Perfume Reviews

Reviews by tempest moon

Advertisement
Total Reviews: 264

Classic Vanilla by Pinaud

Masculine and refined...

This was a surprise for me. I originally bought it with the intention to use it solely as an aftershave. However I have now realised it can be used as a type of light, eau de cologne scent.

A very nice and refined mix of coumarin, lavender, spices and of course, vanilla. I love it! A really great mix and I am happy just wearing it casually or formally. It reminds me of the smell of a refined gentleman, maybe a grown up, mature smell, but that adds to it's heritage as a classic fragrance (like Old Spice or the masculine classics used in shaving etc).

I would say this is a great one to use as an aftershave and cologne. The staying power is surprisingly very good. I am impressed. I would recommend it to the gentlemen out there as an example of a classic, elegant and refined smell and accessory to be used after shaving and also for general use. A really great find for me and one which I will be using for some time!
12th March, 2017

Pulp by Byredo

The fruit garden...

Before trying this, I didn't know what to expect. I heard things like "rotten fruit" and I wondered if this would be worth even trying at all. I was pleasantly surprised!

What I get from this actually, is almost the smell of (like the name) pulp. Fruit pulp. For me it's Mango pulp, and it's a smell I actually really like. I do also get apple and citrus in there, and some grape etc.

This is one I would recommend to people who like fruit and freshness. I do feel that it is a very cleverly made perfume and one which is composed intelligently. I would recommend it and would advise to try out first in good weather. I think this would be suitable for year round and would say that it is unisex. This is the smell of very ripe fruit up close. But it also has a balance which can only come from a well made perfume. One to try for sure. I thoroughly enjoy it.
06th March, 2017

Salt Caramel by Shay & Blue

Salty & Sweet...

I didn't know what to expect from this one before I tried it. Would it be too much for me? Would it be overwhelmingly sweet or cloying? Would I have to scrub it off?

Thankfully, none of those things happened because it's a wonderful fragrance and one I appreciate a lot. It's true there is a degree of linearity to this one but it is simple and has such a nice smell that I don't dislike it at all, in fact it's really quite nice!

I think the best thing about it is the addition of salt to the mix, because without that, it would just have smelled nauseatingly sweet (ie just pure caramel). So to be able to balance the sweet and sour (yin-yang) aspects of this was a really good step to take when composing this one.

I do see where the vanilla and sandalwood come in, as the dry-down starts to happen. The smell of salted caramel stays throughout, turning into a caramel biscuit/cookie feel by the end. For me it's something I really like. As a gourmand lover I would recommend it if you are into these kinds of fragrances. It's worth a try.
02nd February, 2017
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Molecule 01 by Escentric Molecules

The Emperor's New Clothes...

Molecule 01 is an interesting one, on so many levels. The fact that this is only one note throughout is quite a slap in the face to modern perfumery, to an extent that this exposes one of the perfumers little secrets and makes it the star of the show.

Iso-E-Super is not a one-dimensional note. It fact it changes ans morphs over time. It has facets of cedarwood, sandalwood and even hints of pepper. I do like it, but I don't find it groundbreaking.

I think this summarises the case of "Emperors New Clothes Syndrome". In the sense that this fragrance is more important in how it makes people feel than how it makes others feel. If you know that the fragrance you are wearing makes you feel good about yourself, you will get compliments. End of story. With this fragrance, I feel that this is part of the appeal.

For me, ultimately I did not receive compliments even after a few days use. I do appreciate it very much, but that's where it ends for me. As a side note, you can buy Iso-E-Super direct and still have your magic ingredient (without the packaging and "concept art"). Not a bad fragrance by any means, but you need to play around with it a little to get results.
31st December, 2016

Agua de Colonia Concentrada by Alvarez Gomez

Beautiful eau de cologne...

This is a beautiful cologne in it's own right. From a Spanish house and one which is unique and uplifting. I find this one refreshing and full of character.

I think most of the reason why I like this is because it has lavender in it. Not just lavender, but actually two types of Lavender: Spanish and English. In addition, it also has I believe thyme and juniper berry. It is a great, sweet and sour mix which along with the the zesty lemon really lifts up the fragrance and sets it apart from the others.

I would happily pay for a big bottle of this I find it well worth the money for my taste. A cologne which has just the right balance (in my opinion) of sour, tangy citrus and green herbs and lavender. I do recommend everyone out there to try it and enjoy it. Highly recommended, especially for spring and summer, and hot weather. Elegant and sparklingly refreshingly beautiful in it's balance and composition.
28th December, 2016

Cédrat Enivrant by Atelier Cologne

Invigorating!

An extremely zesty fragrance that is a joy to wear in hot weather and a real winner all round. One which is full of citrus burst in a very authentic and pleasing way. Phenomenal in it's freshness and light, effervescent quality.

I find this an extremely easy fragrance to wear. It's like a burst of lemon, lime or grapefruit juice which just lifts you up and works on any occasion. For a modern citrus I can't deny that this is very well done. A real achievement from Atelier Cologne. I would recommend it for citrus lovers and add to the list of fragrances suitable for hot summers. Really good stuff.
12th November, 2016

Volutes by Diptyque

Smoky honeyed tobacco...

Very interesting and seductive scent. I really like this one and find it intriguing. A very seductive scent which has a combination of all my favourite notes. Iris, honey, tobacco. All work together wonderfully in this (Note: I'm reviewing the Eau de Parfum version).

This reminds me a little of Chergui by Serge Lutens. I think it has a very similar vibe and I find it intriguing. The iris note is great and I always appreciate iris in a perfume. It does smell like tobacco smoke, or at least a sweet incense. I find this would suit winter and autumn the best in my opinion, especially in the Eau de Parfum. I think if you like amber, incense or tobacco themes in fragrances, this is one to check out. Unisex and very noir, this is a great mysterious fragrance which would smell great on a well-dressed elegant person with style. Intriguing, seductive, and quite special.
06th November, 2016

A*Men Pure Havane by Thierry Mugler

Sweet honey, chocolate & tobacco...

Wow! Just wow!

This is without a doubt my absolute favourite of the A*Men/Angel Men line. I just love it! I get honeyed tobacco, along with the vanilla, and chocolate-patchouli combo of the original A*Men. A wonderful fragrance.

I haven't been this happy about a fragrance for a long time. I really like this one and am recommending it. I didn't actually like the original A*Men/Angel Men all that much. I found the opening too harsh and bitter. This one is smooth and creamy with tobacco and honey and sweet spices and vanilla. It is absolutely gorgeous! I think this is a winner for anyone who likes A*Men but wished it was a bit different and smoother. It has a velvety sweet texture and I really love it that way. Even if you didn't like the original A*Men or like gourmandish or even sweet honey tobacco fragrances like Tom Ford - Tobacco Vanille. I think this is a great contender against that fragrance at a great price. Beautiful stuff from Thierry Mugler!
30th October, 2016

555 by Chabrawichi

Very floral fragrance...

This is one which is made to an old recipe. It is made in the style of the classic European eau de colognes of old. I do like the way it smells and it has that floral, lemon vibe which is familiar if you have experienced those other types.

A fragrance which I came across in Egypt and which comes from a very old Egyptian house. Nothing ground breaking but very charming and loveable. I do recommend it as a trip to the past. Much in the way something like <i>Guerlain - L'Heure Bleue</i> is.
17th October, 2016

Aqua Amara by Bulgari

Golden Aquatic...

This is a really nice one. A creation by the master perfumer Jacques Cavallier, this one is great. I do love the way it has been done. Done in such a way that it doesn't feel like a typical aquatic. With bitter orange, patchouli and possibly some cardamom and herbs, this is a good one. I would happily wear it. It reminds me of the beach and sea, and warm skin. I think it's a masterful fragrance, and really clever for it's genre. With another perfumer this could've been a very generic scent, but with Jacques Cavallier it became something unique and intriguing. I think this is definitely one to try for summer nights and hot, beach vacations. Really well done and it surprised me in a good way.
11th October, 2016

Luna Rossa Extreme by Prada

Clean & Sensual...

This is one which is an all round pleasant experience. I get pepper, lavender and vanilla, with a hint of florals in the background. It's traditionally masculine but I can't see why it wouldn't be suitable for a woman as well.

It reminds me of other fragrances with a lavender and vanilla combination. The addition of pepper and spices also serves to make the fragrance a little different in it's approach. I do like it, and would wear it from time to time. I have been impressed so far with the fragrances I have tried from Prada. This one is no exception.
11th October, 2016

Legend by Montblanc

Awesome opening, and an overall nice scent.

I did like this one. It reminded me of how much I like fruit done right in a fragrance. It reminds me a little of Aventus by Creed but only in the initial opening. I don't find this fragrance controversial or offensive at all. In fact I think that anyone and everyone would like this.

I like the apple and pineapple aspects, and the lavender mid and the woody base. Yes it's been done before in other male-marketed fragrances, but it's still a really nice fragrance. I would personally wear it. It's great, it works for almost any occasion, and is inoffensive and interesting enough for people to notice and be intrigued. This has been my first time trying a fragrance from Mont Blanc and personally I think it's a good one.
05th October, 2016

Perfume Calligraphy Rose by Aramis

Sweet Rose & Myrrh...

What a performance! This fragrance opens with a bang of sweet, jammy rose surrounded by myrrh and amber and frankincense, with a big hit of saffron.

It reminds me a lot of the original Aramis - Perfume Calligraphy but with the oud turned down and the rose turned up. I personally don't really get any oud wood in this but the rose is full and sweet and juicy, albeit surrounded and supported by an ambery, honey-like vibe.

The fragrance feels syrupy, like rosewater used in a dessert. Ambergris, labdanum and musk linger in the dry-down, and the sweetness of the opening turns dark, muted and resinous towards the end.

I think this is one which, if you are a rose lover, you will adore. I find the opening a little sweet to my taste, but that comes from the myrrh, which is prominent throughout. I get a syrupy jam feeling with the rose but the incense and resins give it depth the more it stays on skin.

Try this out if you love rose style fragrances and Oriental/Arabian style perfumes done right. I highly recommend the Aramis Calligraphy range, especially as value for price. I like this syrupy rose!
15th September, 2016
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Dior Homme Cologne (2013) by Christian Dior

Lovely & Fresh...

This is a very fresh and clean scent. It is fresh and clean in a natural smelling way (not like Mugler Cologne, as much as I love that fragrance). Yes, this is like the "niche" version of Mugler Cologne. I get lemon and lime, the grapefruit blossom, maybe even a hint of faint neroli, then vetiver and clean white musk. It's a very "white and clean" fragrance. I can't fault it within reason. It's one I would happily purchase and wear again. A really lovely scent which is beautiful, natural, and which really won't offend anybody. I believe it is a pleasing and enticing gem which all clean, professional men should try. Lovely great stuff.
09th September, 2016

Vanille Noire by Yves Rocher

Rich, Subtle Vanilla...

A great Vanilla scent here. One which is not too expensive, and which smells real and natural. Vanilla is generally one of my favourite smells, and I think this one would work great on both sexes. I have always appreciated everything I've tried so far from Yves Rocher. This one is no exception. I think the quality is great for what you get, and they always try to use natural ingredients as much as possible.

Vanille Noire is a linear Vanilla scent, but therein lies the beauty. It's a simple blend of real, natural smelling Vanilla pods and orange blossom with a hint of mandarin orange. I love it. A clean base of cedar finishes off the composition nicely. I enjoy this one more than I did Yves Rocher Cedre Bleu, which was a Vanilla-Cedar combo but which was too powdery for my taste. I like this one a lot better and it smells more natural. Great for men or women, and great for layering. A good, natural, simple Vanilla scent... and good for the price too. Not bad.
09th September, 2016

Dior Homme Eau for Men by Christian Dior

Dior Homme Light...

So I've been wearing this one and have actually been enjoying it. It reminds me of a lighter and (at first) slightly generic version of Dior Homme. In other words, more like an imitation of Dior Homme than the real thing. I do like it though. This one has definitely grown on me. I find it very soothing and the fact that they weren't shy on using the iris here is a real bonus. I love iris in all forms so for me I really cannot call this a bad fragrance. I have never ever been disappointed in any of the Dior Homme line. I think this one is worth it if you like iris fragrances for men.
01st September, 2016

Noir Exquis by L'Artisan Parfumeur

Vanilla & Chestnut...

I think this is a fragrance which will appeal to a broad range of people. That's because it's not really gourmand enough to turn people away, and it has just enough gourmand notes in it to attract people.

I say this because the way Bertrand Duchaufour has used the ingredients, they don't feel overwhelming or sweet in any way. In fact it's quite subtle. I get a mix of tonka bean, heliotrope and vanilla, then the sandalwood and ebony wood. So it's a mix of vanilla and woods basically, which isn't particularly original, but I do get the chestnut note, which I think is.

I love the smell of chestnut as it reminds me of Christmas time, and this fragrance brings that back for me. It reminds me of food, so I guess you could call it a gourmand, but at the same time it has enough woodiness that it's very tame and versatile. A fragrance for both formal and casual wear. I really enjoy this one, and once again I am impressed with yet another brilliant creation from this house and perfumer. Quite good in my opinion.
29th August, 2016

Tea Rose by Perfumer's Workshop

Pure Rosebush...

This may seem like a simple fragrance, but it's stunning and beautiful in it's simplicity. A very realistic rose perfume with a super accurate rose note. With this one I get the green leaves, as well as the dewy petals in the morning sun. Absolutely gorgeous. This is a perfume which is not trying to do anything else other than capture the essence, the experience of smelling a rose bush in full bloom. Not an oriental rose with amber or labdanum or vanilla etc... but instead letting the flower speak for itself, with no pretensions.

A completely authentic smelling rose fragrance, and for the money, perhaps one of the best on the market. If you are a rose lover, hands down this should be one to own or at least try. Perfect quality for the price. I'm highly impressed.
27th August, 2016

A*Men Pure Malt by Thierry Mugler

A modern classic...

Yes this is an example of a much loved, modern classic fragrance from the house of Thierry Mugler. I actually prefer this one to the original Angel Men. I think the addition of the boozy and fruity aspects really gives it new dimension and flavour.

It opens up with much of the same DNA as the original, but I would say that it holds enough distinction in that it is a flanker on it's own right. You can own both. The chocolate and patchouli aspects of the original have given way to a honeyed, boozy quality which is evident from the start, and very pleasing. I like it very much. I would say it is more versatile than the original in that it can be worn in many situations without overwhelming anyone. For those who saw the original as harsh and cloying this one is a mellowed, more well-rounded quality. I think it will appeal to both fans of the original and new customers. Definitely one to try if you prefer the sweet, gourmandish and boozy type of fragrances. I recommend this one over the original in many ways. A really great and pleasing choice all round. A very good overall fragrance and a must try for younger men for sure!
26th August, 2016

Un Jardin en Méditerranée by Hermès

The scent of green figs...

Let me start by saying that I am a huge fan of the Un Jardin series of fragrances. I love the work of Jean-Claude Ellena and find that his work is nothing short of superb in every aspect. I had been wanting to try this perfume for a long time.

Finally, I've been wearing it recently and have enjoyed it. My initial preconception was that it would be a sweet, juicy fig type of scent, much like Acqua di Parma - Blu Mediterraneo: Fico di Amalfi, however here is a green figgy scent which is more in keeping with the same style as Un Jardin Sur le Nil, another green fragrance. I must say that as a fig perfume, I do prefer the Acqua di Parma version. However this one does make me feel that if you didn't like Sur le Nil (ie you found it "too green") then you woudl like this instead.

Overall, this is well worth a try in my opinion, if you like fresh, spring & summer fragrances with substance. A masterful effort from Jean-Claude Ellena.
25th August, 2016

Old English Lavender Water by D.R. Harris & co.

Classic Lavender...

This has a wonderful smell. A very natural smelling and very simply made lavender scented eau de cologne. I have been a fan of the D. R. Harris products and have used aftershave and colognes from them before. With this one, the name basically describes the whole fragrance. A simply made lavender water with basic ingredients. I actually find this one very similar to Pour Un Homme de Caron - except without the vanilla note. This one is lavender, coumarin and musk, with some minimal herbs thrown in. Very conventional, very safe, very dependable. If you want no-nonsense lavender, choose this one. If you want this but with a little twist, go for Pour Un Homme...
13th August, 2016

Tabac Rouge / Turkish Blend by Phaedon

Love this one. I always love these tobacco scents and anything with tobacco and honey is great. I really feel like this is a great fragrance to compare with Tobacco Vanille by Tom Ford. Having said that, this is more versatile than that one, albeit different. This has a ginger note, and other great notes which are sheer and transparent when compared to the Tom Ford. I would recommend this as an alternative but not a clone.

The scent lasts for a long time on my skin, with a spicy ginger, honey & tobacco vibe. It is better suited for warmer (but not hot) weather. So where I would wear the Tom Ford in winter and autumn, this is one I would wear in the spring and early summer. As a standalone fragrance, this is just the right amount of tobacco that I like. The honey and ginger and spices are the main partners here with the tobacco not overwhelming anything. This is a great one to try for those who like warm & spicy fragrances, but which are also transparent and sheer too. Great stuff!
11th August, 2016

Angel by Thierry Mugler

Perfect Gourmand...

A true beauty here. This is one which I expected to be a monster, but it really turned out to be sublime in it's smell and performance. I tried the male version first, which I found extremely harsh and almost cloying, with a screechy tar note and heavy patchouli. This in the other hand, is perfect for me.

One thing I like about Angel is that the notes are blended perfectly to my nose. The patchouli, chocolate, caramel, vanilla and honey are all perfect. To me no one overwhelms the other too much. There are elements of candy floss, fruits, berries and tonka bean that show up as well (all of which I love). It's one hell of a gourmand, and I love it!

It's a fragrance which I would love smelling on people and wearing also. I find it a lot more wearable than the men's version, and it just feels "done right" to my nose. Probably best in cooler weather in my opinion, but could probably be worn year round with measured spraying. I think this isn't the beast that people make it out to be (at least to me)... so give it a try!
11th August, 2016 (last edited: 10th August, 2016)

1805 by Truefitt & Hill

Fresh aquatic cologne...

This is an invigorating and really nice aromatic, citrus aquatic cologne. It is also my first Truefitt & Hill fragrance. I find it pleasing. I don't find it exceptional in any way but I do find it pleasing and lovely.

If I could describe it, I would say that it is an aquatic but without the aquatic notes. I detect a citrus, a musk, and a salty lavender note. I think these together give that impression. This is great as a starting eau de cologne which is very versatile and pleasing. One to try if you like that sort of thing.
08th August, 2016

Eau de Protection / Rossy de Palma by Etat Libre d'Orange

A sultry, Gothic, spicy Spanish Rose!

Etat Libre d'Orange are usually known for making "shocking" or "unconventional" fragrances, they have also made fragrances inspired by "unconventional" celebrities (like British actress Tilda Swinton). Eau de Protection was their first celebrity inspired fragrance. They took inspiration from "unconventional looking" Spanish actress Rossy de Palma.

This is a spicy rose fragrance! Roses are the favourite flower of actress Rossy de Palma (whose name also means "Rose"), and her garden in Madrid is full of roses. I really think in this case Etat Libre d'Orange have created something very beautiful and alluring with this one.

The fragrance opens up with notes of sour bergamot & spicy ginger (with some fiery black pepper), but they are quickly overtaken by this beautiful, rich, dark syrupy, almost candied rose... absolutely beautiful. At it's heart this is a Rose-Patchouli combination fragrance, but unlike other similar examples out there, this one feels very "emotional", like the rose is being passionate and sensual. Both Rossy de Palma and Etat Libre d'Orange describe this as a "bleeding" rose, and I do get that. To my nose, the rose is paired with a slightly metallic geranium note... and geranium is so multi-faceted that it can sometimes smell like roses, sometimes like lemons, and sometimes like cloves etc. I think this aspect combined with the rose gives it a lush, full-bodied aroma (and the slight impression of blood, etc).

However, this is an extremely wearable fragrance, either by men or by women, although I find this would really shine on a woman's skin. This is a fantastic fragrance from the house of Etat Libre d'Orange and one that, if you are a rose lover, you should definitely check out! A dangerous, sexy, spicy Spanish rose!
05th August, 2016

Jovan Musk for Men by Jovan

The Perfect White Musk...

This fragrance is the cleanest musk fragrance I have ever smelled. Simply put, it can be worn at any place, any time, anywhere.

It reminds me of clean, floral musks which are often my favourite category of fragrance. Simply superb. For the price this is one which is hard to beat in terms of smell and experience. I think as long as you do not expect something of amazing niche quality here, you can be on to a guaranteed winner.

I find this can be worn dressed up, dressed down, and in pretty much any situation. I also detect lavender, some carnation and maybe something along the line of white pepper, with a clean, fresh, citrus musky vibe.

This is a great one which I would personally reach for in any occasion. For the price, I would recommend it for men of any age. A great one which I like very much.
03rd August, 2016

Only for Her by Hayari Parfums

Beautiful floral...

This is a lovely fragrance. A very feminine blend of freesia, peony and vanilla and other soft, warm notes. I would describe this overall as a warm, sensual floral.

A fragrance which to me is like a very refined, niche version of The One by Dolce & Gabbana. I could see this a as a perfect gift for a woman. Absolutely perfect. I would recommend it on that basis and as a beautiful classically feminine floral with a light, sultry heart.
16th July, 2016

Moonlight in Heaven by By Kilian

Tropical Bliss...

This is a lovely fragrance. I love the way it combines the notes of ripe mango, grapefruit and coconut. The coconut and tonka bean give a vanilla-like feel to it which is really nice. I enjoy wearing this a lot and I think this is generally a "feel good" perfume.

This is my first Kilian fragrance and I'm impressed. It's worth trying for the "tropical" factor. Fans of such perfumes should definitely try it out.
11th July, 2016

Rose en Noir by Miller Harris

The Black Rose...

I always love trying creations from Miller Harris. I feel that Lyn Harris is a master perfumer who has a talent for making beautifully crafted and exceptionally natural smelling perfumes.

Rose en Noir is a deep, dark spicy rose perfume which reminds me of other creations such as Rose 31 by Le Labo. I also feel that this is one best suited for night and formal wear. The combination and blend of strong, prominent rose with aromatic dry tobacco is really unique, which is combined with the spicy cumin, black pepper and coriander, dark patchouli (always a common combination with rose) and crisp violet leaf.

This is like a rose in darkness, shrouded in night and dark shadow. A very dusky rose perfume which is sultry and different. I recommend this one and actually find it very unisex (with just the right amount of spices). Nothing is cloying or overwhelming or out of place. It shows once again that Lyn Harris is a master perfumer and at the top of her game. Great stuff and worth trying out.
10th July, 2016

Jour d'Hermès by Hermès

Delicate and refreshing...

Again, I am impressed by the work of Jean-Claude Ellena. This is an example of something beautiful and something which I think is a classic in the making.


First of all, I think because this task was given to someone like Ellena, the perfume really became something special in terms of female fragrances. It's very common to have a light, fruity floral mix which smells generic. But here, the focus has been on the balance between the delicate white florals, and a beautiful citrus undertone (mainly from grapefruit). You have notes like Gardenia and sweet pea and and a delicate lightness with just a touch of creaminess beneath, but never overpowering.

One thing I like about this fragrance is that at no point does this descend into powdery floral territory. In fact it keeps this delicate floral citrus balance throughout (which in my opinion is very hard to do). Again it shows the work of a master perfumer in my view.

With regards to performance and longevity, this Eau de Parfum projects on my skin for the first 4-5 hours, with a further presence of about 2 hours after that. I feel that it does perform like an Eau de Toilette and I do with it would last longer. I can see this working very well in spring and summer, and great for wedding parties etc.

Really recommend this one as it stands out from the crowd of generic summer florals, and shows itself as something more delicate and beautiful. Really wonderful!
24th June, 2016