Reviews by Echo777

    Echo777's avatar
    Echo777
    United States United States

    Showing 31 to 54 of 54.
    rating


    Bel Ami by Hermès

    Starts out really fresh, lemony and citrusy, (ala YSL Pour Homme or Versace L'Homme) then settles into a spicy leather (ala a classier Halston Z-14). The ride includes florals (ala Givenchy Insense) and yet it's all men's territory, while retaining a sensitive and floral aura. This powerhouse is rich and sweet...a good comforting scent in cool autumn days. Also a good starter leather scent for newbies...Way smooth and classy.

    24 April, 2009

    rating


    Jockey Club by Caswell-Massey

    The definitive "barber shop" scent. Very dry and powdery and very green. Runs the gamut of light green to deep Polo-esque greens. Smells like a primo talc powder. I find that it lasts a long time, even after subjecting it to a smoky environment. Very old fashioned, in a good way. I don't wear it much, but I can't ever be without it. Classic, in every sense possible

    30th September, 2008

    rating


    Versace pour Homme by Versace

    Very Italian light scent that might be a good choice for summer. Not the sweet lil thing you get from the "Versace Fresh", but about the same. Kinda got a AdG feel right off the bat (albeit a bit better), but then I realized that it's really very close to Chanel Allure Sport as previously mentioned. If you have Allure Sport, no need for this. I preferred the L'Homme from Versace with its lemon and oakmoss. It's more manly, which may or may not be a plus depending on what you want.

    23 September, 2008

    rating


    Tokyo by Kenzo

    As Luca Turin put it, this a milky woodsy composition. It smells like it coulda been one of the Guccis. It smells like lotioning up with Lubriderm in a lumberyard. There's a lotta cedar at play here. It's basically Jungle minus the sweet-sugary-honey stickiness, replaced with a milky smoothness. If you like Gucci (esp. Rush), this is for you. Certainly unorignial, but it's an original take on a boring, repetitive, stale fragrance idea. Loved the box and bottle big time.

    23 September, 2008

    rating


    Boss Selection by Hugo Boss

    Smells like Del Mar with a watered down purple or red feel to it. The dry down is pretty long-lived, but smells like sugary cotton candy (which is kinda redundant, but...). I guess it's okay if you like sweet young smelling stuff and you're a young dude (or girl). If that's your thing, then neutral. For a scent called "Selection"...I dunno. Thought it'd be more elite smelling and powerful.

    23 September, 2008

    rating


    Verbena by Caswell-Massey

    Like most Caswell-Massey offerings, this is a simple composition that's got amazing longevity. Straight forward lemony (and somewhat oily) goodness. Like Lemon Pledge or some kinda cleaning agent. Rich and bold. It does what it does.

    23 September, 2008

    rating


    Envy by Gucci

    This is a great unisex fragrance. Light, green and somewhat sweet. I like this in the summer. Like Light Blue (D and G for women), there isn't a real floral feminine vibe that would put a guy off. In fact, you (as a guy) could wear this in the spring and summer and then switch to Gucci for Men in the fall and winter. That'd be nice two scent wardrobe.

    23 September, 2008

    rating


    Contradiction for Men by Calvin Klein

    Starts out with a lot of sage, peppercorns, and nutmeg. Sounds very spicy, but actually very tame. This could either be very pleasing or disappointing, depending on you demands.

    It all boils down into a dry woodsy smell. Yes, very cool and warm indeed, so a bit of a contradiction. Also very avant garde for CK scents. The problem is that CK is not an avant garde company, hence another contradiction. The other thing is that there are so many different notes that can be detected as mentioned in the pyramid above that one thinks that you'd end up with a rather complex scent. The reality is that this is actually pretty boring.

    I guess it's good for everyday (night or day, any time of year, casual or formal), but not a must have. For those who "think" they want something different or "out there", but actually don't.
    Kind of smells like a new (minimalist) building. With new carpet. And some vanilla air freshener. You those car air fresheners that have a "new car smell"? It's kinda like that, with a slight woody edge. Could've been one of the rejected scents from Comme des Garcons. Imagine any one of their "numbered" scents minus the verve. There you go.

    Contradiction

    22 June, 2006

    rating


    Incensi by Lorenzo Villoresi

    Starts out with a mossy, cinnamon blast of potpourri with a warm aura of nutmeg nestled in a light vanilla (and perhaps some bay leaves). It settles down into a subtle, warm incense smell that isn't nearly as smokey as you might expect from an incense-based scent.

    Like a much warmer version of Dunhill Edition without so much clove. Also this LV strikes me as being similar to Obsession in the drydown, minus the sweet and fruity topnotes.

    Also, not the greatest longevity from LV, which could be a good thing if you don't need the boldness. I could go for some more staying power. Otherwise, well done.

    21st June, 2006

    rating


    Rocabar by Hermès

    Rocabar starts out with a burst of fresh orange and works its way down into some sharp and pungent pine and cedar needles. It then settles down into a warm, creamy vanilla mixed with sharp cedar smell. This has a holiday feel to it because of all the pine, but seems best suited for late summer through winter. Reminds be a bit of the country in the autumn, with its forest scents and the smell of freshly cut hay. Not a leather scent, but has a bit of a saddle smell as Rocabar is a very rich and warm golden smell. Heady and somewhat oily, this reminds me of the rural Kansas of my childhood.

    All in all, not a "must have" scent and far from amazing, this is a good, solid masculine cologne that's sweet, but not too sweet. Very bold and rich, but not too dark or overpowering. A great autumn scent and proabably one of the best pine scents ever made (that I have tried thus far).

    19 June, 2006

    rating


    Gucci pour Homme by Gucci

    Ah, yes. The pencil-shavings cologne. This is another masterpiece from Gucci. While not the complex melange of potpourri scents that made up Envy, Pour Homme is a simple, understated, bold beast. A basic scent that is not subtle.

    While the basic premise is "wood meets more wood", this is a scent with its own complexity. It starts out with a mild bite of white pepper that works its way into an incense descent (not as bold or bad as Rush, though). This brings you to the dry, almost astringent, wood base. I get some vetiver and amber after the ginger and incense parts, but not so much the leather. I guess it's more of a dry leather, not too oily.

    This is a great scent for winter and autumn. It could be used in summer, if used sparingly, but is best suited for cooler days and nights. It's incredibly warm and my skin feels and smells literally hot, as if warmth were eminating from the scent. Not for all people, but I can't resist the wood, white pepper and incense. A must try for all who like woodsy scents. Smells very masculine and noble (not Nobile). Brutal and classy at the same time. One of the rawest and most refined fragrances in the same instant. Keep this one away from the children. This is intended for adult use only.

    By the way, see if you can find the 30 ml travel spray. It's one of my favorite bottle designs and sprayers of all time. The color sums up the scent, too.

    An instant classic...for those who like this sort of thing.
    Recommended for those who liked the CdG Incense Series.

    13 June, 2006

    rating


    Truth Calvin Klein Men by Calvin Klein

    This scent has a real one note song, but a good one if you like light and sweet scents. This smells nearly identical to 212 Men, only minus the heady incense basenote. Otherwise, the same sweet, green wet bamboo and fresh cut grass is the tie that binds. This is a good (mind you, not great) scent for summer and spring. (Although, I prefer Tsar for spring.)

    Also worth mentioning is the longevity, I hadn't expected much as it's CK, but this seems to last 10 hours or so with several sprays. It's a good office or casual scent. Sure, there are others that are better, but this isn't bad. Gets the occasional compliment, too.

    13 June, 2006

    rating


    Envy for Men by Gucci

    I've never smelled a Gucci scent that I didn't like. All bias aside, this is perhaps the best Gucci creation ever, although Pour Homme is a close second.

    This has a sharp (but not too sharp) pine needle scnet in that dries down into a sublime incence and vanilla scent. Not too woodsy, not too sweet, and not too sharp. Envy smells sexy and seductive as well as formal and dignified.

    The nutmeg and ginger mixed with the pine scent remind me of Christmas and this is a great cold weather scent that I stick with through winter. Not good for hot weather, but might be tolerable on rainy summer nights. I like it in fall and winter, from sunrise to sunset.

    Very classy and extremely well-made. One of my top ten of all time. This ought to end up being the next Polo. It has that green-pine-woods scent. This is what people should reach for in their post-Polo phase. A new classic!

    13 June, 2006

    rating


    Dolce & Gabbana Pour Homme by Dolce & Gabbana

    This is a really fruity scent. It starts out with an oily, heavy tropical fruit introduction that then gives way to black pepper. Sometimes I notice the black pepper elements more prominently, and sometimes it's the tobacco. The tobacco note never stands out too much to me. It seems that the neroli and citrus scents dominate so heavily that the basenotes never reveal themsleves fully. The drydown is basically a calmer, less intrusive mix of the tropical smelling fruits (bananas, mangoes, et. al.)

    The scent is pretty sweet, almost sickeningly so, therefore it could function well on some women as an evening scent. For me, it's way too fruity and cloying. I do keep a bottle of this around since it has it functions on those "party" occasions when something quirky is called for.

    Many people consider this to be a formal fragrance, but I say it's more casual. It's also recommended for cool weather. While the "heaviness" of it makes it a good scent to "warm up" with in the winter, I think that it works equally well in summer, preferrably at night. It smells like a day on a tropical beach at times.

    A relativley safe buy, this is not a great blind buy. The sweet, oily, fruity, soap scent can be a bit intimidating, so try it on your skin before you buy. The longevity is great (if you like the scent in the first place) and lasts the whole day until you wash it off in the shower, where it still smells pretty strong.

    The primary saving graces of this scent are the pepper and the tobacco (when it's noticable). This is far from being a "thumbs down", but it's a bit much for me. Others swear by it, so it's all relative, I guess. A must try at any rate.

    13 June, 2006

    rating


    parfums*PARFUMS Series 7 Sweet: Nomad Tea by Comme des Garçons

    Like a stick of gum. A powdery sweet candy scent. There's much more mint than tea. Imagine a cup of mint tea with extra sugar.

    04 January, 2006

    rating


    parfums*PARFUMS Series 7 Sweet: Wood Coffee by Comme des Garçons

    Not as many "coffee" notes as the name might initally suggest. More of a vanilla and anise direction here. Somewhat sweet...in a cocoa and vanilla kind of way. Take it or leave it.

    04 January, 2006

    rating


    Vetiver by Lorenzo Villoresi

    A bold, bright green musky vetiver. Easily my favorite vetiver scent. Great for everyday usage. Bold, yet wearable, like the best of LV's scents.

    04 January, 2006

    rating


    Piper Nigrum by Lorenzo Villoresi

    Starts out strong on the mint. A pleasant dry down to pepper, dill, and a delicate amber musk. One of my faves from LV.

    04 January, 2006

    rating


    Sandalo by Lorenzo Villoresi

    A superior sandalwood. Includes a great floral support that adds complexity. At once, a complex and straight-forward sandalwood scent. As definitive as LV's Vetiver.

    04 January, 2006

    rating


    Patchouli by Lorenzo Villoresi

    A very smooth and enjoyable patchouli. Not so many high cedar notes as in other patchoulis, this has more of a gingerbread vibe, like a fresh baked sweet patchouli bread. A superior patchouli, but less inspiring than Serge Lutens Borneo 1834 (which is quite similar) or Montale Patchouli Leaves (!!!).

    04 January, 2006

    rating


    Wild Lavender / Inglese by Lorenzo Villoresi

    Less of a floral and sweet lavender than is typically found. Very sharp and astringent. Dry and pungent, a lavender for men.

    04 January, 2006

    rating


    parfums*PARFUMS Series 3 Incense: Zagorsk by Comme des Garçons

    Mossy with an astringent grassy underbelly. Less woodsy than others in this series, but no less great.

    04 January, 2006

    rating


    parfums*PARFUMS Series 3 Incense: Kyoto by Comme des Garçons

    Like a handful of cedar chips punctuated by pine needles. Pungent and pleasant.

    04 January, 2006

    rating


    Palais Jamais by Etro

    Smoky, yet not too dark. Soapy and syrupy. Fruity and floral, but not really sweet at all. Like a sharp, green leaf with soothing oily elements. Great for whenever. Extremely difficult to pin down and great all-around. Very complex and yet a seemingly simple scent. Great unisex versatility. It took me several tries to really love the spicy, oily goodness that is Palais Jamais, but it's worth it.

    04 January, 2006

    Showing 31 to 54 of 54.