Perfume Reviews

Reviews by vitaman

Advertisement
Total Reviews: 53

Lune Féline by Atelier Des Ors

Don't get any Cinnamon or Cardamon despite the listed notes.
I do get some Ambergris and Styrax and a smokey animalic vibe.
Eventually Vanilla comes through and believe me it is a welcome relief.
Reminds me just a little of Mancera's Aoud Vanille. It is more complex but ultimately not something I would ever reach for.
04th November, 2016

Myths Man by Amouage

I'm a big Amouage fan and own 8 different bottles.
This one is the biggest disappointment of their entire line.
I mostly got synthetic violet blended with a smoke like accord.
Just dreadful.
Love the bottle and was predisposed to liking it.
Sprayed Amouage Silver on top to be able to get on with my morning.
28th June, 2016

Bal d'Afrique by Byredo

I have absolutely no idea why this one is labeled Feminine.
I have maybe 75 bottles in my collection. This is the only one officially sanctioned to the fair gender. Out of the 75 bottles, maybe 20 smell decidedly more masculine than this.
Byredo claims that this is a vetiver scent....i'd say maybe a touch but not to the point of domination. They also point to the meeting point of Paris life in the 1920's and African culture. Sounds poetic...not sure what that would smell like.
To me this is a decidedly masculine floral with hints of musk and cedar.
Perfect Summer frag with solid longevity.
31st May, 2016
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Set Sail St. Barts for Men by Tommy Bahama

Just got this yesterday. Have to admit I was attracted by the name (great little French Island) but the positive reviews didn't hurt either.
This one was a surprise. It is considerably more versatile than the majority of reviews led me to believe. Although it is a smiley Summer scent in some regards I would have no problem wearing it in Winter. It's basically a creamy, musky lime on my skin. It's a welcoming scent and my Wife was drawn in immediately. Longevity is better than expected. Although it's inexpensive it is not one you smell often which gives it a certain cache.
Bottom line it smells really good. Seems somehow wrong that a good fragrance with a name like St. Bart's should be made in New York but that's life in globally shrinking world.
29th March, 2016

Alford & Hoff by Alford & Hoff

Picture the most generic Men's fragrance and you've got Alford and Hoff.
I pick up none of the listed notes.
It's a slightly sweet, highly synthetic, very boring scent. Anything by YSL and a host of other designers is superior.
Nothing to smell here.
22nd February, 2016

Reflection Man by Amouage

I simply do not get how any reviewer can pan this one for smelling synthetic. Nor can I understand comparing it to an inexpensive synthetic fragrance.
I am very sensitive to overly sweet and synthetic feeling scents. For example, although I love the Bond No. 9 bottle designs, I could never own one due to the lack of natural notes.
Reflection is particularly well blended and one of my 3 favorites by Amouage. In general I prefer their smokier more middle eastern scents like Interlude and Jubilation. But Reflection is just so pleasant especially after about an hour or so, that it won me over on first wearing in spite of its somewhat sweet opening.
For those that judge a fragrance on how many compliments it garners, this one is stellar in that regard too.
08th January, 2016

Safari Extreme by Abdul Samad Al Qurashi

Not sure why they called this Safari or Extreme, but it's just wonderful.
At first I thought it was similar to La Yuquawam by Rasasi. It certainly has an initial Suede vibe. But the Perfumer has a more deft touch and possibly better quality ingredients. There is a little vanilla and a lot of florals here but never so flowery as to overwhelm with sweetness. An addictive scent that seems versatile. You could wear this to the gym or to the Opera.
15th December, 2015

Oriental Lounge by The Different Company

Should have paid more attention to rogalal!
Blind bought this and and it is unisex if you use a very broad definition.
Very sweet and feminine, may have some similarities with one of the Chanel fragrances marketed to women. Will have to go through my wife's collection to verify.
Good quality, a little interesting touch of spice, but mostly sweet!

After revisiting my wife's fragrances, it indeed it is a 1st Cousin to Coco Chanel.
Smells better for the first 20 minutes, but does not have the legs of Coco which gives a solid 6-7 hours. If it had solid longevity I would recommend it highly to women. As it is, it is severely over priced for anyone.
10th December, 2015 (last edited: 11th December, 2015)

Ambre & Santal by L'Occitane

This is an excellent scent for Amber lovers of which I count myself as one.
However I will probably sell my bottle after only 2 wearings.
Why? It just has no longevity. And even though I prefer it to Lubin's Amber offering, it disappoints every time by pulling a disappearing act.
My advice is to save up a little bit more and go for Serge Luten's Ambre Sultan.
04th November, 2015

Balsamo della Mecca/ Mecca Balsam by La Via del Profumo

Wore this for 3 hours with a vague feeling that I've smelled it before. Finally dawned on me that this is Messe de Minuit by Etro with less projection.
A nice rich Frankincense skin scent. Feels sacred and comfortable. Main gripe is that even applied generously, it keeps its cards a little too close to the vest (vestments?).
28th March, 2015

Endymion by Penhaligon's

First I must say that Lucy's review was simply one of the best I've ever read…..had to read it three times.
Now to Endymion. Received a sample from Penhaligons. Of the 4 samples sent this one stood out. The masculine take on powder is attractive. Liked it until I smelled LP No9 for men by the same House. The top notes of Endymion are clearly superior, but once they die down, LP blows it away. Similar vibe but just more spice, more interesting and longer lasting to boot.
19th February, 2014

Serge Noire by Serge Lutens

Bought this based on the reviews here and from enjoying other Luten's frags.
I am trying hard to get the onions, cumin and spice shop vibe that others mention, but I get nada.
I tend to love that sort of thing (Odori's Glio is a revelation in the Indian spice shop genre), but all I get is a far more ordinary semi formal rich sweet thick wintery scent. It has monster silage and an immediate appeal; the quality is obvious. It reminds me of an 80's fragrance tweaked up for the present and with better sourced ingredients.
23rd January, 2014

Sana by Slumberhouse

Forget the listed notes.
This is all about stewed fruit. Prunes, apples, peaches.
Thought I really knew what was going on here until my wife caught a whiff.
You smell like Bourbon she declared. And not just any bourbon….Maker's Mark she specified. And dang if she wasn't spot on. If that's what you want to smell like, Sana will do the trick.
Excellent sillage and longevity.

17th January, 2014
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Givenchy Gentleman by Givenchy

Maybe it was the expectations from reading so many positive reviews but this is very close to a Negative.
Opens with a generic, synthetic, sweet cloud of everything I dislike in a fragrance.
I could not pick out a single note. Dries down an acceptable although not distinct "gentleman's" fragrance. There are better frags available certainly over the last 20 years (maybe 40) that should render this obsolete.
Once it dries down it is not offensive and reasonably pleasant but does not live up to its legend. Maybe the Vintage variety would be different but not motivated to find out at this point.
17th January, 2014

Gli Odori by Odori

This one is all about the cumin.
And that does not sound good.
Cumin is great as an unexpected foil for a floral, or sweet ginger or tea fragrance, but it is rarely found on its own. It just doesn't have the chops the headline the show.
But Gli is the exception. The cumin hits you early and often and I just can't get enough of it.
There is just enough warm sweetness behind to keep it balanced and ever interesting.
Maybe with future wearing I will pick out the green herbs and woods, but in only one wearing I can tell this is one amazing cumin perfume and is going to be one of my favorites.
13th January, 2014

Rectoverso Man Tea Tobacco by Ulric de Varens

Think of this as a poor man's Odori Tobacco.
The top notes are not nearly as nice and it does not have the longevity but the crux of the scent is similar.
It opens with a cheap sweetened tea note (instant?) and takes a while for the tobacco to shine through. But once it does, it becomes likable and at it's price point even lovable.
If price is not a consideration there are better Tobacco scents out there.
Factoring in bang for buck, this one is hard to beat.
11th January, 2014

Acteur by Azzaro

Cannot really pick up any individual notes in this.
It has a sharp synthetic smell that is married to a sweet synthetic one.
Was expecting more after reading reviews. Not sure it would even make a good air freshener.
10th January, 2014

Individuel by Montblanc

Blind Buy based on reviews.
Have had some good luck doing so despite dire warnings posted against such irresponsible behavior. However this buy was irresponsible.
It's sicky sweet, highly generic, very synthetic.
The bottle is attractive, love the cap.
My advice is to play with the bottle if you see it in a store, and then buy something else.
06th January, 2014

Eau Lente by Diptyque

This one although a little spicy, is on the feminine side with none of delicious warm masculine spice notes of say a Tauer Eau d'Epices.
Very linear with little to recommend it. Best part of it is that I bought a sample rather than a whole bottle.
13th December, 2013

L'Ambre des Merveilles by Hermès

The Amber that Pampers

Sprayed this on at Bloomingdale's thinking it was a Men's frag. (It was right next to Terre d'Hermes).

When I got home my wife was all over my wrist. "What is this?!?" Almost had to restrain her from licking it like candy.

Although she likes amber based perfumes on herself, it did not read to her initially as a woman's perfume.

When I discovered that it was marketed to women, I looked for the male equivalent, and purchased Ambre Narguile.

The Cinnamon Apple notes in Narguile were a little off putting especially in July. My mind kept wandering back to Des Merveilles.

Finally bought a bottle, and I can now report that the silage is solid, and the longevity is excellent. Still get a nice whiff 18 hours after application. Actually the staying power is superior to Narguile on me. This may be a fragrance that is more dependent than most on personal chemistry judging from the last reviewer's observations.

Highly recommended.

Pros: Approachable and Sensual
Cons: Slightly feminine

03rd July, 2013

H.M. by Hanae Mori

Bought this based on the reviews.
Luckily only bought the 1.7 oz size.
I get no lemon at all. It starts as a synthetic, generically sweetish smell.
Eventually dries down to a synthetic vanilla scent.
Nothing to like at all. The great country of France with its rich perfume history, should insist that this be made elsewhere.
On a happier note, in spite of the decidedly mixed reviews on Nicole Miller for Men, I bought a bottle recently. It's wonderful with decent longevity and a scent profile different from any other in my collection.
24th September, 2012

Nostalgia by Santa Maria Novella

After reading the reviews, sent for a sample of this for my brother. He is so much of a car nut that his license plate reads...you guessed it....CARNUT. He could not stand it but I loved it. It is an odd one to be sure. Starts with a blast of creosote. Does not jive a bit with the old-timey bottle and traditional sounding moniker. The scent starts to morph after about 15 minutes and goes from beast to beauty. Just following the changes is fascinating.
Winds up slightly sweet, very rich and captivating. The beginning would offend many. The ending will charm most.
27th March, 2011

Incense Extrême by Tauer

This is all about Frankincense. If you are not a big fan then stay away. My girlfriend described it as a Fragrance for someone who likes the way they smell and wants to be left alone. It's purifying and elevating but a little stark to be welcoming. Very natural and resinous. I like it but prefer the Amber note in Tauer's L'Air.
25th March, 2011

Eau d'Épices by Tauer

This smells extremely natural and at the same time fabulous.
It is not a powerhouse and tends to woo you softly. Excellent longevity and keeps getting better. If you are around people who are easily offended by fragrances, this may work. It can be appreciated by sophisticates and beginners alike. Deceptively simple, if the bottle I ordered yesterday was here, it would be on me now.
25th March, 2011

Sycomore (new) by Chanel

Was expecting to love this. I'm fond of Incense and of Vetiver. Can't get enough of Incense Extreme, Encre Noir, Vetiver Fill in the Blank (Route, Extraordinaire, Dance).
Sycomore certainly contains a nice Vetiver note, but it's civilized with enough muted musk and sophisticated smoke that it just misses the mark. Although it is marketed to Women as many have pointed out it has a decidedly masculine edge. In this regard it sits too much on the fence. It either needs to get a touch more floral and go female, or go for broke and tear its shirt off. Clearly expensive but too careful for me.
24th March, 2011

L'Air du Desert Marocain by Tauer

First let me say that I am a huge fan of M. Tauer. His Lonestar Memories and Vetiver Dance are stunning. They involve your interest as they evolve. L'air is one of the most linear fragrances I have ever smelled. I get mostly an oud note with a touch of Amber. Sillage is weak. It's not offensive or cheap smelling. Just does not go anywhere on me. If I wanted this scent I would buy decent quality resinous oils and save the money.
After living with this for a few days I have begun to appreciate it's truly delicious warm amber note. Seems more of a Winter frag but also could work as a night time scent any time. Very rich with a soft sense of mystery.
22nd March, 2011 (last edited: 25th March, 2011)

Timbuktu by L'Artisan Parfumeur

I've not compared the Profile to Terre d'Hermes, but it has some similarities. I think if you like one you will also like the other. It's an impressive, high quality scent but at little serious and not one I would wear often at all.
A day later......Thought I had given it a proper chance after 5 hours...but no! It kept developing to the point that I would trade my bottle of Terre D'Hermes for this one. Still is similar but every difference is an improvement.
22nd March, 2011 (last edited: 23rd March, 2011)

Vetiver Dance by Tauer

For what it's worth, this is the first time I've ever given a positive rating to a fragrance that has garnered predominantly Negs and Neutrals.
This opens up with an intriguing blend of clary sage, a little dry citrus, and vetiver. I was not sure I loved it, but I certainly liked it and kept smelling it over and over. After about 20 minutes, it became slightly floral and possibly deepened its "on the sweet side" of vetiver.
I happened to go for a walk in the woods with my dog shortly after spraying my sample on. The woods are not fully blown verdant yet but there are olfactory hints of nature preparing to burst forth with shoots, buds and blossoms. My dog weighs 10 lbs and is fluffy and beautiful and approachable, but is no lightweight. She will attack marauding raccoons when dogs 7 times her size hang back. Vetiver Dance somehow encompassed my walk perfectly. It's fresh, relaxing, welcoming...but intriguing and filled with captivating contradictions. And it lasted over 12 hours. The only reason I'm not buying a bottle right away is that I feel obligated to try the samples of Incense Extreme, Eau D'Epices, and L'Air Du Desert Morocain. Sounds weird given the raves I've read about these, but that's how spectacular this Dance is.
22nd March, 2011

Ted by Ted Lapidus

Must say I was influenced by very positive reviews here and the fact that Ted is the name of my fiancee's Dad.
This is the very essence of nothing special. Smells a lot like YSL Homme without the panache. Now that I say that i realize it's a bit of an insult to YSL. Although there are resemblances in the initial statement and the dry down, Ted cannot hold Yves jock strap.
18th March, 2011

Gendarme Green by Gendarme

This stuff smells like Prell shampoo and that's a good thing.
It's a comforting scent and almost universally liked.
I get no Basil notes at all. If you have a good imagination you can smell Cucumber and some mild spices (white pepper?, Cardamon?)
Got a handful of Gendarme samples and this is the only one I'm buying.
17th March, 2011