Reviews by everso

    everso's avatar
    everso
    United States United States

    Showing 1 to 30 of 48.
    rating


    Black Aoud by Montale

    this is nauseatingly repulsive stuff. smells like an old indian lady chewing betel nuts who fell in a bed of roses and fell asleep there....then got up all angry and annoyed---and started walking through the village spitting red paan spit everywhere. disgusting....and waaaaay too feminine.

    12 February, 2009

    rating


    Knize Sec by Knize

    If the Knize Ten reminds you of a gentleman in the 1920s or 1930s...wearing a trenchcoat and a hat...walking down a rainy street of Vienna in the morning on his way to work----then Knize Sec will be that man getting out of work that evening, getting all liquored up and having a laugh with his friends. Knize Ten is an introverted scent....deep inside a heart of leather, tar, rubber, petrol.....Knize Sec is extroverted with champagne, incense, citrus, and fruits.

    I remember reading somewhere many months ago, that there were champagne-like notes in here....and damn, they were right. There really is some champagne going on here....whenever i smell this, i feel as if a celebration is in order! Sec is so alive with colour.....the opening blast is a citrus laden, champagne filtered blast of fresh....with huge sillage, and big longetivity. I put some on my right arm in the morning...and it smells almost as if i put this stuff on 20 minutes ago.....even after changing into scrubs earlier, walking around outside, coming back in....changing clothes 3 times...so the quality is there.

    After the light-me-a-smoke-cos-i'm-a-fookin-rock-and-roll-star-tonight opening, the drydown uses labdanum to create this lovely, floaty, incense background, and Sec really settles down into a relaxed, leisurely, and elegant incense and sweet woods fragrance with flashes of the citrus and champagne remnants lingering around. beautiful stuff.....artsy stuff.

    I don't know what to compare this scent to. This one is not forgettable....it is very memorable. It's the kind of scents i can imagine making memories in....it may be extroverted, but it still has that Knize depth to it...where you cannot exactly pinpoint what is going on, or limit it by its notes....it has an abstractness i can't really find....and which makes me love it even more. It's going to be a STUNNING fragrance to wear in the spring.....and i can't wait to unleash it in the coming months...

    another Knize which goes straight to my soul. Excellent.

    10th February, 2009

    rating


    By Man by Dolce & Gabbana

    i was sent a sample of this by a good fellow bn'er. i gotta admit...i don't really get the 'hype' behind this one. to me, it has a very average generic opening....a bit too feminine and full of that generic 'freshness' that's everywhere....and then the drydown attempts to become something complex, however it never really succeeds. the most positive sign in here is the sense of pepper going on....which faintly reminds me of Hermes Poivre Sarcamande.....but it never really becomes that nice....i dunno, this one sort of elicits a 'meh' on my scale...

    02 February, 2009

    rating


    Cuir de Russie by Creed

    This is by far one of THE weakest and worst leather fragrances i've ever tried. There is MINIMAL to no leather in this.....another falsely named Creed scent. This smells cheap and nasty to my nose....with no real development, sillage, longetivity or anything! I'm struggling to figure out what the point of this scent is......oh wait, i've figured it out----so people can pay $175 for a bottle that says "Cuir" and "Creed" on it...but doesn't accomplish the "cuir" part of the equation.

    29 January, 2009

    rating


    Dunhill Edition by Dunhill

    Didn't like this at all. Lotsa cloves and cinnamon.....not much interesting in here at all...just a bit boring and middle-of-the-road...sorta smells like a spicy candle.......next!

    24 January, 2009

    rating


    Royal English Leather by Creed

    this is NOT a leather scent....it's just an amber scent...and it's crap! Shame on you C***d....again.

    15 January, 2009

    rating


    Rêve en Cuir by Indult

    a dissappointing affair. so much hype behind this, so much price ($250) behind this.....and it just doesn't have the uniqueness, boldness, or structure to pull off any of it. this is a bakery-sweet light leather fragrance....far more feminine than masculine..the sweetness is pretty cloying, and the hint of leather just sort of lingers around like a refugee. This is a knockoff (a very expensive knockoff) version of Hermes Kelly Caleche, which is basically a better scent than this in every way.....FAIL!

    13 January, 2009

    rating


    Jubilation XXV by Amouage

    utterly mediocre fruit and woods fragrance...forgettable in nearly every way.

    13 January, 2009

    rating


    Blue Sugar by Aquolina

    wow. this stuff is AWFUL. ranks in my top 5 worst scents i've ever smelled...artificial, nauseating cotton candy. all the bottles in the world should be collected and destroyed!

    13 January, 2009

    rating


    Duro by Nasomatto

    this is not a very original scent, it sort of combines several 'masculine' stereotypes taken from older woods and leather scents----and hurls them into an attractive, gimmick ridden package which oozes cool. it's got a cool name, in a cool bottle, with an interesting image--------and the scent is pretty decent. an upper scale middle-of-the-road leather and tar scent with some nice woods goin on. not really saviour material, but not boring either. also not worth $150 for 30ml. cut the price in half and i'd buy a bottle.

    11th January, 2009

    rating


    Aventure by Il Profumo

    boooooooooring. nothing really interesting going on here...i've tried this 3 or 4 times...and every time i sit and wonder "why do people make such boring rubbish fragrances?"

    11th January, 2009

    rating


    Ambre Russe by Parfum d'Empire

    first of all...i get no leather from this weird concoction. secondly, i find this to be a low-budget version of an already low-tier fragrance known as Ambre Sultan. That stuff is bad.....and this is its imitation. Overblown spices, curry, and amber create a similar spectrum to Ambre Sultan-----only a little saltier and cheaper smelling. FAIL!

    11th January, 2009

    rating


    Knize Forest by Knize

    what an absolutely GORGEOUS green fragrance. this is the greenest scent i've ever tried.....i don't really see much comparison to anything else around at the moment. This stuff is THE cleanest fresh grass cut, open forest green you'll ever try. KNIZE are truly the kings of fragrances. Absolutely brilliant.

    10th January, 2009

    rating


    Ambre Sultan by Serge Lutens Les Salons du Palais Royal Shiseido

    terrible and unwearable. it smells sort of like a garbage can after leftover indian food has been thrown in it. amazing what the name "serge lutens" can sell......next, they're gonna market the smell of fish under the name "la peche pour nuit" and everyone will be jumping up and down again! AVOID.

    10th January, 2009

    rating


    Bandit by Robert Piguet

    this starts off as a spicy, peppery wood and leather cascade with elements of plastic and rubber. my kinda fragrance....but a few minutes later, it settles into a dirty, muddy green and wood medley which is just plan weird....and then it transforms into a totally feminine, flowery and old-granny-by-the-window type of scent. the drydown of the EDP is simply unacceptable. Lady Knize smells nearly identical to this drydown, but is made better than this......and overall, Bandit just tends to smell quite cheap....which is unfortunate! FAIL!

    06 January, 2009

    rating


    Cuir Pleine Fleur / Fine Leather by Heeley

    This is not a great leather scent as advertised. It's mainly composed of some green and floral cascade---with some light mint and vegetable like tones....but the leather notes aren't very nice----it's sort of a light, meaty leather. There's nothing really very interesting about this...and it has this strange sort of old-vegetable smell which i just can't get rid of...maybe even fertilizer-like. There are much better scents out there for leather than this------which is a FAIL.

    04 January, 2009

    rating


    Domenico Caraceni 1913 by Domenico Caraceni

    This is the smell of an elderly old woman who is drunk on rose oil and red wine. terrible scent-----i've tried it multiple times now, and multiple times i have felt nauseated. very feminine, very one dimensional, and very cheap smelling.

    03 January, 2009

    rating


    Cuir Venenum 03 by Parfumerie Generale

    This is very very very VERY sweet...with NO hint of leather at all......a big dissappointment as far as i see. Doesn't really deserve the name "Cuir" on it. Also very feminine.

    03 January, 2009

    rating


    Cuoio by Odori

    What a GREAT leather fragrance this is. Fresh wood, leather and petrol. One of the best scents of the year. This stuff is so fresh and light---unlike most of the other leather scents out there. There is a sophistication to this which is lacking in other 'new' Leather scents like Duro or Lonestar Memories. This stuff smells like polished wood floors being scrubbed with a leather rag----very very cool. I'm looking forward to trying the rest of the Odori range, if it's nearly as good as this---i'm sold. The downside to this is the massive $210 price tag, which is a bit intense in itself. I got my bottle for half off, so i have no complaints.....yet!

    02 January, 2009

    rating


    Peau d'Espagne by Santa Maria Novella

    This is not a real leather scent. I wanted to love this---i really did....however this is a very amber heavy spice driven affair, lacking in any real leather notes or suede. It is a huge dissappointment, as far as i am concerned. It's very well made, however that doesn't change the fact that the name of the fragrance (translates into Spanish Leather) is a complete deception. FAIL!

    02 January, 2009

    rating


    Scent Intense by Costume National

    this is a really mediocre scent. and WAY too feminine for a guy to comfortably wear, in my opinion. I got the impression that this was gonna be dark and mysterious-----however all i see in this fragrance is PINK. A floral amber, which doesn't really carry any sort of guts within it---just sort of floats around with no real focus. FAIL.

    02 January, 2009

    rating


    Acqua di Parma Colonia by Acqua di Parma

    a well made sample of liquid mediocrity. can't imagine what people thought of it in 1914....surely no man would have worn it then.

    02 January, 2009

    rating


    French Lover / Bois d'Orage by Editions de Parfums Frederic Malle

    as other Malle fragrances often do...this one makes me feel sick as well with its cloying nature. a generic niche scent.....i didn't know it was possible, but now i'm sure it is. there's nothing remarkable about this scent at all, except for the fact that it costs over $200 a bottle....definitely not worth it....especially for such a pedestrian scent.

    16 December, 2008

    rating


    Vétiver Extraordinaire by Editions de Parfums Frederic Malle

    not nearly as good as Lalique's Encre Noire----which is the same scent, only far more focused, intense, and beautiful. fail again, Malle!

    16 December, 2008

    rating


    Angéliques Sous La Pluie by Editions de Parfums Frederic Malle

    a cloying, disgusting peppery mess of a fragrance. i'm testing it for the 3rd time today, and each time it has made me dizzy and sick. fail!

    16 December, 2008

    rating


    Green Irish Tweed by Creed

    save yourself some money and buy a bottle of Cool Water. GIT is probably THE most overrated modern scent......there is nothing special, unique, or interesting about this scent at all. It's the equivelant to dumping Ragu spaghetti sauce into a gold dish and selling it for $50. worthless.

    16 December, 2008

    rating


    Escada Homme by Escada

    for the money...one of the best scents you can buy! i scored a bottle for $12, and often when i'm wearing it----it FEELS like i'm wearing some really expensive niche fragrance. Boozy, slightly spicy, and smooth light amber and leather make this a fantastic fragrance. Very versatile and easy to wear. If you see a bottle cheap----just BUY IT.

    16 December, 2008

    rating


    Helmut Lang Woman by Helmut Lang

    this is BY FAR the sexiest musk scent in the world.....EVER. forget all the Musc Ravageur overhyping nonsense....THIS is the real deal. the creamiest, most well balanced, complex, and dynamic musk you'll ever smell. The people behind these Helmut Lang scents were geniuses.....HUGELY recommended.

    16 December, 2008

    rating


    Muschio Bianco / White Moss by Acca Kappa

    this reminds me of laundry......very clean and detergent like...or fabric softener like. but oh wait...i hate doing laundry and i'm not particularly fond of the smell of laundry soaps and softeners. thanks but no thanks!

    14 December, 2008

    rating


    Kiton Napoli by Kiton

    Kiton is one of the finest brands of clothing in the world...and now i've come to grips with the fact that the 3 mens fragrances they've released; Man, Black, and this Napoli are all absolutely faultless. I needed a 'fresh' scent, but not one of those disgusting generic department store scents being sold these days----so i heard about Napoli and bought it blind off a fellow BNer and it is GREAT. it smells very oceanic, mediterranean, and breezy....as all Kitons are, this has superb sillage and longetivity----and goes very well with one of my all-time favourite fragrances----Kiton Black. Napoli is discontinued and very hard to find.....but if you ever find it for an affordable price, definitely worth a try...if you don't want it after trying it--PM me and i'll buy it from you.

    14 December, 2008

    Showing 1 to 30 of 48.