Reviews

Reviews by scentpacking

Advertisement

L'Air du Desert Marocain by Tauer

i had a sample of this for many months - tried it once and thought -meh! it lay in a drawer and i opened it back and forth for a sniff -still meh! it began to work on me and slowly but surely i gave in and bought a bottle. wore it regularly for a few weeks and then decided to sell it as i still wasnt sure about the scent. the other day i found an atomiser id used which still had a tiny drop of lddm in it .i spayed it and though "why the bloody hell did i sell this ?" upshot is, ive now sent off for another bottle .....and it cant arrive quick enough!!!!
28th July, 2012 (last edited: 29th July, 2012)

Noir de Noir by Tom Ford

An extremely dark , rich and decadent scent . Smells almost chocolate- like at times - guess thats the truffle - last a very long time - i decided to choose between purchasing this and oud wood and the latter won ! I will , however return to this one when my finances allow ! . Think it will layer well with OW ,I look forward to finding out , even if my bank manager disagrees

edit .. purchased a bottle after my bank manager personaly telephoned me and told me to buy some .............ok so thats crap but i bought a bottle anyhow..great scent
23rd February, 2012 (last edited: 16th March, 2012)

Silver Mountain Water by Creed

love it - lasts between 5-8 hrs on me which is just fine - very unusual scent
28th January, 2012

Antaeus by Chanel

one word ...........repugnant
30th November, 2011

Riverside Drive by Bond No. 9

i revisited this scent recently .i had peviously thought it was a classy scent but didnt last on me. must have been olfactory fatigue as i now get a good 6-7 hours of this excellent scent and can still faintly detect it on my skin after 11 hours.
24th November, 2011 (last edited: 23rd June, 2012)

New York Oud by Bond No. 9

I was unfortunate enough to recieve a sample of this recently . It instantly reminded me of Montale Black Oud which has been sprayed on a card and left for 6 weeks so that the smell is almost non existent .After 2 hours i could only faintly smell it .Its pleasant enough though but i wouldnt shell out £100 ,Let alone £250 .! There are other Bonds which id rather spend my hard earned on, Bleecker Street and Riverside Drive to name two .If you want a rose oud purchase a Montale . This stuff is totally pants and way overpriced for what it is
22nd November, 2011

No. 88 by Czech & Speake

i was very eager to try this based on the positive reviews. it didnt disappoint . This is a beautiful rose scent . on my skin i get the scent of "oddfellows" ( the aromatic sweets ). We had a pelargonium( geramium ) which smelled this way and used to make our cats smell of it if they brushed against it. A very dandy and victorian-like scent . Splendid stuff my good fellow !
21st September, 2011 (last edited: 06th October, 2011)

Le Dandy by D'Orsay

ive never smelled the old formulation of this' so have nothing to compare it to which might be a good thing. i initially didnt like this scent but having revisited it several weeks later i now find it very pleasant indeed.the more i wear it , the more i like it . it lasts 5-6 hours on me ( better than most creeds) .my skin normally eats scents so i aint complaining about the longevity. thumbs up
12th September, 2011 (last edited: 15th December, 2011)

English Fern by Penhaligon's

i wanted to love this, i really did,however on sampling it i found the scent to be a little too soapy and "old manish". reminded me of something a lot of dads wore in the early seventies , or a combination of the aftershaves they wore - a kind of Brut /Old spice /cheapo xmas pressie aftershave type smell . i wouldnt shell out £80 for it , not when you can buy Old spice for £8 and be the man you always wanted to be !!......look away ..now back to me .. i'm sitting on a horse ....
12th September, 2011

Original Vetiver by Creed

one of my favorite creeds. very green, very soapy, very classy, but not very vetivery (new word folks!) . i dont care if the vetiver is subtle in this juice ,its still very good- its a very clean scent .long lasting as well -recommended
02nd September, 2011 (last edited: 16th December, 2011)

Gris Clair by Serge Lutens Les Salons du Palais Royal Shiseido

i purchased a full bottle of this after recently sampling.didnt think id like to wear a lavender scent - i was wrong -this is excellent . tried creed royal scottish lavender a few weeks ago and felt it was too much like air freshener. this is different, smells like fresh lavender with a slight burnt smell. - ash like - an altogether top notch fragrance .lasts for hours. . Its the dogs dangly bits !
11th August, 2011 (last edited: 05th September, 2011)

Tuscan Leather by Tom Ford

disgusting -the dry down made me smell like an ashtray. had to wash it off to stop me gagging- not for me i'm afraid - horrid
03rd August, 2011

Aoud Lime by Montale

Starts off with a very medicinal explosion which settles down within the hour to a fabulous rose and lime -like smokey scent . By the second hour its in to its stride and keeps the pace up over the next umpteen hours . i appliedd 2 sprays just over 9 hours ago and i can still smell it wafting up quite clearly . Very unusual indeed . It doesnt evolve much on my skin but thats just fine as i love the smell i get. It stays mildly medicinal ( medicated elastoplast-ish) throughout its long run with the rose et al taking the forefront . Would i buy a full bottle ? ....Oh look i already have ! . Love it
16th July, 2011 (last edited: 17th July, 2011)

Héritage by Guerlain

Too old man for my liking. smells ok .but sold the bottle within a week.its spicy but too old fashioned imo . not my cup of earl gray
15th July, 2011

Gaultier² by Jean Paul Gaultier

this jucie is extremely comforting. feminine ? perhaps . can a guy pull this off? i think so . well i do anyhow !!!.it smells really nice and sweet .very gourmand .dont dismiss it cos its a gaultier- its not as popular as his other offerings . havent smelled it on anyone else . thats gotta be a reason to buy it . a thumbs up certainly
15th July, 2011

Terre d'Hermès by Hermès

I purchased this last year and used it for about a week . I really didnt like it so i sold it . That was then , however ,and this is now. I revisited it recently on a whim and decided to purchase a bottle and give it a fair crack of the whip. I really like this now and wonder why i didnt like it last time - go figure !. It reminds me of Declaration Essence by Cartier but without the overpowering cumin (body odour) smell. I find this much more wearable as a result . Sillage appears pretty good and as has already been said it can be detected by those around you even after you can no longer smell it .Longevity is also good .I dont get much in the way of earthy overtones with it -on my skin i mainly get dirty orange/grapefruit which is an rather outstanding smell It wont be liked by everyone but that suits me just fine . I dont expect to smell it on everyone i pass in town or at work . Thats the reserve of Acqua Di Gio !!Try before you buy and for more than just a day or so -it might grow on you as it has me .Prefer it to my Creeds at the moment .Thumbs up
10th July, 2011 (last edited: 18th July, 2011)

Acqua di Parma Colonia Essenza by Acqua di Parma

i really like this . has simmilarities to the original but is much longer lasting. excellent
03rd January, 2011

Tobacco Vanille by Tom Ford

Smells like xmas pudding,fresh aromatic pipe tobacco and dried fruit.Reminds me of a tobacconists in my local town It rocks. It wont be everyones cup of tea( my wife hates it !!)but who cares.its a very comforting scent .try before you buy would be my only warning
15th December, 2010 (last edited: 15th November, 2011)

Green Irish Tweed by Creed

reasuringly expensive and classy a fabulous all rounder
12th September, 2008 (last edited: 25th December, 2010)

Touaregh by Il Profumo

not an easy scent to get hold of - smells very nice though- not as long lasting on my skin as id have liked- but sure beats all the routine scents that everyone seems to wear these days .you can almost bet no one will know what youre wearing
12th September, 2008

Acqua di Parma Colonia Intensa by Acqua di Parma

this is the first truly male fragrance from adp Having been a fan of both the original colonia and assoluta since i first discovered them ,i was unsure how this new scent would compare. it is however an outstanding addition to the range and distinctly male . longevity is much better on me than the original-6 hours plus ,which has to be a bonus and it smells wonderfull. if you havent tried it get a hold of some now .10 out of 10
05th April, 2008 (last edited: 30th August, 2011)

Acqua di Parma Colonia by Acqua di Parma

this is class in a bottle .drys to a lovely rose scent .surely one of THE best colognes .
25th December, 2007 (last edited: 02nd September, 2011)

Déclaration Essence by Cartier

outstandingly good - absolute class
17th December, 2007
12th December, 2007