Reviews by Mick_Trick

    Mick_Trick's avatar
    Mick_Trick
    Ireland Ireland

    Showing 1 to 29 of 29.
    rating


    Lampblack by Bruno Fazzolarri

    Lampblack fulfils it's promise of light vs. dark in some style, it feels like a dark rubbery mutant solid heart surrounded by kaleidoscopic orbiting gasses and sparkling motes of light. As deadidol mentions it definitely has a CdG synthetic feel, but with some meat added to the bones, the vetiver and opening citric notes adding a natural comfort that only seems to further highlight the alien futuretech synths. The dark side also hides some delightful associations and surprises (more of that later). What's remarkable is the fact that the sparkling thin gassy grapefruit accord maintains itself to the close, maintaining the light vs dark dance for the full duration, I've no idea what synthetic molecule achieves this but it works wonderfully here, it reminds me a little of nu_be Sulphur in this respect but applied in an even more successful way. CdG lovers I would be awfully surprised if you didn't wet yourself over this.

    Lampblack opens with a lifelike citrus grapefruit, with a little sparkle. Shortly after an accurate ink note joins and these two sides define the opening stage. The transition to the heart seems to strip back the grapefruit to a thinner more persistent synthy note, and the ink note morphs slightly, now exhibiting a light rubbery facet. The combination can come off a little sweaty, not a cumin BO sweat, but more the slightly sharp smell of sweat breaking through an anti-perspirant. There is also a de-rooted vetiver (ala VE) and some kind of musk that seems to add a compliant solidity to the heart underneath the swirling mid to high notes, this identifies a little like toasted circuit board lurking around. As Lampblack moves to the drydown the earlier accords remain in an attenuated state and a plumy berried note is added. The effect of this is to add a very slight nauseousness on the periphery that reminds me of the ghostlike form of cyborg wet dog. From there it looses the berry notes first, then the darkest rubber and fades to a close with grey vetiver and the radiant grapefruit synth sparkle. I know I've mentioned some odd concepts above but it's what I'm feeling, but in no way does it come across in a nasty or skanky way, it's more of a artificial digital fascimile of an organic impression. It isn't a beast in strength or projection, but seems to have a pronounced radiance much in the spirit of Timbuktu, and longevity seems good at 8-10 hours.

    4.5/5

    19 May, 2014

    rating


    Santal 33 by Le Labo

    This pushed all the right buttons. A brief cypriol gust knocks you off balance on opening before falling back to a lactonic green accord slowly transitioning into a lush fruity sandalwood during the heart (there is almost a feeling of honeyed apricots, the colour and texture if not aroma). It's got a wonderful balance between the sweetness, creaminess and astringent woody side, rich but never too much.

    An interpretation of sandalwood with modern ingredients having an emphasis on boosting the golden bright aspects of the natural oil. Perfect.

    24 March, 2014

    rating


    Labdanum 18 / Ciste 18 by Le Labo

    Shares a lot of facets with Ambre 114 to my nose, pleasing but not too complex powdery slightly spiced amber, perhaps could have benefited from a little edge. As the drydown sets in I get a bit of vanillic almost almondy side which is for me a bit of a turn off, I'm not really getting much of the promised animalics either. I guess I'd call it good-meh, good quality and certainly nice if you like your ambers to play politely, but I personally prefer mine with a little more bite, ala Ambre Absolute, Opus VI et al.

    23 March, 2014

    rating


    Eva Kant by O'Driù

    Eva the perfume all hinges on the juxtaposition of a bitter spiciness layered over a soft creamy base. The former composed of lemongrass, bitter grapefruit oil from the skin of the fruit with a soapyness from the cardamom, I guess the listed lavender plays in this accord by didn't feel too prominent. This all is feels volatile and expansive. The second side is driven by the resins and vanilla, it sits closer and denser, sweet, slightly powdery and creamy.

    Over Eva's progression the focus shifts from the bitter side to the soft base. But things never feel entirely harmonious, their is an interesting interplay between the two at all times almost a combination of avant and classical. If we're talking music think Walk This Way by Run DMC and Aerosmith. Very late drydown turns mostly to vanilla. Projection is moderate/good and longevity +8 hours. After a few wears now I'm liking this very much.

    16 January, 2014

    rating


    Bel Ami Vetiver by Hermès

    One word can make such a difference...

    Been sampling this side by side with Bel Ami (current) they are poles apart. Where BA is soft tan leather with sparkling citrus and cinnamon/cumin spices, BAV is all about, bitter citrus (at opening) with dark musky smokey leather paired with a dominant lush rootsy vetiver. As the fragrance progresses towards drydown things soften up you are left with a gentler smokey vetiver. Projection/longevity seem around par with BA and things get fairly quiet by drydown.

    I was ready for this to be a disappointment, but it's actually bloody nice, and deserved is own name rather than have flanker status. JCE did well, it's got whole lot more attitude than you might expect (one may even say butch at least for the opening and heart) and has a vintish feel that makes it instantly comfortable. My admittedly poor nose likes it alot. Should you enjoy leather/vetiver, by all means check this out.

    04 January, 2014

    rating


    Fate Man by Amouage

    Fate Man opens with a triple front of absinthe, ginger and cumin accords, these are all present and may be perceived in the singular but come also come together in a gourmand manner to give an impression of chewy cinnamon pastries or gingerbread. The heart of the fragrance gets drier and a little more focused on the dark and spicy copahu balm and cumin (the cumin is not at all sweaty, and more gourmand in its application) After around 6 hours when Fate comes back as a skin scent, singular notes seem to waft up in isolation, whether they be copahu, liquorice, or tobacco and taif rose, this goes on for an hour or two, and is a very nice experience. The immortelle is more prominent during drydown and is not too syrupy, but is applied with a little stewed/dried fruit balance and a beautiful creamy sandalwood backbone, similar to that of Opus VI. The liquorice also is more evident during drydown, but still faint.

    Silage is moderate and after about 6 hours Fate pulls back to be a skin scent, although longevity is very good and the Fate is still sniffable after 12+ hours.

    It is complex, and engaging, yet very well behaved and wearable in most situations. I love Fate Man, it’s a really satisfying wear, and one that seems to get better with time. Great stuff…

    10th December, 2013

    rating


    Les Déserts d'Orient - Rose Nacrée du Desert by Guerlain

    Got to say I'm really enjoying the lush syrupy rose, saffron and oud. The opening and heart are rich for sure, but I don't find the sweetness gets to cloying levels. The drydown is transformative where everything losses density and dries off as a musty patch base dominates and fades towards the close.

    Colourwise up front is all velvet burgundy with black and green streaks intensifying during the drydown. Definitely a fragrance of two dominant and diverse stages. Longevity perfectly acceptable, for me at least. All in all, good stuff, rich, decadent but with a slightly macabre ending, and all the better for it IMO.

    19 November, 2013

    rating


    Oud for Love by Different Company

    Slightly green for a few seconds at opening, quickly developing into a dry and sweet spiced whole complimented by subtle florals, beautifully blended with oud in a way where the balance of oud and other elements is so fine you can feel every note individually yet simultaneously all falls into the most enchanting symphony. The oud and spiced base becoming more prominent throughout the fragrances progression through the heart, at drydown the oud fades and sweet spices remain as a rootsy vetiver adds interest from late drydown to the close.

    What's not to like? BD's trick of presenting density in a transparent way allows what are very rich components never to overwhelm. Perhaps not as intellectually gripping as Oud Shamash, but engaging and satisfying nonetheless. A gorgeous wear.

    12 November, 2013

    rating


    Casamorati 1888 Fiero by Xerjoff

    Fiero opens with a breathtaking tart citrus infused with a massive explosion of aromatic tarragon and herbs. Sweet and tangy blood orange makes a brief appearance padding out the herbal heart. Fiero does powerhouse perfectly, during the opening and heart it's loud, even brash, with everything turned up to eleven. Later soft slightly ashy woods and coumarin support the drydown like a pillow, comforting and warming after the bracing opening, it's a good place to be. Great longevity and massive projection until the drydown where it settles back somewhat.

    Fiero conjures a Mediterranean bergamot grove at dusk with herbal aromas arriving on a balmy breeze from the day's sun drenched wild bush hillside. It's a beautiful reference piece of the genre, reminding me a little of a denser, more luxurious and better resolved Bois de Portugal, and also sharing some of the citrus/spicy facets of Bigarade Concentre, but where BG is yellows and oranges, Fiero is verdant greens throughout. Great stuff.

    08 November, 2013

    rating


    Chambre Noire by Olfactive Studio

    An interesting, solid scent, nothing too special.

    Opens with a slightly odd watery leathery note, soon joined by a dry slightly musty sandalwood accord. I’m not too taken with the top of CN, however at drydown it develops a warming incense (with a slightly ambery direction) that is quite comforting, while the subtle patchouli forms a veil over the whole, softening and filling voids.

    There’s an interesting play off between comforting notes contrasted with a slightly murky almost damp presence. It’s not noir, it’s washed out grey greens with earth tones permeating. It’s definitely nice, but it doesn't sing to me. There's something about the damp aspect that doesn't agree with my sensibilities. Solid but doesn't stand out.

    Pros: Comforting, interesting.
    Cons: Odd watery accord"

    14 October, 2013

    rating


    Mazzolari Lui by Mazzolari

    Creepy, animalic, comforting, malevolent, passionate and ominous.

    Opens with a pishy civet bang paired with dark camphorous patchouli like a dark and malevolent shifting shawl. Got to say that’s one of the most bombastic and uncompromising openings I’ve experienced. During the heart amber raises up the background with castoreum giving a slightly ominous but comforting sweetness. Later at drydown wafts of vanilla creep from the depths, and at late drydown morbid and desolate patch powderiness combines and a touch of tobacco.

    It’s not a fine delicately orchestrated composition, it’s a dirty carnal sexy beast, there’s no room for guilt. It’s creepy, animalic, comforting, malevolent, passionate and ominous. It's my Nosferatu.

    Pros: It’s a dirty carnal sexy beast
    Cons:

    18 September, 2013

    rating


    Opus VII by Amouage

    Mysterious green

    Opus VII arrives with a roaring dark green and bracing galbanum /fenugreek tour de force. After things settle and soften a little, a soft leathery accord reminiscent of soft new moccasins enters, while the spices dry off and become more diffusive. I also notice an accord that reminds me a little of scented plastic, ala ‘early 80’s My Little Pony’, it somehow snatches me back 30 years to my second year in school. During the heart phase I experience an apple jack like accord entering the fray, adding a little light and sweetness. I think this is formed as a composite of the green notes mixing with the ambergris and sandalwood. There is also a bone dry whispy agarwood smoke note hovering around, much as it was employed in Interlude. The drydown develops into a trinity of the leather accord (which seems to get more suedey as time passes), the ambergris/sandalwood accord (the sandalwood done in Amouage’s latest style – as for Opus VI, Fate, and Interlude), and the agarwood smoke. Although the galbanum/fenugreek notes are also still subtly present till the end. A very smooth and reassuring drydown.

    Opus VII is like an enjoyable three course meal out at a great restaurant, with definite stages and little surprises that build and enhance the experience. Love the stuff.

    Pros: Interesting, smooth, inteligent
    Cons: The fenugreek can be challenging for some"

    20th August, 2013

    rating


    parfums*PARFUMS Series 3 Incense: Avignon by Comme des Garçons

    Ethereal liturgical mind trip

    The first spray yanked me back like a fish caught on a hook to my Catholic upbringing. The sharp liturgical incense note is certainly true to the brief. Don't think I've ever had such a strong scent/memory response.
    Although a liturgical bombast at the head, Avignon at the same time is hollow and ethereal, the hand of Duchaufour can be felt keenly (in the spirit of Timbuktu). During the heart the chamomile/floral accord gives some softness and and stops things becoming too astringent. I also found the Iso E Super to be quite prominent after a few hours.
    Where Norma Kamili Insence is dense saturated and slightly macabre, Avignon to me has a airy spiritual quality and gossamer lightness, it's very good.

    Pros: Liturgical Perfection
    Cons:

    15 August, 2013

    rating


    Idole de Lubin by Lubin

    Escape to Zanzibar

    First of all, respect for the bottle, love the Massai ebony style mask and shaped/surfaced bottle, just stunning presentation.

    Idole opens with a rum, berry and dry spice accord. It's heady but with a transparent quality that reminds me of Duchafour's treatment of Jubiliation XXV. There is a resinous note that I read as opoponax, that lends the body a creamy warmth along with the saffron. The composition perfectly captures the east African island imagery. I see this as no way dark, but representing the sunset/dusk time, just when people are lighting bonfires on the beach. I also detect some smokey campfire notes during the heart of the fragrance which help with the imagery (perhaps the ebony note as listed). The sweetness of the sugarcane is also most apparent during the heart, as opoponax dries off. I experience a little very soft and balmy leather during the drydown.

    Settles to a skin scent on me after around 4 hours and longevity can still sniff on arm after 8 hours - but it's no powerhouse for sure.

    What a trip though, a beautiful fragrant experience and very evocative with lots of imagery of exotic locals, in this Olivia Giacobetti has fulfilled the brief with flair. I really like this one and am proud to add it to my collection. Great stuff.

    Pros: Evocative of the exotic
    Cons: Longevity"

    07 August, 2013

    rating


    The Maj by House of Matriarch

    Sensual temple skin scent

    The Indian attar accords during the top notes are quite earthy and rich and have a powdery unburnt/burnt incense vibe. They bring to my mind the visual imagery of the steps of an Indian Hindu temple in the afternoon, the smells of incense and peoples perfume as they entered and exited (quite a lovely experience). The incense then opens out with a floral accord that brings a little lightness after the opening.

    From the heart phase on I get what I think is costus (or an animal fixative), a warm, sweet, and slightly fatty note. This 'costus' note remains throughout and binds the incense/attar accords into a whole that seems to bind to your skin. I found that 'The Maj' quite quickly became a skin scent, but still one that has an subtle elegant musky radiance. Something very sensual about this fragrance, there's a weight to it almost like you're wearing a second skin, perhaps it's the 'all natural' ingredients that lead to this effect, but it works well in this composition. Longevity seems quite good 6+ hours.

    Pros: Sensual, strong imagery,
    Cons:

    06 August, 2013

    rating


    Norne by Slumberhouse

    Cavorting in the forest...

    As someone who has spend much of my youth cavorting around in conifer forests during day and night for much of my youth, I know what they smell like... Norne on the initial spray has that deep resinous and sour smell from fresh resin taken straight from the tree bark and rubbed between your fingers... after a couple of hours the sour note of fresh resin has receded somewhat and a different aromatic takes center stage... It reminds me of when you have a bonfire in the forest, and someone throws a wet fir branch on... just at that moment there is a aroma that comes from the burning wet fir, part aromatic steam, part sour hot resin, and part wet smoke. Incredible the imagery contained in this beautiful fragrance...

    Pros: Resinous, dark, beautiful
    Cons: None

    03 July, 2013

    rating


    Oud Velvet Mood by Maison Francis Kurkdjian

    Hollow Radiance...

    Goes on without to much projection until body heat gets it going. It's a real pleasure to feel the tendrils of scent starting to lift in the minutes after application...
    Top
    The Oud and saffron dance together sinuously. Others mentioned an industrial setting, I have experience of a steel mill and it did indeed evoke the smells of raw steel, welding fumes and oil.
    Mid
    Industrial vibe recedes and balmy saffron oud takes centre stage, with a little sweetness from cinnamon in support. You can see where this one gets its name here...Very smooth...
    Drydown
    Super smooth drydown at 4 hours, and a little stronger than Cashmere at this time. Incredibly radiant, almost hollow.
    There is something incredibly alluring about the saffron/oud hollow radiance and musky drydown... it's perfectly judged and very satisfying. My favourite from the Oud Mood collection.

    Pros: Stunningly sophisticated
    Cons: none

    27 May, 2013

    rating


    Oud Cashmere Mood by Maison Francis Kurkdjian

    A beautifully judged creation...

    Goes on without to much projection until body heat gets it going. It's a real pleasure to feel the tendrils of scent starting to lift in the minutes after application...
    Top
    Warm rubbery a touch of barnyard and spices, like walking through a traditional souk, animals and all. The benzoin is really dominant at this stage. There is a touch of sweetness but it is still very dry.
    Mid
    Warm smooth leathery oud nuttiness with a touch of fruitiness appears. Not too sweet amber shares the show.
    Drydown
    After 4 hours, more amber mixed with oud, later a balmy dried fruit note emerges. 6+ hours, scent within 1 inch of skin, balmy amber getting a bit sweet with fruit notes.
    Deliciousness... A beautifully judged creation...

    Pros: Beautiful top and mid oud notes
    Cons: Sweetness runs away a little on drydown

    27 May, 2013

    rating


    Green Irish Tweed by Creed

    Since it's launch in 1985 Green Irish Tweed (GIT) has been making waves, created by Pierre Bourdon, it was truly groundbreaking for its time. Two years later Mr Bourdon brought his idea to the masses with Cool Water, yes, these two frags share similarities, and Cool Water is also a great fragrance, but if feels built to a price, where the quality of GIT is apparent to those who appreciate these things. Now that's out of the way on to GIT:

    GIT opens with a herbal ultra green accord, that reminds me of walking through a dewy wet valley at dawn brushing against moist tall grasses and ferns (I live in Ireland, so I really feel the Irish greenness of this) The heart softens away from the herbal accord and a soft apple note comes into play, sweetening and softening the journey in a really nice way, this sometimes reminds me of being in an orchard. The drydown is consists of the green apple giving way to the classic Creed ambergris accord, and leaves a tantalisingly fresh and inviting skin scent.

    Great silage for 4-6 hours, and up to the 10 hour mark as a skin scent. Works great anytime, but incredible on a damp spring day, this is one on my favorites and will always have a place in my heart (and collection)..... Bravo!

    07 March, 2013

    rating


    Italian Cypress by Tom Ford

    Launched in 2009 by Tom Ford in his Milan boutique, this beautiful fragrance may share many ideas with the late 70's fragrances in the mould of Polo Green, however it would be unwise to dismiss this on that basis, it is a modern interpretation, with some subtle but stunning twists on the theme, and of the highest quality.

    Italian Cypress goes on with an opening consisting of fresh and zesty citrus and green notes. Soon after subtle minty/menthol notes may be experienced. During the heart phase of the fragrance the cypress note opens out and presents its green and warming embrace, also at this time green resinous notes appear and add warm and depth, this is the masterpiece stroke that sets this fragrance apart. In my mind I am walking up a path in Tuscany with the late afternoon sun wafting beautiful green and resinous aromas from the tall cypress trees bordering the path, I feel free and confident in me and my surroundings...

    Wear anytime during the year, however it really comes to life in heat, a warm breeze in a sunny climate seems to awake and lift the cypress and resinous notes, wafting in waves of gorgeous scent clouds. Silage is moderate with a well defined scent cloud enveloping the wearer, however warm air lifts and wafts the scent further. Longevity is very good, and the skin scent persistent.

    A subtle, classy, high quality fragrance to sort the men from the boys... Great stuff.

    06 March, 2013

    rating


    Aventus by Creed

    Aventus for me is not some kind of world changing super frag, as it is often portrayed. Rather, it is just a beautifully composed fragrance that smells familiar, yet breaks new ground, is made of (and smells it) quality ingredients, and has real progression, great projection and longevity.

    At first blast I get a wash of pineapple, really fresh and sweet, it's juicy stuff... After 20-30 minutes the pineapple dies down and an ashy accord develops that forms the heart of the fragrance. I guess this is a combination of the birch and patchouli, but it is so well blended, I could only call it 'ashy perfection'. Projection is stellar for the first 4-6 hours, after the 6 hour mark projection comes back and I get hours of lovely skin scent, punctuated by wafts of juice smokey pineapple that has returned for round two. For the final part of the drydown, 10hours +, the pineapple reasserts itself as a delicious skins scent as the ashy accord vanishes over time. This is complimented by Creed's trademark drydown.

    Is it worth the hype? No, of course not. But the real surprise for me is the incredibly high quality juice, it's the jewel that hides behind all the BS... and it's rather special.

    05 March, 2013

    rating


    Kiehl's Original Musk by Kiehl's

    Sampled MKK didn't do anything for me (found it too floral, I must be anosmic to the Musk in MKK, because my wife says I smelt like 'dirty camel balls' when I had the sample on...), sampled Original Musk, fell in love... Just a really nice musk, long lasting on me, I get cosy musky wafts coming up over the hours. Just a really nice and comforting scent.

    Don't ignore this just because it's not from some French haute perfumerie. Well worth sampling and good value, if you've got a Keihls nearby... Quality stuff.

    03 March, 2013

    rating


    Terre d'Hermès Parfum by Hermès

    One of my favourites, suitable anytime/anywhere, this is special juice. Right off the bat you are confronted by rich almost gourmand orange pomander accord, that curls lazily up from application areas, there is something heavy and luxurious about how this frag moves in air, almost like you can sense the density of the pure parfum concentration. I sense a slight tomato leaf accord on opening also, probably a combination of the notes that I read like that, but the best way I can describe, very aromatic and very beautiful. During the dry down the vetiver comes through with a velvety, sweet richness.

    I find this projects less that TdH ETD (the EDT seems more focused on the higher pitch and flinty accords, EDP more on the orange pomander/woods accord), but has much better longevity. So I spray to both hands and back of neck (I avoid chest/front of neck - and this seems to avoid the problem of going anosmic during a wear), this way, I get amazing projection for the first few hours, but after that I get heavenly wafts intermittently and a beautiful skin scent.

    Did I mention my wife practically pounces on me when I wear this? (Only other frags that have that effect on her are APOM, DHI & GIT.) All in all a quality scent... thank you Jean Claude Ellena.

    02 March, 2013

    rating


    Tabaróme Millésime by Creed

    Was looking forward to this as I'm generally a fan of Creed, was expecting tobacco, gentleman's club, leather, but unfortunately found a buzzy synthetic mess that followed me around for the day like a mosquito...

    I'm sure the Vintage Tabarome is a different story, but this is a pass for me.

    20th February, 2013

    rating


    Amyris Homme by Maison Francis Kurkdjian

    Not terribly impressed with this one, and a surprise from Francis Kurkdjian who created one of my favorites, APOM pour homme, and the other great fragrances of this house.

    Best part is the opening with a little iris and fruit (reminds me a little of Creed SMW), unfortunately soon after I get generic aquatic sport frag all the way though, nothing repulsive, but again nothing to attract me either. Longevity is good, which I guess is a bonus if you like it too start with.

    Pass... and try APOM or Lumiere Noir - they're in a different league...

    19 February, 2013

    rating


    Acqua di Parma Colonia by Acqua di Parma

    This is a really great cologne... Fresh, soapy, clean, natural smelling, long lasting and dynamic, a real winner.

    Love the blast of honeyed Mediterranean citrus at the start with the clean soapy freshness, followed by lavender in the heart phase. The rose and musk comes out during the drydown and add a layer of sophistication.

    A dynamic cologne with defined phases and surprising tenacity... Great!

    19 February, 2013

    rating


    Tam Dao by Diptyque

    A very nice fragrance, I'm almost at the end of my bottle, and have thoroughly enjoyed it. I guess it's this scent that attracted me to the niche side of the wall.. and the beginning of a new journey, so it will always have a place in my heart.

    For the top notes I get a blast of cedar and resins, this is the more astringant phase, I find it very invigorating. The heart and base notes focus more on a sweet and silky sandalwood that I find to be quite linear, but very calming and reassuring (a real wrist sniffer for sure).

    As someone who likes woody aromas in all their dimensions, I can't but love this scent...

    Can be a little light if applied sparingly, so I normally give it a good few spritzes! (just watch the first 10 mins in public as you'll be a cedar bomb before it settles down) :-P

    ps: Have the old square bottle, it's beautiful. Not as impressed with the new style...

    12 February, 2013

    rating


    Dior Homme Intense by Christian Dior

    Funny one this... Tried it around 4 months ago... and it was an instant scrubber...all I got was the iris note... Anyway tried and loved LIDGE at the same time and bought that.

    But after sometime I couldn't get DHI out of my head.. Tried it recently and fell head over heals in love with it. My nose must have developed? I had a sample of Equestrius by P d'Empire and I think it was this that helped me get iris notes. Needless to say a full 100ml bottle is now in my collection.

    As for how it smells... divine comes close. First I am hit by the fizzy and sparkling iris note, sure it's a bit make-upy, but in a good way, think it was this that put my off at first. Then over the next couple of hours the cocoa really makes an appearance, really warming and powdery with the iris. I also feel the vetiver blend in increasingly over the duration (this I really like also). The drydown is heavenly as others have mentioned. All in all a classic.

    Already got a load of compliments for this, which were unexpected as I though the iris was a bit daring, but it seems to have a wonderful effect on my wife... :-)

    So from scrubber to 'can't get enough', this is a bit of a love/hate frag, but once it gets you it will never let go.

    I would bathe in this if I could... A masterpiece...

    12 February, 2013

    rating


    Oud & Bergamot Cologne by Jo Malone

    I got this in the Jo Malone boutique in the airport lounge on impulse when my wife was browsing something for herself (she's a fan of Jo Malone frags).

    I do love this fragrance. I don't seem to get too much of the Bergamot, but this for me is all about subtle, creamy, and silky oud.

    You are followed by a shimmering oud cloud for many hours, just wonderful, warming and sensual. The perfect cosseting scent.

    Only problem is the amount of sprays you require to achieve this nirvana state... I'm talking like over 10... Doesn't make it a sillage killer, but just gives it some longevity.. best to layer it.

    The lady at the JM counter says it has a 15% EDP concentration, I would think a 25% concentration would be about right...

    One thing I have discovered recently is layering this with a couple of swipes of pure oud oil is divine. It really compliments the Oud & Bergamot, and you can go Cambodian for smooth or Assam for barnyard (From my Ensar Oud sample set) Also seems to help greatly with longevity.

    Anyway, love this scent, but wish it was 25% concentration, it's bit of a rip of considering the amount you need to apply.

    11th February, 2013

    Showing 1 to 29 of 29.