Reviews by IPaidForThisName

    Showing 1 to 30 of 252.
    rating


    Mojito by Demeter Fragrance Library

    One of the best drinks ever made! This is a great refreshing, minty, and exotic ‘pick me up’ fragrances. Like all demeters, this could be a little more well made, but for the price, it’s great. My favorite drink rendition by Demeter.

    29 September, 2005

    rating


    Vanilia by L'Artisan Parfumeur

    I agree that Vanilia is the most refined and complex vanilla. It’s really a treat to wear. While most vanilla is sweet and cloying, Vanilia is smoky, rich, and complex. It’s a great fragrance for winter.

    29 September, 2005

    rating


    L'Eau d'Ambre by L'Artisan Parfumeur

    I don’t know why this is even sold, when Ambre Extreme is such a superior fragrance. This is basically just a watered down, short lived version of most Amber fragrances on the market. It almost seems like the Amber doesn’t even really take Center stage. I’d recommend the Ambre Extreme over this.

    29 September, 2005

    rating


    L'Eau d'Ambre Extrême / Ambre Extrême by L'Artisan Parfumeur

    This is a very interesting Ambre interpretation. There are floral notes in this fragrance that aren’t present in most other Ambre fragrances. Ambre Extrême is also plagued by what most people call a playdough note. I am must agree with them. There is an accord in this fragrance that smells eerily similar to playdough. This isn’t a bad thing, though. I love this fragrance.

    29 September, 2005

    rating


    Orange Cream Pop / Orange Cremecicle by Demeter Fragrance Library

    This is very true to its name. This is a very soft, smooth, and sweet orange cremecicle fragrance. It lasts a little south of an hour, but I don’t think it was meant to worn like a traditional fragrance. It’s interesting and fun to sniff.

    29 September, 2005

    rating


    Subtil pour Homme by Salvatore Ferragamo

    This stuff is subtle, alright. This is a ‘me too’ synthetic smelling aquatic fragrance. It’s very boring, and very insipid. There is nothing about this fragrance that warrants owning a full bottle.

    29 September, 2005

    rating


    Echo by Davidoff

    This fragrance is exactly what it is supposed to be: Urban and light. This is an inoffensive fragrance that has absolutely no depth. It is synthetic to the extreme and smells like fruit and metal. It’s pleasant enough, and stands out a tiny bit from all the ‘me too’ aquatics, but it’s far from special. The bottle is amazing, though.

    29 September, 2005

    rating


    Kenzoair by Kenzo

    KenzoAir is great! This is such a unique fragrance. I smell mostly Vetiver and Anise, which makes for a very unusual fragrance. It’s light, but non in a traditional sense. I kind of think of KenzoAir as a chic version of Rive Gauche PH.

    29 September, 2005

    rating


    Ambra by Etro

    I never thought I would call an Amber fragrance boring, or generic, but there isn’t really anything that stands out about Ambra, especially over other amber fragrances. There are much more interesting amber fragrances out there (Ambre Sultan, Ambre Extreme), and Ambra doesn’t even last that long on the skin. Not worth it, imho.

    29 September, 2005

    rating


    Desire Blue by Dunhill

    This is yet another ‘me too’ aquatic. Did we really need this? With all the aquatic fragrances that have come out in the last couple of years, there is NOTHING unique or different about this fragrance. It’s awful. How can designers keep pumping these out?

    29 September, 2005

    rating


    Noir Epices by Editions de Parfums Frederic Malle

    This is a great fragrance in the FM line. This is one of the most chic Orientals I have come across. It starts with notes of almost crystallized orange. As it dries down, I get exotic spicy notes with a metallic accord. This is a wonderfully made fragrance dominated by floral notes and rich exotic spices. Wonderful.

    29 September, 2005

    rating


    Vetiver by Etro

    This is a great vetiver interpretation. It’s much more dry and earthy than most. It’s a bit linear, but with the vetiver taking the center stage like it does, that’s not terribly surprising. This is definitely one of the better vetivers out there. It’s long lasting, dry, and very earthy.

    29 September, 2005

    rating


    Van Cleef & Arpels pour Homme by Van Cleef & Arpels

    VCA Pour Homme is an amazingly refined and upscale fragrance. It’s rich and heady. VCA Pour Homme is an earthy, leathery fragrance with hints of floral notes. This is a near perfect formal fragrance, or great for anytime you need that extra boost in confidence.

    29 September, 2005

    rating


    Touch for Men by Burberry

    This smells very synthetic to my nose. It starts out with a plasticy sweet top, and then dries down to a slightly sweet, somewhat generic base. Not a terribly interesting fragrance. I can’t see a reason to own a bottle.

    29 September, 2005

    rating


    Tomato by Demeter Fragrance Library

    I was a little disappointed smelling Tomato. I was expecting a rich lush tomato fragrance, but instead, I got a green tomato leaf based fragrance. It’s not quite as novel as it could be, simply because there are well crafted niche fragrances based on the tomato leaf that tower above this one in terms of quality.

    29 September, 2005

    rating


    Séxual pour Homme by Michel Germain

    Sexual is an awful, sleazy fragrance. It lacks depth, and taste. The market campaign really compounds this; they market it as an aphrodisiac that is made to mimic sexual elixirs used ages ago. What a joke!!!!

    29 September, 2005

    rating


    Minotaure by Paloma Picasso

    Minotaure is a great floral/gourmand hybrid. It’s incredibly unique, and strikingly versatile. This is a great fragrance for romantic occasions. It’s not as long lasting as I’d like, but the beautiful blend of soft floral notes and rich oriental notes more than makes up for it. This is a beautiful fragrance.

    29 September, 2005

    rating


    Lemon Sorbet by Etro

    It’s no secret that I hate lemon. This was better than many lemon based fragrances I have come across (Read: DG Masculine), but it was still a little too harsh for my liking. Also, its lasting power is abysmal. Way south of an hour of life on the skin. Not worth it.

    29 September, 2005

    rating


    Laundromat by Demeter Fragrance Library

    This is an interesting fragrance. It smells a lot like fabric softener, or laundry detergent. I must say that CdG’s Dry Clean fragrance does the laundry theme MUCH better. This is a bit cheaper though. This is a fun pick me up, but there are better.

    29 September, 2005

    rating


    L'Eau D'Issey pour Homme by Issey Miyake

    This is a bit of a departure from most Aquatic fragrances. I wouldn’t call this really a ‘me too’ aquatic fragrance, but instead, I’d venture to say this is a bit more original. This has a sour, soapy top that most other aquatics do not have, and then it dries down to a base that is a little bit woodier than most aquatics. Issey Miyake is a victim of its own success. It’s very easily recognizable, and a vast number of people own it. I’ve had a few bottles, but ended up swapping all of them.

    29 September, 2005

    rating


    Knize Ten by Knize

    Knize Ten is a great leather fragrance. It’s a little more one dimensional than many of the leather greats (Tabac Blond, Cuir Mauresque, etc), but still great. It’s a dry and rich leather fragrance that would surely please any leather lover.

    29 September, 2005

    rating


    Joop! Homme by Joop!

    Awful fragrance. I remember when I first joined basenotes, I noticed all the talk about Joop!. I finally had to ask “What is Joop!?” Joop! Is a grossly cloying and sweet. When I smell Joop, I get that feeling in my stomach like I just ate hundreds of pounds of Cotton Candy. It just makes me physically ill.

    29 September, 2005

    rating


    Cerruti Image by Cerruti

    Imagine is a pretty boring run of the mill citrus fragrance. It’s pretty sweet, so the edge is taking off the citrus, and it’s pleasant, but still boring. I had a 50ML bottle that actually came in a plastic bottle (Wtf? Plastic?). I swapped it immediately.

    29 September, 2005

    rating


    Habit Rouge by Guerlain

    Habit Rouge is a fascinating fragrance. It never sat well with me; it had this raunchy and rough feel that very much put me off. I swapped my bottle away, and gave up on Habit Rogue. That is, until I tried the EdP. Habit Rouge EdP is a totally different animal; it’s rich, smoother, denser, and sweeter. It smells more akin to a better version of Habit Rouge with a dash of M7 thrown in. A must own.

    29 September, 2005

    rating


    Green Irish Tweed by Creed

    I like GIT. GIT is a very well mannered complex and refined version of Cool Water. Joking aside, GIT does bear a slight resemblance to Cool Water. GIT is a great versatile fragrance that can be worn in any season. I think it leans toward casual use, but it can swing either way.

    29 September, 2005

    rating


    Gin & Tonic by Demeter Fragrance Library

    I don’t know whether I should review the fragrance or the drink. Personally, I loathe Tonic water; I would rather drink 87 octane off the ground of a gas station. The high alcohol content in this fragrance makes the lemony tonic water accord come off even harsher than it should. Not my cup of tea.

    29 September, 2005

    rating


    Nu Eau de Parfum by Yves Saint Laurent

    NU by YSL is very interesting. It’s an unusual incense dominant fragrance is very well made. It smells very blue, if that makes any sense. I find it a bit easier to wear than say, Black Cashmere. This is an interesting try before you buy fragrance.

    29 September, 2005

    rating


    Angel by Thierry Mugler

    Angel is wonderful. Angel holds a place in the legends of perfume, right next to Chanel No. 5. Angel is a brilliant and innovative fragrance for women, that was such a huge departure; there are no floral notes in Angel. This is a sweet, rich gourmand fragrance for women. It’s delicate while being seductive and unique. Brilliant fragrance.

    29 September, 2005

    rating


    Prada (new) by Prada

    I agree, Prada isn’t the most innovative fragrance, but it is certainly better than all the Polo Blue, AdG, and Issey Miyake clones out there. I was surprised that in this market Prada, of all designers, would release a heady, slightly earthy amber fragrance. This is a beautiful and well made fragrance.

    29 September, 2005

    rating


    Mitsouko by Guerlain

    Mitsouko is a wonderfully rich and classical Guerlain. The peach note balances it out perfectly, and makes this a bit more wearable than many other classic Guerlain fragrances. I’d recommend every man and woman try this. It’s surprisingly unisex.

    29 September, 2005

    Showing 1 to 30 of 252.