Reviews by benzganesh

    benzganesh's avatar
    benzganesh
    Malaysia Malaysia

    Showing 1 to 30 of 41.
    rating


    Noble Cedar by Chopard

    What a beautiful, masculine scent! the bitter vetiver here s very similar to Creed's Original Vetiver, this does everything right - theres a good hint of vetiver here which mingles beautifully with the silverbirch and american cedar, highly recommended for formal or casual wear, really gives that masculine edge, in the past have been quite turned off by Chopards (Casran in particular) but looks like they are reinventing themselves - the price too, is too reasonable to say no for such a well made, well blended fragrance! give it a shot and wear it on those rainy days, where some american cedar,vetiver and rockrose can create some heavenly magic.

    29th January, 2013

    rating


    Cologne pour le Matin by Maison Francis Kurkdjian

    This is a novelty item - dont waste your money; an EDC in the worst sense - simple synthetic floral-citrus mashup for a lot of money, you can do without that said - if you received it as a gift, i say use it - but who would have such a bad taste to actually gift one? (but its not bad..really..) just not worth the dough..

    24th September, 2012

    rating


    Essential by Lacoste

    Good effort by Lacoste, by far their best i think - i am sure even seasoned noses will agree, clean,bright and cheerful i should look at getting a bottle for casual everyday use.
    Surely a compliment getter, if you are a bit bored with Niche fragrances, i urge you to give this a shot.

    09th September, 2012

    rating


    APOM pour Homme by Maison Francis Kurkdjian

    Sadened, by this after all i loved Lumiere Noire Pour Homme and Absolute Pour Le Soir my MFK - this is quite simply a disaster, orange blossom/flower seems to the only ingridient in perfumery that turns my stomach - and i had a such a bad nausea with his just like bulgari black, after the initial 3 hours or so - it does get better, the cedar crisps the fragrance for a bit and we do get a hint of the MFK signature drydown as featured in absolute pour le soir - however, this radiates back and forth between the nauseating amber-flower combo - i am thankful that i was given 6 samples of APOM when i bought APLS and LNPH from the MFK line, had i bought it it would have straight would have become a toilet spray, i was also given an APOM room spray as well- i just hope it is not disaster like this EDT.

    04th September, 2012

    rating


    Opus VI by Amouage

    In short, If King Faisal in Lawrence of Arabia wore a scent it has to be "Opus VI" - not any other Amouage ..not any other brand or make or composition but "Opus VI" - I was just blown away by this - it has exotic middle eastern non-oud vibe, which i love - an intricate oriental - almost edible but not cloyingly gourmandish it also gives away the vibe that you are probably very rich with oil wells dug a plenty in your native arabia - believe me you can even make up your own country, ALL HAIL the Royal Prince of Opustan.

    26th August, 2012 (Last Edited: 13th September, 2012)

    rating


    Aramis by Aramis

    My dad wore this back in the days, always exudes power, he is a man who rose form nothing to greatness - i always associate this with our "golden years" i am also pleased to report the ARAMIS today as of 2012 is clearly, and for surely - is reformulated - i now get some Balsam which tames down the composition as well as and just a hint of juniper berries! - I am going to get a bottle in a few days, i think i will opt for the "concentrated form" - just incase if i need to gas an enemy's house :)))

    26th August, 2012

    rating


    Cologne pour le Soir by Maison Francis Kurkdjian

    As off-the-beaten track cologne flanker for the "Le Soir" line by MFK i prefer the absolute version (which is an EDP) which goes by the name of "Absolute Pour Le Soir" - The Cologne version is lighter, disappears fast and you have to dig your nose into your skin for any sign of it - this has more honey and less incense and is brighter, its much less animalic as well ,given the choice, i'd go for the darker more animalic EDP, i know this is a cologne and its supposed to worn like a second skin - nevertherless for this kind of scent i think "the edge" is what makes it promising and its missing here.

    23rd August, 2012

    rating


    Oud by Maison Francis Kurkdjian

    I am giving it a thumbs up - but in no sane mind ill dump 300 bucks on this period, unless ofcourse i win the mega lottery, beautiful scent - tao of sense, minimalist beautiful but somehow lacks x factor, its mostly linear - i get lots of oud sawdust (not the oud it self), almond milk lightly peppered - reminds me of the marijuana concoction which is a ritualistical drink in india called "bhang" - in bhangs you can never actually smell or taste the cannabis but its there - same here, its milky-oud-sawdust after the rain - like i said beautiful but not enough - perhaps when i am sick of all the dramatic scents then ill probably retire with this, for its rare beauty perhaps i would understand at the end of my journey...when everything gets just a bit too much but rightnow, i am carnal and i love my absolute pour le soir from mfk!

    22nd August, 2012

    rating


    Homme by Marks and Spencer

    If you havent tried this "cheapie" than you are in for big loss! its really that good and has good silage and longevity for the price, surprisingly smells really off-the-beaten track. i am quite astonished on how this skipped the radar of many who praised Eau De Baux, although the later has more real/fresh ingredients and in a different olfactory group altogether - "Homme" by Marks and Spencer costs USD 30.00 for a 100 ml bottle and stands on its own - i am really a big fan of this now, and will always have a bottle, its a great "date scent", the amber+grapefruit is a winning combination - you do get a little bit of patchouli in the backround the really clean and lean type, i feel no leather really, if its there then its really minimal nevertherless it would help if basenotes updated a picture of this rare find!

    22nd August, 2012

    rating


    Un Jardin Après La Mousson by Hermès

    absoutely love this - was heavily complemented as well - smells of "Kerala" indeed! if you have ever been there spices roasted with coconut infused with melon - dry down could have been better than bordering generic, but i am not complaining - my new find i thought i'd never like this given most of this series leans towards the ladies - but i am rocking this and i love it! perhaps i claiming and marketing its a unisex fragrance, hermes done a good job!

    22nd August, 2012

    rating


    Absolue Pour Le Soir by Maison Francis Kurkdjian

    Stinking juice in a bottle which costs me USD 180 a bottle - given the opportunity, ill go at it again! adventurously beautiful.

    22nd August, 2012

    rating


    Epic Man by Amouage

    This one screams "I am here" - i just cant get over it, superb craftsmanship - its arabesque without giving in too much to the middle eastern vibe, more like oud for the europe, the sandalwood accord is solid and evocative, all in all full bottle worthy "Battle Scent" - Got to love Amouage.

    21st August, 2012

    rating


    Lalique White by Lalique

    What can i say, Love the Tamarind, Pepper and Lemon Leaves which evokes pleasant citrusmash-up done right, but really dislike the underwhelming longevity, and really weak silage - surprisingly though this is beautiful on a hot day and so is on a rainy day, but as i write this i just hope that Lalique strengthens this potion to be a little more stout - currently this formulation would easily pass as a Eau de Cologne than an Eau de Toilette,nevetherless of course this is an "Eau" class of fragrance and its composition and structure is really built around this.

    The dry down though is so sublime you basically have to bury your face in it - i've worn this a few weeks now, it very much has the capacity to be someones signature scent since its easily wearable and has a usual-but-unsual vibe to it.

    I have to wear (12) Sprays of this just to get (5-6) Hours and on the 7th hour mark - the drydown is almost gone..into the oblivion..Nevertheless, its fantastic for what it is - I'd always have this and a bottle of Eau de Cartier around.



    20th August, 2012

    rating


    Sombre Negra by Yosh

    This review is for the 2011 reformulated version :

    Thumbs up!
    Its the smell of the earth! in the light of the nocturne; smokey but rich yet grounded,herbal yet unmedicinal,boozy yet sober, warming but unclosing, the retrograding juxtapositions apart - its quite simply, one of the best/most orignal scent that i have smelled, longevity and sillage is both very good, my only complain is the size; would have been best if this was offered in 100ml than the sole 50ml.

    The offset-note, on the patchouli is just brilliant!

    I hope that YOSH releases, a few flankers so that i may find the excuse to dig into them.

    18th August, 2012 (Last Edited: 03rd September, 2012)

    rating


    Un Jardin Sur Le Toit by Hermès

    nothing noteworthy, jean claude ellena - if they think that this name can sell anything - then they need to reconsider their position in the perfume industry, its not bad - but very forgettable fragrance.

    18th August, 2012

    rating


    Lumière Noire pour Homme by Maison Francis Kurkdjian

    Ill probably never buy another fragrance like this, but will always have a bottle of this!
    Its fresh-warm-just a little sticky, but it doesnt get cloying love the patchouli+rose+cumin, which i really like for this type of scent, well blended by the house of MFK, my next purchase will be Cologne Soir from MFK!

    Puts Voleur de Roses (yucks) and most patchouli+rose combination to shame,except for
    Yosh's Sombre Negra which is just divine.

    18th August, 2012

    rating


    Muschio Bianco / White Moss by Acca Kappa

    Nice, clean "whtite moss" - serene but beautiful ideal "Monday" Cologne for any man -
    very unusual composition in a category that is so easy to over-do, highly recommended!

    30th June, 2012

    rating


    Seduction in Black by Antonio Banderas

    Nothing great, very generic - but not as bad quality as i had initially imagined!
    smells very much alike Armani Code, wearable at least!

    24th June, 2012

    rating


    Mandragore by Annick Goutal

    Very earthy scent, but is not an innovator and certainly no alchemy here as the name suggest, the potential though was there for the makers, but i guess they slacked!
    However, it is very well blended and i see it more for the men than for the ladies,
    exudes class.

    19th June, 2012

    rating


    Eau de Cartier by Cartier

    Lovely, for the refined gentlemen of absolute finesse.

    18th June, 2012

    rating


    Khallab by Ajmal

    I am going to give this is a thumbs based on a number of facts
    1.Yes It's a dirty oud-musk fragrance and hell its fantastic.
    2.Breaks the Safrron-Oud-Rose bar for a bit - smells like theres ambergris somewhere
    somehow, and the rose is nice and light and seem bulgarian.
    3.A really commanding scent without the wholesome arabian vibe, easily wearable in
    the summer heat and in winter, but go easy on the trigger - i could smell this on my t-shirt
    for 5 days! (even after washing)

    At about 60 US Dollars for a potent 30 ml EDP - you really can't go bad.
    An Animalic Beauty done right.

    15th June, 2012

    rating


    Vetyverio by Diptyque

    in tamil we say "addraa sakkai" - beyond good.

    12th June, 2012

    rating


    L'Homme Libre by Yves Saint Laurent

    A Fine Example of What a Flanker Can Become...My expectations were very low when i tried this - i expected it to be very generic - but indeed it is to a certain extent - and in that extent itself this is a benchmark - The "Whiff" of Indonesian Patchouli and Vetiver
    and top note of Bergamot form an "Olfactory Triangle" for the other more casual ingredients to work itself in to the juice - that itself is the magic! undone by anyone else in this territory; its sweet but with a strong masculine undercurrent supported
    by the patchouli and the vetiver.

    I am appreciating this more and more of lately, especially when going back from my expensive niche fragrances - somewhoe "Libre" still seems to stand.

    A good everyday scent when you don't know what to wear, mornings,evenings,
    nights - it'll work across the board.

    I'd say nearest contenders are
    Coney Island MORE SWEET BUT COMPLEX (Top Note), Dior Homme Sport MORE FRESH (Top-Mid)but L'Homme Libre Seems to be "Most Masculine" of the Lot, unfortunately
    though it is also the weaker of this lot in terms of staying power.

    As for Yves Saint Laurent
    No disrespect, but they shouldn't have used a boyish dancer as a face for this fragrance! Someone like Eric Bana would have carried this so well.

    Set yourself free "L'Homme Libre"

    12th June, 2012

    rating


    Forest Rain by Kiehl's

    Not good, certainly not great - but you get what you pay for, longevity and silage is poor - but the scent with its animalic musk coupled with vetiver made me buy this - quite the compliment getter, well blended.

    12th June, 2012

    rating


    Vetyver by L'Occitane

    I tried this together with Diptyque's Vetiverio - i must say this creation stood on its own being a budget/lifestyle blend - spices from the french provence is infused really nicely with vetiver, its not too overpowering - fresh with a light amber accord, probably my pick from the L'occitane line over Eau de Baux and L'occitane Homme.

    25th May, 2012 (Last Edited: 10th June, 2012)

    rating


    Jeanne Lanvin by Lanvin

    I vouch for this incplace of PRADA Candy - which does not last and does not have depth.
    I am getting this for my girlfriend - smells delicious, and does not smell cheap, the raspberry note here is very nicely infused with spice, its also very clean and less gourmand more on the fresher side - would recommend this for spring or autumn.

    25th May, 2012

    rating


    Coney Island by Bond No. 9

    I smelled my first Bond No.9 - OH MY GOODNESS!! First i thought it smelled of rotten eggs..and moved away from the counter fast - the sales assistant kind of over-sprayed this stuff on me, but after 30 mins - this is just freaking unbelievable!!!! very good life on this one last at least 8 hours - superb dry down, pretty melony and sweet gourmandish but not the kind that gives you an headache, the dry down smells expensive not cheap, the citrus and melon smells real, not synthetic - yes it was just a tad weird when i first sprayed it, but hell yeah i am gonna rock this, this scent makes me happy, confident, unique...the longer its on my skin, its morphing into something so beautiful that is unusual and unique, i also get some incense in the middle which is just fascinating! Rock it baby hell yeah!

    24th May, 2012

    rating


    Armani Eau Pour Homme by Giorgio Armani

    Simple, Clean and Elegant - it really grows on you just when you think its another retired movie star type..it gets back into modernity with such ease, my most used bottle - total count - i had used 12 bottles of this! + 1 after shave thats 13 in total, bright opening but beautiful dry down, an ethereal classic.

    22nd May, 2012 (Last Edited: 13th September, 2012)

    rating


    Jaïpur Homme by Boucheron

    An Olfactory Coronation befitting a Young King - Perfect both in blend and in ingridients.
    Luxuriously evocative masterpiece which exudes pure class, Annick Menardo's best work till date.

    22nd May, 2012 (Last Edited: 10th June, 2012)

    rating


    Casran by Chopard

    The worst perfume, i have ever used or purchased, smells like a lot of amber with coconut - more for the ladies i would say, i sprayed the remainder in an area with no human movement.

    22nd May, 2012 (Last Edited: 10th June, 2012)

    Showing 1 to 30 of 41.




Loving perfume on the Internet since 2000