Reviews by argus wishingwell

    Showing 1 to 25 of 25.
    rating


    Preludio d'Oriente by Calé

    Very mysterious fragrance from Cale. In Turkey, we sometimes use sweetgum tree (storax-liquidambar orientalis) resin for stomach troubles and other health issues. Preludio d'oriente reminds me of it but of course it has much more sophisticated touch to it.

    Not a smoky incense edt, herbal and very green yet not a happy blend. Like you just put some herbs on a burning incense stick.

    This one is an introvert choise for me. When i need to be alone, this sanctuary type odour lift my spirit.

    At first spray, it starts very green and herbal (artemisia and citrus) but in minutes slowly growing warmth of sandalwood and oud takes this fragrance above some other substitutes that i possess; such as CdG Zagorsk, Meo Fusciuni 1#Nota di Viaggio.

    Should be experienced for incense lovers. Thumbs up.

    20th April, 2013

    rating


    Acqua di Parma Colonia Essenza by Acqua di Parma

    Old fashioned barbershop style. For me; it is one of the best from its genre. After top notes gone, it sticks to the skin and starts smelling like an elegant shaving soap. Reminds me of good old times.

    19th June, 2012

    rating


    Eternity for Men by Calvin Klein

    Creamy and soapy along these years, yet not an obsolete fragrance. it may have been overused for several years but it is not, for today. I have not smelled something like that. Soapy but not ambery(for example not like prada amber ph), not vetiver like(for example not like tom ford grey vetiver), just a green herbal soap, slightly walking on a rope but not falling down. Sage, basil, lavender and some citrus dominating the sequence, it is a non offending gentle fragrance. Nothing sexy about it ok, but being sexy lies behind very attitude of yourself...

    26th June, 2011

    rating


    parfums*PARFUMS Guerrilla 2 by Comme des Garçons

    It reminds me of tabasco pepper sauce. I enjoy every moment but not sure that everyone like to smell like very hot chilli pepper. Unique for my experience though.

    15th May, 2011

    rating


    Allure Homme Edition Blanche by Chanel

    I've been surprised sniffing this one. Before the salesman offered to spray this to my ankle, i had thought that it was a clean, sporty, lemony, quick vaporising general scent. No it is not!.

    It opens with a sweet-sour lemon and sharp bergamot accord, neither synthetic, nor cheap. Luxury and creamy spice accords rise on top just in time combining with lemon and bergamot, in a very elegant and rich harmony. After an hour, i can easily detect sandal, vanilla and amber along lingering lemon. (i couldn't detect tonka and musk, which can be my nose's inefficiency).

    It is surprisingly long lasting and differs from generic lemony big house scents. Not a masterpiece of course, but a very sexy and powerful summer evening fragrance also can be worn at the office during the day. Not airy, not cloying, just the perfect balance.

    Thumbs up for its refreshing and spicy composition.

    30th April, 2011

    rating


    Tous Man by Tous

    more herbal, less sweety version of burberry man. but there's no doubt that this one is better than that.

    22nd February, 2009

    rating


    In Black by J del Pozo

    as a man, i felt in love with the smooth deepness of that one. very sensual red grapes surround you during the dry down. whether it is a women fragrance or not, i am gonna wear it.

    22nd July, 2008

    rating


    Echo by Davidoff

    a bit boring but very clean and safe fragrance. i dont know why but women tend to love this one. it smells like the sum of a grapefruit crust and white, plain soap. i like echo but still prefer azzaro chrome in that manner.

    09th July, 2008

    rating


    Rochas Lui by Rochas

    perfectly balanced one. mixing 80's spirit with the millennium attitude. but after you read "80's", dont dare thinking about the old fashioned ones! it walks the line. very vanilic tender, little bit floral but yet masculine. sillage is good and longevity is very good indeed! the scent is not overpowering and gently caresses ones nose. it's definitely suitable for all seasons and all occasions. i adore lui! it reminds me golds...

    08th July, 2008

    rating


    L'Instant de Guerlain pour Homme by Guerlain

    at first sniff, i detected nothing but a sour lime but than in 2-3 minutes l'instant started to develop to a creamy and a little bit sour, fresh woody fragrance. this one is first class and subtle, pleasant and soothing. perfect for daytime use. i unexpectedly loved the slight floral side of l'instant and looking forward to test the "intense" one for a better longevity. but thumbs up anyway...

    07th July, 2008

    rating


    Andy Warhol for Men by Andy Warhol

    very mossy and very green, refreshing and balanced cologne. fine for the hot summer days, it really cools your skin like a fresh after shave but it's still complicated as a top quality cologne. don't underestimate this fragrance... i bought it's 100 ml edt for 18-19 usd just for testing, blindly... now it pleases me every day. sillage is adequate for a fresh fragrance and longevity is so so... finally, it would be a nice purchase, i recommend to those who like fresh ones.

    03rd July, 2008

    rating


    Hypnôse Homme by Lancôme

    1 ml of "joop homme" + 1 ml of "polo double black" + 2 ml of "azzaro now". that's what hypnose is. and beside, it is not cloying like joop, not subtle as polo db and not feminine like azzaro now. perfect for everywhere and every day&night. i think this will be a classic amongst the new ones.

    03rd June, 2008

    rating


    Azzaro Now Men by Azzaro

    this fragrance has a mean quality. it starts with a velvety rose accord, and that lasts until the fragrance goes. longevity is mediocre and sillage is low.

    i prefer to describe "now" as "soft floral aromatic" and recommend it for the younger ones, esp. between the age of 18-25. this slightly feminine fragrance seems to be put together very well but i did not like it all (my taste is different, don't count azzaro now a bad product).

    20th May, 2008

    rating


    Lacoste pour Homme by Lacoste

    a really sporty fragrance. appropriate for casual wear. i think this fragrance is designed for gym centers!. fresh, nice rum and vanilla notes are there since the beginning. the odour is thick and intense by the means of feeling, but there's nothing cloying about it.. unfortunately sillage and longevity are below average for me. give a neutral for the longevity.

    20th May, 2008

    rating


    Essence Pure pour Homme by S.T. Dupont

    a safe choice for office wear. very subtle and light. fruity and fresh. the first notes dwelling at your nose are "star anise"(ı got the anise but star? i've only read about it) and that ozonic note (i found it like azzaro chrome's sythetic top plus lanvin l'homme)... low sillage (good point for office) but decent longevity. there's one more thing i want to say; if you apply 2-3 sprays, you get %70 fresh fruity notes and %30 anise, but if you apply 5-6 or more sprays, then you smell like you have worn a very light version of lolita lempicka au masculin. finally; it is an okay fragrance but no more.

    so i give a neutral for the mean subtleness.

    14th May, 2008

    rating


    Arpège pour Homme by Lanvin

    i think this fragrance is the best in the lanvin collection. arpege starts with a nectarine and pepper burst, it smashes itself to your face! than in ten minutes, it dries down to a very pleasant but strong peppery accord, nutmeg and vanilla start to help the middle notes to give a creamy and spicy feeling. it lasts and lasts as a peppery patchouli and sandalwood fragrance... longevity is 6 hours on my skin and 24 hours on fabric. sillage is also very good.

    imho; this one is not for the aquatic/citrus/floral/woody lovers. and nor for the office days. it is a bit too strong and cloying for office or casual wear. you may wear it at nights and for romantic times. (but i dont think that every women love it due to its heavy spicy feeling)

    08th May, 2008

    rating


    Xeryus Rouge by Givenchy

    how can a fragrance be so spicy yet so fresh? i admire givenchy for xeryus rouge, for the notes, for the fresh attitude (even in summer i wear this) for the longevity and sillage. i consider xeryus rouge as one of the best releases for all time. i wish that it won't be discontinued. this is the second in my all time favourites list just after escada casual friday.

    08th May, 2008

    rating


    Lanvin L'Homme by Lanvin

    just so damn light! it smells good but just so subtle. i wouldn't waste my money for a fragrance that i can barely smell (for fifteen minutes). quality ingredients but it is not there after application. just so light even for a citrus based one.

    08th May, 2008

    rating


    Noir by S.T. Dupont

    this dupont choice is meeting all the requirements for the "woody oriental" family. oriental, but not like the crowded streets of an oriental megapol, just like an oriental forest. lavender and mint top is powerful and stays quite a long time with the middle notes. this situation makes noir wearable in every occasion.

    if you want to feel the fresh oriental side of this fragrance, i recommend spraying it to your collars. because noir tends to get warmer on the skin. very versatile and even sexy fragrance. sillage is ok and longevity is very well on both skin and fabric.

    and the bottle is so beautiful...

    officer down!! officer down!!! (but thumbs "up")

    02nd May, 2008 (Last Edited: 14th May, 2008)

    rating


    Terre d'Hermès by Hermès

    green leaves of geranium give the earthy note to terre d' hermes. if you lean and smell the geranium leaves, you can easily notice the natural, fresh "after rain" earth smell. perfect...

    30th April, 2008

    rating


    S.T. Dupont Homme by S.T. Dupont

    i think it's the sexier brother of azzaro pour homme. the same "classy after shave" spirit, the same fresh attitude... silky, soapy, a little bit floral and very virile. using sometimes since 1998, i have not got bored of this one a minute... i think it would be more than ok for summer evenings... first class cologne from the first class lighter corporation.

    14th April, 2008

    rating


    Armani Code / Black Code by Giorgio Armani

    it smells like fruity talk powder and that makes me soothe. i have worn it for approx. 2 years and not a single one of my girlfriends asked about it. i waited for a response like "what's this frag?" "hmm bad" or "hmm nice"... nothing. i dont wear cologne for gaining attention but it's an issue i think. low sillage...

    08th April, 2008

    rating


    Boss in Motion by Hugo Boss

    i like the opening, very fresh and perfect for the summer. but it's just an opening. in 30 minutes it disappears entirely from my skin. i can't believe!

    07th April, 2008

    rating


    Aqua pour Homme by Bulgari

    it smells like misty air of the docks in the morning and maybe a little bit "mossy green and dead waters". in my opinion; slightly but noticeably different and better than the other aquatics in the market. it has a very loud sillage if you spray more than 4-5 times. and the longevity is much more than a usual aquatic... this should be classified as "spicy fresh water/aqua"

    05th April, 2008 (Last Edited: 09th May, 2008)

    rating


    Bulgari Black by Bulgari

    it absolutely smells like a sweety playdough. lapsang tea is the refresher in this fragrance i think. altough bulgari says it's unisex, it is a very masculin scent with notes of cigar smoke and rubber. at least my nose thinks like that. i love to wear it in the morning because the sweet yet sharp tea note makes me awake! thumbs up and a hoo-ray. the most original and the best in the bulgari collection.

    04th April, 2008

    Showing 1 to 25 of 25.




Loving perfume on the Internet since 2000