Perfume Reviews

Reviews by Jon_Remy

Advertisement
Total Reviews: 176

Open by Roger & Gallet

From the description, this smells like the ORIGINAL Burberry cologne which came in a similar bottle (with the sprayer off to the side). Can anyone compare this to the original Burberry (very herbal green juice). If it is similar, I would be interested. I love this bottle. Thanks!
09th October, 2017

273 Rodeo Drive by Fred Hayman

I absolutely LOVE 273 Rodeo Drive by Fred Hayman. A beautiful floral that is quite strong and long-lasting. It is worth every dollar at this price. I wear 24 Faubourg by Hermes every once in awhile, and I get a ton of compliments when I wear that; however, 273 Rodeo Drive gets just as many compliments and it seems to last forever on my skin and clothing. I hope they never discontinue 273 Rodeo Drive, as I hope to wear it for the rest of my life! I LOVE IT!!!
18th September, 2017

Fendi (original) / Fendi Donna by Fendi

What TOTAL IDIOTS to discontinue their fabulous and legendary Fendi for women. I couldn't because it wasn't selling because many women I know wore it and it was still very popular. The Fendi Uomo was also a classic that should have NEVER been discontinues. How can a company discontinue their original namesake fragrances!? It's appalling in my opinion. However, if you miss Fendi and want something similar, I found that if you mix The Perfumer's Workshop's Tea Rose with Clinique's Aromatics Elixir that you get something very similar to the original Fendi for women. Try it! Perhaps Fendi will re-release both Fendi and Fendi Uomo in their ORIGINAL concentrations sometime in the future (hopefully within the next couple of years). Demand that Fendi bring back Fendi EdP for women and Fendi Uomo!!!
16th August, 2017
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Touch for Men by Fred Hayman

OLD REVIEW (see update below): Too bad this one is being discontinued. It's a great scent for formal occasions and I consider it a "classy" fragrance. Smells like a stronger version of Brut by Faberge! Better stock up!

UPDATE: After purchasing this at Marshall's and taking it home and spraying it, TOTAL DISAPPOINTMENT. This is NOT the FH Touch that I knew a few years back. There has been a definite reformulation which I do not like. I was expecting the quasi-Brut fragrance, but got a reformulation with vanilla and nutmeg notes. No thank you! No wonder it's being discontinued. Men (or their wives) aren't going to buy a reformulation that smells nothing like the original. I do like Brut, but I liked Touch for Men better because it seemed to last longer than Brut and had a slightly "greener" note. Touch no longer smells like the Touch I remember when I first purchased it. I really don't care if the "reformulation" is discontinued, as I'll just go back to wearing Brut! So sad when they start to screw around with reformulating fragrances without any prior warning from the company as to what they're planning to do. I definitely do NOT like the reformulation and now Touch smells like any other fragrance on the market! :(
08th August, 2017 (last edited: 24th August, 2017)

Deauville pour Homme by Michel Germain

I like it and it is somewhat unique. Although I haven't smelled Tiffany for Men in a long time, I think this might be what I remember it smelling like. Does anyone else agree (or disagree). I like it for both formal and casual occasions. Hope they keep making this for a while.
08th August, 2017

Man.Aubusson by Aubusson

I like it. Yes, it does resemble Cool Water, but since I ran out of Cool Water, I'll wear this instead and see how it compares with regard to longevity and sillage. So far so good. I'm liking it and keep sniffing it on my wrist, just as I did when I first purchased Declaration by Cartier. I think I'll wear this one during the cooler months of the year.
08th August, 2017

Pi by Givenchy

I first smelled Pi in a magazine add which had the fragrance strip you peel open and rub your wrist on. I WAS BLOWN AWAY! This had to be THE best men's fragrance I had ever smelled. I just purchase two of the 5.0 ounce "oversize" bottles that Givenchy has released. The compliments never seem to cease when I wear Pi by Givenchy. It can be formal, yet it can also be your casual everyday go-to fragrance. I agree that this is best worn in the autumn and winter months, just as I wear Obsession for Men during that time of year. I also love to wear Aramis' Devin during the fall and early winter. I love that Devin is described as a "country" cologne and it has the lovely little French horn logo on the bottle! Sounds like something a wealthy gentleman would wear to dinner after a fox hunt in New England!
04th August, 2017

Truth Calvin Klein by Calvin Klein

I love both men's and women's Truth by Calvin Klein as they seem similar to me, the men's with a stronger freshly mowed grass scent. If I'm not mistaken, doesn't the women's Truth smell similar to Odeur 53 by Comme de Garcons? I am unsure, but from what I remember about the two, I think they may smell similar. I love wearing Truth in the winter months when one's body heat makes the fragrance more noticeable. I hope Calvin Klein doesn't discontinue these gems. They are definitely unique and I can't name any other fragrances out there that smell similar (except for the Odeur 53, of course). Stock up in case they do decide to discontinue these!
02nd August, 2017

Odeur 53 by Comme des Garçons

I absolutely LOVE this. Reminds me of a mechanic working on his truck out in the country on a moonless dark night at 2:30 a.m., with all the smells of electronics and auto parts surrounding him, listening to the a.m. radio. I suppose there could be an alien spaceship lurking nearby. Yes, electronics, electrical tape, burning metal, etc. A very unique fragrance and weird fragrance--exactly WHY I LOVE IT!!!
26th July, 2017

Truth Calvin Klein Men by Calvin Klein

I love Truth by Calvin Klein. Yes, very grassy and herbal upon first spraying. The dry down reminds me somewhat of a vinyl swimming pool liner or that sea foam scent that many shave creams come in. I love it and I hope they do not discontinue it as it is in my Top Ten favorites fragrances! Very unique. Does anyone think this smells like Comme de Garcons' Odeur 53? I love them both! Unfortunately, I can't find Odeur 53 anymore. :(
26th July, 2017

Ivanka Trump by Ivanka Trump

OMG, this is absolutely gorgeous! The softness of the peach and patchouli give this a glamorous feel. I am stopped almost every time I wear this and asked what I am wearing. It is a very beautiful and unique fragrance that would make the perfect signature fragrance. I am glad I tried this, as it is now in my top five go-to fragrances. Absolutely exquisite! I love it!
20th February, 2017

Touch With Love for Men by Fred Hayman

This is the PERFECT fragrance to wear with a new white shirt! It smells clean and masculine!
15th January, 2017

L'Envol by Cartier

I sampled this at Nordstrom and was pleasantly surprised. I have been looking for a replacement for Patou Pour Homme, and it looks like I FOUND IT!!! This smells very similar to Patou Pour Homme. Is also smells very similar to Versace's The Dreamer. The bottle is beautiful also. This is definitely a formal fragrance, suitable for a black tie event or for a CEO/VP/EVP of a Fortune 500 company. I absolutely LOVE IT!!!
27th November, 2016
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Eau des Merveilles by Hermès

Eau des Merveilles is SO UNIQUE!!! I seem to ALWAYS get compliments when I wear this! I do detect the orange, but not that sweet of an orange, more like clementine. I first purchased this in the summer and wore it to a 4th of July picnic, where it received many compliments. I will be wearing it this winter, which will most likely make a beautiful fragrance to wear during the holidays! I ABSOLUTELY LOVE Eau des Merveilles by Hermes!!!
08th November, 2016

Casual Fine Fragrance by Paul Sebastian

Casual is one of the most pleasant and compliment-drawing fragrances I have ever worn. It is more than just and eau de toilette--it is a FINE PARFUM SPRAY, and the lasting power proves so and then some. It is so beautiful and has a strong note of beautiful hyacinth! To me, this is stronger than and eau de parfum, but more like a pure perfume. It lasts all day! If you want to be noticed and complimented, wear this. I can't praise it enough! It is beautiful! Smells very similar to Jessica McClintock, but this lasts longer and has the stronger hyacinth note. I absolutely LOVE IT!!! It also comes in a large 4 oz. bottle. I purchased 12 bottles just in case! It's too bad the men's version has been discontinued (which smelled identical to Chevignon's "Best of Chevignon").
08th November, 2016

The Fragrance From Bill Blass by Bill Blass

A beautiful soft floral that is perfect for springtime. An eau de parfum that smells like a walk through a flower garden. Not as herbal as the original, and without the cedar note of Anais Anais.
08th November, 2016

Viking by Royal Copenhagen

I LOVE VIKING!!! I'm glad I stocked up on it (15 bottles) when it was on sale at Perfumania. It is fresh and clean--and BEAUTIFUL! I love it so much, and it is LONG-LASTING! I was also lucky to find the accompanying Viking shower gel (of which I bought multiple)! I think it smells the most like Fred Hayman's Hollywood for Men. I purchased Viking on the same day I purchased Nino Cerruti's 1881, another winner! If you can find this still at an affordable price, snatch it up!
08th November, 2016

New West for Him by Aramis

Is it just me, or does this smell like Sud Est by Romeo Gigli? It is a very good scent and smells like it came right out of the late 1970s or mid 1980s. It is unique, as Sud Est is unique. I love it and glad it is still being made by Aramis in the U.K. (fragrances made in the U.K. seem to have a great lasting quality, e.g. Estee Super Cologne Spray [now made in USA, but U.K. version seemed to last longer]). New West is definitely a go-to fragrance if you want to be told you smell great!
24th October, 2016

Silver Scent Intense by Jacques Bogart

I love Silver Scent Intense by Jacques Bogart! It reminds me of shopping at a spice market! I smell oud and violet. It is similar to Jacques Bogart's One Man Show Gold Edition, but a little lighter on the violet note. I love it because it smells like nothing else out there (except One Man Show Gold Edition). I love wearing all Bogart fragrances in cooler weather. I do, however, enjoy wearing the original One Man Show and Witness during spring/summer. I think ALL Jacques Bogart fragrances are very well made and very long-lasting. I haven't purchased one yet where I don't get at least 8 hours', if not more, out of it. I do, as a matter of fact, get many compliments on Silver Scent Intense, and last year at a Halloween party when I wore One Man Show Gold Edition, the compliments wouldn't stop! It must've been the prominent violet and incense notes. Some people compared it to Paco Rabanne's One Million, but I think One Man Show Gold Edition's staying power is much better! I love them all!
11th July, 2016

Perry Ellis Red by Perry Ellis

This looks enticing. From the pyramid above, this sounds like it could smell similar to Habit Rouge by Guerlain. Has anyone tried it yet? I've kgot several "red" fragrances, but was looking for one that was a little more unique, say more so than Jacomo Rouge, Xeryus Rouge, Royal Rouge by Marina de Bourbon, etc.
05th June, 2016

Patou pour Homme (original) by Jean Patou

After Patou pour Homme was discontinued, I had to find a replacement. After months of searching, I found one that matched PPH nearly identically. What was that fragrance you ask? It was.......THE DREAMER by Versace!!! It is an absolutely wonderful replacement for Patou pour Homme, which I loved dearly and which I was sad to see be discontinued. THE DREAMER, to me anyway, smells almost identical to PPH. I am VERY happy I found a worthy replacement. Now, let's hope that Versace doesn't discontinue THE DREAMER!!!
03rd November, 2015

Paloma Picasso / Mon Parfum by Paloma Picasso

OMG, this has GOT to be in my Top 10 of all women's fragrances! I wear it mostly in the colder winter months when it can really radiate with your body heat. This bottle sits alongside YSATIS by Yves Saint Laurent, another fragrance I reserve for winter because of its warm ambery tone. It used to sit alongside my Fendi EDP, until I used that up and Fendi decided to make the STUPID move of discontinuing their classic namesake fragrance. Balenciaga also did that with their namesake men's EDT (Balenciaga), which was a classic in my opinion. I just don't understand how companies can discontinue their namesake original fragrances. I was disappointed when Gucci discontinued Gucci Pour Homme (with the Italian ribbon design). NONE of their subsequent fragrances even came close to their namesake fragrances. When will the madness end? Leave well enough alone. Nonetheless, I hope Paloma Picasso is never discontinued because it is one of the last of the "classic" fragrances still available. A+!!!
01st September, 2015

Norell by Norell

What can I say? This is just one of the classic fragrances from the 1960's. This bottle sits alongside Bandit by Robert Piguet. I love them both and wear them interchangeably. If you want to smell like an elegant and affluent film star, wear NORELL! It is absolutely beautiful and timeless! A+!!!
01st September, 2015

One Man Show Gold Edition by Jacques Bogart

What a WONDERFUL and DIFFERENT fragrance. It wears like an eau de parfum because it lasts and lasts. Wore this to a Halloween block party in downtown Dallas, Texas, and I tell you, the compliments didn't stop coming! What is that SUPERB and EXQUISITE fragrance they asked. The violet notes go very well with Halloween. I've heard this one described as smelling identical to One Million by Paco Rabanne. I paid $16 for Jacques Bogart's One Man Show Gold Edition. The One Million by Paco Rabanne was selling for $70. Actually, the OMSGE lasts LONGER than One Million, and I love the more prominent violet note in OMSGE. If you want compliments and want to be noticed, wear this wonderful scent. I like wearing it especially in the winter months. You won't be disappointed and for the price of one bottle of One Million by Paco Rabanne, you can buy five bottles of One Man Show Gold Edition! This versatile fragrance can be worn for formal occasions, or casually as your everyday fragrance. For the price, you definitely can afford to wear it every day and smell GREAT every day! A+!!! I LOVE this stuff!
01st September, 2015

Seringa by Floris

What an absolutely BEAUTIFUL fragrance for springtime. I still love Paris by YSL for spring, but Floris is equally suitable for that wonderful time of year. I love the delicate scent of the Seringa blossoms, but although the fragrance is delicate with a slight hint lychee, it is strong enough to last all day. I constantly receive comments and compliments whenever I wear this. It is VERY original, smells like no other fragrance out there, and is definitely one of my floral favorites! A+!
01st September, 2015

Kouros by Yves Saint Laurent

Kouros is SO original and it lasts so much longer than the newer fragrances. I also love Kouros Cologne Sport, which, to me, smells like Essenza by Zegna. It is a lovely and masculine fragrance and reminds me of when I lived in Santa Fe, New Mexico (where there was a large Kouros billboard right next to the mall)! A+! Kouros and Kouros Cologne Sport will both be in the Top 10 fragrances of all time! I enjoy wearing this especially in the colder months of winter. It's a warm and comforting fragrance.
01st September, 2015

Polo Supreme Oud by Ralph Lauren

I like it. I also used to like Gucci I before it was discontinued. If you like Supreme Oud, you will also like Agarwood by Kanon or Norwegian Wood by Kanon. They are all woody and delightful. I love wood!
07th August, 2015

Jacomo de Jacomo Deep Blue by Jacomo

I love each and every fragrance by Jacomo. Deep Blue is a very nice fragrance with woodsy undertones. It's not as aquatic as the bottle looks (which I love, by the way, with the flip-top spring-loaded cap). It is quite unique and is perfect for any season. I especially like the staying power--I still can smell this beautiful fragrance on my skin at the end of the day. Worth every penny as it is long-lasting. The combination of all the notes mentioned above is magic and makes for one unique fragrance unlike any other. Love it!!!
28th March, 2015

Insensé by Givenchy

If this is still in production, I'd like to know where to purchase it. I haven't been able to find this ANYWHERE. I absolutely LOVE Insense (the original and not the Ultramarine version). If anyone knows where to purchase this, please let me know WHERE. Thanks!

I love the herbal quality about this fragrance. It is very long-lasting and is perfect for winter OR summer. I was also saddened to find out that Metropolis by Estee Lauder (same bottle as Estee for Men, but in a green bottle) was discontinued!

Are you sure this was released in 1993? I remember purchasing it at a Dillards in 1987.
28th May, 2014 (last edited: 08th September, 2016)

Ysatis by Givenchy

Probably the BEST women's fragrance EVER created, with Poison by Christian Dior coming in a close 2nd place! Oh, I also LOVE Lacoste Pour Femme (similar to Bulgari Blv, but lasts MUCH longer).
28th May, 2014