Reviews by Francoise_Papiran

    Showing 61 to 90 of 93.
    rating


    360 Degrees Red for Men by Perry Ellis

    This stuff smells nice and is completely unlike the original 360. This smells much more like watery fruit. It reminds me of the infamous Acqua di Gio but slightly stronger and some of the watery fruit from Cool Water Deep in it. It’s lacks of originality, but perhaps still the best fragrance by Perry Ellis. This fragrance is not very suitable for people 30+ (I'm one)because it's very sweet, but still a great choice for younger generation.

    10th February, 2006

    rating


    Santos by Cartier

    One of the finest adult men’s fragrances ever, and the best and spiciest of the 80’s Power Scents. This fragrance is almost peerless and unrivaled next to Chanel’s Antaeus. They both are a dynamic duo as far as colognes are concerned. You will smell and feel like a million bucks when wearing this. Cumin and woods, dark and sexy, masculine and powerful – no flowers here! Leather, patchouli, musk… and lasts unbelievably long.

    It's quite simple and straight forward.... Do you want to be a macho hunk? Wear this and you shall be. Or would you prefer being a Mommas boy, a punk, a pansy, or a couch potato... then wear your Tommy's, Cool Water, Polo Sport, Acqua Di Gio, etc... It truly separates the men from the boys. It isn't for young "jeans-people", it’s for the elegant man.

    10th February, 2006

    rating


    Emporio Armani He by Giorgio Armani

    This stuff smells like something a salesman in a Mercedes Benz dealership would wear. It actually smells like when you open your wallet and sniff the wad of cash inside. More classy than sexy, it’s the type of scent that a serious and successful businessman would wear. The problem that I have with Armani fragrances it's their poor lasting power, but I consider that Emporio is between average and long lasting. Overall, Emporio Armani He it's a good fragrance; but as ever, try it before you buy.

    10th February, 2006

    rating


    360 Degrees Blue for Men by Perry Ellis

    360 Degrees Blue by Perry Ellis is absolutely horrible and the most awful fragrance that I smelled in my life. Crazy smelling cologne! It kind of has a celery note in it that ruins everything. Opening notes are very similar to L’Eau Bleue D'Issey and that isn't much to brag on either! If you want to buy a Perry Ellis scent, please try 360 Degrees Red or White. Don't waste your money buying this fragrance.

    09 February, 2006

    rating


    Polo Blue by Ralph Lauren

    This is almost a good scent. It’s not a standout sexy smell and the top notes are so overpowering. However, the dry down on it was nasty on me and fades after 20 minutes. The dry down is very weak so be prepared to carry the bottle everywhere with you if you want maximum effect. Polo Blue it’s not a bad fragrance but I prefer Bvlgari Blv.

    09 February, 2006

    rating


    Brit for Men by Burberry

    This fragrance is Burberry's best in my opinion. Definitely versatile. I can use it for casual and formal stuff. Brit has a somewhat woody, modern scent, something in its own category. This refreshing oriental is sexy and rather stylish with its unique notes that make it "different" than your average everyday cologne out there from any designer.

    Classy, not overpowering, and can be worn day or night. This will absolutely be added to any collection of 'must haves'. The only draw back (and it's not major) is that it doesn't seem to last very long. Other than that, if you have been disappointed with previous Burberrys, do yourself a favor and give it a chance. You may be pleasantly surprised.

    09 February, 2006

    rating


    Himalaya by Creed

    Once out of its platinum colored bottle, top notes of icy, cool mandarin and grapefruit announce an almost arctic beginning that, as some have noted, is as refreshing as Tibetan mountain snow. Be foretold, though; you've only begun to appreciate Himalaya's surprises! Within a couple of hours of your first breath of Himalaya, you will begin to experience mid and base notes of pepper, musk of Tonka, cedar and sandalwood. From these slowly evolving lower notes comes Himalaya's true character and astonishing power. The dry down sparkles throughout with its original iciness but, almost imperceptibly, a warmer depth evolves. My final, unqualified judgment is that Creed has given those fortunate enough to own and wear it, a new classic that is as much sensuous magic as it is a spiritual experience. Although the price is really “Himlalyan” high, it’s truly worth buying and using for the ladies to climb all over you.

    09 February, 2006

    rating


    Colors Uomo by Benetton

    Colors by Benetton is the classic fragrance for the high school students of 1988-1990 class (I'm one). This was my first fragrance and I have good remembrances from wearing it at my senior prom. Very sweet, woody and fruity; Nice, long lasting cologne with a nice spicy smell that quickly became one of my favorite casual perfumes until 1990's but, right now, I'm pass this. Teens still wearing this.

    09 February, 2006

    rating


    Hummer by Hummer

    Hummer is a fresh and casual scent with a good lasting power but nothing out of this world. It’s a nice fragrance but I like H2 better which is a warmer and more relaxing version of this.

    08 February, 2006

    rating


    Ungaro III by Ungaro

    Ungaro III is a classic fragrance, good, robust but with sweet notes and unbelievably sexy. No doubt that this fragrance its exclusively for night wear and, IMO, is a very good present for a gentleman. This is one of those exquisite, classic scents that never die.

    08 February, 2006

    rating


    Minotaure by Paloma Picasso

    Minotaure is a strong, spicy and sexy oriental fragrance. To me it smells a lot like vanilla; and reminds me a lot of Roma by Laura Biagotti, but lighter. It's great, really unique, long lasting and pleasant. It starts out pretty sharp with a burst of citrus and ends with a luscious vanilla with a neat bottle designed to go with it. Definitely a sensual scent that always gets the question… Ummmm "what's that you’re wearing?"

    07 February, 2006

    rating


    Cerruti Image by Cerruti

    Image is a superb combination of exotic, woody, aquatic and citrus notes and is excellent for active summer days or other types of informal activities. I really love the pear note in it. Also, it takes a few seconds for the smell to become noticeable after you spray it on. It’s not too subtle yet not too strong. The nicest thing about it is light enough to apply 15 minutes before going out and it works. It’s just the type of perfume that can make your presence enjoyable, very sophisticated. Albeit, one simply wants to wear this on formal occasions, but it's simply not appropriate for them. Perfect for office wear... I think; but that doesn't mean you won't have plenty of other opportunities to wear it. Above all else, let personal preference decide.

    07 February, 2006

    rating


    Herrera for Men by Carolina Herrera

    Herrera for Men has to be one of the classiest and elegant colognes for distinguished gentlemen. It has the right proportionate mix of the hard-edged and soft-edged scents. It hangs with you all day long and is not too overpowering. Great daily-wear cologne. Spray a little more on for an evening out. Herrera for Men IMO is the #1 ice breaker for meeting females for the very first time. Also, I agree with other colleagues, Herrera smell like Egoiste Platinum, but Herrera is better and it’s less expensive.

    07 February, 2006

    rating


    Contradiction for Men by Calvin Klein

    Too much pepper in the high notes and too overpowering base notes that smell like rotten wood. CK has never been great at perfumery and this is one of indisputable evidence as proof. The only saving comment for their effort is that this one is definitely long-lasting. If you like Calvin Klein, go for Escape or Eternity. Avoid "Contradiction" and do not buy this fragrance.

    07 February, 2006

    rating


    Séxual pour Homme by Michel Germain

    A very nice, soft, sweet and highly seductive fragrance from this unknown designer. The good thing about this fragrance is that almost no one wears it. It's perfect for the romantic, sexy and sophisticated man and reminds me a bit like Dunhill's Desire but maybe not as long lasting.

    06 February, 2006

    rating


    Escada Homme by Escada

    Luscious fruity and woody romantic/evening fragrance has been out for over a decade and is still not all that commonly worn. A really pleasing blend of wood and sweetness, very interesting notes that do come on strong and then mellow out in 10 minutes. More musk than fruit as the top notes is fruity and latter notes are woodier and muskier. Also suitable for office wear and after work but use slightly because it’s very potent and sharp.

    06 February, 2006

    rating


    Chrome by Azzaro

    A bit too youthful for me and it's starting to become too commonly worn but overall not a bad casual scent. I liked the way it smelled on me, but after a couple of hours it disappears. If you want a better aquatic fragrance, then try Hugo's Baldessarini del Mar. I don't have any problem with Chrome and I wouldn't discouraging you from buying it, just be sure to try it first (of course).

    06 February, 2006

    rating


    Must de Cartier pour Homme by Cartier

    Must de Cartier is an extremely classy fragrance. It is serious, spicy, long-lasting, sweet, and cool. With a small dark note in the base, it has a touch of mint with 30% sweetness. Also has an unmistakable classy note in there too that insists to be worn with nice clothes. I'd recommend this one for sure. Put too much on and head out to a club.

    03 February, 2006

    rating


    Baldessarini Del Mar by Baldessarini

    Baldessarini Del Mar is a great, sporty, sexy, cool and crisp fragrance from what I can tell so far. Has a distinct aquatic scent which subsequently presents a mildly sweet, underlying scent after being on the skin for a while. This fragrance has strong staying power which is a plus. Best aquatic out there right now! Very relaxing and sensual ocean breeze that refreshes the mind and cleanses the soul.

    02 February, 2006

    rating


    Paris Hilton by Paris Hilton

    This smells a little like Kenneth Cole Reaction, only its a lot more fruitier, strong and totally unprofessional. Should be worn by kids or used as Air Freshner, because it smells just like that.

    02 February, 2006

    rating


    Armani Code / Black Code by Giorgio Armani

    Armani Black Code smells strongly powdery with a touch of vanilla and roasted nuts. Not the worst stuff I ever tried, but I think Burberry Brit is similar and works better on me. It’s average, nothing special or new and it has a familiar scent and you can tell its Armani. Like other Armani fragrances, has very short staying power (+/- 20 minutes) and you need to apply it at least six times for good sillage.

    02 February, 2006

    rating


    Roma Uomo by Laura Biagiotti

    Another sexy, hardcore, unique powerhouse oriental cologne that is relatively unknown and hard to find. This is a very good scent, warm and lively; is somewhat sweet with notes of orange, maybe a bit too much patchouli and clove… Smells very similar to Minotaure and Chanel Allure. It has a very sharp captivating scent when it goes on wet and for the middle notes. It finishes very weak as it fades away and doesn't last long. But colognes don’t have to last long to be considered a good or great scent. It's how they make you feel and if they exhilarate your senses that counts. This does both so I recommend. A definite purchase for 2006.

    02 February, 2006

    rating


    Pasha by Cartier

    This is the best "mint" fragrance I have ever smelled! A very, very classy scent... It’s pure, refreshing and highly coveted! It is very rare to smell this scent… like wearing a Cartier watch... not so many wear it!!! Wear it and you will be unique, the crowd will be far away from you....

    02 February, 2006

    rating


    L'Eau D'Issey pour Homme by Issey Miyake

    Uuuuuuhhhhhh… Nooo!!! This water with light floral is definitely not sexy and not for me! This cologne smells like some old chemical that will nauseate everyone you and everyone around you. I've smelled cleaning solvents that smell better than this. Wear it with caution. Although it's a very popular name in the men cologne industry, I think this light floral water is overrated for what it is and definitely not worth the money. This fragrance has to be one of the vilest and worst ever.

    02 February, 2006

    rating


    Platinum Égoïste by Chanel

    First of all, I'll say it's one of my very favorite colognes and the first I bought. This cologne is quite potent, but as long as you don't overdo it, it's great. It's quite spicy and masculine, but not traditionally spicy - it has a unique spice note in it that it carries all the way through its life from just sprayed until even the dry down wears off. I should also mention that Egoiste Platinum has good lasting power as well. I really have not smelled anything like Egoiste Platinum, and that's a good thing, as none of us want to smell like every other guy. It is not sweet like it seems is all the rage these days (ex. Dunhill Desire, Chrome, possibly Allure). In a time of similar copycat colognes, Egoiste Platinum stands confidently alone. The description of it says it's recommended for daywear but if you are a man (25+ yrs.) and are dressed properly for it, it can be for daytime wear though I suppose. I think when to wear this one depends on if you are dressed appropriately for it... dress too casual (jeans and sweater) with it and it can ruin it by seeming out of place. Overall it’s an excellent fragrance and I recommend it.

    01st February, 2006

    rating


    Vera Wang for Men by Vera Wang

    This is probably the best smelling stuff out their right now for the GQ man. This very sensuous and refined scent is without a doubt worth paying full-price for. This is a seductive, luxurious and sexy warm citrus fragrance hinted with soothing sandalwood and sensual tobacco notes. It has staying power, very strong and concentrated yet it is not overpowering. Vera Wang for Men it’s a serious competitor to Armani, Herrera, Chanel and Kenneth Cole for the fragrance market share.

    27 January, 2006

    rating


    Escape for Men by Calvin Klein

    A very nice and exciting scent. It has a very fruity beginning with a sort of woody-tobacco-like ending, which gives off the masculine touch. It's terrific, pleasant spicy-fruity smell that makes you feel like you’re at a party on a tropical island (Bali, Bahamas, Puerto Rico, etc…). The name fits it perfect. Quite strong and has a lot of staying power (Last about 6 hours on me). It’s the only light perfume that is long lasting... the others just vanish in minutes…! (especially Armani’s perfumes). If you want a fresh scent that smells like no other, give this a try.

    26 January, 2006

    rating


    Déclaration by Cartier

    This is one of the most balanced, elegant, sensual and pleasant colognes I ever bought. It has woodsy, smokey, clean and classy notes that are completely original. Very heavy cardamom note, as well oregano... I'd say this one is best for daytime use but the woodsy dry down is incredibly classy, unique and very enjoyable to smell. I suppose you can wear it formally but, it’s one of the very few casual fragrances that are truly enjoyable to wear. The kind of fragrance you capture in the air when someone is using. A bit expensive though, but I think it is worth it. Also, the bottle is absolutely lovely and cleverly designed. Déclaration sweats pure luxury.

    26 January, 2006

    rating


    Antaeus by Chanel

    I am passionate about this particular fragrance. The sharp muted deep red cocktail of wood in the top notes is eye popping. The somewhat bitter manifestation after that makes an amazing statement of style - all this happens while still keeping up that ever mellowing deep red / dark fruit accord. Miraculously at this precious time its leather-like property starts to reveal itself. It then gathers up all of this creativeness and wraps it up to that completely sexy modern clean cut brilliant beeswax sweetness as its novel finish.

    One very important thing to keep in mind with Antaeus - you can't just spray it on a card to 'get it'. Fragrances of this quality need to settle - blend with your body. If you buy it because everyone (including myself) says it is the best - good for you! you just bought the best - but you must wear it! Wear it for a day and see how it transforms into something beautiful. It's timeless, 20+ years old and it is still ultra-modern. This is a fragrance that is beyond fragrance trends of decades past and IMO, decades to come. Always appropriate, always new. It’s something that can’t even be imitated, let alone duplicated.

    26 January, 2006

    rating


    Herrera Aqua by Carolina Herrera

    Truly not an aquatic scent; this is an oriental scent mixed with fruity and spicy notes. What I’m saying is Mrs. Herrera misleads people on this one, could have used a different name with so many aqua's out now and this is not one. Still a good scent but if you are looking for an aquatic fragrance, I better recommend Bvlgari Aqva or Baldessarini del Mar. The only aquatic characteristic that this fragrance has is the blue color of the liquid, but nothing else.

    25 January, 2006

    Showing 61 to 90 of 93.




Loving perfume on the Internet since 2000