Perfume Reviews

Reviews by John.com

Advertisement

Chergui by Serge Lutens Les Salons du Palais Royal Shiseido


It appears that a few nostrils require a serious overhaul or something of the kind.....No "Collision" going on here.

Just Utter Rapture.......
02nd November, 2006

Zeste Mandarine Pamplemousse by Creed

Zeste Mandarine is of my top Creeds....No Question. There are several comments regarding it as short lived, weak... what have you. No problems here, sticks around for the duration giving off it's magical trail. It'll always remain fav.
24th October, 2006

Echo by Davidoff

Metallic, clean and very casual. Love the stuff. Great in the sweltering dog days of Summer. My latest acquisition in some time frankly. My only gripe is that the bottle's shape (which is very appealing on the dresser for sure) is very awkward and difficult to aim. Made for dropping......
23rd May, 2006
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Polo Black by Ralph Lauren

Me likes. Not "Purple Label like" mind you, but like none the less. A Clean Formal right down the middle. I wouldn't know iced mango if it booted me on the chin, but there is a fruit element floating around in BL. the patchouli is not present to harsh levels---just right, and the tonka bean provides good body. Overall, I don't have buyers remorse with Black. I needed another versitile formal.
08th December, 2005

Purple Label by Ralph Lauren

I absolutely do not regret this purchase in any way, shape or form. What a class act. All the way from the clean blackberry opening right down to the luxurious mahogany and suede finale. Very, very nice Ralphie............
08th December, 2005

Safari for Men by Ralph Lauren

That is absolutely a right on the money statement regarding Safari. It MUST be worn to receive the full effect. Warm, savory and exceptionally masculine. Hands down, the Lauren I most frequently recommend to other gents. Polo Crest is Ralphs second greatest success. Both are highly "attracting".
12th October, 2005

New Haarlem by Bond No. 9

Awesome. Like walnut pancakes in a downtown cafe. This is one luxurious gourmond.
08th September, 2005

Wellington Cologne by Geo F Trumper

Very, VVeeery similar to Penhaligon's Blenheim Bouquet with bracing pine and spices. Not a negative quality at all mind you. Very Clean...
08th September, 2005

Orange Spice by Creed

What we're "talking about"....... is an excellent mixture of citrus and spice with a musky edge. A Kouros like start, but that melts away soon enough. very nice.
Mennen,.....pppffftt...yeah....
16th March, 2005

Wall Street by Bond No. 9

Similar to Creed's Imperial (hardly a bad quality right out the gate), but with an orange-like edge to make it a plausible acquisition......and I did. Very "multifunctional"
17th February, 2005

H.O.T. Always by Bond No. 9

Spactacular ! Love this one. Total agreement to all the feedback given here. Warm, inviting and romantic. Yet at the same time, subtle in way that defies description. A must have.
17th February, 2005

Eau de Santal by Floris

Utter class and a wonderful addition to my spread. Very, very smooth and warm. Awesome indeed.
17th February, 2005

Grain de Plaisir by Maître Parfumeur et Gantier

On ledge with GdP. It can be spicy and savory if in the mood to behave, or it'll kick you in the posterior and become downright hideous. For once, I'm stumped on a scent.
17th February, 2005
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Boucheron pour Homme by Boucheron

My crown jewel of citruses. Formal, charming and possesses amazing development. Have the EDT, want to advance to the EDP next. No doubt a striking experience..........
17th February, 2005

Vetiver Oriental by Serge Lutens

I've waited to possess this charmer for forever and a day. It is an ingeniously constructed multi-layered, slightly powdery, brooding vetiver with a tantalizing chocolate edge. Very, very classy and unusual.
08th December, 2004

Chêne by Serge Lutens Les Salons du Palais Royal Shiseido

Newly released as I type. I get heavy oak-bark, tonka bean and rum. Advertised as unisex but it skews more into the masculine direction. Very Pleasant
06th October, 2004

Paname by Keiko Mecheri

I enjoy KM's Santal very much, but this has more gusto. Deep absinthe, spices, vanilla and musk break down and blend in like silk. Suffice to say, it has my undivided attention.
06th October, 2004

parfums*PARFUMS Series 3 Incense: Kyoto by Comme des Garçons

My favorite of this series. A less obtrusive, stark incense, very comforting and meditative. The others have their own unique qualities obviously, but some are just a tad TO unique. Zagorsk is also quite pleasant.
06th October, 2004

parfums*PARFUMS Series 3 Incense: Avignon by Comme des Garçons

Dark, damp, dank and a tad putrid along the lines of Etro's deplorable MdM. No go.
06th October, 2004

Muscs Koublaï Khän by Serge Lutens Les Salons du Palais Royal Shiseido

I'm perplexed that the same brilliant mind behind Vetiver Oriental and Chergui created this abomination of the damned. A hidoeusly vile blend that no amount of waxing philosophical or attempting to rationalize can cover up. Puke, gag, hurl and more puke. Me thinks Mr. Lutens may have been on the pipe while concocting this swill. The Bronx Zoo at the peak of summer.......the filthy, sweating hides of beasts. Very attractive. Please.
06th October, 2004 (last edited: 08th March, 2006)

Cuir Mauresque by Serge Lutens Les Salons du Palais Royal Shiseido

Very, very, very similar to Creed's REL, the components will indicate that as well. It wears like a charm. Gorgeous
06th October, 2004

parfums*PARFUMS Series 5 Sherbet: Peppermint by Comme des Garçons

Icy and clean. A perfect addition for a sweltering, oppressive Summer. Very Unisex suprisingly enough.
30th September, 2004

Spanish Leather by Geo F Trumper

Awesome. One of my favorite Trumper's. Savory, warm and full-o-class.
John
30th September, 2004

parfums*PARFUMS Series 2 Red: Palisander by Comme des Garçons

Intoxicating Palisander wood from South America combines with myrrh and other spices to create utter rapture. Amazing
John
30th September, 2004

Patchouli by Lorenzo Villoresi

The best Patchouli presentation known to man. The rosewood rounds out the whole package perfectly. Delectable is an understatement
01st July, 2004

Centaure by Maître Parfumeur et Gantier

A citrus/woods blend from the heavens. Must be tried to comprehend fully. Longevity is decent as well, the bane of most in this category.
01st July, 2004

Baïmé by Maître Parfumeur et Gantier

An impeccable combo of basil, woods and mellow spices. The basil does not deliver the face slapping assualt I'd braced for. Very subdued and tastefully presented, kind of an afterthought. I'm moving on it with nary a glance back. Glorious.
01st July, 2004

Lucifer No. 3 by Damien Bash

Best of the Bash's possessing a close similarity to Creed's Ambre Canelle with a tad more amber. Darker. The only one I'll even look at. the rest are approaching hideous.
30th June, 2004

Sin by Damien Bash

Took a whiff and got bonked on the head with familiarity. Life Saver Candy. No way
30th June, 2004

Biche Dans l'Absinthe by Gobin Daudé

Exceedingly different in a way I'm currently unsure of, yet I'm continually drawn to it. Sharp with tobacco and other jolting spices. My intrigue, however, will never venture beyond a decant, for I've not a kings ransom to spare for a bottle. Outrageous.........
30th June, 2004