Reviews by acceptfacts

    acceptfacts's avatar
    acceptfacts
    United States United States

    Showing 1 to 22 of 22.
    rating


    A*Men Pure Coffee by Thierry Mugler

    i like it......to me it is more what New Haarlem should have been like.....the coffee note being stronmg yet not pungent and nowhere near bitter....there is a sweet nutmeg-vanilla like sweetness that begins to permeate in the background within 5-7 minutes of intitial spray....the gourmand sweetness is light and fluorescent and refreshingly simple without the overbearing tar effect of the original. Overall, an easy recommendation to at least 'try'.

    12 April, 2009

    rating


    Black Walnut by Banana Republic

    pleasant, sweet with mild woody undertones....drydown is strikingly good and will have you re-sniff.......problem with longevity and with sillage....its nonexistant.

    02 March, 2009

    rating


    Outrageous! by Editions de Parfums Frederic Malle

    there isnt a hint of anything natural to it...i dont even think there is much development throughout....in fact it has a huge opening burst of clean playfullness and then it calms down to its core of sensual immaturity(yes, Sensual immaturity).....and guess what...throughout the whole time its 110% synthetic and i love it. It is not a fragrance i would wear every day or even every other day, but when you do.....it will brighten up your day and you wont care whether it happened artificially or not.....just like some fragrances are considered "too mature" for some, this one might be considered "too immature" for others....thus, you would have to have a side to you that shows simply that even if you have a 9-5 job and a family and plenty of real life responsibilities, .....that there is still a kid within you who is ready to jump out and laugh and act a fool for no particular reason. P.S. I always get compliments while wearing Outrageous and the most interesting one was " you smell like lime dishwashing detergent.....yet its so enticing!".... yup, smell like a detergent....and loving it.. plus exclamation point!

    29 October, 2008

    rating


    Duro by Nasomatto

    Duro to me is what separates a great fragrance scent from any Designer house scent.

    the initial blast of sharp, yet wonderfully bright and young leather is tempered with herbal woods that seamlessly blend into the almost edible like leather notes that fiercely and beautifully project from the first second and 10 hours into wearing it. I dont care what kind of skin you have, this will last on you for at least 12 hours with strength. It is one of those that you will not get used to and feel throughout the presence wafting up to you transforming you into a mysterious sexy bike rider instantly.

    08 September, 2008 (Last Edited: 08 September, 2009)

    rating


    Grapefruit by Jo Malone

    initial notes of grapefruit are quickly overwhelmed by synthetic notes of "every 90's cologne" and dries down within minutes to a middle of the road motel soap that destroyes remnants of everything else in between. Have to give it thumbs down.

    08 September, 2008

    rating


    Andy Warhol Lexington Avenue by Bond No. 9

    mmmmmm......coffe, vanilla, licorice and a bit of candy thrown in at the top....and all so darn creamy....I would classify this as a modern unisex gourmand oriental....perfect for a romantic date or night out on the town.....might be a bit too sexy for the office....which makes it perfect for me. Thumbs Up

    19 August, 2008

    rating


    Silver Bond / Andy Warhol Silver Factory by Bond No. 9

    as others noted heavy incense and even musk at the top....i'd call it "stinky" but something about it keeps pulling your nose back in to try it.....as honey like sweetness starts peering through as the fragrance developes, it smoothes out the initial sharp overtones...it settles into earthy quiet musk with amber overtones.....overall a scent done in a much more classical style than i'm used from Bond line and is not my cup of tea....but a very well crafted scent nonetheless.

    19 August, 2008

    rating


    Bleecker Street by Bond No. 9

    wow.....at first i got a whiff of green, green grass and lime peel....somehow both of those ingridients seemed incredibly natural and oh so appealing...yet the scent was quiet mute by Bond standards.......the real beauty of this fragrance is in the developmental stages.....the cedarwood dominates to my nose with tiny hints of dark cinnamon and grass thrown in....i'm telling you, the woody notes i have smelled in bleecker street i dont think I have ever smelled before anywhere else.....So unique, so deep yet so alluring....my god what a fantastic fragrance.....I think this one has been the best bond offering I have tried so far...Give it more strength and projection and Bleecker street might be my holy grail.

    19 August, 2008

    rating


    Eau de New York by Bond No. 9

    I smell the tangy, bitter grapefruit and mandarin opening with grassy undertones.....the fragrance doesnt develop much sticking to its fresh tangy roots yet becoming sweeter as it progresses.......nicely done summer fragrance but nothing to write home about.

    19 August, 2008

    rating


    Chinatown by Bond No. 9

    light, transparent and beautiful.......i love the combination of translucent florals mixed in with earthy vanilla and slight coffe beans....Some people contend it to be a female fragrance, I disagree.....to me its a very well crafted, easily worn, floral gourmand unisex scent that is created for perfect sunny days...I guarantee you, spray this one on enough and you will get positive attention....Especially from women.

    19 August, 2008

    rating


    Gucci by Gucci pour Homme by Gucci

    Dissapointed isnt the word.... Stunned....from the house which produced one of the more unique and spicier designer fragrances anywhere, this absolute garbage is their new idea of cologne? I couldnt discern any notes because there were none....it went on as pure alcohol and before alcohol fully settled down you couldnt smell anything at all..... I tried it on 3 different times with the same results...This was the first day Gucci was 'out' on shelves so all the SA's were going berserk trying to have anyone sniff and try it......... I took 2 samples with me, lets see if my horrible first impression will change with another try.

    17 August, 2008

    rating


    Roadster by Cartier

    wow.....well this one has personality and power.....however to me its just wayyy too jumbled up with notes that in no way fit together and produce something I would imagine to smell when you base two pretty good fragrances...in the process ruining both. It goes on very very green and grassy, and the most dominant part of that Green is Mint, Mint Mint....and the mint isnt the cooling mint I am used to and enjoy very much(like in Aramis Ice), the mint is actually very creamy...almost as it has been dipped into Land O'lay butter and cool whip...so its Mint, Grass, Cream....as it dried down the power and sillage of the fragrance didnt subside but my headache from it increaded.....I really, really wanted to like this one but just couldnt.....It is obvious Cartier attempted to make something a bit provocative which is always good in the world of "typical mass market" however on my nose....this attempt failed.

    P.S for collectors, the bottle for Roadster is exquisite.....one of the best bottle designs i have seen anywhere....the bottle looks like a replica of the car moving piece from the Monopoly Game...and the cap is take off sideways as if opening the hood of the car.

    17 August, 2008

    rating


    Allure Homme Edition Blanche by Chanel

    very impressed with Chanel's take on this one.....not a big fan of lemon, but loved the lemon here.....because it wasnt tart but creamy and pleasant with vetiver accords developing within 20 minutes or so....it is quite pleasant and fresh but with an oustanding creamy/vetiver edge to its tartness giving it a beautiful balance and even....Complexity.

    17 August, 2008

    rating


    Versace pour Homme by Versace

    I liked this much better than the new Guccipour homme , which is sort of like saying I prefer it to 1st degree burns, however this one also seemed like your regular run of the mill designer frag although they advertised it as as neroli based, minimalist male perfume....i agree with minimalist and although i did detect floral notes throughout, i sniffed a citrus like background(probably the orange peel they mention in the notes)....all in all i have to give it a second wearing in order to give it a better estimate.

    17 August, 2008

    rating


    Riverside Drive by Bond No. 9

    ended up buying Maurice Roucel's beautiful invention of Riverside Drive.....Strong, Spicy, Clean and Fresh with sillage and power.....what else can you ask for? a great all around and going out fragrance. I smell fresh cucumber and even something like licorice throughout intermingled with a hint of sweet fruit notes(which I wish were present a tiny bit more)....it does become dry as it developes but yet somehow capturing the fresh edge it started off with....overall, a beautiful fragrance very well fitting the reputation of its creator.

    17 August, 2008

    rating


    The One for Men by Dolce & Gabbana

    well the name is fits this fragrance about as much as "THE Guide" fits Turin's book...however, this is a pretty good fragrance.....it starts off with spicy notes of cardamom, patchouli and amber with slight tobacco undertones....the background is fresh and infused with quite a beautiful citrus......as it developes it becomes much sweeter and amber takes over with cedar kicking in..scent reminiscent of very sweet sandalwood...The sillage is slight to very moderate but the lasting power is quite good.....the two big drawbacks - the fragrance is minimal in its power and it's beginning is so incredibly promising where the drydown and basenotes becomes too sweet and almost powder like.

    17 August, 2008

    rating


    Armani Privé Vétiver Babylone by Giorgio Armani

    absolutely gorgeous, gorgeous, gorgeous fragrance. The Vetiver is present immediately intermingled with beautiful Bergamot and fruit notes.....as the fragrance proceeds i detect light floral notes and pepper notes adding to the beauty of the most translucent vetiver i have ever sniffed.......this scent is airborne, meaning you dont have to sniff your skin to always detect its presence....it is gorgeously constructed, beautiful, classy and sensual at the same time. This one is a bit too good to be worn on a daily basis but this is a perfect wedding, big date, big meeting fragrance.....considering that i wasnt really fond of any other fragrance in the Prive line and didnt expect anything from this one, I was and am absolutely blown away by it....my top 2 easily.

    20th July, 2008

    rating


    Dirty English by Juicy Couture

    well....i bought this one after multi testing it on a strip as a result of my co-worker(female) swearing by this juice.....and I must say, on the skin it completely takes off....to me it is a less complicated and easier to accept Costume National Scent Intense.....sweet amber with smoky overtones of spices is what you get and it doesnt alter much throughout...it is Not Dirty however it is sexy and a great summer/warm weather fragrance in the non fresh/non aquatic division.

    If you want a designer scent that stands out from majority of designer scents and gets you opposite sex attention as well.....then you should get this.....very underrated perfume.

    04 July, 2008

    rating


    Éclat d'Arpège by Lanvin

    I love this scent....first time smelling this on a woman i was enamored.....subtle yet overwhelmingly sensual.....enjoyed it so much that I had to buy a bottle for myself and now wear it with pride.....mind you i am a heterosexual male. The odd thing is that it gets great responses from females and not just males(as you would think would be the intent of the fragrance). I love the cedar and amber musk with floral notes that dominate this frgarance after the initial citrus, airy blast....

    12 May, 2008

    rating


    Un Jardin Après La Mousson by Hermès

    I own all three Un Jardins and I would have to say that this is the most unique of the three. it is quite dry throughout and in the beginning it is almost bitter yet somehow inviting....as it developes and settles it reminds me of a floral and much, much more herbal version of TdH. There is this earthyness presence to it throughout, but unlike TdH(which reminds me of a dug up dirt around an orange tree).....La Mousson makes me envision the rain soaked grass in the heart of indian Jungle in the early morning hours...............overall what impressed me the most, although there were some hints of similarities to TdH, it is a very unique scent in itself and brings a senmse of relaxation and peacefullness to the wearer. its only drawback is its own subtleness.

    03 May, 2008

    rating


    Nuits de NoHo by Bond No. 9

    I can see the initial resemblance to Angel for women, however it gets lost quick when you realize the complexity of this wonderful frag and its smooth undertones. while angel punches you in the face while trying to overwhelm all your senses, nuits de noho captivates your olfactory senses evoking emotion of happiness and sensuality at the same time.... the pineapple in the background makes this fragrance wonderfully easy to wear and irresistible to everyone's nose.

    22 April, 2008

    rating


    Terre d'Hermès by Hermès

    plain and simple....overrated.

    jesus christ people, if you are going to go goo-goo ga-ga make sure that the fragrance stands out in any way. Bought it stricly off great reviews on basenotes and all i got is a rotten orange left on an old bench smell.

    Revisited this after a while and I must say, my nose has become maybe more sophisticated and I definitely have grown to appreciate this fragrance as I never did before....the orange/earthy notes are grounded by Iso E super and i must say the combination is quite alluring to my nose......so i have made a complete 180 on this frag to make it a full recommendation.

    21st December, 2007 (Last Edited: 28 April, 2011)

    Showing 1 to 22 of 22.