Reviews by yellow_cello

    yellow_cello's avatar
    yellow_cello
    United Kingdom United Kingdom

    Showing 1 to 11 of 11.
    rating


    La Fille De Berlin by Serge Lutens Les Salons du Palais Royal Shiseido

    A plush, velvety, crimson jammy rose, underscored with metallic-blood like notes that I assume represent the thorns. Unfortunately, I personally don't like the thorny aspect of the fragrance, so it's not for me. But I think it's a great portrayal of the rose with all it's aspects - beautiful, feminine (though definitely wearable by a man - I'd love to smell it on a guy), sensual and dangerous. Oh, and the colour of the juice is sooooo beautiful!

    17th March, 2013

    rating


    Passion Flower by Body Shop

    Well, I'm not sure what passion flower is supposed to smell like, but I'm pretty sure it doesn't smell like this! What I get from this fragrance is grapefruit, light and sparkling and only slightly floral. It's nothing outstanding but it's very pleasant - I enjoy wearing it when I want a break from "perfumey" fragrances but still want to smell pretty. Lovely in the summer

    31st December, 2012

    rating


    L'Ombre dans L'Eau by Diptyque

    The opening and heart of this fragrance is lovely - semi-sweet blackberries with the green of the leaves and stems. However as it dries down there's something herbal/citrus/white musky in it which puts me off. It's a lovely fragrance though, a pretty and sophisticated fruity-floral. It strikes me that it would make a great present for a teenage girl or young women who likes mainstream fruity-florals - a great introduction to the world of niche fragrances

    31st December, 2012

    rating


    Santal Majuscule by Serge Lutens Les Salons du Palais Royal Shiseido

    Imagine the honeyed sandalwood of jeux de peau without the butter, and with thick roses and a hint of jasmine. Lovely!

    01st August, 2012

    rating


    La Chasse Aux Papillons Extrême by L'Artisan Parfumeur

    Tuberose and cut grass - not freshly cut grass, but grass that's been cut for a few days and is turning to hay, with the sun shining on it. There's a sharpness to it which makes me not like it that much, but I do keep coming back to it so something in me must like it!

    03rd July, 2012

    rating


    Batucada by L'Artisan Parfumeur

    Melon melon melon with a slosh of lime and a touch of fresh mint. Pleasant enough, and my sample is definitely brightening up the British (ie rainy) summer, but too sweet for me

    03rd July, 2012

    rating


    Amaranthine by Penhaligon's

    Mmmmmm.... peppery hothouse flowers and greenery drying down to condensed milk and cocao. I love it! It's bears a lot of resemblance to L'Artisan Parfumeur's Poivre Piquant (another Duchafour), but whereas I don't like PP, I like this alot

    01st July, 2012

    rating


    Poivre Piquant by L'Artisan Parfumeur

    An odd one this. At first spray it reminded me of Lutens Jeux de Peau, then it spent most of its time on my wrist smelling a lot like Floris White Rose. Weird. It also smelt quite a bit like Penhaligon's Amaranthine, which considering they're both creations of Bertrand Duchafour probably isn't a coincidence. Soft, sweet, milky and floral, with a touch of pepper - nice if you like it, but not fo me (shame)

    01st July, 2012

    rating


    Ralph Rocks by Ralph Lauren

    I had a sample of this and loved it, very sweet and tropical - mango, apricot, vanilla, white flowers, bleached wood; all in all the smell of summer! However when I looked for it in the shops, couldn't find it - other people obviously didn't like it as much as I did, since it didn't last long before being discontinued. Finally found it this winter, and it's been warming up the cold

    08th February, 2012

    rating


    Flowerbomb by Viktor & Rolf

    I first smelt this when it was released in 2004, loved it but never thought I'd own it because of the price. Over the next six or seven years I would smell it every time I went into a department store that sold it, dreaming. And then last year my brother bought me it (I'm sure you can imagine my happiness). I love the sweet sharpness of it - though it seems to have got sharper and less sweet as time as passed (though it may just be that my tastes have changed)

    08th February, 2012

    rating


    Paul Smith Rose by Paul Smith

    I absolutely love everything about this fragrance. Don't have the know-how to properly describe the notes, but I smell a delicate and sweet rose mixed with fresh green tea. Sometimes I smell notes of peach/tropical fruit (and sometimes I think I'm imagining them!) To me it smells like a summer garden after the rain, delicious!

    08th February, 2012

    Showing 1 to 11 of 11.




Loving perfume on the Internet since 2000