Perfume Reviews

Reviews by IPaidForThisName

Advertisement

Mojito by Demeter Fragrance Library

One of the best drinks ever made! This is a great refreshing, minty, and exotic Ďpick me upí fragrances. Like all demeters, this could be a little more well made, but for the price, itís great. My favorite drink rendition by Demeter.
29th September, 2005

Vanilia by L'Artisan Parfumeur

I agree that Vanilia is the most refined and complex vanilla. Itís really a treat to wear. While most vanilla is sweet and cloying, Vanilia is smoky, rich, and complex. Itís a great fragrance for winter.
29th September, 2005

L'Eau d'Ambre by L'Artisan Parfumeur

I donít know why this is even sold, when Ambre Extreme is such a superior fragrance. This is basically just a watered down, short lived version of most Amber fragrances on the market. It almost seems like the Amber doesnít even really take Center stage. Iíd recommend the Ambre Extreme over this.
29th September, 2005
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

L'Eau d'Ambre ExtrÍme / Ambre ExtrÍme by L'Artisan Parfumeur

This is a very interesting Ambre interpretation. There are floral notes in this fragrance that arenít present in most other Ambre fragrances. Ambre ExtrÍme is also plagued by what most people call a playdough note. I am must agree with them. There is an accord in this fragrance that smells eerily similar to playdough. This isnít a bad thing, though. I love this fragrance.
29th September, 2005

Orange Cream Pop / Orange Cremecicle by Demeter Fragrance Library

This is very true to its name. This is a very soft, smooth, and sweet orange cremecicle fragrance. It lasts a little south of an hour, but I donít think it was meant to worn like a traditional fragrance. Itís interesting and fun to sniff.
29th September, 2005

Subtil pour Homme by Salvatore Ferragamo

This stuff is subtle, alright. This is a Ďme tooí synthetic smelling aquatic fragrance. Itís very boring, and very insipid. There is nothing about this fragrance that warrants owning a full bottle.
29th September, 2005

Echo by Davidoff

This fragrance is exactly what it is supposed to be: Urban and light. This is an inoffensive fragrance that has absolutely no depth. It is synthetic to the extreme and smells like fruit and metal. Itís pleasant enough, and stands out a tiny bit from all the Ďme tooí aquatics, but itís far from special. The bottle is amazing, though.
29th September, 2005

Kenzoair by Kenzo

KenzoAir is great! This is such a unique fragrance. I smell mostly Vetiver and Anise, which makes for a very unusual fragrance. Itís light, but non in a traditional sense. I kind of think of KenzoAir as a chic version of Rive Gauche PH.
29th September, 2005

Ambra by Etro

I never thought I would call an Amber fragrance boring, or generic, but there isnít really anything that stands out about Ambra, especially over other amber fragrances. There are much more interesting amber fragrances out there (Ambre Sultan, Ambre Extreme), and Ambra doesnít even last that long on the skin. Not worth it, imho.
29th September, 2005

Desire Blue by Dunhill

This is yet another Ďme tooí aquatic. Did we really need this? With all the aquatic fragrances that have come out in the last couple of years, there is NOTHING unique or different about this fragrance. Itís awful. How can designers keep pumping these out?
29th September, 2005

Noir Epices by Editions de Parfums Frederic Malle

This is a great fragrance in the FM line. This is one of the most chic Orientals I have come across. It starts with notes of almost crystallized orange. As it dries down, I get exotic spicy notes with a metallic accord. This is a wonderfully made fragrance dominated by floral notes and rich exotic spices. Wonderful.
29th September, 2005

Vetiver by Etro

This is a great vetiver interpretation. Itís much more dry and earthy than most. Itís a bit linear, but with the vetiver taking the center stage like it does, thatís not terribly surprising. This is definitely one of the better vetivers out there. Itís long lasting, dry, and very earthy.
29th September, 2005

Van Cleef & Arpels pour Homme by Van Cleef & Arpels

VCA Pour Homme is an amazingly refined and upscale fragrance. Itís rich and heady. VCA Pour Homme is an earthy, leathery fragrance with hints of floral notes. This is a near perfect formal fragrance, or great for anytime you need that extra boost in confidence.
29th September, 2005
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Touch for Men by Burberry

This smells very synthetic to my nose. It starts out with a plasticy sweet top, and then dries down to a slightly sweet, somewhat generic base. Not a terribly interesting fragrance. I canít see a reason to own a bottle.
29th September, 2005

Tomato by Demeter Fragrance Library

I was a little disappointed smelling Tomato. I was expecting a rich lush tomato fragrance, but instead, I got a green tomato leaf based fragrance. Itís not quite as novel as it could be, simply because there are well crafted niche fragrances based on the tomato leaf that tower above this one in terms of quality.
29th September, 2005

Sťxual pour Homme by Michel Germain

Sexual is an awful, sleazy fragrance. It lacks depth, and taste. The market campaign really compounds this; they market it as an aphrodisiac that is made to mimic sexual elixirs used ages ago. What a joke!!!!
29th September, 2005

Minotaure by Paloma Picasso

Minotaure is a great floral/gourmand hybrid. Itís incredibly unique, and strikingly versatile. This is a great fragrance for romantic occasions. Itís not as long lasting as Iíd like, but the beautiful blend of soft floral notes and rich oriental notes more than makes up for it. This is a beautiful fragrance.
29th September, 2005

Lemon Sorbet by Etro

Itís no secret that I hate lemon. This was better than many lemon based fragrances I have come across (Read: DG Masculine), but it was still a little too harsh for my liking. Also, its lasting power is abysmal. Way south of an hour of life on the skin. Not worth it.
29th September, 2005

Laundromat by Demeter Fragrance Library

This is an interesting fragrance. It smells a lot like fabric softener, or laundry detergent. I must say that CdGís Dry Clean fragrance does the laundry theme MUCH better. This is a bit cheaper though. This is a fun pick me up, but there are better.
29th September, 2005

L'Eau D'Issey pour Homme by Issey Miyake

This is a bit of a departure from most Aquatic fragrances. I wouldnít call this really a Ďme tooí aquatic fragrance, but instead, Iíd venture to say this is a bit more original. This has a sour, soapy top that most other aquatics do not have, and then it dries down to a base that is a little bit woodier than most aquatics. Issey Miyake is a victim of its own success. Itís very easily recognizable, and a vast number of people own it. Iíve had a few bottles, but ended up swapping all of them.
29th September, 2005

Knize Ten by Knize

Knize Ten is a great leather fragrance. Itís a little more one dimensional than many of the leather greats (Tabac Blond, Cuir Mauresque, etc), but still great. Itís a dry and rich leather fragrance that would surely please any leather lover.
29th September, 2005

Joop! Homme by Joop!

Awful fragrance. I remember when I first joined basenotes, I noticed all the talk about Joop!. I finally had to ask ďWhat is Joop!?Ē Joop! Is a grossly cloying and sweet. When I smell Joop, I get that feeling in my stomach like I just ate hundreds of pounds of Cotton Candy. It just makes me physically ill.
29th September, 2005

Cerruti Image by Cerruti

Imagine is a pretty boring run of the mill citrus fragrance. Itís pretty sweet, so the edge is taking off the citrus, and itís pleasant, but still boring. I had a 50ML bottle that actually came in a plastic bottle (Wtf? Plastic?). I swapped it immediately.
29th September, 2005

Habit Rouge by Guerlain

Habit Rouge is a fascinating fragrance. It never sat well with me; it had this raunchy and rough feel that very much put me off. I swapped my bottle away, and gave up on Habit Rogue. That is, until I tried the EdP. Habit Rouge EdP is a totally different animal; itís rich, smoother, denser, and sweeter. It smells more akin to a better version of Habit Rouge with a dash of M7 thrown in. A must own.
29th September, 2005

Green Irish Tweed by Creed

I like GIT. GIT is a very well mannered complex and refined version of Cool Water. Joking aside, GIT does bear a slight resemblance to Cool Water. GIT is a great versatile fragrance that can be worn in any season. I think it leans toward casual use, but it can swing either way.
29th September, 2005

Gin & Tonic by Demeter Fragrance Library

I donít know whether I should review the fragrance or the drink. Personally, I loathe Tonic water; I would rather drink 87 octane off the ground of a gas station. The high alcohol content in this fragrance makes the lemony tonic water accord come off even harsher than it should. Not my cup of tea.
29th September, 2005

Dirt by Demeter Fragrance Library

This is very true to its name. This is a very soft, smooth, and sweet orange cremecicle fragrance. It lasts a little south of an hour, but I donít think it was meant to worn like a traditional fragrance. Itís interesting and fun to sniff.
29th September, 2005

Nu Eau de Parfum by Yves Saint Laurent

NU by YSL is very interesting. Itís an unusual incense dominant fragrance is very well made. It smells very blue, if that makes any sense. I find it a bit easier to wear than say, Black Cashmere. This is an interesting try before you buy fragrance.
29th September, 2005

Angel by Thierry Mugler

Angel is wonderful. Angel holds a place in the legends of perfume, right next to Chanel No. 5. Angel is a brilliant and innovative fragrance for women, that was such a huge departure; there are no floral notes in Angel. This is a sweet, rich gourmand fragrance for women. Itís delicate while being seductive and unique. Brilliant fragrance.
29th September, 2005

Prada (new) by Prada

I agree, Prada isnít the most innovative fragrance, but it is certainly better than all the Polo Blue, AdG, and Issey Miyake clones out there. I was surprised that in this market Prada, of all designers, would release a heady, slightly earthy amber fragrance. This is a beautiful and well made fragrance.
29th September, 2005