Reviews by SirSlarty

    SirSlarty's avatar
    SirSlarty
    United States United States

    Showing 751 to 780 of 1905.
    rating


    9 IX Rocawear by Rocawear

    I file Rocawear under celebrity fragrances due to the tie in with star rapper Jay-Z. I sorta like it but it's got that "hey it smell like something else" feel. Abrasive citrus on top, spices in the middle and hearty drydown of woods and musk. Not innovative, just another perfume from a clothing company trying to fit in.

    13 December, 2008

    rating


    Versace pour Homme by Versace

    For fans of Acqua di Gio that want something slightly different. I happen to like aquatics (Bulgari Aqua Marine, Cool Water deep, Acqua di Gio, et al). Bright and clear, and decidedly "fresh" Versace pour Homme is good. Best casual wear. Good longevity, too especially for a fresh scent.

    13 December, 2008

    rating


    Black by Pierre Cardin

    Great EdC strength semi-sweet and woody. Cheap! A good gift for someone that doesn't wear fragrances.

    13 December, 2008

    rating


    1881 Black by Cerruti

    Nothing like the original 1881 which is a soapy green and fresh scent. This, like the others mentioned here, is a very medicinal smell. Sweet and woody. Yes, just like Joop! HOmme and Burberry. A little disappointing, not a good name for it but the stained glassy black bottle is nifty.

    13 December, 2008

    rating


    Boss in Motion Edition Black by Hugo Boss

    Not a sporty fruity musk like BiM, has a very nice cedarwood note in it. Very subtle, however. Nothing impressionable.

    13 December, 2008

    rating


    Bijan Style Men by Bijan

    Nice lavender, clove and musk fragrance. Cedar on the bottom keeps it all together making for a very nice casual daily scent. Slightly soapy giving it a "clean" feeling.

    13 December, 2008

    rating


    Francesco Smalto pour Homme by Francesco Smalto

    Decent woody fougere. It's a little more "fresh" and green than a typical fougere and it's also quite potent. Pleasant scent.

    13 December, 2008

    rating


    1881 Amber by Cerruti

    Nice and open semi-sweet cedarwoods. Much like Declaration with amber added. Has a few similarities with the original in that it's slightly green and soapy must be due to the violet leaf note. Good fragrance.

    13 December, 2008

    rating


    Wall Street by Victor

    A green fougere much like Brut with a bit of spices added. Not bad. Seems to not last too long.

    13 December, 2008

    rating


    Fresh Uomo by Trussardi

    I smell the cinnamon and clove which gives it a creamy texture. Citrusy on top. Rather warm for a "fresh" fragrance. Fairly ordinary but still OK smelling.

    13 December, 2008

    rating


    Tempore Uomo by Laura Biagiotti

    I smell a lot of fruited woods, extremely light powdery notes and a ambered patchouli base. Very complex and everyone seems to get different impressions. Mine was, "huh, that's interesting."

    13 December, 2008

    rating


    PS by Paul Sebastian

    PS is a overly powdery vanilla that ends up smelling like talcum powder.

    13 December, 2008

    rating


    Missoni Uomo by Missoni

    Interesting but very spicy and powdery. Not for me. Has a definite cumin note.

    13 December, 2008

    rating


    Iquitos by Alain Delon

    Rose. A nicely done rose. One that I could wear because it doesn't feel like I feel asleep in a florist. Simply dark and good.

    13 December, 2008

    rating


    Braggi by Long Lost Perfume

    Oakmoss and woodsy scent much like Paco Rabanne pour Homme but not as lour and a hint of leather. Juice likes to stain white clothing.

    13 December, 2008

    rating


    Bijan With a Twist for Men by Bijan

    Soft citrus (bergamot and some lemon) and quickly fades into a light green woody drydown. Doesn't last long and is very subtle. Has that distinctive Bijan house note that I've smelled in all the newer releases especially in Nude and Black. Decent, but lacks the impression I look for like in the other Bijan fragrances.

    13 December, 2008

    rating


    Basile Uomo (original) by Basile

    Here's one I am rather upset knowing it's been discontinued. Unbelievably citric, woody and mossy. A perfect score for this chypre. Not over the top but still plenty strong. Quite wonderful.

    13 December, 2008

    rating


    Alain Delon / AD by Alain Delon

    Interesting green citrus opening that dries down into a powdery green vanilla. Smells a bit "old man" but that's just my perspective. It does smell good.

    13 December, 2008

    rating


    Guerlain Homme by Guerlain

    This is next in a line of traditional perfumes from a traditional house. Guerlain Homme is the first perfume of Guerlain's new head. When I smelled this, I immediately thought, "Wow what a great scent for a younger consumer to get their noses wet for the heavier, more complex scents of Guerlain!" Turns out, that's exactly what Guerlain Homme is supposed to be. Good job Guerlain!

    Usually I do not like mint in my fragrances but here it's quite agreeable with me. The scent itself is a mix of both traditional Guerlain notes and some more "modern" notes like the so called mojito accord. Overall, this scent is a light skin scent with a little about average sillage. Overall, a comforting scent of florals, fresh notes and a touch of cedar in the drydown.

    Count this young'un in on liking this and being a victim of marketing.

    12 December, 2008

    rating


    Homme Exceptionnel by Montblanc

    Warm and spicy, this new and fairly unheard of Mont Blanc fragrance has a medicinal opening but dries down into a invigorating cedarwood and vetiver. Reminds me of Rochas Lui but less sweet (not that Rochas Lui is sweet). Remains close to the skin and is very comforting on a cool day. It's nothing groundbreaking, new or boring: just good.

    11th December, 2008

    rating


    Zirh Ikon by Zirh

    This is a smoky green ginger and woody vetiver fragrance. It's familiar yet different. I can't quite figure it out. It's like a softer and less powdery Gucci Envy for Men and a less creamy Nemo with a cedarwood and vetiver base like Rochas Lui but not as woody, more soapy but not sticky soapy. Strange but in a good way. For those who like the afore mentioned fragrances as well as something like Bois du Portgual. or Obsession for Men but would like something softer and inoffensive for casual wear.

    09 December, 2008

    rating


    Red Vetyver by Montale

    I, too, feel this is a much much richer version of Terre d'Hermes with a really strong but not too grassy vetiver base. Very linear and very potent to boot. I've been giving the Montale line a fair shake but most don't seem to impress me. It seems like the perfumes are trying too hard to be unique but seem like posers with an attitude. That said, it doesn't mean I don't like this. I feel that it's a good, niche alternative to other bitter orange peel and earthy vetiver accord fragrances.

    05 December, 2008

    rating


    Classic 1920 by Bois 1920

    Sweet and spicy citrus. A little herbal. Feel somewhat weak, probably why they made an "Extreme" version. I smell this and think "man, I really miss my Tommy Hilfiger Cologne". Not that it smells the same or gives the same effect, it's that same fruity sweet and woody quality just that 1920 ups the bergamot opening. For $20, I can get the same effect from some Tommy and still have money leftover for dinner... Classic 1920 is not terrible, just funny how money gets in the way of liking something enough to get and appreciate sometimes.

    05 December, 2008

    rating


    Thundra by Profumum

    Mint, my arch nemesis. Here Mr. Mint dresses the part of the Ms. Patchouli giving a very weird illusion of Sir Lavender. Very odd creature this is.

    05 December, 2008

    rating


    Fougères Marines by Montale

    This is the second niche perfume in a row that smells very similar to other mainstream scents? I agree with the Tommy comparisons. It's sorta/kinda/almost like Cool Water but it's not as aromatic. FM is a very pleasant offering in the fougere class. I was hoping for more of a salty-style marine fragrance in the style of Bulgari Aqua Marine but you can't win them all but it's slightly salted, like those peanuts you find at the grocers. Marine here seem to mean more like what imagery the sea gives people and not what it smells like. Distilled down to my two words: fruity green.

    05 December, 2008

    rating


    No. 5 Eau Première by Chanel

    A citrusy and fresher version of the original. Great!

    29 November, 2008

    rating


    R de Capucci by Roberto Capucci

    Green chypre of leather and the typical oakmoss. Very nice citrus opening, excellent floral heart and a fantastic drydown of chypre ingredients. Classy blend of a subdued macho fragrance.

    28 November, 2008

    rating


    Andy Warhol Lexington Avenue by Bond No. 9

    Creamy fruits, nuts and candy. There's a slight coniferous note in this keeping a few of the sweet notes down but not entirely. Nice scent but nothing outlandish as most of the sweet fruity florals out there.

    24 November, 2008

    rating


    Ferruccio Blue by Tonino Lamborghini

    These notes hold true: lavender is a major player here and the citrus top notes teeter on a heavy base of musk and I think there's some vanilla in here they're not telling us about. Overall, a good citrus and herbal musk.

    22 November, 2008

    rating


    Private Collection - Cuir d'Iris by Parfumerie Generale

    Powdery leather. After a while, the powdery notes become pure leather and spicy woods. A little subtle but it's a leather with a smoky bite.

    22 November, 2008

    Showing 751 to 780 of 1905.




Loving perfume on the Internet since 2000