Reviews by SirSlarty

    SirSlarty's avatar
    SirSlarty
    United States United States

    Showing 1681 to 1710 of 1905.
    rating


    New West for Him by Aramis

    Fits right in with the Aramis line yet is distinctive enough to stand out. A fresh, spicy scent with notes of anise and sandalwood. Great!

    17th June, 2008

    rating


    Latitude Longitude by Nautica

    Guh. This has a rotten licorice note that really turns me off to it. Reminds me of Erolfa's saltiness as well.

    17th June, 2008

    rating


    Lagerfeld Man by Lagerfeld

    This is a neat and tidy sweet wood. I would be inclined to rename it Gucci pour Homme Light Amber. It's cedar note is subtle and consistent.

    17th June, 2008

    rating


    Blu pour Homme by Bulgari

    A deep green watered down ginger. Very smooth and goes on nice and is comfortable to wear. I don't like the scent, however. It's a tad too sweet.

    17th June, 2008

    rating


    Guess Suede by Guess

    This is a fruity green and spicy scent. Suede? What does suede smell like? I know what it feels like. FUBU Plush is very sloce to this scent except the fruity smell is lacking. Also the longevity is lacking. This is a decent scent. This doesn't smell like mildew at all like other reviewers suggest (and yes I do have a basement to compare it to!). If you like synthetics then this is for you. It' long the Hugo Boss and Azzaros of the industry but I think this is good. Subtle, light, easy and comfortable to wear. Don't wear it on rainy days, though as this feels quite "wet". Surprising to say the least.

    16th June, 2008

    rating


    Versace Man Eau Fraîche by Versace

    Yep, this is fresh, like the name says. It's a nipping citrus that's airy and blows over quickly. Smells fine and works in the heat but if you like heavier fragrances then look elsewhere.

    16th June, 2008

    rating


    Présence Cool by Montblanc

    An aquatic spice that's dull? Hah! This one takes the cake. Mmm, cake. I'd rather have some cake.

    16th June, 2008

    rating


    Unbound for Men by Halston

    This is nice. fresh and relaxing yet stimulating. Never even heard of it. I would probably pass this one off in a discount bin had I not smelled it before hand. Of all the Acqua di Gio clones, this is the most interesting. Even more interesting than Perry Ellis 360 Red. 360 Red is spicier but inbound plays more on the florals. Also feels like it lasts longer. If you see this in a bargain bin pick it up if you like Aqcua di Gio for the opening notes since they stay longer in Unbound.

    16th June, 2008 (Last Edited: 19th June, 2008)

    rating


    Number 1 for Men by Clive Christian

    Flowers and vetiver. Ugh, this one isn't very good. Not as great as the price tag would make you think. It smells a bit like vegetable oil. What a joke.

    16th June, 2008

    rating


    Givenchy Gentleman by Givenchy

    Whoowhee this stuff stinks! It's that enchanting musk of old man. Not just any old man either. It's the scent of a millionaire that doesn't care. This is leather that's been used. This is actually most interesting and amazing. Again, this is stinky! Strong! Potent!

    16th June, 2008

    rating


    Dolce & Gabbana Pour Homme by Dolce & Gabbana

    Sweet base that projects (tonkab bean). Lemon and powdery rubber is what I get. A unique fragrance but not what I like wholly.

    16th June, 2008

    rating


    Chevalier d'Orsay by D'Orsay

    Masterfully elegant opening like a even more refined Homme de Gres with a dry woody citrus. A wonderful alternative to Homme de Gres since that's been discontinued and Chevalier d'Orsay's been re-introduced. Chevalier d'Orsay is very suitable for an evening for a mature wearer but light enough for daily wear.

    16th June, 2008

    rating


    Aquaman by Rochas

    Huge watery spice in the beginning that remains throughout. More spice than aquatics. This is loud but submerses itself underwater.. The spices want room to breathe but they can;t quaite make i to the surface and ends up being a rather bland scent with subdued wet herbal qualities.

    16th June, 2008

    rating


    Terra di Siena by I Profumi di Firenze

    TOP NOTES: bergamot and mint
    MIDDLE NOTES: Florentine lavender, cumin, cinnamon, orange blossom
    BASE NOTES: sandalwood, cedar, tonka bean and vanilla

    This is a smooth fragrance and last long. Gourmand woodiness with an earthy vanilla that is just beautiful. Recommended for a "pick me up" in the winter. It feels a little heavy to me but might be light enough for some for the warmer weather.

    15th June, 2008

    rating


    Hugo XY by Hugo Boss

    Slightly peppery with bits of fresh fruits in the opening which continues throughout. Lacks in longevity but is a decent offering from Hugo Boss. Recommended for the younger crowd but could work for 18-30.

    15th June, 2008

    rating


    Just Me for Men by Paris Hilton

    WHile this smells pretty good, I would be embarrassed to say what I was wearing subjectively speaking. I'd lie and say I was wearing a Hugo Boss scent, Perry Ellis 360 Red or Aqcua di Gio which are quite similar. A spicy floral (jasmine on top, blue watery notes in the middle and a musky patchouli base) that has character for a few minutes but fades away into oblivion. A safe smelling clone that's slightly different but the longevity is atrocious. Good but could be considered a secret shame.

    15th June, 2008

    rating


    Polo Blue by Ralph Lauren

    This is a light, linear and watery type musky fragrance that is well worth price at a discount.

    15th June, 2008

    rating


    Casual for Men by Paul Sebastian

    Spicy and soapy that reminds me of Calvin Klein's Contradiction for Men. This is cheaper and better. It's not better because it's cheaper, It's less herbal than Contradiction and lasts longer.

    15th June, 2008

    rating


    Photo by Lagerfeld

    A run-of-the-mill herbal fourgere (with out the oakmoss). It lasts a good while. Is quite herbal in the opening but quickly turns to a fruity smell that remains throughout the drydown. It's good but too generic. This is a "hello, I am a cologne" fragrance spoken in a Ben Stein voice but again, this does smell good.

    15th June, 2008

    rating


    FUBU Plush for Men by FUBU

    Smells better than Guess Suede that's for sure. At the risk of putting social commentary, is this what someone thinks a "sugar daddy" should smell like? Ah well, this is a nice, smooth fragrance. Warning, this is quite potent at first so give it some time before passing judgement. Though after that time I still don't quite liek it enough. reminds me of so many other scents which aren't quite so eager to present their ego. I prefer the subtler scents with longer longevity but if you like to be kicked in the face for a few hours then this is for you.

    15th June, 2008

    rating


    Davidoff by Davidoff

    Old. Doesn't stand up to the entropy effect. This develops the infamous civet note effect i.e. it smells a bit like unrine. There are some fragrances that pull this off like Ungaro II and Kouros (the two biggest ones talked about on Basenotes) abut this is just awful. It remains throughout and stays there until your next shower. Also has an ink like quality to it that's saturated and black like biting mossy scent in the heart but there's that odoriferous civet note that lingers everywhere. No wonder it was discontinued since it was competing with things like Tuscany and Quorum.

    15th June, 2008

    rating


    D&G Masculine by Dolce & Gabbana

    Reminds me of 212 Men without the huge green leaf squelching feelings. I wish I didn't look at the note pyramid while smelling this. I don't get any of it at all and the whole thing is just simply overbearing. My first thought (before reading the note pyramid) was it's a soapy spicy scent that just rolls of my nose like a eloquent phrase roll off the tongue. As the fragrance cooled down I found that it got less smooth as the notes played with each other. There's just too much going on. Way too much green stuff going on here like woods and leaves and herbs. Not great to confuse the senses but enough to keep interest.

    15th June, 2008

    rating


    Catalyst for Men by Halston

    Hmmm what to say what to say...? Well, I smell sandalwood. It's sweet and spicy in the opening but lacks longevity. It's spicy throughout with sage and nutmeg (which in this case smells more like cinnamon) but it kicks the bucket in the long run. Semmed like it was filled with promise.

    15th June, 2008

    rating


    parfums*PARFUMS Series 3 Incense: Kyoto by Comme des Garçons

    Incense and woods. Very dry woods. Like in an old temple with large wooden crossbeams. Has a sweet tonka bean like base to it. Great but not impressive enough for a bottle.

    14th June, 2008

    rating


    Xeryus by Givenchy

    Green and grey are the colors I see when I smell this. It's got a dry woodiness to it but has a wet feeling amber base. Quite exotic.

    14th June, 2008

    rating


    Tuscany / Etruscan by Aramis

    This ain't bad. Has that bergamot opening like in Brut or other fourgeres but begins to fade quickly into an spicy floral with patchouli. Simple, linear and decent.

    14th June, 2008

    rating


    Pleasures for Men by Estée Lauder

    Feels like the likes of Kenzo pour Homme or other "sporty and blue" fragrances but not the same. I think this is a nice compliment to Pleasures for Women. Though it could be a supplement because a few of the women said they liked it better than the Women's version. A nice airy floral that's a little feminine.

    14th June, 2008

    rating


    Lanvin L'Homme by Lanvin

    A subtler cousin of FUBU Plush for Men. Clean and light with no substance.

    14th June, 2008

    rating


    Burberry for Men by Burberry

    Sweet woods. I get a huge tonka bean note in this like in Dunhill Desire for a Man. I like this and think this would work much better in the colder months. THe scent just bounces around too much in the heat.

    14th June, 2008

    rating


    V pour Homme by Valentino

    This is a refined vanilla with heavy woods that teeters on the herbal patchouli and incense-side. It even has an aquatic edge to it that I find unique. A romantic entourage of everything you need.

    13th June, 2008 (Last Edited: 12th September, 2009)

    Showing 1681 to 1710 of 1905.




Loving perfume on the Internet since 2000