Reviews by SirSlarty

    SirSlarty's avatar
    SirSlarty
    United States United States

    Showing 1831 to 1860 of 1905.
    rating


    Lemon Eau de Toilette by Art of Shaving

    This is a not overly sweet, creamy lemon as opposed to other scents that are a hugely dry lemon (Homme de Gres) and fresh citrus (like Lacoste original). Nice and pleasant. Not sharp. I like all kinds of lemon but prefer the zestier lemons. However this doesn't fail to please.

    30th May, 2008

    rating


    Lucky Number 6 for Men by Lucky Brand

    Fresh, gnawing spice that is quite competent at not being totally chemical smelling. Doesn't seem to last very long, maybe 2 hours. Quite nice though and worth the price in the bargain bins.

    30th May, 2008

    rating


    Chergui by Serge Lutens Les Salons du Palais Royal Shiseido

    Rich, creamy, woody, heavy on the amber. I was told that I'd like this scent if I enjoyed the amber of ck Obsession. Well, I do enjoy the opening of Chergui but it feels like it fades quickly. At it's base, it's certainly a Lutens scent as I've felt like I've worn it before (I've tried many other Lutens and I like this). For me, this house has it's huge ups and downs but never a so-so scent. While classy, this one doesn't do it for me. Great for a romantic cool fall winter evening with a beautiful lady.

    30th May, 2008

    rating


    Sander for Men by Jil Sander

    I have a freaky trifecta thing going on with this one and two other scents. When I wear Sander for Man, I feel like I'm wearing Guiice pour Homme II or Hugo Dark Blue. I love the note in all three that they seemingly have in common. My guess it's a combination of mint and incense/myrrh. I like all three equally (and they all have the same juice color).

    Sander for Man has a nice sweet but cutting scent with a mint of mint that fades. Very casual and likable.

    30th May, 2008

    rating


    Minotaure by Paloma Picasso

    A fruity vanilla that slightly powdery a bitter note at the end. With a hint of spiciness this makes a good casual scent.

    30th May, 2008

    rating


    Envy for Men by Gucci

    Yes this smells watered down, cheap and synthetic... but I love it. Its ginger root remained a mystery to me until I actually smelled some real ginger and it reminded me of Envy. I absolutely love the bottle with the large, black, rectangular cap.

    But since Serge Lutens Five O'Clock au Gingembre has come out, I might not get more Envy but I'm sure I'd receive more as a gift.

    30th May, 2008

    rating


    Sunset Heat for Men by Escada

    Fizzy and bright! Exciting and fruity! Sweet and calm... After the intial hour of the amazing opening notes of sweet, slightly bitter fruitiness, it dries down to a fresh fougere type of scent. Much like a sunset. Pretty at first and calming night afterwards. Quite good.

    29 May, 2008

    rating


    Black XS by Paco Rabanne

    Sweet powdery pineapple and strawberry dust.

    29 May, 2008

    rating


    Magnetism for Men by Escada

    I sure get the Vanilla Coke smell everyone else is getting but this gourmand isn't as pungent as most others I've tried. Reminds me of a slightly fizzy and smoky Pi. I find Pi to very cloying but this is quite wearable. Settles down smoothly and stays there for a long while. Though I wouldn't go out of my way to obtain a bottle, I have to give this a plus. It keeps my interest especially when the woody notes pops in and out.

    29 May, 2008

    rating


    Nautica Competition (new) by Nautica

    Yuck. Smells like anything else that's deemed sporty. A lot like Lacoste Essential mixtured with the opening of Truefit & Hill 1805 Cologne. Well, yes it's clean and simple but not too engaging if that's what you're looking for.

    29 May, 2008

    rating


    Passage d'Enfer by L'Artisan Parfumeur

    Odd that the smell of Catholic churches are used for a fragrance called path to hell. Well, the incense dies and I'm left with a watery version of some kind of musky and peppery scent. Probably would fair better on someone's skin who isn't as dry.

    29 May, 2008

    rating


    Weekend for Men by Burberry

    Spicy and citrusy and quite sharp at first but not a zesty sharp citrus. More bitter/sour and airy. I like it but not that interesting. Doesn't last that long on my skin. I can smell the musk throughout the whole think which smells quite nice.

    29 May, 2008

    rating


    Castile by Penhaligon's

    Smells like roses! Then something else, like a musk. Then more roses! It's really neroli no wait it's citrus rose. Wow! Interesting. Very classy and beautiful.

    29 May, 2008

    rating


    Méchant Loup by L'Artisan Parfumeur

    Wait, is this Spark from Liz Claiborne? Anyways, lots of sweet honey. A little nutty. However, it sounds heavy but it's not. Way too light on the skin and I barely register any of the wood notes. Feels like I took a wet paper towel used to wipe up a spilled jar of honey and rubbed it on my chest.

    29 May, 2008

    rating


    Habit Rouge by Guerlain

    Oh yeah! A "classic scent" that I love. Classic here I refer to the powdery feel and the vanilla. Citrus and vanilla together here though, it's great. Strong at first but settles down nicely and can be a monster of a scent. Has a myriad of personality and projects itself differently on different people. I feel like an intellect wearing it but that's just my own psychosis.

    29 May, 2008

    rating


    Narciso Rodriguez for Him by Narciso Rodriguez

    Weird. I read that this was meant to smell bad on purpose. Weird. I like this. Violet leaves can smell good to me. Goes on brightly green and subtlety earthy without being dirty. I find it odd that I really love this stuff since I disapprove of many other green fragrances namely Eternity.

    28 May, 2008

    rating


    Chypre Rouge by Serge Lutens Les Salons du Palais Royal Shiseido

    If "rouge" means "red" like blood here, then I can agree. That is, if blood refers to blood of a tree which we call sap. This smells like pine sap mixed with carmel. Feels very sticky and dirty. Not very pleasant at all.

    From an atheistic view, though rich and syrupy like most Lutens I've tried, this one just doesn't feel right and out of character for a Lutens scent.

    28 May, 2008

    rating


    Burberry London for Men by Burberry

    Love it! Perfect scent for cooler weather and is a compliment magnet. First time I ever wore this I received my first cologne related compliment ever. Nice, boozy and sweet without being overbearing. To me it's unique since I haven't really smelled anything like it before.

    28 May, 2008

    rating


    Everlast Original 1910 by Everlast

    A non-sporty non-cliched fragrance based on a sport? This is great. It's skanky and potent like a prizefighter. For ten bucks this is a real bargain. You owe it to yourself to at least try it out.

    From a design aspect, the bottle is neat. The sloping angles of the sides reflect the contours of the upper male torso. Very macho.

    28 May, 2008

    rating


    Scent Intense by Costume National

    I get great sillage and longevity from this. In fact, I rarely ever get comments on what I'm wearing but I found that people were sniffing the air around me asking, "oh I smell something." It's good. Slightly vanilla with a slight spice to it with amber. Definitely a unisex. I can't compare it to the normal Scent for intensity difference.

    28 May, 2008

    rating


    Paul Smith Extreme Men by Paul Smith

    I was captivated by the packaging and the bottle when I first opened it. It was a definite blind buy. The vertical striping reminded me of Gene Davis' "wallpaper" paintings though his paintings are much more vivid than this scent. (And I'm glad. Sometimes I don't need to announce my presence in a room or building!)

    This is average and inoffensive. Pleasant mix of mild and sweet notes with a bit of spiciness that is quite wearable for daily use. Nothing extreme about it though it's very nice.

    28 May, 2008 (Last Edited: 18 June, 2008)

    rating


    Rochas Man by Rochas

    Excellent gourmand. I accidentally bought some of the aftershave and find it to be very versatile for layering with any other gourmand fragrance out there. Coffee and vanilla. Love them both.

    28 May, 2008

    rating


    Reaction for Men by Kenneth Cole

    I realize how awful its longevity is. On a card, it lasted a good while. The scent lingered with me for the longest time and I wanted a bottle badly but still felt undecided. I went to the Internet and other sources for reviews and thought and found out, despite the fact that my sample card lasted a long time, that Reaction on;y reacts for so long. Maybe 30 minutes or and hour if you're lucky. And there have been accounts were people are lucky. I even asked the SA their option on Reaction and she honestly said that there have been more returns on that fragrance than any other they have ever had and this store has been around for a good 20 years and so had the SA.

    Well, this is a great, fresh, fruity scent. I love the opening notes and everything about it. If Be Delicious wasn't so sour, I'd wear that instead of Reaction but reaction makes it just right without you feeling like a fruit basket.

    Like many others have stated, I wish this lasted longer. I wonder what makes it fade so quickly...

    28 May, 2008

    rating


    Pi by Givenchy

    Calming, soothing and sweet scent. Though quite terrific, I need something more engaging. My personal preference should not discount the fact that this is a well made, though cloying fragrance.

    28 May, 2008

    rating


    La Myrrhe by Serge Lutens Les Salons du Palais Royal Shiseido

    Who in the heck wants to smell like a soapy, wet concrete block? That's all I get from this. Sorry Mr. Lutens.

    28 May, 2008

    rating


    H.M. by Hanae Mori

    Dripping with an amazing sweetness, this is probably the scent that Captain Kirk was smelling coming from the cloud creature in the episode "Obsession". That thing was scary.

    28 May, 2008 (Last Edited: 10th July, 2008)

    rating


    Feeling Man by Jil Sander

    Sweet fruits and tobacco. Quite nice and I wish my sample had a little more to go on.

    28 May, 2008

    rating


    Allure Homme by Chanel

    A quick shot of citrus and pepper. Mostly pepper, though. Nice oriental and slightly sweet drydown that lasts for hours. This is all drydown to me. While average at the begining, for those of you who like longevity should wear this. Simple and elegant and modern.

    28 May, 2008

    rating


    Kouros Tattoo Edition by Yves Saint Laurent

    Love this take on Kouros. I was lucky enough for someone to decant a small sample for me.

    Tattoo does feel slightly weaker than its parent with some pepper added but its weakness is only slight. We're talking about Kouros here, a potent fragrance as it is! Good stuff.

    27 May, 2008

    rating


    Cool Water by Davidoff

    I enjoy the smell. I don't enjoy the hype. I don't enjoy all the negative talk about it on the boards. I never wore this but I distinctly remembering people who did but I never knew what they were wearing.

    This is fresh and fruity and smooth like one of those frozen smoothies but with extra milk. At first it wasn't nice at all but later I liked it. If you've read about all the hype i.e. the many fragrances that are copies of Cool Water, you might not like the original.

    It's good but uninspiring.

    27 May, 2008

    Showing 1831 to 1860 of 1905.