they could confirm this fragrance's discontinuation. 

    20th June, 2014

    rating


    Vetiver Extreme by Guerlain

    Quite like the original in many aspects, but I get a bit less of the wood side, and it is a bit richer and with a touch more sweetness. Very agreeable. The longevity is the same on my skin, nearly five hours. A case where the flanker holds up to the original version. Elegant.

    15th June, 2014

    rating


    De Viris by Jacques Bogart

    The amazing opening is the epitome of classic freshness: orange, bergamot and an absolutely outstanding petit grain - sensational in its intensity and natural richness. The drydown continues the theme of classic perfection, with ylang ylang and clary sage combined with a mildly spicy white pepper note; but it is the patchouli that adds edge and herbal undertones; there is possibly a myrrh component present too. Cedar and a nice sandalwood commence the base notes, where a pleasant musk emanates later on, but still here freshness has been preserved, mainly due to the addition of a beautifully natural vetiver.
    The performance is outstanding, with very good silage, as well as exceptional projection and a longevity that on my skin extends beyond twelve hours. Overall a very classic traditional scent with subtle twists, composed of top-quality ingredients and very well blended without losing structure. We can attribute the creation of a couple of all-time masterpieces to Jacques Bogart, and De Viris is one of them.

    12th June, 2014

    rating


    Downtown by Calvin Klein

    The opening blast combines the traditional bergamot-citrus-neroli trio with a fruity violet drydown; I also get a bit of rose petals and a hint of peppery spices. On my skin the main issue is that this is all overly synthetic. There is wood and a light white musk in the base, and the latter gradually peters out in a pleasant manner. The performance is most impressive with good silage, great projection and nine hours of longevity. Overall not bad at all, but overall nothing very convincing either.

    10th June, 2014

    rating


    Di Boghese by Borghese

    A fresh bergamot opening modified by floral components, jasmine on my skin with lily-of-the-valley. Light, elegant, a gentle sweetness. The base is deeper with wood and chypre impressions, but is very close to my skin and not strong. Well blended, light, and three hours of longevity. Discretely elegant.

    06th June, 2014

    rating


    Profumo di Montecatini by Borghese

    Fresh, light with citrus and bergamot, And in the drydown a touch of wood notes. A touch of petitgrain is present on my skin. Pleasant in summer with about three hours of longevity.

    06th June, 2014

    rating


    Kipling by Weil

    What an opening: bergamot, citrus and lavender combine with a superb artemisia, and are underlined by a great juniper impression that adds an extra unexpected twist; a slightly boozy note is also notable. The drydown is a classic floral triad of carnation, geranium and jasmine, again just delicious. The base continues in classical style with cedar, patchouli and leather, but the star here is a wonderfully rounded and herbal oak moss of top-notch quality turning this into a fougère base of the finest quality. The performance is a power-laden Formula-1 heaven: great silage, supreme projection, and an absolutely astounding longevity on my skin: I am getting seventeen hours! Wow, a grand classic but not unoriginal and certainly a masterpiece of Weil, and one of the great chypres.

    04th June, 2014

    rating


    Wall Street by Bond No. 9

    Cucumber is often combined with tea or other plants, but combining it with marine notes is quite a novel idea - and makes for a splendid opening. The marine notes stay prominent throughout, with some transient lavender accompaniment and some bergamot-vetiver style variariations adding freshness on my skin. In the base the dominant note is a synthetic but pleasant ambergris, an urbanised version so to speak, as the whales might not make it to South Manhattan. Toward the end white musk is also in the background. Silage and projection are very good most of the time, and I get a longevity of over six hours, albeit closer to my skin for the last couple of hours. Overall this is a Bond that shows originality and thinking outside the square - one of their convincing creations.

    03rd June, 2014

    rating


    New York Oud by Bond No. 9

    The beginning and end is oud - intense, rich but not dark, on the brighter side and not too synthetic. Later rose notes are added, a hint of harsher vetiver and wood notes. Simple, straightforward and convincing. Excellent silage and projection with a longevity of over eight hours. An oud for the bright side of life.

    02nd June, 2014

    rating


    Roses de Chloé by Chloé

    Bergamot and fresh roses - light, bright and fresh. The rose notes take on a fresh green tinge in the drydown, like rose leaves. It is pleasant but lacks depth and is quite generic. Nonetheless quite pleasant in summer. The silage is limited, the projection he same, and on my skin I get a longevity of three hours. Nothing too remarkable, pleasant, close to my skin and a good work scent.

    01st June, 2014

    rating


    L'Eau de Chloé by Chloé

    A generic citrus-rose that never really takes of on my skin. It is gone after thirty minutes. On me a non-event. Try before you buy.

    01st June, 2014

    rating


    Little Italy by Bond No. 9

    Mandarins galore - that is the opening blast and that is essentially what this product is all about. Clean, a bit sweet, sheer mandarin. On my skin it is not too synthetic, and later it is more like a mandarin lemonade. Towards the end a jasmine component lurks in the background, but the core fruit remains dominant. In all its monochrome single-fruit simplicity it is well done and quite convincing. Silage is good as is the projection. Initially it seemed to collapse after the first hour on my skin, but it returned to give a total longevity of five hours - splendid for a citrus-based scent, albeit very close to my skin for the last couple of hours. Bold Bond simplicity with a nice result.

    01st June, 2014

    rating


    Free Life by Etienne Aigner

    The traditional opening blast of bergamot, lavender and sage is given a nice twist with a wood note; this results in a slightly boozy gorgeous blend of top note. Jasmine, geranium and a bit of rose arise in the middle phase, a rich and pleasurable mix. The base contains sandalwood, but on my skin it is dominated by the crescendo of a rich and glowing amber note. The quality of the ingredients is superb, and it is extremely well blended without losing structure. Good silage and projection, with somewhat over five hours of longevity. A rich autumnal delight from a time Aigner produced great fragrances, but this might be their masterpiece.

    31st May, 2014

    Showing 151 to 180 of 1026.




Loving perfume on the Internet since 2000