Reviews by mis.anderson

    mis.anderson's avatar
    mis.anderson
    United States United States

    Showing 1 to 30 of 36.
    rating


    Mitsouko by Guerlain

    Yes it is a mature fragrance, and yes it is a strong scent by today's standards. I imagine it worn by an older woman who, despite her age, still possesses striking classic beauty as well as timeless glamour.

    Needless to say, I have never known any lady like this, but I'm sure that this would be sitting on their vanity table!

    14 September, 2009

    rating


    Marc Jacobs by Marc Jacobs

    This is such a feminine, classy and sophisticated scent. It's gardenia, obviously, but I find it to be one of the most pretty scents ever. Goes with goes with virtually anything anytime.

    23 October, 2008

    rating


    Warm Vanilla Sugar by Bath and Body Works

    It is awful. No, it DOESN'T smell like vanilla extract. It is a cloying, nauseating "vanilla" scent of vanilla like the red Tootsie Pop tastes like "cherry". You know how little kids like eating straight sugar, because in their book, anything sweet is good tasting? Well, it's because they haven't developed their taste buds, and anyone who wears this fragrance who is over 12 has absolutely no excuse other than poor taste and a lack of sophistication.

    13 October, 2008

    rating


    Pear Glacé by Victoria's Secret

    Got this in a gift set. PG is very sweet with sort of an icy tone, but also very cloying.

    13 October, 2008

    rating


    Love Spell by Victoria's Secret

    I received this in a gift set along with other VS garden collection body sprays, and Love Spell is apparently very popular, but to me smells like licorice, and I'm not fond of licorice at all.

    13 October, 2008

    rating


    Amber Romance by Victoria's Secret

    I got Amber Romance along with a set of other sprays in a VS gift set, and AR is sooooo strong and heavy, just in the body spray form, I shudder to imagine what the perfume is like. Instant migraine in a plastic bottle.

    13 October, 2008

    rating


    Basic Instinct by Victoria's Secret

    Basic Instinct reminds me of D&G's "Light Blue" and I like how it is clean and sexy, obviously, but sort of masculine, at the same time. Smells kind of peppery and spicy, too, which I like.

    13 October, 2008

    rating


    Dream Angels Heavenly by Victoria's Secret

    Not sure why this is so popular. Kinda boring and very uninteresting to me. Am I missing something profound???

    13 October, 2008

    rating


    Rapture by Victoria's Secret

    Kinda an old lady perfume, very strong oriental. I used to have the shower cream gel and in that form it is very pretty and luxurious. But in the spray form, very overwhelming and easily headache-inducing.

    13 October, 2008

    rating


    Moonlight Path by Bath and Body Works

    This is probably the only Bath and Body Works "fragrance" I am not literally offended by. I own the Moonlight Path body wash and it's very calming and is my nighttime bath/shower scent, so I associate Moonlight Path with being nice, sleepy and clean. I've also used the Moonlight Path bar soap, which I'm not sure if they still have it, but I need to check and get another bar...

    12 October, 2008

    rating


    Cucumber Melon by Bath and Body Works

    It's alright,it's pretty: pretty boring, pretty average, pretty overused. I think everyone at one point or another has recieved some Cucumber Melon product(s) at least once in their life as a gift.

    12 October, 2008

    rating


    Wink by Avon

    Stupid fruity fragrance for teenagers. Only teenagers. Nobody else, please...

    12 October, 2008

    rating


    Rare Pearls by Avon

    Rare Pearls is very pretty, very opulent floral. Very sparkling, shimmering and soft. A very nice fragrance.

    12 October, 2008

    rating


    Eau des Merveilles by Hermès

    GORGEOUS!!!!! Very masculine, but I like wearing masculines sometimes because I think it is unexpected and sexy. I also really like vetiver, which is big in EdM. Right now, this is my second signature scent, my first being Pure Poison by Dior.

    12 October, 2008

    rating


    Pink Suede by Avon

    Stupid, boring and cheap perfume perfect for the stupid, boring and cheap woman. There is absolutely no interest, no intellect, nothing remotely novel to mention.

    12 October, 2008

    rating


    Peony Soft Musk by Avon

    Offensive to my nose. PSM (or PMS, lol) gets in your nose and literally makes the biggest, most irritating stink that you cannot get rid of. It feels like it might as well be an allergen, because that's how it affects my nasal passages. Nothing 'soft' about PSM.

    12 October, 2008

    rating


    Un Jardin en Méditerranée by Hermès

    Beautiful! Rustic and earthy. smells like camping to me. On the masculine side, which I find to be sexy and unexpected.

    12 October, 2008

    rating


    Beyond Paradise by Estée Lauder

    I know this is redundant, me saying that Beyond Paradise is beautiful, but it is, it's like an orchestra for the gods. There is so much depth to this fragrance, so many levels, I don't think I even have the abilities to begin to delve deeper and elaborate properly! It's very intelligent for a feminine fragrance, which isn't too common for feminine scents.

    12 October, 2008

    rating


    Dreamlife by Avon

    Weird fragrance, not really in a good way, either. It's cheap, and big suprise, it smells cheap. To me, it's like the perfume one chooses in life, right before they get to the "old lady perfume". Dreamlife is the warning sign that a lady's fragrances will just keep getting dowdier and stronger.

    12 October, 2008

    rating


    Little Black Dress by Avon

    LBD is nice, classic and appropriate like it's namesake. A 'polite' floral, albiet a little uninteresting, but not bad at all.

    12 October, 2008

    rating


    Haiku by Avon

    Haiku reminds me of Dream Angels "Divine" by Victoria's Secret. It is classic, yet distinctive, very interesting. The only bad thing about it is it has a strange drydown that may smell slightly like body odor to some.

    12 October, 2008

    rating


    Rare Emeralds by Avon

    My mom has a bottle of Rare Emeralds and to me it smells a lot powdery and softer than I think anything containing emeralds in the title should be. Should be called Rare Jade instead, because emeralds just seem more exotic and mysterious, darker and lusher.

    12 October, 2008

    rating


    Odyssey by Avon

    My mom used to wear this a lot. It's okay at first, but like Haiku, has a weird drydown that smells like body odor to some.

    12 October, 2008

    rating


    Malachite by Banana Republic

    Dark, dangerous, mysterious and sexy. Substance and spice, in perfect proportions. Also might be a good masculine-feminine, interesting also maybe as a masculine.

    10th October, 2008

    rating


    Dream Angels Divine by Victoria's Secret

    Very different from the other Dream Angels scents, a lot more elegant, sophisticated and intelligent, loads more thoughtful. Really is the unsung hero of Victoria's Secret fragrances. Completely overshadowed (unfairly) by Heavenly, which, personally, I don't see what the big fuss is about over that one.

    10th October, 2008

    rating


    Ralph by Ralph Lauren

    This was THE fragrance in high school, and it's no wonder why. Ralph is young, pretty, well-rounded and pure fun. It's what all the well-scrubbed preppy girls I knew smelled like. On me, it never smelled quite the same, it always had too much apple peel and the other notes seemed to disappear. Too bad, because it is spectacular on other people.

    10th October, 2008

    rating


    Happy by Clinique

    This is the most boring fragrance I know (so far). Stupid name, stupid bottle and stupid font. When I was in sixth grade, this was THE popular fragrance for all us little girls, and of course, not having developed my own tastes, or apparently any taste at all, I had to have Clinique Happy, or as the bottle calls it "cliniquehappy." I guess it's always a warning sign when the fragrance's own makers don't even bother themselves over capitalization, punctuation and spacing.

    Anyway, about the smell: it has a weird way of forcefully ramming its most screechy and vile notes up inside my nasal cavities.

    10th October, 2008

    rating


    Dior Addict by Christian Dior

    This is hangover in a bottle. I despise heavy vanilla, and Dior Addict bludgeons to death with their weapon of choice, STRONG VANILLA!!!!! Anytime I'm remotely nearby this dismal fragrance, I succumb to the most painful, debilitating headache. It seems like something specifically created for old ladies who have worn perfume their whole lives, but due to the fact that their sense of smell isn't what it used to be, they cannot smell when they have gotten to the point of TOO MUCH PERFUME!!!!! So they just keep putting more and more on until their wrinkly little noses catch a slight whiff of something, and they think "Perfect, a subtle fragrance!" and the rest of us are forced to clear the area they occupy.

    10th October, 2008

    rating


    Curious by Britney Spears

    Pretty smelling, in a "My Little Pony" bottle, which is adorable in light aqua blue and pink heart accents on the neck. Wish the perfume lasted longer, though.

    09 October, 2008

    rating


    Lulu Guinness by Lulu Guinness

    Pretty, albiet screechy strong floral. Smells a bit at first like a florist's shop times one hundred, then sort of disappears. Adorable bottle.

    09 October, 2008

    Showing 1 to 30 of 36.