Reviews by scentpacking

    scentpacking's avatar
    scentpacking
    United Kingdom United Kingdom

    Showing 1 to 24 of 24.
    rating


    L'Air du Desert Marocain by Tauer

    i had a sample of this for many months - tried it once and thought -meh! it lay in a drawer and i opened it back and forth for a sniff -still meh! it began to work on me and slowly but surely i gave in and bought a bottle. wore it regularly for a few weeks and then decided to sell it as i still wasnt sure about the scent. the other day i found an atomiser id used which still had a tiny drop of lddm in it .i spayed it and though "why the bloody hell did i sell this ?" upshot is, ive now sent off for another bottle .....and it cant arrive quick enough!!!!

    28 July, 2012 (Last Edited: 29 July, 2012)

    rating


    Noir de Noir by Tom Ford

    An extremely dark , rich and decadent scent . Smells almost chocolate- like at times - guess thats the truffle - last a very long time - i decided to choose between purchasing this and oud wood and the latter won ! I will , however return to this one when my finances allow ! . Think it will layer well with OW ,I look forward to finding out , even if my bank manager disagrees

    edit .. purchased a bottle after my bank manager personaly telephoned me and told me to buy some .............ok so thats crap but i bought a bottle anyhow..great scent

    23 February, 2012 (Last Edited: 16 March, 2012)

    rating


    Silver Mountain Water by Creed

    love it - lasts between 5-8 hrs on me which is just fine - very unusual scent

    28 January, 2012

    rating


    Antaeus by Chanel

    one word ...........repugnant

    30th November, 2011

    rating


    Riverside Drive by Bond No. 9

    i revisited this scent recently .i had peviously thought it was a classy scent but didnt last on me. must have been olfactory fatigue as i now get a good 6-7 hours of this excellent scent and can still faintly detect it on my skin after 11 hours.

    24 November, 2011 (Last Edited: 23 June, 2012)

    rating


    New York Oud by Bond No. 9

    I was unfortunate enough to recieve a sample of this recently . It instantly reminded me of Montale Black Oud which has been sprayed on a card and left for 6 weeks so that the smell is almost non existent .After 2 hours i could only faintly smell it .Its pleasant enough though but i wouldnt shell out £100 ,Let alone £250 .! There are other Bonds which id rather spend my hard earned on, Bleecker Street and Riverside Drive to name two .If you want a rose oud purchase a Montale . This stuff is totally pants and way overpriced for what it is

    22 November, 2011

    rating


    No. 88 by Czech & Speake

    i was very eager to try this based on the positive reviews. it didnt disappoint . This is a beautiful rose scent . on my skin i get the scent of "oddfellows" ( the aromatic sweets ). We had a pelargonium( geramium ) which smelled this way and used to make our cats smell of it if they brushed against it. A very dandy and victorian-like scent . Splendid stuff my good fellow !

    21st September, 2011 (Last Edited: 06 October, 2011)

    rating


    Le Dandy by D'Orsay

    ive never smelled the old formulation of this' so have nothing to compare it to which might be a good thing. i initially didnt like this scent but having revisited it several weeks later i now find it very pleasant indeed.the more i wear it , the more i like it . it lasts 5-6 hours on me ( better than most creeds) .my skin normally eats scents so i aint complaining about the longevity. thumbs up

    12 September, 2011 (Last Edited: 15 December, 2011)

    rating


    English Fern by Penhaligon's

    i wanted to love this, i really did,however on sampling it i found the scent to be a little too soapy and "old manish". reminded me of something a lot of dads wore in the early seventies , or a combination of the aftershaves they wore - a kind of Brut /Old spice /cheapo xmas pressie aftershave type smell . i wouldnt shell out £80 for it , not when you can buy Old spice for £8 and be the man you always wanted to be !!......look away ..now back to me .. i'm sitting on a horse ....

    12 September, 2011

    rating


    Original Vetiver by Creed

    one of my favorite creeds. very green, very soapy, very classy, but not very vetivery (new word folks!) . i dont care if the vetiver is subtle in this juice ,its still very good- its a very clean scent .long lasting as well -recommended

    02 September, 2011 (Last Edited: 16 December, 2011)

    rating


    Gris Clair by Serge Lutens Les Salons du Palais Royal Shiseido

    i purchased a full bottle of this after recently sampling.didnt think id like to wear a lavender scent - i was wrong -this is excellent . tried creed royal scottish lavender a few weeks ago and felt it was too much like air freshener. this is different, smells like fresh lavender with a slight burnt smell. - ash like - an altogether top notch fragrance .lasts for hours. . Its the dogs dangly bits !

    11th August, 2011 (Last Edited: 05 September, 2011)

    rating


    Tuscan Leather by Tom Ford

    disgusting -the dry down made me smell like an ashtray. had to wash it off to stop me gagging- not for me i'm afraid - horrid

    03 August, 2011

    rating


    Aoud Lime by Montale

    Starts off with a very medicinal explosion which settles down within the hour to a fabulous rose and lime -like smokey scent . By the second hour its in to its stride and keeps the pace up over the next umpteen hours . i appliedd 2 sprays just over 9 hours ago and i can still smell it wafting up quite clearly . Very unusual indeed . It doesnt evolve much on my skin but thats just fine as i love the smell i get. It stays mildly medicinal ( medicated elastoplast-ish) throughout its long run with the rose et al taking the forefront . Would i buy a full bottle ? ....Oh look i already have ! . Love it

    16 July, 2011 (Last Edited: 17 July, 2011)

    rating


    Héritage by Guerlain

    Too old man for my liking. smells ok .but sold the bottle within a week.its spicy but too old fashioned imo . not my cup of earl gray

    15 July, 2011

    rating


    Gaultier² by Jean Paul Gaultier

    this jucie is extremely comforting. feminine ? perhaps . can a guy pull this off? i think so . well i do anyhow !!!.it smells really nice and sweet .very gourmand .dont dismiss it cos its a gaultier- its not as popular as his other offerings . havent smelled it on anyone else . thats gotta be a reason to buy it . a thumbs up certainly

    15 July, 2011

    rating


    Terre d'Hermès by Hermès

    I purchased this last year and used it for about a week . I really didnt like it so i sold it . That was then , however ,and this is now. I revisited it recently on a whim and decided to purchase a bottle and give it a fair crack of the whip. I really like this now and wonder why i didnt like it last time - go figure !. It reminds me of Declaration Essence by Cartier but without the overpowering cumin (body odour) smell. I find this much more wearable as a result . Sillage appears pretty good and as has already been said it can be detected by those around you even after you can no longer smell it .Longevity is also good .I dont get much in the way of earthy overtones with it -on my skin i mainly get dirty orange/grapefruit which is an rather outstanding smell It wont be liked by everyone but that suits me just fine . I dont expect to smell it on everyone i pass in town or at work . Thats the reserve of Acqua Di Gio !!Try before you buy and for more than just a day or so -it might grow on you as it has me .Prefer it to my Creeds at the moment .Thumbs up

    10th July, 2011 (Last Edited: 18 July, 2011)

    rating


    Acqua di Parma Colonia Essenza by Acqua di Parma

    i really like this . has simmilarities to the original but is much longer lasting. excellent

    03 January, 2011

    rating


    Tobacco Vanille by Tom Ford

    Smells like xmas pudding,fresh aromatic pipe tobacco and dried fruit.Reminds me of a tobacconists in my local town It rocks. It wont be everyones cup of tea( my wife hates it !!)but who cares.its a very comforting scent .try before you buy would be my only warning

    15 December, 2010 (Last Edited: 15 November, 2011)

    rating


    Green Irish Tweed by Creed

    reasuringly expensive and classy a fabulous all rounder

    12 September, 2008 (Last Edited: 25 December, 2010)

    rating


    Touaregh by Il Profumo

    not an easy scent to get hold of - smells very nice though- not as long lasting on my skin as id have liked- but sure beats all the routine scents that everyone seems to wear these days .you can almost bet no one will know what youre wearing

    12 September, 2008

    rating


    Acqua di Parma Colonia Intensa by Acqua di Parma

    this is the first truly male fragrance from adp Having been a fan of both the original colonia and assoluta since i first discovered them ,i was unsure how this new scent would compare. it is however an outstanding addition to the range and distinctly male . longevity is much better on me than the original-6 hours plus ,which has to be a bonus and it smells wonderfull. if you havent tried it get a hold of some now .10 out of 10

    05 April, 2008 (Last Edited: 30th August, 2011)

    rating


    Acqua di Parma Colonia by Acqua di Parma

    this is class in a bottle .drys to a lovely rose scent .surely one of THE best colognes .

    25 December, 2007 (Last Edited: 02 September, 2011)

    rating


    L'Essence de Déclaration by Cartier

    outstandingly good - absolute class

    17 December, 2007

    rating


    Acqua di Parma Colonia Assoluta by Acqua di Parma

    splendid stuff - enough said

    12 December, 2007

    Showing 1 to 24 of 24.