Perfume Reviews

Reviews by play

Advertisement
play Show all reviews
United States

Set Sail South Seas for Men by Tommy Bahama

Tangy flowery rum. Very fresh and unusual. I don't think there is anything remotely similar. OK longevity. Kudos to TB for creating this.
17th October, 2009
play Show all reviews
United States

Aoud Lime by Montale

Ok, this is absolutely not like what I was expecting. It's proper name should be "Aoud Patchouli Rose." After it settles in around 20 minutes, all you get is metallic rose note (as PigeonMurderer likes to call it: "soul of lime"), that eventually develops into a monotonic rose note which reminds me of Rose Otto essential oil that I have. This rose note is not feminine but very wearable for both sexes. This rose note dominates the fragrance. In drydown all I get is spicy woody patchouli. If you like monotonic rose on steroid and nothing else then this your solution.
23rd June, 2009
play Show all reviews
United States

Spirit by Antonio Banderas

A. Banderas scents are made by Puig as most know. Spirit smells a lot like Aqua Quorum. The Aqua Quorum has a overly spicy notes that are very annoying to me. In Spirit it's replaced by less spicy and a bit sweet aromatic note- just perfect. I enjoy it so much that I want my room to smell like it.
I agree w/ castorpollux that it is very underrated. Grab one, you will not regret it.
12th June, 2009
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

play Show all reviews
United States

Concentré D'Orange Verte by Hermès

The top note is kind of a fusion of lime+orange or very tangy orange(synthetic but quality stuff) and it's incredible as it mingles with the middle notes. Thanks to that the first ten minutes are the best of what this hermes has to offer. Remainder is very pleasant and clean smelling papaya note with a very tiny hint of orange. The middle notes are not as enjoyable as the first 10 minutes but dominate the fragrance at all times. More than 2 sprays of this stuff can turn heads but not in a good way. 2 sprays last for 6-7hrs.
05th June, 2009
play Show all reviews
United States

Ambre Précieux by Maître Parfumeur et Gantier

Very very well done composition. I usually dislike sweet colognes but the rich creamy sweetness in this one I can live with. Vanilla and amber dominate throughout. Smells like inside of a pastry kitchen. Longevity is more than enough. I can smell it in shower next morning. Can be great for layering. Good stuff.
01st June, 2009
play Show all reviews
United States

Antaeus by Chanel

The only Chanel I like. Very potent. Starts off with pleasant aromatic herbal notes that do not last more than 5 minutes.Middle notes: I do not get any patchouli here. May be it is shadowed by sandalwood. The sweet smelling basenotes kick in after 4ish hours with a hint of sandalwood. Sandalwood is a dominant note which stays over 80% of the time. NOT really for every occasion.
27th May, 2009
play Show all reviews
United States

Parfum d'Habit by Maître Parfumeur et Gantier

AWESOME was the first word came into my mind after 10 minutes I applied this one. It is a raw seductive animalistic smell and yet it is tamed enough that it can be worn casually or for a night out.
However, During first 10 min, this one smelled like a hobo in a urinal that wasn't cleaned in a year.

This is now my preference over MKK. Sorry, Sheldrake, you are not as good as Laporte. What is the point of having an animalistic scent that you can't wear everywhere and everytime.

Only problem for me now is finding a bottle or two.
16th November, 2008
play Show all reviews
United States

Route du Vétiver by Maître Parfumeur et Gantier

Right from the start to end raw vetiver. Smells exactly like vetiver essential oils. Gives me a bad headache. NOT crafted well, I cannot believe that MPG will make something this worse and just carelessly crafted. It could have been much better. Perhaps they could reformulate it with sweeter vetiver extracts, then this one can be a little more enjoyable. The base is typical MPG like with that horrible vetiver lurking in the backgroung

For the people who love dirty rubbery smell of raw head-spinning vetiver, go for it after an advil or two.
08th November, 2008
play Show all reviews
United States

Patchouli by Demeter Fragrance Library

Raw unfinished patchouli. Smelled exactly like 100% natural patchouli essential oil that I own.
21st September, 2008
play Show all reviews
United States

Fujiyama Homme by Succès de Paris

Smells like a bit sweeter but cheap smelling L'Eau D'Issey PH. Lasting power and smell is not as good as Issey but still better longevity than other colognes priced at 20 bucks. Overall, this smells of (very) low quality ingredients. Save a 20 dollar bill.
02nd September, 2008
play Show all reviews
United States

Eau Sauvage by Christian Dior

I like the wet citrus-like opening, which in this one is classic. Kinda like sweet mandarin. Only to make you smell like a Grandpa after 10ish minutes. This stuff is for ages 75 and up. Till then NO THANKS.
02nd September, 2008
play Show all reviews
United States

L'Eau D'Issey pour Homme by Issey Miyake

Smells synthetic to me. However the dry down is absolutely amazing. This has woody notes infused with other ingredients to well that it is overall soothing and very mild (i detect light smelling north-indian sandalwood, which is not as strong as majority of fragrances using stronger smelling mysore sandalwood).

Oh and one more thing...this works like a charm w/ the ladies.
15th May, 2008
play Show all reviews
United States

Rose 31 by Le Labo

It's incredible that how rose is turned into a virile masculine scent. It starts up with a punch of rose and after 10min it fades off a bit. After that however, a delicious hint of rose stays with the remainder of the frag. It is sensual, seducing, charming and masculine.
17th January, 2008 (last edited: 11th May, 2008)
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

play Show all reviews
United States

Silver Mountain Water by Creed

i can see why this is getting so much popularity.
this frag is a troublemaker if u already have a Girlfriend. This stuff is like allure of animal.("kavorka" as you may know from 'seinfeld'...lol)
20th December, 2007