Reviews by Merbert

    Merbert's avatar
    Merbert
    United States United States

    Showing 31 to 42 of 42.
    rating


    Eau de Russe by Crown Perfumery

    With a title like Eau de Russe, one would think Russian leather; not so with this surprising Crown creation. Don't be fooled by the initial sharp sting of bitter orange and lime with herbal hints. Soon the bittersweet marzipan of heliotrope emerges, further sweetened by burnt sugar. Fortunately, this ultra-sweet powdery floral phase is soon enhanced by an assertive one-two punch of musk and amber, where the fragrance remains until it gently fades several hours later.

    Eau de Russe is a comfortable and as easy to wear as last year's sweater, but don't count on it for intrigue or romance.

    24th June, 2008

    rating


    Eau de Quinine by Crown Perfumery

    Bubbly, boozy and peppered with bravado, Eau de Quinine combines the herbal edges and angles of fresh coriander, monarda and artemisia, the tartness of bergamot, the slightly bitter powder of petitgrain, and the heat of nutmeg and clove. I always feel energized and quite the bon vivant when I wear this delicious concoction. My only question, should one apply it shaken or stirred!

    24th June, 2008

    rating


    Crown Imperial by Crown Perfumery

    Crown Imperial is my citrus fix! It is driving a thumb into a ripe warm-off-the tree Seville orange, beginning with the burst of rich oil which meets the deliciously bitter pith. Driving deeper meets tart acidic juice and sweet glistening pulp. But there is more, as a seed is crushed between the fingers, releasing an astringent and herbal brightness. For hours after the initial drydown, Crown Imperial deepens and becomes richer and warmer, lasting several hours.

    Crown Imperial is confidence and focus. An executive acquaintance never enters an important meeting without it.

    24th June, 2008

    rating


    Crown Fougère by Crown Perfumery

    It's like a walk through an herb garden while peeling a fresh lemon on a cool misty day. You stray off the path and your feet crush the leaves of lavender, Baron thyme (caraway thyme), monarda and tarragon. The scent of the surrounding cedar and trees add their rich woodiness of the experience.

    Crown Fougere is a clean, earthy and fresh scent. But it also has its dark and mysterious side.

    24th June, 2008

    rating


    Crown Heliotrope by Crown Perfumery

    Of all the heliotrope perfumes I have smelled, this captures the true beauty of the fresh flower. It's clean, sweet and powdery and doesn't smack of almond extract as many fragrances do when approximating heliotrope. It's as warm and comfortable as a fluffy down comforter without being unduly sweet. Unfortunately this Crown creation is not terribly long lasting.

    24th June, 2008

    rating


    Tanglewood Bouquet by Crown Perfumery

    I'm a Crown Perfumery devotee and confess that, for the first time, I can say that a fragrance in their line is not worthy of the Crown on its bottle. It's a trivial, mundane, overly in-you-face floral. What few spices that have been tossed in barely make a dent in the peach-candy sweetness. This creation might work well as a first fragrance for a young lady, but certainly lacks the complexity and maturity those of us whose youth is but a memory.

    I own 11 of Crown Perfumery's masterpieces and can understand why one can still pick up Tanglewood Bouquet for a song.

    24th June, 2008

    rating


    Crown Alpine Lily by Crown Perfumery

    For nearly fifteen years, I celebrate the first burst of spring with Crown Alpine Lily. To me the overall fragrance is not that of the Lily of the Valley but of a complex duet of Asiatic Lily and the lovely Gladiolus tristis. It is rich, spicy and sweet in the way that fennel or anise are. The sweetness is sharpened by aromatic herbs. After the initial drydown, Alpine Lily remains nearly constant for up to six hours and fades gracefully like a diminuendo of the sustained final chord of a symphony.

    24th June, 2008

    rating


    Crown Esterhazy by Crown Perfumery

    Crown Esterhazy is a brilliant Roman candle of fragrance. It first shoots upward with lemon zest and mint, soaring until it explodes, sending sparkling trails of lemon blossom, alba rose, lemon pulp, rosemary, bergamot, galangal and thyme. It rests on the skin, almost effervescent, and then is gone. Alas, like the Roman candle, after its brilliant display, it too quickly fades away. Ah, but those bright moments are worth it.

    24th June, 2008

    rating


    Crown Rose by Crown Perfumery

    I imagine a Limoges vase filled to overflowing with the deepest red damask roses, resting on a silk velvet cloth in a darkly paneled salon. Dusty beams of light fall on the bouquet from thick leaded window panes. Where the sunlight warms the wall, the scent of old and well-rubbed wood emerges. Some of the blood-red petals are broken, revealing their tart and almost bitter white bases.

    Crown Rose captures the dark, warm and powdery scent of old red roses, framed by hints of sweet spices and rich woods. An assertive fragrance, there nothing timid about it. There is also a touch of mystery, like eyes peering through the black tulle of an elegant chapeau.

    24th June, 2008

    rating


    Louve by Serge Lutens Les Salons du Palais Royal Shiseido

    Comfort, comfort and more comfort! There's no intrigue and no mystery, but the comfort is all-encompassing. It is like a bowl of Middle Eastern confections: almond nougat, pistachio loukhoum, and cardamom kisses rolled in dried rose petals. On the drydown is a soft powdery white heliotrope, true to the fresh blossoms, is warmed with amber and vanilla.

    When you wear this, don't expect romance. It's more for those flannel pajama nights.

    27th May, 2008

    rating


    Chèvrefeuille Original by Creed

    To me it is a walk through an herb garden surrounded by evergreens after a fall morning rain. I detect mint, but not a crass common variety, rather the delicate sweetness of Persian mint. Fennel, tarragon and possibly lemon thyme are there as well. The sweet evergreen scent of cedar and camphor leaves enriches the bright herbs. I don't detect any woods. Quite some time after the drydown, I sense the faintest floral, but not honeysuckle or muguet as others have mentioned. Both are in my garden and are quite different than the floral notes of Chevrefeuille. It is a less sweet and more 'metallic' blossom.

    What a delightful daytime fragrance!

    27th May, 2008

    rating


    Marechale Original by Crown Perfumery

    So precious Marechale is to me that I have been nursing two 2ml vials of it for years.

    24th December, 2007

    Showing 31 to 42 of 42.




Loving perfume on the Internet since 2000