Perfume Reviews

Reviews by tempest moon

Advertisement
Total Reviews: 273

I Love NY for All by Bond No. 9

Coffee & Cacao Mix...

This is the first fragrance I've sampled from Bond No. 9. I must say I've been pleasantly surprised. This is a lovely gourmand scent that (to my nose) is a mix of cocoa powder and ground coffee beans, with hints of vanilla, leather, sandalwood & black pepper.

It opens up to my nose with a blast of bergamot and black pepper, but this lasts only for an instant. It then begins to develop into a cocoa powder base, with hints of vanilla, musk, sandalwood and leather. I can see the lily-of-the-valley complimenting the "powdery" feel in the mid and base but everything here is so well blended that it's hard to pick out individual notes as easily as you would with some other fragrances.

So, in conclusion... an incredibly well made fragrance and one which does give value for money. I say this because it lasts extremely well on skin and even longer on clothes. I even showered and it was still there! As for occasions, I think this would probably do well in cooler weather/cooler seasons. It's a great addition to your collection if you're someone looking for a well-made fragrance with a gourmand angle to it. Overall a very nice scent at a (compared to their other line up) a decent price fro the quality you get. I would recommend sampling first, unless you are a gourmand fragrance lover.
24th October, 2017

Original Santal by Creed

Spicy and Sophisticated...

I've actually waited a long time to wear this one, as I've been wearing Creed fragrances for a while now. I have also become a fan of sandalwood fragrances recently and am always happy to try out new fragrances. With Creed - Original Santal I get a very high quality opening which impresses me, except for the fact that I've smelled this before, namely in Individuel by Mont Blanc. I feel like this is the "elephant in the room" when it comes to Original Santal, because it's hard to justify a purchase for this one when you know that Individuel is available and is at least 70% or 80% similar. I could say that the Creed is somewhat more mature and spicy (and I have no doubt that they use quality ingredients), yet the similarities I feel are too great to ignore.

Having said that, I love the presentation that Creed offers, I love the made-up backstory and history etc (we love to be lied to really..) and I almost "buy in" to all of that. But ultimately, as with all fragrances from this house, it's worth it if money is of no issue to you. I do personally like this one, as I love the combination of spices and soft musk and the hints of sandalwood etc. which is a really great combination, however there are better sandalwood fragrances out there, better cinnamon fragrances out there, and better musk-like fragrances out there. I feel that there is nothing wrong at all with Original Santal as a standalone fragrance, but the fact that Individuel came out first and almost does what this does makes it hard to justify buying at full price. I will keep and use my decant but I'm not convinced to pay the full price for this (despite the fact that it is well blended etc.), and in this case, it's more of a "like" than a "love" for me.

19th October, 2017

Givenchy Gentleman (new) by Givenchy

Safe fragrance...

What I think about this one is that it's a safe option. I don't particularly think it's bad in any way, maybe just safe and pleasing. It's not one that would offend and I think it's a perfectly acceptable option for any man out there.

I get that this is an update of an original fragrance, but this smells similar to many offerings out there. I get a great floral composition here. The iris and lavender (two of my favourite notes) are paired with leather - a fantastic combination, and coupled with what I think is hedione (the synthetic jasmine similar to Dior - Eau Sauvage). Other fruity notes may accentuate the composition which remains fresh and sweet.

In summary, there is nothing wrong whatsoever with this fragrance, I find it very agreeable and pleasing, and I think people will like it. Longevity and projection are not great here so bear in mind to apply liberally. I think it's probably a better fragrance than Gentlemen Only however I must admit that the house of Givenchy has seen better days in the past.
18th October, 2017
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Bond No.9 Perfume Oud by Bond No. 9

Something unique from the house...

When I smell this fragrance, it occurs to me that, although the notes themselves are in no way unique, the way they are put together is. What I mean to say is, I think this fragrance delivers on a unique smell which I haven't experienced from other similar "types" of fragrances.

Bond No. 9 - Signature is a Rose-Oud combination unlike that which I have smelled before. I say this because, I find it light and refreshing, but still interesting enough to be unique in smell. There seems to be a refreshing citrus quality here (probably bergamot) which then transitions onto rose (an extremely pleasing and full but refreshing rose note) along with soft oud and woods, before being enveloped by a white musk. This fragrance is not sweet, nor is it too floral, nor is it too dark or woody. In fact, it has a "Goldilocks" factor in that it is "just right".

Now, for people looking for more (IE a heavier rose, darker oud etc) then this may not be for you. If someone is looking for an animalic style musk, then they wouldn't find it here. It is very well balanced and unique so in terms of smell I find it very pleasing and intriguing, just don't expect a loud punch with this one.

As with all Bond No. 9 fragrances, I would recommend trying or sampling first. However for uniqueness I believe this fragrance has it, but not for power or strength of scent. I do believe that this is very versatile and can be worn any time any where. It's a good effort and should be tried first, before making a decision.
23rd September, 2017

Himalaya by Creed

Impressive smell, bright, fresh, zesty, pure...

I am impressed by the smell of this one. I've now tried a few Creed fragrances and think that Himalaya can compete with the famous ones. I get an opening of juniper berry and bergamot (with citrus: presumably grapefruit and lemon). The sandalwood, ambergris and cedar wood make a great base. It seems simple, yet it delivers a really good punch and is interesting. I don't have a point of reference to compare it to designer fragrances, but I will say that I am yet to be disappointed by a Creed fragrance. I also get the inspiration for this fragrance as the mountains of the Himalayas. This smells like how you would imagine iron rich mineral water from a mountain stream to smell like. Ultimately, I do think it's a good fragrance, and again, as with all Creed fragrances, it's up to you to decide whether to invest and purchase or not.
12th August, 2017

Love In White by Creed

Floral Punch...

I do like this one. I think it's a very strong powdery floral in the opening which is good value for money as it is strong. I get a lot of white florals that project and come across strongly. I get the iris and jasmine and the rice notes. I think it could be suitable for formal occasions. I could see it working casually if applied lightly. Ultimately though, I can think of other fragrances that would offer better value for money if on a budget. Famous people may indeed wear it but that's due to the price and exclusivity more than anything else. I do think it's one to try, but I can't find the depth and intricacy as in other perfumes, although it is undoubtedly well made. It's a loud, yet pedestrian floral that is worth the money if you have it, just not what I would personally recommend if on a budget, or if money was an issue. Overall, well made and will get you noticed. Not at all a bad fragrance from Creed, but not the most complex (to my nose).
12th August, 2017

Eau de Verveine by Penhaligon's

Green and mature...

This is a very natural smelling fragrance. To me it really feels like a walk in nature. I get a green, dark and mossy scent, with hints of crisp freshness along the way. I think it's balanced really well actually. I get the lime and bergamot, as well as the lemon and pepper and lavender. There's also petitgrain, cedar and cloves. I really like it. I think it could be interpreted as old fashioned but I think it's a great fragrance for spring and summer. Like a crisp, spring morning this fills me with energy and hope. Definitely one to try if you like a green, slightly bitter and very traditional eau de cologne structure. If you are a fan of this style, then it will definitely appeal to you. Again, I am yet to find a badly made fragrance by this house. Really great work.
04th August, 2017

La Fumée Arabie by Miller Harris

La Fumee with a twist...

This is a really great incense fragrance. Like La Fumee before this, it is an labdanum and incense combination which is a winner.

The fragrance itself is dry and full of depth. The cardamom and dry cedar, coriander and other "dry" ingredients really add to this composition. To put it this way, this perfume definitely has a "mood" about it. It is a concept perfume which is designed to transport you into a world. A world of candles and spices and woods and mystery. It is incredibly evocative. I do like it very much.

Sadly, the downside to this one is that it does smell quite similar to the original La Fumee. Because of that, if this one costs more (reportedly) then I would have to suggest buying the original. The only discernible difference here is that (to me) it is more woody. There is a heavier emphasis here on the dryness of the woods than anything else. If you want the original with more of a dry, woody vibe, this is for you. However the original, with it's sweet, dry ambery incense balance is still the original benchmark, and a "classic" in it's own right. Still, this just goes to show, Miller Harris rarely does a bad perfume. Extremely high quality stuff here. Perfume as artistic expression.
27th May, 2017

Oud Wood by Tom Ford

This is a beautiful and very romantic fragrance, very nice.

I've tried Tobacco Vanille , which I know many people love, and I love this even more. I think it's sexier. This is (arguably) worth the hype and even the price tag. It is beautiful, it's seductive, it's quality, but I find it more intimate (and definitely more sensual..) than Tobacco Vanille. I can't see how many people would dislike this. It's quite appealing.

The fragrance is based around an oud note, but I think it would be unfair to expect a loud blast of agarwood a la Arabesque, or in real Arabian style. No. This is Oud for western sensibilities, almost tuned down for people who don't like loud, in-your-face oud. To be honest, I don't expect this to be loud, it's very subtle, very sensual, and very sexy. It sits very close to the skin and doesn't project so far, so it's more of a scent that people who come up really close to you will go "wow, you smell incredible" kind of thing.

What I like about this is that it isn't your average rose/oud combination, it's oud but done with tonka bean, lavish vanilla, sandalwood and amber, coupled with a beautiful, beautiful rosewood note. I do recommend this one a lot. The only drawbacks in my opinion would be the projection. It's an Eau de Parfum and it sits very close to the skin. But, it's not one to announce your presence, it's an experience to share with that special person in your life, when they are close enough to smell and feel the warmth of your skin. It's a "melt in your arms" kind of scent.

In one word? Romantic.

Worth it? I think so... just really nice stuff.
19th May, 2017

Classic Vanilla by Pinaud

Masculine and refined...

This was a surprise for me. I originally bought it with the intention to use it solely as an aftershave. However I have now realised it can be used as a type of light, eau de cologne scent.

A very nice and refined mix of coumarin, lavender, spices and of course, vanilla. I love it! A really great mix and I am happy just wearing it casually or formally. It reminds me of the smell of a refined gentleman, maybe a grown up, mature smell, but that adds to it's heritage as a classic fragrance (like Old Spice or the masculine classics used in shaving etc).

I would say this is a great one to use as an aftershave and cologne. The staying power is surprisingly very good. I am impressed. I would recommend it to the gentlemen out there as an example of a classic, elegant and refined smell and accessory to be used after shaving and also for general use. A really great find for me and one which I will be using for some time!
12th March, 2017

Pulp by Byredo

The fruit garden...

Before trying this, I didn't know what to expect. I heard things like "rotten fruit" and I wondered if this would be worth even trying at all. I was pleasantly surprised!

What I get from this actually, is almost the smell of (like the name) pulp. Fruit pulp. For me it's Mango pulp, and it's a smell I actually really like. I do also get apple and citrus in there, and some grape etc.

This is one I would recommend to people who like fruit and freshness. I do feel that it is a very cleverly made perfume and one which is composed intelligently. I would recommend it and would advise to try out first in good weather. I think this would be suitable for year round and would say that it is unisex. This is the smell of very ripe fruit up close. But it also has a balance which can only come from a well made perfume. One to try for sure. I thoroughly enjoy it.
06th March, 2017

Salt Caramel by Shay & Blue

Salty & Sweet...

I didn't know what to expect from this one before I tried it. Would it be too much for me? Would it be overwhelmingly sweet or cloying? Would I have to scrub it off?

Thankfully, none of those things happened because it's a wonderful fragrance and one I appreciate a lot. It's true there is a degree of linearity to this one but it is simple and has such a nice smell that I don't dislike it at all, in fact it's really quite nice!

I think the best thing about it is the addition of salt to the mix, because without that, it would just have smelled nauseatingly sweet (ie just pure caramel). So to be able to balance the sweet and sour (yin-yang) aspects of this was a really good step to take when composing this one.

I do see where the vanilla and sandalwood come in, as the dry-down starts to happen. The smell of salted caramel stays throughout, turning into a caramel biscuit/cookie feel by the end. For me it's something I really like. As a gourmand lover I would recommend it if you are into these kinds of fragrances. It's worth a try.
02nd February, 2017

Molecule 01 by Escentric Molecules

The Emperor's New Clothes...

Molecule 01 is an interesting one, on so many levels. The fact that this is only one note throughout is quite a slap in the face to modern perfumery, to an extent that this exposes one of the perfumers little secrets and makes it the star of the show.

Iso-E-Super is not a one-dimensional note. It fact it changes ans morphs over time. It has facets of cedarwood, sandalwood and even hints of pepper. I do like it, but I don't find it groundbreaking.

I think this summarises the case of "Emperors New Clothes Syndrome". In the sense that this fragrance is more important in how it makes people feel than how it makes others feel. If you know that the fragrance you are wearing makes you feel good about yourself, you will get compliments. End of story. With this fragrance, I feel that this is part of the appeal.

For me, ultimately I did not receive compliments even after a few days use. I do appreciate it very much, but that's where it ends for me. As a side note, you can buy Iso-E-Super direct and still have your magic ingredient (without the packaging and "concept art"). Not a bad fragrance by any means, but you need to play around with it a little to get results.
31st December, 2016
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Agua de Colonia Concentrada by Alvarez Gomez

Beautiful eau de cologne...

This is a beautiful cologne in it's own right. From a Spanish house and one which is unique and uplifting. I find this one refreshing and full of character.

I think most of the reason why I like this is because it has lavender in it. Not just lavender, but actually two types of Lavender: Spanish and English. In addition, it also has I believe thyme and juniper berry. It is a great, sweet and sour mix which along with the the zesty lemon really lifts up the fragrance and sets it apart from the others.

I would happily pay for a big bottle of this I find it well worth the money for my taste. A cologne which has just the right balance (in my opinion) of sour, tangy citrus and green herbs and lavender. I do recommend everyone out there to try it and enjoy it. Highly recommended, especially for spring and summer, and hot weather. Elegant and sparklingly refreshingly beautiful in it's balance and composition.
28th December, 2016

Cédrat Enivrant by Atelier Cologne

Invigorating!

An extremely zesty fragrance that is a joy to wear in hot weather and a real winner all round. One which is full of citrus burst in a very authentic and pleasing way. Phenomenal in it's freshness and light, effervescent quality.

I find this an extremely easy fragrance to wear. It's like a burst of lemon, lime or grapefruit juice which just lifts you up and works on any occasion. For a modern citrus I can't deny that this is very well done. A real achievement from Atelier Cologne. I would recommend it for citrus lovers and add to the list of fragrances suitable for hot summers. Really good stuff.
12th November, 2016

Volutes Eau de Parfum by Diptyque

Smoky honeyed tobacco...

Very interesting and seductive scent. I really like this one and find it intriguing. A very seductive scent which has a combination of all my favourite notes. Iris, honey, tobacco. All work together wonderfully in this (Note: I'm reviewing the Eau de Parfum version).

This reminds me a little of Chergui by Serge Lutens. I think it has a very similar vibe and I find it intriguing. The iris note is great and I always appreciate iris in a perfume. It does smell like tobacco smoke, or at least a sweet incense. I find this would suit winter and autumn the best in my opinion, especially in the Eau de Parfum. I think if you like amber, incense or tobacco themes in fragrances, this is one to check out. Unisex and very noir, this is a great mysterious fragrance which would smell great on a well-dressed elegant person with style. Intriguing, seductive, and quite special.
06th November, 2016

A*Men Pure Havane by Thierry Mugler

Sweet honey, chocolate & tobacco...

Wow! Just wow!

This is without a doubt my absolute favourite of the A*Men/Angel Men line. I just love it! I get honeyed tobacco, along with the vanilla, and chocolate-patchouli combo of the original A*Men. A wonderful fragrance.

I haven't been this happy about a fragrance for a long time. I really like this one and am recommending it. I didn't actually like the original A*Men/Angel Men all that much. I found the opening too harsh and bitter. This one is smooth and creamy with tobacco and honey and sweet spices and vanilla. It is absolutely gorgeous! I think this is a winner for anyone who likes A*Men but wished it was a bit different and smoother. It has a velvety sweet texture and I really love it that way. Even if you didn't like the original A*Men or like gourmandish or even sweet honey tobacco fragrances like Tom Ford - Tobacco Vanille. I think this is a great contender against that fragrance at a great price. Beautiful stuff from Thierry Mugler!
30th October, 2016

555 by Chabrawichi

Very floral fragrance...

This is one which is made to an old recipe. It is made in the style of the classic European eau de colognes of old. I do like the way it smells and it has that floral, lemon vibe which is familiar if you have experienced those other types.

A fragrance which I came across in Egypt and which comes from a very old Egyptian house. Nothing ground breaking but very charming and loveable. I do recommend it as a trip to the past. Much in the way something like <i>Guerlain - L'Heure Bleue</i> is.
17th October, 2016

Aqua Amara by Bulgari

Golden Aquatic...

This is a really nice one. A creation by the master perfumer Jacques Cavallier, this one is great. I do love the way it has been done. Done in such a way that it doesn't feel like a typical aquatic. With bitter orange, patchouli and possibly some cardamom and herbs, this is a good one. I would happily wear it. It reminds me of the beach and sea, and warm skin. I think it's a masterful fragrance, and really clever for it's genre. With another perfumer this could've been a very generic scent, but with Jacques Cavallier it became something unique and intriguing. I think this is definitely one to try for summer nights and hot, beach vacations. Really well done and it surprised me in a good way.
11th October, 2016

Luna Rossa Extreme by Prada

Clean & Sensual...

This is one which is an all round pleasant experience. I get pepper, lavender and vanilla, with a hint of florals in the background. It's traditionally masculine but I can't see why it wouldn't be suitable for a woman as well.

It reminds me of other fragrances with a lavender and vanilla combination. The addition of pepper and spices also serves to make the fragrance a little different in it's approach. I do like it, and would wear it from time to time. I have been impressed so far with the fragrances I have tried from Prada. This one is no exception.
11th October, 2016

Legend by Montblanc

Awesome opening, and an overall nice scent.

I did like this one. It reminded me of how much I like fruit done right in a fragrance. It reminds me a little of Aventus by Creed but only in the initial opening. I don't find this fragrance controversial or offensive at all. In fact I think that anyone and everyone would like this.

I like the apple and pineapple aspects, and the lavender mid and the woody base. Yes it's been done before in other male-marketed fragrances, but it's still a really nice fragrance. I would personally wear it. It's great, it works for almost any occasion, and is inoffensive and interesting enough for people to notice and be intrigued. This has been my first time trying a fragrance from Mont Blanc and personally I think it's a good one.
05th October, 2016

Perfume Calligraphy Rose by Aramis

Sweet Rose & Myrrh...

What a performance! This fragrance opens with a bang of sweet, jammy rose surrounded by myrrh and amber and frankincense, with a big hit of saffron.

It reminds me a lot of the original Aramis - Perfume Calligraphy but with the oud turned down and the rose turned up. I personally don't really get any oud wood in this but the rose is full and sweet and juicy, albeit surrounded and supported by an ambery, honey-like vibe.

The fragrance feels syrupy, like rosewater used in a dessert. Ambergris, labdanum and musk linger in the dry-down, and the sweetness of the opening turns dark, muted and resinous towards the end.

I think this is one which, if you are a rose lover, you will adore. I find the opening a little sweet to my taste, but that comes from the myrrh, which is prominent throughout. I get a syrupy jam feeling with the rose but the incense and resins give it depth the more it stays on skin.

Try this out if you love rose style fragrances and Oriental/Arabian style perfumes done right. I highly recommend the Aramis Calligraphy range, especially as value for price. I like this syrupy rose!
15th September, 2016

Dior Homme Cologne (2013) by Christian Dior

Lovely & Fresh...

This is a very fresh and clean scent. It is fresh and clean in a natural smelling way (not like Mugler Cologne, as much as I love that fragrance). Yes, this is like the "niche" version of Mugler Cologne. I get lemon and lime, the grapefruit blossom, maybe even a hint of faint neroli, then vetiver and clean white musk. It's a very "white and clean" fragrance. I can't fault it within reason. It's one I would happily purchase and wear again. A really lovely scent which is beautiful, natural, and which really won't offend anybody. I believe it is a pleasing and enticing gem which all clean, professional men should try. Lovely great stuff.
09th September, 2016

Vanille Noire by Yves Rocher

Rich, Subtle Vanilla...

A great Vanilla scent here. One which is not too expensive, and which smells real and natural. Vanilla is generally one of my favourite smells, and I think this one would work great on both sexes. I have always appreciated everything I've tried so far from Yves Rocher. This one is no exception. I think the quality is great for what you get, and they always try to use natural ingredients as much as possible.

Vanille Noire is a linear Vanilla scent, but therein lies the beauty. It's a simple blend of real, natural smelling Vanilla pods and orange blossom with a hint of mandarin orange. I love it. A clean base of cedar finishes off the composition nicely. I enjoy this one more than I did Yves Rocher Cedre Bleu, which was a Vanilla-Cedar combo but which was too powdery for my taste. I like this one a lot better and it smells more natural. Great for men or women, and great for layering. A good, natural, simple Vanilla scent... and good for the price too. Not bad.
09th September, 2016

Dior Homme Eau for Men by Christian Dior

Dior Homme Light...

So I've been wearing this one and have actually been enjoying it. It reminds me of a lighter and (at first) slightly generic version of Dior Homme. In other words, more like an imitation of Dior Homme than the real thing. I do like it though. This one has definitely grown on me. I find it very soothing and the fact that they weren't shy on using the iris here is a real bonus. I love iris in all forms so for me I really cannot call this a bad fragrance. I have never ever been disappointed in any of the Dior Homme line. I think this one is worth it if you like iris fragrances for men.
01st September, 2016

Noir Exquis by L'Artisan Parfumeur

Vanilla & Chestnut...

I think this is a fragrance which will appeal to a broad range of people. That's because it's not really gourmand enough to turn people away, and it has just enough gourmand notes in it to attract people.

I say this because the way Bertrand Duchaufour has used the ingredients, they don't feel overwhelming or sweet in any way. In fact it's quite subtle. I get a mix of tonka bean, heliotrope and vanilla, then the sandalwood and ebony wood. So it's a mix of vanilla and woods basically, which isn't particularly original, but I do get the chestnut note, which I think is.

I love the smell of chestnut as it reminds me of Christmas time, and this fragrance brings that back for me. It reminds me of food, so I guess you could call it a gourmand, but at the same time it has enough woodiness that it's very tame and versatile. A fragrance for both formal and casual wear. I really enjoy this one, and once again I am impressed with yet another brilliant creation from this house and perfumer. Quite good in my opinion.
29th August, 2016

Tea Rose by Perfumer's Workshop

Pure Rosebush...

This may seem like a simple fragrance, but it's stunning and beautiful in it's simplicity. A very realistic rose perfume with a super accurate rose note. With this one I get the green leaves, as well as the dewy petals in the morning sun. Absolutely gorgeous. This is a perfume which is not trying to do anything else other than capture the essence, the experience of smelling a rose bush in full bloom. Not an oriental rose with amber or labdanum or vanilla etc... but instead letting the flower speak for itself, with no pretensions.

A completely authentic smelling rose fragrance, and for the money, perhaps one of the best on the market. If you are a rose lover, hands down this should be one to own or at least try. Perfect quality for the price. I'm highly impressed.
27th August, 2016

A*Men Pure Malt by Thierry Mugler

A modern classic...

Yes this is an example of a much loved, modern classic fragrance from the house of Thierry Mugler. I actually prefer this one to the original Angel Men. I think the addition of the boozy and fruity aspects really gives it new dimension and flavour.

It opens up with much of the same DNA as the original, but I would say that it holds enough distinction in that it is a flanker on it's own right. You can own both. The chocolate and patchouli aspects of the original have given way to a honeyed, boozy quality which is evident from the start, and very pleasing. I like it very much. I would say it is more versatile than the original in that it can be worn in many situations without overwhelming anyone. For those who saw the original as harsh and cloying this one is a mellowed, more well-rounded quality. I think it will appeal to both fans of the original and new customers. Definitely one to try if you prefer the sweet, gourmandish and boozy type of fragrances. I recommend this one over the original in many ways. A really great and pleasing choice all round. A very good overall fragrance and a must try for younger men for sure!
26th August, 2016

Un Jardin en Méditerranée by Hermès

The scent of green figs...

Let me start by saying that I am a huge fan of the Un Jardin series of fragrances. I love the work of Jean-Claude Ellena and find that his work is nothing short of superb in every aspect. I had been wanting to try this perfume for a long time.

Finally, I've been wearing it recently and have enjoyed it. My initial preconception was that it would be a sweet, juicy fig type of scent, much like Acqua di Parma - Blu Mediterraneo: Fico di Amalfi, however here is a green figgy scent which is more in keeping with the same style as Un Jardin Sur le Nil, another green fragrance. I must say that as a fig perfume, I do prefer the Acqua di Parma version. However this one does make me feel that if you didn't like Sur le Nil (ie you found it "too green") then you woudl like this instead.

Overall, this is well worth a try in my opinion, if you like fresh, spring & summer fragrances with substance. A masterful effort from Jean-Claude Ellena.
25th August, 2016

Old English Lavender Water by D.R. Harris & co.

Classic Lavender...

This has a wonderful smell. A very natural smelling and very simply made lavender scented eau de cologne. I have been a fan of the D. R. Harris products and have used aftershave and colognes from them before. With this one, the name basically describes the whole fragrance. A simply made lavender water with basic ingredients. I actually find this one very similar to Pour Un Homme de Caron - except without the vanilla note. This one is lavender, coumarin and musk, with some minimal herbs thrown in. Very conventional, very safe, very dependable. If you want no-nonsense lavender, choose this one. If you want this but with a little twist, go for Pour Un Homme...
13th August, 2016