Perfume Reviews

Reviews by Possum-Pie

Advertisement
Total Reviews: 431

Bandit by Robert Piguet

A classic. Reminds me of 1970s musk perfumes. Not so much leather as musk, white floral, and a sharp astringent maybe amber. Smells like a bit of cumin in the top note, but it disappears quickly. Definately a vintage style musk. First made in 1944, It is of the same genera as Jicky. Definately a feminine fragrance.
12th June, 2017

Eau de Cologne by Chanel

Such a nice fresh citrus! This opens with a definite mandarin orange note. Not, just orange, not stereotypical but a deep mandarin. Very well made and great for summer wear. There is a depth to this not typical of straight citrus, possibly b/c of the neroli combining with mandarin. Reminds me a bit of Oranges and Lemons say the bells of St Clement's by Heeley
12th June, 2017

Cologne Sologne by Nicolaï

This is a great light fragrance perfect for Summertime. There is a soap note similar to Creed Himalaya. It differs from Creed in that there is more citrus. It reminds me of a Penhaligon's - perhaps Blenheim Bouquet.
12th June, 2017
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Cologne à l'Italienne by Institut Tres Bien

This opens with a lush green note, similar to "Wall Street" by Bond no 9, followed by a complex citrus of petitgrain, bergamot and orange blossom. The green stays on, I'm not sure what note it is. A nice light fragrance for summer...the temps are 90 degree+ the next couple of days, and this will be a perfect scent to wear.
12th June, 2017

Muscs Koublaï Khän by Serge Lutens

This musk is of the variety that most people think of as musk. It is NOT white musk which smells clean like soap, but skanky musk like women wore in the 70s. Animalic and a bit of wax like crayons smell. Slight floral makes an appearance. Not my style, Reminds me of the 70s I smelled this odor every Sunday when older women sprayed fragrance to go to church or out to eat. Ironically it is a feminine fragrance more so than Masculine.
12th June, 2017

Silver Bond / Andy Warhol Silver Factory by Bond No. 9

One of the better Bn9 fragrances. Incense and floral. A nice combination. Too bad they charge so much for it, changed the bottle, and have horrible customer service. I might have bought a bottle.
12th June, 2017

Saddle Warmer by Smell Bent

It starts with a top note of plastic cement, followed quickly by artificial raucously loud peaches. (the glue is sticking around...) "Hay" makes an appearance, but runs quickly away being chased by the gluey peaches. Luckily longevity and sillage are poor at any distance, but after a scrubbing of my forearm, the glue stuck around. I could give points for bottle/label, but not even close...sorry
08th June, 2017

Otis & Me by Jazmin Saraï

A rather unique combination of hot and cold, the opening is a blast of black pepper and balsam. The edginess is reduced by a hint of cardamom. This isn't a floral, and the Turkish rose hides in the background. It dries down to a spicy balsam that smells less like black pepper. Well done.
04th June, 2017

Eau de Réglisse by Caron

Lemon Verbena. The note reminds me of the TV show "Little House on the Prairie" where Laura always loved her teacher's perfume b/c she smelled of Lemon Verbena.
This offering has a wonderful Lemon opening, with a touch of gourmand from the vanilla. Not enough to be cloying, but a nice balance. I didn't get much licorice, or what was there quickly left. I'd say this was a good feminine fragrance for spring/summer.
04th June, 2017

Matin à Central Park by FL Parfums

A cacophony of dissonant notes with a chemical overtone. Ironic, since the perfumer prides himself on natural only palette use.
I think I detect sandalwood, but the florals and greens get mixed up in the chemical note.
04th June, 2017

Chatoyant by Rouge Bunny Rouge

This fragrance palette seems to lean to the 10-14 year old girl audience. Florals are light, gourmands are sweet, I don't think a businesswoman going into a board meeting could pull this off, but a teen at a slumber party could. Smells nice actually, but definitely for kids.
04th June, 2017

White Tea by Ebba

This is a VERY linear, one note fragrance, but it does smell fresh, clean, and nice. I bit too airy for me, it has a bit of floral quality to the tea note. It leans to the feminine side, although it could be worn by a man in the summer.
04th June, 2017

Peau D'Un Homme by FL Parfums

Very simple and somewhat generic. Mostly vetiver and sandalwood. Nothing to balance it There is a hint of cedar after the initial blast of sandalwood that adds a bit of sharpness. It isn't a bad fragrance, just nothing special. The nose is a musician who delved into the world of fragrance. Of the "Naturals are best" camp, it seems that he won't use aroma chemicals. While this sounds noble, it is much more difficult to produce something unique, safe to wear, and have longevity if one limits one's palette to only naturals.
04th June, 2017
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Skulls & Roses for Him by Ed Hardy [Christian Audigier]

A very bland uninspired cookie cutter fragrance. Citrus top, French Lavender middle, musk base. How more bland can you get?
04th June, 2017

Tattoo pour Homme by Michel Germain

Tobacco and tonka with a hint of amber. Runs right up to the line of gourmand without crossing over. Not great, but wearable.
04th June, 2017

Thirty-three by Ex Idolo

I agree with many of the other reviewers. This is reminiscent of Montale Dark Aoud. It has a more Inky Aoud smell than Dark Aoud, and a less quality rose. Great projection, great longevity.
04th June, 2017

Armani Eau de Nuit Oud by Giorgio Armani

Light sweet mixture of cardamom and tonka. I smell no oud, natural or otherwise. Forgettable and generic
04th June, 2017

Orange Star by Tauer

There was a candy when I was a boy...Sweet Tarts. If you opened a pack, dumped it in a bottle of vodka, let them dissolve, and put a handful of cloves in also, you would have Orange Star. Exact same smell.
04th June, 2017

Orlando by Jardins D'Ecrivains

I like ginger, clove, and balsam, but I'm not sure how they did it...this doesn't smell like any of them. It isn't bad, just strange
04th June, 2017

La Fin du Monde by Etat Libre d'Orange

In Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, people are able to time warp to the "Restaurant at the End of the Universe" and enjoy a nice creme brulee or carrot cake and watch the Universe die. I guess that is what the nose who created this was thinking. It smells like a bakery, with carrot cake, custards, and a small vase of flowers on the counter. End of the world? I always thought there would be more screaming, crying, and smoke...
04th June, 2017

Infusion de Vétiver by Prada

It's not listed, but I swear there is some cumin in there. It opens with Pepper, Tarragon, and this cumin smell. Not much ginger, not much vetiver. Mid notes are more green, the vetiver and some ginger. A skin scent
04th June, 2017

Séxual Sugar Daddy by Michel Germain

Loses 1 star right off the bat for the stupid name. Sounds like something catering to the over-stimulated adolescent, and it smells like a teenage scent. Like Versace Pour Homme with syrup poured in, it would be a hit with giggling teens.
04th June, 2017

Aqua Allegoria Anisia Bella by Guerlain

A complex fragrance, the licorice/star anise is wrapped in basil and other greenery to give a cool, green theme. The cedar give a coolness that keeps this from being gourmand. I don't care for it, but I appreciate the great quality.
04th June, 2017

Tous Man by Tous

Not bad, but not great either. Goes on fresh and clean, light and airy like rice cakes. Lots of air, not much else. Fruity powder, it smells like it should have "sport" somewhere in the name.
04th June, 2017

Moonlight in Heaven by By Kilian

A sweet fruity offering that seems more suited to women and more suited to winter wear. Overall a nice gourmand
03rd June, 2017

Acte 2 by Escada

The opening note has isopropyl alcohol accord. It stings the nose, no wonder it was discontinued.
03rd June, 2017

Patchouli by Molinard

I like patchouli, but this is the dirtiest, greenest patchouli that I have ever smelled. Too much patchouli and very little else.
03rd June, 2017

Caligna by L'Artisan Parfumeur

I love fig notes, leaf and fruit, but this combines with pine needles that keeps reminding me of pickles. Dry-down to pickles and fig.
03rd June, 2017

Absynthe for Him by Christian Lacroix

This has a light gourmand quality. There is something about this that is pleasant and inviting. Peach and Cardamom blend
03rd June, 2017

The Good Earth by Atelier de Geste

A green crisp fragrance that has a bit of soap (musk?) I've reviewed this without any note pyramid and without seeing any other reviews. Opoponax/myrrh dominates to the point of not smelling good overall.
03rd June, 2017