Perfume Reviews

Reviews by sjg3839

Advertisement
Total Reviews: 707

Dark Horse by Dame Perfumery

Citrus, spicey, woody, green and gourmand like. Very unique fragrance. I think this house will go places. Nice fragrances for very reasonable prices Haven't smelled a fragrance this unique since Rykiel Man. 7.5/10
16th April, 2017

Leather Man by Dame Perfumery

Got more of a synthetic gardenia note and sandalwood vibe with this one. Should have been called Floral Leather. Had to wait for the minutes to get any synthetic leather out of this. This stil, smells OK though. Just doesn't smell like the name. 6.5/10
16th April, 2017

Soliflore Lily of the Valley by Dame Perfumery

Not a fan of this one. A dark soapy lily of the valley. Has a light tar vibe or burned note going on with this one. Not a bad scent, but it's just not my style. 6.5/10
16th April, 2017
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Mandarin, Neroli & Cedar by Dame Perfumery

Very nice neroli fragrance. If you are a fan of Neroli Portofino, this will be welcomed with open arms. The orange blossom and lily of the valley really stand out in this. Unisex IMO, but the ladies will appreciate this a little more.7/10
16th April, 2017

Citrus Man by Dame Perfumery

Nice grapefruit with a touch of lime with a ticket of cedar and musk.Fresh and clean fragrance that would be ideal for warmer weather. Really starting to like this house. 7/10
16th April, 2017

New Musk Man by Dame Perfumery

First of all, I want to thank Buysblind for giving me the sample which introduced me to this gem. Very clean and fresh smelling. I noticed musk is the last note in the pyramid, and it's definitely the last when you smell this fragrance. At one point you get a citrus vibe then you get a fresh vibe. Very safe IMO. Actually, I'm going to purchase a bottle right now. :-) 8/10
11th April, 2017

Florentine Iris by Ermenegildo Zegna

The main player in this is violet. The iris seems to be a background note which makes this a clean and safe scent for Men and women. There is a jasmine note in this which does the fragrance justice without being too feminine for Men. 7/10

09th April, 2017

Baraonda by Nasomatto

A boozy concoction with tonka and vanilla added make for one nice fragrance. A slightly burned Tonka or caramel is in there. Either I'm going crazy, or there is a pine needle note in this also. Very nice. A boozy fragrance lovers gem. Projection and longevity are above average. Pardon is still top dog in my book.
02nd April, 2017 (last edited: 03rd April, 2017)

Baccarat Rouge 540 by Maison Francis Kurkdjian

Beauty is in the eye of the Beholder. Personally, this one is not for me. A little too sweet and feminine for my taste. On the other hand I can see why folks would appreciate 540.

Quality notes, just not blended correctly IMO. MFK could have done without the orange note. It doesn't fit in with the other notes.
29th March, 2017

Aqua Vitae by Maison Francis Kurkdjian

Starts out with a citrus (lemon) kick with a metallic side kick. Quickly turns into a lightly woody fragrance. A summer gem. I will be getting a bottle of this soon.7.5/10
29th March, 2017

Aqua Universalis by Maison Francis Kurkdjian

The first words that came to mind when sampling AU was "Clean and Fresh". I usually don't care for fragrances with a strong Lily of the Valley note, but this one is on point. The longevity is crazy on my skin with this one (12 hours easy). As much as I like this as a Summer gem, it's a winner in cooler weather as well.

The citrus and orange notes are definitely a bonus, with just a touch of white musk. 8/10
28th March, 2017

BG Exclusive 754 Eau de Parfum by Maison Francis Kurkdjian

Got a sample at Bergdorf Goodman today. I got some jasmine with a bit of citrus and musk. Seems like a touch of orange blossom is in this also. Not bad, but just not my style. Leans more towards the feminine side.
28th March, 2017

Intoxicated by By Kilian

Nice coffee with a slight green background followed with a spicy accord. Slightly powdery. Not too much though. Reminds me a lot of Pure Malt with a spice kick. FBW IMO. 8/10
28th March, 2017
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Aqua Celestia by Maison Francis Kurkdjian

Nice citrus with a touch of mint. Simple, without a lot of notes make for a summer gem. 7.5/10
28th March, 2017

Amber Sky by Ex Nihilo

A beautiful raspberry, jasmine and synthetic ambergris note followed by a nice bergamot note. I must admit, this is great. The drawback is the price.8/10
28th March, 2017

Grand Soir by Maison Francis Kurkdjian

Smooth and sexy, this will turn heads without the wearer realizing it. Not that loud amber that is out these days. Seems like all the notes in this gem are smooth. None of the notes outshine each other in this one. Another hit from MFK. 8/10
27th March, 2017

Antaeus by Chanel

Slightly soapy and leathery upon initial spray. Has a rough and smooth side, which goes to show why Antaeus has been liked for years. A masculine fragrance indeed that has a light woody drydown. 7/10
06th March, 2017

Gucci Oud by Gucci

Synthetic woods with a rose and saffron background. In the vein of Polo Supreme Oud. Decent, but they could have done better. 7.5/10
05th March, 2017 (last edited: 12th March, 2017)

Join The Club : More Than Words by Xerjoff

Very nice woods and rose notes make for one spectacular journey in olfactory hyperspace. This stuff is strong and will be noticed. Linear in a good way and a little goes a long way with this gem.
05th March, 2017

Ameer Al Oudh by Lattafa

A mild Oud with cinnamon and cedar notes that is a gem for the price. Nothing skanky, but it does start off with a slight medicinal note. That medicinal vibe last for about 10 minutes or so until the wood kicks in. Great for the fall and winter. 8/10
17th February, 2017

Barista by Legendary Fragrances

Now this is coffee! One of the best (if not the best) coffee fragrance I ever smelled. Reminds me of flavored coffee from Dunkin Donuts or Wawa. Has a coffee grind vibe in there. A lot of folks like coffee fragrances with a lot of other notes that seem to take away the coffee effect. That won't happen with this coffee gem. More suited for cooler days and evenings IMO. 8/10
13th February, 2017

Polo Red Extreme by Ralph Lauren

I was a fan of the Intense version. I'm really digging this Extreme version as well. I got a nice mandarin vibe with a dose of coffee which is slightly synthetic in a good way. I think I will get a bottle of this. Will probably wait until the price goes down.
10th February, 2017

Club de Nuit Intense for Men by Armaf

Probably the best Aventus clone in the business.
18th January, 2017

Club de Nuit Intense by Armaf

Smells just like Noir de Noir by Tom Ford. The only difference is the drydown. I don't get that smooth chocolate and vanilla drydown. A damn good clone though.
18th January, 2017

Arpège pour Homme by Lanvin

Sweet and slightly spiced vanilla. Reminds me of Michael Jordan Legend and little bit. Not bad, just a little too sweet for me.
15th January, 2017

African Leather by Memo

This one is slightly sweeter than Irish leather. Reminds me of a combination of light leather mixed with Allure Homme for some reason. Be careful with the sprays on these Memo leathers. Pretty beastly.
05th January, 2017 (last edited: 17th January, 2017)

No. 22 by Chanel

The jasmine was the first thing that I noticed with this one. Feminine, but can be pulled off by a confident fellow. A nice dose of ylang-ylang and rose is in this also. Slightly soapy and lasts all day. Pretty good.
05th January, 2017

Russian Leather by Memo

Definitely a green leather that is more unisex IMO. Kind of boring but pretty safe.
05th January, 2017

Irish Leather by Memo

A smokey berry leather that is pretty good. Longevity is a beast. Perfect for the late fall through winter. Might invest in a bottle of this one.
05th January, 2017

Halston 1-12 by Halston

This has a slight retro vibe, but warranted for today's taste. Green, lemon and pine is the first thing that came to mind on the initial spray. There's much more that kicks in through the mid-notes and drydown though. The vanilla and amber creep up quickly. I see why this has been around for this long. Non-offensive and all around masculine fragrance.
27th December, 2016