Perfume Reviews

Reviews by Possum-Pie

Advertisement
Total Reviews: 533

Drifter by True Religion

Smells nice and safe. Can't complain about it other than it is generic smelling.
14th August, 2017

B by Marie Saint Pierre

Too gooey syrup and floral. If you want gourmand, do coffee, maple, vanilla, cinnamon, and leave out the forals
14th August, 2017

Herb Man by Dame Perfumery

Thumbs up for uniqueness. Smells like cucumbers. There are greens lush, watery. Not my style, but unique
14th August, 2017
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Leather Man by Dame Perfumery

Barely a thumbs up. Doesn't smell bad, just doesn't smell leathery. Ok, leather is suggested, under the green floral. Not sure why all of the neutrals. Thousands of boring bland generic citrus frags out there on Macy's/Sapora's shelves get thumbs up. Frags that smell IDENTICALLY SAFE. I give it a slight thumbs up b/c it smells unique.
14th August, 2017

Trussardi Inside Man by Trussardi

I'm giving it a thumbs up b/c no "Safe" fragrance can smell bad...Trouble is it smells like the most generic fragrance picked up at random from a Macy's men's counter. close your eyes pick a random men's frag, and it smells like this. Top: citrus, Middle: Linalool Geraniol, Base: Wood.
GENERIC!
14th August, 2017

Bluebell by Penhaligon's

Smelling of Hyacinths and Lilly of the Valley, Bluebells is simple yet rich in beauty. There is a green note galbanum is noticeable, a worthy scent worn by Princess Diana among other fragrances Only reason it isn't a 5 stars is like all Penhaligon's it is fleeting and stays close to the skin Longevity is only fair.
12th August, 2017

Arpège by Lanvin

A wonderful aldehydic blend of lily of the valley, styrax, ylang ylang, and jasmine. This doesn't come across as too floral, but a complex blend that smells formal and classical. In the same vein as Jicky and Shalimar, This has held it's age well and hasn't collapsed under they over-regulated reformulations.
10th August, 2017

Youth Dew by Estée Lauder

Not quite as good as Shalimar or My Sin, the woody makes it a bit masculine. Still overall an enjoyable fragrance. The color should warn you that it will be strong. I dislike the peach top note, but luckily it is gone fairly quickly. There is a slight fecal note that makes it a rich deep complex fragrance. A classic, but not quite on par with Shalimar
09th August, 2017

Mon Peche / My Sin by Long Lost Perfume

A rich deep complex aldehydic fragrance. Lilac, Ylang Ylang, civet, an incredibly perfect fragrance.
09th August, 2017

Jolie Madame by Pierre Balmain

Too much sweet, waxy, floral. There is a candy sweet tarts note that clashes with the florals. Not pleasant at all.
09th August, 2017

Absolue Pour Le Soir by Maison Francis Kurkdjian

As others have said, this fragrance is...challenging. The first blast out of the bottle is spice and dried urine. Not fresh urine, which smells straw-like, but the dried urine found in the crevices around a toilet. I love animalics, but this smell is uber-skanky. I think that it is a combination of the honey (which in a strange way has urine notes), cumin, and benzoin. I can't shake it. Thankfully, within 5 minutes, the urine settles down to a supporting role rather than the solo act. Now Ylang Ylang and sandalwood show up, and the overall fragrance is pleasant and unique.
05th August, 2017

Bracken Man by Amouage

Opens with a blast of nutmeg, cinnamon, and citrus. Reminds me of the hot winter drink "Wassail" Apple cider, nutmeg, cinnamon, orange juice, ginger, and lemon juice. Yes, this is the fragrance equivalent. Dry-down get a bit dirty with Patchouli and Sandalwood. A bit too much nutmeg for me.
31st July, 2017

Scent by Costume National

A light airy almost invisible fragrance. Light amber, light sweetness, Poor projection, fair longevity, Not impressed at all.
31st July, 2017
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

mb03 by Biehl Parfumkunstwerke

A similar scent to Avignon, it is primarily a Frankincense fragrance. I LOVE frankincense, but this is very linear. I get no smoke or change in smell from first spritz through dry-down. I would buy a bottle if I could find one for under $100, BUT it isn't unique enough to pay retail.
29th July, 2017

Mouchoir de Monsieur by Guerlain

I'm giving it a thumbs up for the staying power, 100+ years has to count for something. I was disappointed at first, I was looking forward to civet, and there was very little. People who dislike it mention the civet but this is nothing compared to some niche. It opens with waxy plastic and verbena. I've smelled this wax scent before, usually in frags with "amber" accords. Dry-down turns Jicky-like, with an amber/civet/musk scent. Settles down after 1/2hr into a nicer fragrance than the opening was. I get a similarity to Hugo Boss number 1 dry-down, only more animalic.
27th July, 2017 (last edited: 28th July, 2017)

Tabacco Toscano by Santa Maria Novella

A very nice take on the tobacco note. Opens with a bright sweet unsmoked tobacco and something I first thought was cedar, but perhaps is birch. This is not sharp, but a soft fluffy scent. It never gets too sweet and as another reviewer noted, there is a 'new rubber' note hidden deep inside and never quite jumping out. Very nicely done.
27th July, 2017

Spanish Leather by Geo F Trumper

This is a nice, clean, well-behaved take on leather. NOT animalic or dirty at all, Spanish Leather goes on with a blast of lavender and soap, with a well worn piece of dry leather thrown in for good measure. This is a suit and tie fragrance, appropriate for any formal or semi-formal event. It behaves itself, a little too much b/c despite being a leather, it sits close to the skin. Projection is only fair, but the scent is very well done.
27th July, 2017

Fendi Uomo by Fendi

A nice barbershop frag which is a vast improvement over the other Fendi offerings that I've smelled. Lavender and leather, carnation and musk. This balances clean and animalic leather with more clean than animalic. Dry-down to leather and lavender, this fragrance is not wildly unique, but a good example of the style. Why they would discontinue this and keep producing Fendi pour Homme Acqua is beyond my understanding.
27th July, 2017

X for Men by Clive Christian

X gets a thumbs up but there is nothing here that warrants the price. I like the cinnamon cardamom and cedar combination, but something is missing. Like a song with all bass notes, this is missing a treble chord. Something like orange oil or even bergamot would balance this better. Nice fragrance but at $400/bottle, it falls short. Dry-down is MUCH nicer, after 15 min. the cedar comes out more, giving some "treble notes" to the otherwise bass note frag.
UPDATE:
Projection/Sillage is horrible. I spritzed 3, couldn't smell unless I lifted my collar. Spritzed 2 more, Now I catch thin whisps of it. My wife had to bury her nose in my neck to smell. Even at a discount price of $250/50mls, I'd go through a bottle in a week trying to get some projection. Not worth the price.
26th July, 2017 (last edited: 31st July, 2017)

Red for Men by Giorgio Beverly Hills

This is Red...and it really smells "red". A Chypre with heavy citrus notes, this has a warm powdery undertone. There is no labdanum listed, but it smells like there is some in the fragrance. Considering it is under $40 it is a great deal.
26th July, 2017

Ambre Canelle by Creed

This has a horrific medicinal opening, but it only lasts one minute. Drying down brings an exquisite barbershop fragrance, mixed with soap. This is actually a surprisingly original take on the men's scents of the 40s-50s. With Creed's history of manipulating their history to meet their needs, this supposedly was created in the late 40s yet Creed didn't start selling frags until the 70s. Well done, Creed!
26th July, 2017

Signature Collection : Lux by Mona di Orio

This fragrance opens with a sharp lemon note that quickly morphs into a lemon meringue. Lux is a unit of measure of light. This is a light fragrance for sure. After 15 min. I'm still waiting for the middle/base notes. The lemon and vanilla are all I'm detecting...Mona has some real masterpieces before she died, unfortunately this isn't one of them.
UPDATE: Dry-down has morphed into a Laudanum and musk aldehyde that is less pleasant than the lemon meringue.
26th July, 2017

Égoïste / L'Égoïste by Chanel

a nice Effervescent citrus that quickly takes on a vanilla note without being sweet. Coriander is a subtle spice, but I can smell it in this fragrance. A bit of a more spicy dry-down somehow I smell a peachy vanilla note
26th July, 2017

Mediterranean by Elizabeth Arden

Opens with a nice fruity floral, dry-down looses all fruit notes and becomes a white floral. Nice fragrance, but nothing stands out as unique after first spritz...
26th July, 2017

Mankind Hero by Kenneth Cole

Dry-down is too powdery for my liking. Opens with a boring citrus/lavender like a thousand other fragrances. Dries down to a dry powdery generic scent.
26th July, 2017

White Diamonds by Elizabeth Taylor

One of the most iconic fragrances of the late 20th century. This starts with a strong aldehydic opening, then dries down to floral with a tangy note. Classy without becoming an "Old lady"
26th July, 2017

Legend Spirit by Montblanc

This is a norlimbinol fragrance. Sharpness and wood. Marine notes? I guess a few in the background. More of a wood fragrance.
26th July, 2017

Opium by Yves Saint Laurent

A very "white" fragrance. When I think of "Opium" I think of dark drug dens in old England, full of smoke. This is the opposite. White flowers amber and myrrh. A bit of a anticlimax after all of the hype over the years.
26th July, 2017

Coco Noir by Chanel

This is Mademoiselle, with a darker side. More spices, less sharpness, dry-down looses the darkness and becomes a brighter frag.
26th July, 2017

Coco Mademoiselle by Chanel

A fresh light aldehydic. Warm from the vanilla, green from the vetiver, it smells expensive. Great projection and Sillage. I love the sharp note that shows up on dry-down
22nd July, 2017 (last edited: 26th July, 2017)