Reviews by toddchristy

    Showing 1 to 12 of 12.
    rating


    Derring-Do for Men by Ineke

    Light, crisp, clean, and easy to wear. Not overpowering or offensive. Def. an every day scent, that the guy next to you on the train won't be wearing. Not head-over-heels in love. Instead content.

    07 December, 2007

    rating


    Terre d'Hermès by Hermès

    Earthy and orange. Addictive. Long lasting. Unusual and intriguing for a day-wear scent. Great bottle. Never grow tired of this.

    07 December, 2007

    rating


    Second Skin by Ted Baker

    Not at all what I was expecting, after the light crispness of Skinwear. Unlike that, this ones heavy, even murky. Not sure how to begin to describe it. Smoky leather coffee? Definitely a winter scent. Not sure if women would prefer it, but one could wear it to poker night with the boys, and not fear ridicule. Super long lasting. As with Skinwear, the bottle's half the fun. I'd buy it again.

    07 December, 2007

    rating


    John Varvatos by John Varvatos

    Huge fan of this one. In the same ballpark as Angel A and Dolce&Gabbana, but yet different. Not as sweet as the former. Warm, and spicy. Almost like a striking herbal tea by a fireplace, on a freezing-cold night. Don't know anyone who dislikes it. Lasts forever, and one spray does plenty.

    07 December, 2007

    rating


    Cuiron Pour Homme by Helmut Lang

    Echo the leather comments of other reviewers. Smells like the bottle looks: dark, musky, interesting without being too clever. Not too heavy, however. Similar to Kiehl's Musk, in packaging and fragrance. Used to be cheap on certain websites. Now through-the-roof costly.

    07 December, 2007

    rating


    Paul Smith Extreme Men by Paul Smith

    A sucker for packaging, I got this blind. The bottle is neato, and it was affordable, so I figured "small risk." Terribly disappointing. Starts and stays spicy. Like cinnamon. Behind the spicy is sickly sweet. It's limited longevity is a blessing. Imagine this being made in the 1800s, before scents evolved to have many facets. Linear. Perhaps rich, uptight people at the country club might like this, but not me.

    07 December, 2007

    rating


    Vetiver by Guerlain

    At first reminds me of what my grandfather might've worn. Only if my gramps was much, much cooler. Evokes and old barbershop. Soapy/clean and green. Most say it's a warm-weather fragrance, but I find it great year round. Def. day time, however. An adult scent, for sure.

    07 December, 2007

    rating


    Ted Baker Skinwear by Ted Baker

    Started my interest in fragrance. Interesting composition of sandlewood and citrus. Smells the way everyone describes Erfolfa: like being near the ocean. Highly recommended. Clean, crisp, wear-to-work scent. Affordable, too. Will always keep a bottle handy. FYI: Ted Baker has a store in the Forum, @ Ceasar's, in Vegas.

    07 December, 2007

    rating


    Portfolio for Men by Perry Ellis

    My first fragrance purchase. Fresh, clean pear/citrus scent. Bottle's great for travel, being brushed metal. Sprayer is unreliable, however. Lasts long enough. Linear. Reminds me of Boss In Motion. Smells crisp, but is cloying after a time. Hard to get excited over, but certainly not bad.

    07 December, 2007

    rating


    Paul Smith for Men by Paul Smith

    Bought this blind, b/c I liked the bottle so much. Wasn't nearly as impressed by the smell. Very green and crisp, but not so exciting. Light. Doesn't last long. Not awful. Just pedestrian. Would be Miller Light, were it beer.

    07 December, 2007

    rating


    Dolce & Gabbana Pour Homme by Dolce & Gabbana

    Quite simply my fave night-time/winter fragrance. Spicy/musky leather and tobacco. Women adore it. Longevity is great for me. In fact, when it gets on my leather coat, it stays the entire winter. May turn out to be this generation's Drakkar, but who cares? Delicious!

    07 December, 2007

    rating


    Ted Baker Woman by Ted Baker

    Got my sis the comfret, smell unseen. Was plesantly surprised by it's light, powdery scent. Powdery, but with a lasting warmth. Sis liked it, and wore it daily. Not sweet and juvenile IMHO. Bottle is art.

    07 December, 2007

    Showing 1 to 12 of 12.