Reviews by Francoise_Papiran

    Showing 31 to 60 of 93.
    rating


    DKNY Men (original) by Donna Karan

    DKNY for Men is a nice, fruity, refreshing, very strong and long lasting scent. It's not overwhelming and lasts so long that you could still smell this after like 2 days of putting it on! Perfect for daily use but I think it's not suitable for person who doesn't like strong scent. Very modern, cosmopolitan and chic for the urban and metropolitan man. Along with 212 Men by Carolina Herrera, this fragrance truly represents the spirit of the city. Very sexxxy scent and I think it is good for men to attract gals... A truly babe-magnet!!!

    07th March, 2006

    rating


    Monsieur Balmain (original) by Pierre Balmain

    Monsieur Balmain is a classic fragrance from the 1960's. Do not expect miracles from this one. It's just a pure, clean citrus fragrance nicely balanced. It is described as a 'citrus aromatic' fragrance and contains: Bigarade, mint, petitgrain, rosemary, rose, ginger, sandalwood, vetiver and sage. The fragrance is nice, clean, fresh, rich and long-lasting and has a wonderful lingering 'spicy-woody' quality to it. Monsieur Balmain is superior to all of the other 'citrus' fragrance's that are available. I would say it's the most sophisticated citrus fragrance out there.

    06th March, 2006

    rating


    Le Baiser du Dragon by Cartier

    Le Baiser du Dragon should be marketed for men, it has all the characteristics of men's perfume (cedar, vetiver, woods, amber, musk), very warm, heavy, woody and amberish; none for women, no feminity at all. I don't detect any floral sweetness at all. Cartier should market this fragrance for men or unisex because it's very wearable for men.

    04th March, 2006

    rating


    Crave by Calvin Klein

    Ok... I'm not sure what Mr. Klein was thinking when he made this ridiculous fragrance but I'd be embarrassed if I was him. For as popular as his name is, I know he could've done so much better with his imagination with both the scent and the bottle design. This stuff smells like floor cleaner, dishwashing liquid, well most household cleaners with oranges in it! Nothing original, very artificial and smell very cheap, cloying and awful. I think this is bottom-of-the-barrel CK kiddies stuff! This fragrance is bad… bad… bad… and too… too… too… orange. The worst of all CK scents! Thank it was discontinued and don't purchase the remaining bottles at stores.

    04th March, 2006

    rating


    Banana Republic Classic by Banana Republic

    Banana Republic Classic it's a very nice, clean and awesome casual and daytime fragrance. Really it's one of the best fragrances for casual wear and fits well for all ages. This fragrance goes perfect with jeans and sweater wear but if your clothes are also Banana Republic, then you are complete. I highly recommend this wonderful fragrance!

    04th March, 2006

    rating


    L'Eau Bleue D'Issey pour Homme by Issey Miyake

    This one smells way too heavy, smells like chinese medicine or a toxic spray... and sooo much wood it's just disgusting... I have never in my life been so offended by a smell. This stuff is indescribably horrific smelling. I really wanted to like it but I'll pass on this one!

    03rd March, 2006

    rating


    Kenzo pour Homme by Kenzo

    This is a very different and mysterious smelling fragrance. It's an arid scent with aquatic notes if you can imagine that. I liked it on the test paper, but I didn't like it on me at all. The iris note is very pronounced; it's too strong, weird smell, well.... smell like cheap perfumes... sorry but I'm not crazy about this one.

    03rd March, 2006

    rating


    Eau d'Hadrien by Annick Goutal

    This is a good fragrance that can be worn during the day at the office. I just don't think it stays as long as I would expect it on my skin. A mild citrus smell makes it intriguing and mysterious. It is too expensive in my opinion and… Why would I pay so much for a cologne when there are better similar scents for half the price? I won't!

    03rd March, 2006

    rating


    Dalimix by Salvador Dali

    Not so good. Strange, almost tainted fruity scent, which does not make me impress. An unisex scent? I don't think so; it is too feminine for even my taste. Also I think that bottle has an unsuccessful design. Nice melon note but lasting power it's very short, between 15 minutes and one hour. Try it before you buy.

    03rd March, 2006

    rating


    Miracle Homme by Lancôme

    Wonderful casual semi-spicy/woody aroma that is great for any occasion, day or night and has some good longevity. It smells very original, sensual, elegant, fresh, warm, sweet yet masculine, just so complex and refined. Seriously though I love the sweet scent of the drydown on my skin and make me feel good, smells damn good! Another good thing is that there's nothing out there that really resembles its scent. I also love Miracle L'Aquatonic. In fact I love it even more, but so far I've only seen it in 4.2 oz bottles, so it's a bit pricey. This is not a party boy scent. If you want to go to a club and pick up 18 year olds chicks with this don't bother. This fragrance is better recommended for males in early 30's or late 20's. Overall, Miracle Homme it's a very nice fragrance and highly recommended to true gentlemen only!

    02nd March, 2006

    rating


    Verino by Roberto Verino

    A powering, fresh, elegant green/earthy scent and quite sophisticated with some well balanced notes that's a great sleeper out there and a mystery to just about anyone who's a fan of green scents. Verino smells practically identical to Emporio Armani He which is a great scent also. However, if I decide to buy Emporio Night than I'll probably retire "He" and keep Verino.

    28th February, 2006

    rating


    Wild Wind for Men by Gabriela Sabatini

    There's nothing special about this scent. It's too one-tone! Aqua, aqua, aqua and nothing more. You could use it as a deodorant. Slightly better than Aramis Life which is promoted by another tennis star-Andre Agassi but nothing special here either. I hate all those famous stars making their own perfume.

    28th February, 2006

    rating


    Eau de Cartier by Cartier

    Eau de Cartier could be the ideal work scent because it's not over-powering. Love the violet-leaf note and woodland dry down. It has just the right amount of woodsy touch to it with an elegant flare. The bottle is by far my favorite design. The color also helps the overall design and really puts this fragrance up there as one of the best. Very good scent for men or women--classy and natural-smelling!

    24th February, 2006

    rating


    FCUK Him by French Connection

    As sensual as this fragrance is, I wonder if the designer intended the name to sound like something else in particular because of the spelling. A sensually powering spicy scent that's still a mystery to many women out there and it won't break your bank. Only thing I don't like is that when I'm done spraying, the sprayer tends to leak down the bottle whenever I use it. Need to design it better, I guess. Overall, it's an awesome clean/refreshing scent.

    21st February, 2006

    rating


    Mat; Male by Masakï Matsushïma

    I thought it couldn't be done but someone invented a cologne worse than CK Contradiction and Puig's Quorum. Burn a bamboo forest, sprinkle the ashes and--well, you get the idea. Same lavender stuff you smell all the time in the 2000's. Boring! boring! boring! Get a real cologne and don't buy this.

    21st February, 2006

    rating


    Quorum by Antonio Puig

    Can't believe anyone actually likes this; it's too strong & smells cheap. Do yourself a favor and try it before buying. If you don't like sweet or fruity fragrances and want something unmistakably 'manly' there are hundreds of far, far better choices from Dunhill to Minotaure to Roma, etc.

    21st February, 2006

    rating


    Pino Silvestre by Silvestre

    This one smells somewhere between a damp rug, chewing gum, a moldy crypt and cheap church incense. There are better choices in woodsy scents.

    21st February, 2006

    rating


    Listen for Men by Herb Alpert

    Strong sharp fragrance best suited for men in their late 30's and up. Great for afternoon or clubbing because it’s very strong for office or casual wear. It's very long lasting so just a single spray is enough! If you wear this fragrance you'll be very far away from the crowd because few retailers carry it. If you can find this fragrance - Buy it!!!

    21st February, 2006

    rating


    Le Mâle by Jean Paul Gaultier

    Not a bad scent but your lucky if you can get it to last more then 20 minutes on your skin; ...too sweet for man... Expensive too! So if Le Male is out of your price range check out Perry Ellis 360 Degrees White; it’s new on the market and the price is mega cheaper too!

    21st February, 2006

    rating


    Angel Schlesser Homme by Angel Schlesser

    This is a nice alternative to fresh marine / water scents like Acqua di Gio and so many other clones. The opening is very reminiscent of AdG, but not quite as melony sweet. The volume is set moderately, so this is good for office and casual weekend wear. There are rice notes hidden in the middle, which are detectable and unique. This is a solid fragrance selection and not widely worn. It would be a good starter cologne for a guy who doesn't usually wear any being also that I've seen the 2.5oz. bottle for as low as under $12.

    17th February, 2006

    rating


    Armand Basi Homme by Armand Basi

    This is an amazing, sensuous and sophisticated scent. The vanilla note is accentuated, and it’s a little floral, but it’s grounded with spice, wood and musk. Very smooth, manly yet refined. Armand Basi is the next Giorgio Armani-Kenneth Cole type GQ designer and I highly recommend this fragrance!

    16th February, 2006

    rating


    Yatagan by Caron

    This is without question, along with Antaeus and Ungaro III, the best colognes I have ever experienced. This scent is so deep and mysterious and absolutely so rich. Some say it smells like Celery seed, but I think not. I promise you, you will love this stuff. Nobody in the world wears this stuff, so it is unique. It is somewhat of an acquired taste at first, but in the end you will fall to your knees when you wear it - there is absolutely nothing like it, nothing. Yatagan is the most unique - so masculine cologne I have ever tried bar none.

    15th February, 2006

    rating


    Sculpture Homme by Nikos

    Basically a less sharp, powering and citrusy version of Minotaure. I think this is more of a romance kind of fragrance and not casual at all. Otherwise, it's a beautiful and sweet fragrance with a lovely vanilla dry down. The dry down is excellent, very pleasant to feelings and it lasts for hours. Sculpture it’s a nice fragrance but I prefer Minotaure.

    15th February, 2006

    rating


    Essenza di Zegna by Ermenegildo Zegna

    Very similar to Aqua di Gio but better long lasting power. The middle note cardamom seems unique, and the scent settles down to a light aroma that lingers most of the day. Nothing new or different on this scent from other similar fragrances out there.

    15th February, 2006

    rating


    Incanto pour Homme by Salvatore Ferragamo

    Incanto Pour Homme is probably the best of the three Salvatore Ferragamo’s colognes because it smells better than the regular Ferragamo and lasts longer than Subtil. A very nice and elegant woody-floral scent that is a change of pace from G. Armani and K. Cole and well suits the man of luxury and sophistication. The bottle is fairly exquisitely designed, too. It’s recommended for evening or romantic wear but… Awhhhh!!! what the hell… wear it any time. If you want to be very unique and stay away from the crowd; wear this adorable fragrance and you'll be enchanted.

    14th February, 2006

    rating


    Very Valentino pour Homme by Valentino

    An energetic flight of nutmeg is enlivened by a burst of invigorating sage and stimulating anise. A masculine tobacco accord, combined with aromatic hints of coriander and thyme, gives a feeling of confidence and harmony. The fragrance ends on a luxurious base note of sandalwood that blends with the irresistible softness of amber and musk. Very Valentino evokes strength, rigor, aesthetics and a sense of luxury, spiced up by a bold, outgoing, sexy seduction game. A perfume should be a discreet and sophisticated expression of certain self-confidence. Seduction starts with a look or a gesture that attracts attention. It's a sophisticated game between two equals, where each takes turns at seducing or being seduced. Overall, it's a decent babe-magnet with so-so lasting power.

    14th February, 2006

    rating


    Carrera (original) by Carrera

    This fragrance is really great. It is amazing that only a few people actually know it. A clean scent that is awesome for everyday use and also for office. Very, very pleasant scent and great price. Try this fragrance and be surprised.

    14th February, 2006

    rating


    Passion for Men by Elizabeth Taylor

    It smells good but its not strong enough for a man. Its good for everyday wear but not on evenings. I don't think you get what you pay for with this product!

    13th February, 2006

    rating


    360 Degrees for Men by Perry Ellis

    I first was introduced to this cologne one year ago. I don't like the smell when it first is sprayed on as it is harsh and cheap smelling, but once it dries and the alcohol evaporates leaving the fragrance, it is a nice warm fragrance which I like. If you immediately spray it or smell it from the bottle, you are not getting the real scent. However, it does take at least 30 minutes for it dry and go into its real smell, so if you are going to put some on before you go somewhere, put it on at least 30 minutes before you leave. Also it is pretty strong (at least at first) so don't go too crazy with it. I don't know if I would recommend this for day time use as it can be quite strong and warm but for night wear is excellent. This cologne have the unique property that always makes me feel better when I wear it. It's not my favorite, but it is invigorating.

    13th February, 2006

    rating


    360 Degrees White For Men by Perry Ellis

    360 Degrees White it’s the cheapest copycat of Jean Paul Gaultier’s LE MALE (at half the cost… actually about 1/3 of the price). I know when it comes to smelling good; price normally should not be an object. In this case it should be, because you save money and get a quality fragrance. I do not particularly care for 360 White or Le Male but the females love it, so I buy it over Le Male. Trust me, they both smell the same and have the same great lasting power. Also, Cuba Gold is identical to this stuff. Overall, Perry Ellis 360 White it’s a great scent and a money-savings version of Le Male.

    10th February, 2006

    Showing 31 to 60 of 93.




Loving perfume on the Internet since 2000