Perfume Reviews

Reviews by eaudemale

Advertisement

Acqua di Giò Essenza by Giorgio Armani

I ended up buying a 180ml bottle go figure out why. The most prominent notes are the citric ones during the opening and then basil and jasmine, like lots of basil, why do my old memories of this fragrance were something melony? After a few hours I can sniff the cedar, the rest are complimentary notes for me. The sillage is not great for a eau de parfum, but with a 180ml bottle, I don't expect to get anything better up till I get to the half of it at least.
26th August, 2012

Black Afgano by Nasomatto

This is some quality juice not for everyone or anytime.
There's some ginger and anise at first sniff, it's spicy yet subtle and I get some whiskey or is it probably the woods that are the same. Then you'll immediately get some smoky woods, like from classic fragrances, for people that have smelled hachis, yes, you will get hachis, not burned hachis and then something green very subtle as well in the mid notes, all this very well mixed with cinnamon, remember Obsession, well, like that but add lots of smoke. For the dry down there's the smoke still, this is the most prominent note, that makes the fragrance seems linear for some except if you can sniff it carefully and try to identify its components.
26th August, 2012

Mémoire d'Homme by Nina Ricci

Imagine cold grapefruit and a little bit of anise at first sniff, inhale and you'll get nutmeg, ginger and lots of smoky woods. After a few hours, what's left are the smoke, some ginger and vetiver.
What's not to like on that? It's strong, masculine and has lots of potential to become a classic, best seller, everything Le Male should have been but is, due to the hype and genius marketing.

Romantic/clubbing fragrance, great for autumn/winter/spring nights.

26th August, 2012
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

L'Eau Bleue D'Issey pour Homme by Issey Miyake

Way ahead of its time and for the typical customer, LEB is a masterpiece. Yes, it smells blue, some say it's green but I can get a hint of seaweed here, not that it was declared, but something salty subtly appears.
Mint will come to your mind if someone tells you, otherwise you think you've smelled something like this before, then there's this splash of really familiar odeurs from the 80's, like flower soaps, aftershaves when things used to be a mix of grass and marine components.
So, this just came to my mind... imagine yourself running through the humid forrest during autumn, the fresh herbs, the wind and then you see the sea and feel all those components mixed on your nose, accented by a hint of mint. that's LEB
07th February, 2011

Dior Homme Cologne by Christian Dior

Hmmm, why would someone put citrus here? Where's the cocoa, amber and the lavender?? You can still feel the women purse smell but not with the sweetness and mystery of the original and the intense versions.
It's OK though, but I can shower on this and will last for an hour or two. Love the spray, you just gotta love the spray on the DIOR HOMME collection.
07th February, 2011

Le Mâle Summer by Jean Paul Gaultier

This smells like urine on me... lavender and more minty than the original but something is not right here. thumbs down.
07th February, 2011

1 Million by Paco Rabanne

Stay away from this... the opening is too medical... something with cherries, mint, very strong.. the lasting power is ok but the drydown is way too femenine, even when I go for fragrances as A*men, V Valentino and Au Masculine among others, this one is not good at all... smells cheap, like the fragrances you can test at drugstores but at the feminine section. I went for Ultrared instead, not that masculine but stays pretty close to the sking, sweet, very, but perfect for the summer...
10th January, 2009

Allure Homme Edition Blanche by Chanel

Creamy???? Smooth??? It's very spicy, and lemony at the opening... just like lemons and lemons... then really spicy while the lemons start to dry to a powdery smell, typical from citrusy frag. and a plus of some sexy hint of leather and woods.. Really nice, but it could perfectly be a fragrance instead of an edition.. really mediterranean, a great substitute to your L'eau de Issey.. Way better than that "mojito" thingy from Guerlain.. shame on them
10th January, 2009

By Man by Dolce & Gabbana

Oh where can I find one of these??? It's soooo sexy, so animal, so well done... D&G should start producing this with a better promotion.. those The One and Light Blue sucks...
10th January, 2009

Black by Bulgari

This is gasoline and vanilla... just that, sexy but I couldn't imagine an occasion to wear it, so I left it at the free shop...
10th January, 2009

Coco Mademoiselle by Chanel

There's something here that I cannnot get away from... This is sex in a bottle, it's like the sour sweat plus some flowers and spicy on a very expensive perfumated room after a nice sex session... Well done Chanel... the best way to reuse the COCO name!
10th January, 2009