Reviews by Pollux

    Pollux's avatar
    Pollux
    Argentina Argentina

    Showing 61 to 90 of 98.
    rating


    Kiehl's Original Musk by Kiehl's

    Kiehl's Musk is a more complex, finer, longer lasting version of Jovan's Musk. Even though both are nice scents, I find them too floral, and beacuse of it, femenine.

    As many reviewers mentioned, Kiehl's "musky" character is eclipsed due to the mid notes, in which the presence of the floral notes mentioned in the pyramid is notorious.

    Longevity and sillage are remarkable, so beware of overapplication.

    25 October, 2009

    rating


    L'Instant de Guerlain pour Homme by Guerlain

    Sampled L'Instant EdT thanks to Aromi and bought it after two full wears.

    This is contemporary in style, subtle in a way both minimalism and political correctness demand, but done in such a way it does not feel boring - a good reason for the numerous mentions on the fact it is a safe scent. On the other hand, there are gourmand notes but these are not present in a uncomfortable way so common in many other present-day fragrances. The point would be that Guerlain’s L’Instant EdT is contemporary, but it shares the noble character found in classics.

    In BN's forums many aficionados criticize L'Instant EdT's lack of silage and longevity, thus making the Extreme version the preferred one; I have to admit that I was inclined to think that this was the case, but once, after wearing it over the night, I could get whiffs of it when getting out of bed. My conclusion was that one might not sense it in its completeness while wearing it, but others might do as well.

    25 October, 2009 (Last Edited: 08 November, 2009)

    rating


    Ô de Lancôme by Lancôme

    A green chypre: top femenine hesperidic notes leading to masculine mossy base notes. Ô's top notes do not feel as femenine as the ones found in many EdT's targeted to women, so men can wear this with confidence in the case they would be afraid of smelling girly. As a matter of fact, I find resemblances with Trophee's base notes (which, BTW, I find very similar to Homme de Grès): I'd rather wear Trophee, but being so difficult to find and so expensive, Ô makes a good alternative.

    24 October, 2009

    rating


    Trophée Lancôme by Lancôme

    Let's say that this one is on the vein of Lancôme's Ô (1969): of course, Trophèe's top notes are more masculine in character, but both have extremely similar drydowns. The structure, as mentioned by most, is that of a green chypre, this meaning the presence of crisp hesperidic accords morphing into indolic / musky notes. It is precisely these basenotes the attribute that lets Ô be considered a unisex scent - when smelt in a strip of paper, people asked wonder about its character. In general, they perceive it as femenine-like due to a sweetnes present in the top notes, an attribute that is absent in Trophèe's top notes.

    I must mention that the olfactive structure of Trophèe is also quite similar to that of Homme de Gres.



    18 October, 2009

    rating


    One Man Show by Jacques Bogart

    A very loud, screaming, hiperbolic, far from subdued, ungentlemanly, unpolitically correct aromatic fougere. Do I like this? I have to admit, it is very original. And, as a matter of fact, when wearing it I have the feeling that if it were sold under a global fashion designer brand name with stores in high-end neighbourhoods of global cities, many BNoters would be craving for this one. But no, it is inexpensive and as previously stated, a very common fragrance back in the 1980's. Of course, rest assure, it is not your run-of-the-mill / metrosexual scent.

    There is bergamot in the top notes, but contrary to what was in style back in the 1990's, its presence is quite opaque. Thus, the basil and galbanum are very notorious. Rosewood works as an introductory note to the middle notes, where insence makes it debut. Yes, it is floral but the spicyness is what I enjoy the most, to some extent this mixture of floral and spicy notes has an analogous effect to that of a mint or menthol talcum powder. The overall feeling of the drydown is very good; even though I can't detect prominent woody accords, there are some analogous notes surrounded by a sweet context, later morphing into notes recalling hesperidic and aniseed accords.

    A "hate it or love it" scent. Try before buying.

    Edit: According to Fragantica, it was created by Roger Pellegrino, who also blended Armani Eau pour Homme and Rocha's Macassar. According to the country origins of reviewers, I can conclude it is a very popular global brand. As per Argentina, you can actually smell it on many men while in public venues. So, basically, this is a very successful global brand being marketed without massive advertising campaigns, the way most global brands are. I guess this is because of the blend's quality and its very convenient price.

    28 September, 2009 (Last Edited: 19 July, 2011)

    rating


    Jazz by Yves Saint Laurent

    Interesting how perceptions change along time: when I tried it for the first time I regarded it as common, both in terms of its structure as well as its popularity. Ninteen years afterwards it smelled to me as incredibly classic.

    The bergamot is prominent but it won't bother as it does in other scents launched at that time or later. This bergamot note is generally described as "green"; Jazz can't be descrbed as such, since its "greeness" is noticeable but not to such an extent as to make it redundant - which is not the case of popular scents during the 1990's.

    The most attractive notes are the spicy ones, dominating mid and base notes; here is when Jazz becomes a wonderful scent: the presence of cinnamon is quite obvious giving Jazz its classical character maybe due to the the way it combines with the geranium, the nutmeg and the carnation.

    There is a characteristic earth-like note in the drydown, maybe the moss; this makes way to the rest of the base notes, being amber and sandalwood the most noticeable ones, defining sweet notes.

    It does not only bring good memories, the scent is very attractive.

    19 September, 2009

    rating


    Bogart pour Homme by Jacques Bogart

    This is an interesting scent: it has verything it takes to be a horrid contemporary concoction, but I like it. It is too sweet, it is linear, it lacks originality and reeks of modernity, it can be cloying if applied liberaly, but the vanilla and the boozy kind of tobacco notes as well as its longevity make it a nice blend or at least, a mcuh better one than many.

    Suppose you are one of the many BNoters definetely convinced that vintage scents are much better that present time fragrances, give this along a try among the ones in its type, it might surprise you. It did in my case.

    09 September, 2009

    rating


    Skin Bracer by Mennen

    Yes, as many said, it evokes proletarian associations in its price, availabilty and the profile of its users. Or else, at its best, associations to loved or dead elders. Don't be brand - fooled, it is an amazing scent.

    First of all, it is a skin bracer. That means that when applying it, it will actually brace your skin due to the presence of mint or menthol; after all, we are not talking about metrosexual users demanding physical or emotional comfort from their their wrinkle-control and moistureizing creams. This is for machos with a good pair of cojones, not the devalued kind of men so utterly common nowadays, so the "Ouch, it hurts" upon application can be well answered to with a "I am a man... so I ave to stand this as one."

    Second of all, there are beautiful woody and spicy notes comming after the initial menthol / mint blast very much alike a diminished version of Ralph Lauren's Polo, this for just minutes; Skin Bracer has enormous sillage but its longevity is minimal, so you might as well play with it after showering or after shaving, and move on to you usual hour-long scent - BTW, Polo wouldn't be a bad choice, they match. There won't be a problem in this at all for they won't layer.

    And if you are among the ones that would love a Skin Bracer with better longevity, just decant it into a sprayer and apply a generous amount of it to your clothes. It will draw compliments.

    Take in mind that telling the truth won't work at all, for no one will believe you. So you can as well say it is a bespoke fragrance done by one of the world's best noses.

    07 September, 2009

    rating


    Wild Country by Avon

    A barbershop fragrance that, as many said, is along the line of classics: Dana's Canoe, a local drugstore scent called Grandal and YSL's Rive Gauche. Differences: Wild Country doesn't have Dana's Canoe sweet / caramel-like note in the top and mid notes, nor it shares Grandal's classic-cologne-like notes. The presence of musk is evident, but it is much aminorated by the presence of flowery top and mid notes and the amber / vanilla / moss in the base notes. It does not share at all YSL's Rive Gauche modernist style, because in the case of Wild Country, longevity and sillage are the right ones for a scent designed in the 1960's, while YSL's Rive Gauche could be described as very strong in both terms.

    Thus, it is not sweet, it is not "cologny", not ever-present, nor strong in terms of sillage, so we can conclude it is the right sort of barbershop scent. And, as in many of Avon's products, there is a whole range of toiletries sold under the brand.

    One more point to add in Wild Coutntry's favor - I layer it with a patchouly extract that improves its sillage and longevity in a remarkable way, bringing compliments from many.


    04 September, 2009

    rating


    Jovan Musk for Men by Jovan

    A less expensive version of Kiehl's Musk, sahring the presence of floral notes, thus making it (well, as a matter of fact, both) femenine.

    It is an excellent value for money provided carefulness upon application; otherwise, its true self might be revealed. Take in mind it will not not smell cheap if wisely applied.

    04 September, 2009 (Last Edited: 25 October, 2009)

    rating


    Black Suede by Avon

    I smelled this before was the first thing I noticed after trying it. On the way home I realized that it was, to my nose, close to Dunhill for Men, the one designed in 1934 according to BN's Fragrance Directory. And, a week after, to my surprise, I realized that it also shared notes in common with Versace L'Homme. These notes are many. They all open up with the same sort of top notes, a very strange "watery" feeling to the nose: take a room with walls full of mold but turn it into a nice, flowery, powdery smell. Of course, a very primitive blind test among relatives (wife and kids) proved that of these three, Dunhill was the better option, followed by Versace and Black Suede, mainly because of leather-type base notes so characteristic of Dunhill, which are completely absent in Black Suede.

    So, if you can't find Dunhill due to its discontinuation, and Versace proves hard to find because of its lack of market presence, you might as well resort to this one. Take the added benefit of its low price, the fact that there is an eau de cologne, shaving foam, after shaving balsam and deodorant sold under the same brand, so this actually means sillage and longevity are not a problem at all. Besides, if complimented about, you may surprise people either way, saying it is one of Avon's inexpensive fragrances, a rare option among Dunhill's line or a souvenir from the eighties, originally bought to be worn with a wide shoulder-padded coat.

    04 September, 2009

    rating


    Aqua pour Homme Marine by Bulgari

    How can I sense a feeling to my nose common to what I smell when in the seaside? I have to admit this is a statement of the obvious, "Marine" syas it all. However, the beautiful version of algae smell or whatever it is accompanied with strong, pungent citric notes, tangerine to my senses, that even though appealing at first, keeps on present as the scent evolves. This makes Bulgari Aqua Marine a linear scent that ends up being quite tiresome due to its persistency and sillage.

    I do not fancy aquatic scents, but I would make a disservice to this community if I don't try the original version, Aqua. After all, many state this is the best of its kind, so it must be tried.

    28 August, 2009

    rating


    Bergamotto Marino by Gianfranco Ferré

    Time ago, someone posted a thread asking if there was such thing as an eau de cologne with the strength of an eau de toilete. Answers, among them the one of a notorious BN specialized in the topic, resorted to a wide, screaming "no". I were among many others making the point that these eaux were to be dealt with the way they are; making them stronger would only spoil their character.

    When writing this I had in mind an eau de cologne made by a very traditional local perfume company, Lariviere, which in pre globalization times was in charge of importing and manufacturing scents for famous French perfume houses. Even though the proposal seemed interesting as per the top notes, the scent's development felt odd, to say the least. In this particular occasion, "syntehtic" came to mind - rather than a concept, a joker, for in an industry were blenders and designers have to resort to aromachemicals, the word "synthtetic" does not have any sense. Unnatural would be the right choice.

    Bergamotto Marino feels that way: a traditional eau de cologne in terms of its notes, with a strength that claims it to be what is not, an eau de toilette. Hesperidic notes common to all of the scents catalogued under this category are present in a very hard, pungent, public, sillage-friendly, non offending a-la- Jean-Marie-Farina-Extra Vielle way.

    Bergamottos complexity is interesting, these hesperidic notes (the bergamot and theorange bloosom?) makes way flowrey mid notes (jasmin, lily of the valley?), finally dying in the rest of the notes. There are marine notes lingering around in a very settling way, avoiding rejections, making its present the right sort of way along the top, middle and base notes.

    A nice summer scent, maybe not for purists, or maybe, for eau de cologne lovers interested in experimentg alternatives along the line.

    27 August, 2009

    rating


    Ferré for Him by Gianfranco Ferré

    I bought it because of the strong leather accord present in the top notes; add to this the floral notes and you've got a composition that is analogous to Dior Homme. It does share the same style in that it is sweet, to the point it could be worn by any woman. Differences lie in the fact that from the top notes on the blend settles into a very shy and subtle scent that can be smelt only by the wearer.

    It is a formal and a safe scent, I would say ideal for those working in offices of companies with some sort of scent policy, or those having to deal with people that could be offended by strong perfumes - something that, thank God, does not happen where I live.



    27 August, 2009 (Last Edited: 20th November, 2009)

    rating


    Spazio Krizia Uomo by Krizia

    Odyseusm states that "Spazio Krizia Uomo is a strange, sweet..." Yes, this is right: a green opening much in style of many scents launched at the time of its release, in line of classics I don't particularly cherish, like CK's Eternity and Platinum Egöiste.

    However, do not let these top notes baffle you, for they are just part of the opening; Spazio takes a complete different way in its mid and base notes. Thus, here is where comparissons to Moustache apply... sweet amberine/musky accords diverge it from its top notes, making Spazio a complex yet difficult to hold character. These mid and base notes could be described as "weak", they do not make a statement of any sort, it is a smell standing there waiting for the wearer to make a judgment but failing to do so. It does not bother nor it makes you feel comfortable. It would be similar to a very dim light trying to have some sort of presence but failing to do so.
    However, Spacio's longevity is strange too, for I can feel a mixture of sweet and green notes lingering after hours of application, as if top notes were re-released by some obscure mechanism.

    I would not say that this is worth having in any collection, and I am sure it won't be part of the fragrances I will be using frequently, but I can't deny it is a very curious blend, in this sense, worth studying.

    09 August, 2009

    rating


    Acteur by Azzaro

    A stronger, rounder, richer, more complete, fullfiling version of Roger & Gallet Pour L'Homme, which I guess might be due to the pressence of prominent indolic notes: whereas R&G pour L'Homme bergamot is circled by civet, in this case this can be one might as well think it could be the presence of musk and leather.

    Acteur is very strong, not only in its top notes, also in terms of sillage and longevity, much in an 1980's way.

    Unfortunately, it is very hard to find, at least on-line.

    09 August, 2009

    rating


    Gold Man by Amouage

    My first impression was to ask myself if this was a masculine scent. Then, I recalled the same feeling when smelling Chanel Nº 5. Afterwards, I thought about who might be the ones liking it. And after three months of considerations, I decided to give it a full trial.

    It felt uncomfortable at first, flowers and aldehydes made me feel as if I were wearing an "old ladies scent", and as a matter of fact, my wife told me it felt "old". But after minutes it proved a very nice scent, I enjoyed a lot the whiffs of musky and powdery notes. Thus, IMHO, it is to be worn with care, more than one spritz on the chest will probably make everybody around the wearer aware that he is using a strong scent, thus generating much attention.

    Include comments done by other reviewers so far and add the facts I described to its cost and the conclusion is obvious, Amouage Gold for Men is a "love it or hate it fragrance". In my case, I have the strong suspicion that Chanel Nº 5 delivers the same feeling that Amouage Gold for Men does, but I reserve these comments to the future for I have to test Chanel's most famous scent.

    07 August, 2009 (Last Edited: 26 October, 2009)

    rating


    Salvador Dali pour Homme by Salvador Dali

    It is very alike to Davidoff's Zino, a strong oriental and spicy fragrance with heavy tobacco notes. It has good sillage but por longevity, at least on my skin.

    It comes to my attention most reviewers describe it as "black". I don't know the reasons for this, but I asumme it must be the way the bottle is like.

    07 August, 2009

    rating


    Chanel Pour Monsieur Concentrée by Chanel

    For those looking for similarities between Chanel pour Monsieur Concentree (C) and Chanel pour Monsieur (ChPM), let me say they are very different.

    Both are leather chypres, ChPM is a sound creature of its times: gentler, subtler, I would even say denoting class because of an eau de cologne character that is absent from C - a common attribute in many men's fragrances before spicy / woody / animalic notes proper of women's scents were to be popularized among offerings targetted to the opposite sex; take, ie. Cabochard, 1959 and its male counterpart, Aramis, 1965, and compare it with Eau Sauvage, 1966.

    Thus, C is pungent, harder, still gentlemanly but not as classy as the original, something that does not affect it at all in terms of its attractiveness.

    Besides, Mr. Polge did a perfect job twice, on the shape of Chanel pour Monsieur Concentree and that of Tiffany for men. Both were launched in 1989, and both share many notes in common: unfortunately, I can not make a hand-in-hand comparisson, but judging from memory, I do not find many differences between both.

    18 July, 2009

    rating


    Ambar / Amber Eau de Cologne by Zara

    A classic amber scent on eau de cologne strength, sold at a very affordable price. Thus, sillage and longevity can be graduated upon by application.

    A good option in terms of value for money.

    16 July, 2009

    rating


    Vetiver Eau de Cologne by Zara

    A simple version of Vetiver compared to Guerlain's, as well as an excellent option given its price.

    It might also be an alternative to Vetiver by Adolfo Dominguez in terms of availabilty, given Zara's global presence. Take in mind Zara's and Dominguez' fragrances are manufactured by Antonio Puig, so this may explain analogies between these two.

    Top notes are dominated by the presence of hesperidic (citric) notes, namely neroli (top note) and bergamot (mid note). Now, the vetiver is rooty and dry, giving it a powdery feeling.

    As in the rest of the line, longevity and sillage are those of an eau de cologne (limited), but these can be graduated by application.

    In the case of Antonio Dominguez' Vetiver, the structure is somohew similar to Zara's, but hesperidic notes are not so evident, though. It does have more longevity an sillage, as correspoding to an Eau de Toilette.

    16 July, 2009

    rating


    Léonard pour Homme (original) by Léonard

    A misleading opening that makes you think what it finally is not: a sillage / longevity beast much akin to Van Cleef & Arpels pour homme (VC&A) or any of the leather scents in use during the 1950's.

    Leonard pour Homme is, thus, a baffling individual. It makes a grand debut but he does not keep up to this initial appereance. Maybe pressed by the fashion of the times it was launched, the presence of flowers and leather makes you think he must be a relative to VC&ApH.

    But it looks like he could not keep on with this farce, so he gets rid of these frills and settles into very subtle, delicate floral notes, in such a traditional way it makes one recall so called "gentlemany scents". Wearing this makes you think he did not feel comfortable with fashion at all.

    16 July, 2009

    rating


    Sandalo / Sandalwood Eau de Cologne by Zara

    An acquatic sandalwood scent.

    I am not fond of the first ones, but the sandalwood complements this quite satisfactorily. Sándalo has good longevity but very poor sillage, this meaning base notes won't make you smell like most.

    A good vale-for-money option for those sandalwood and mainstream fragrance style lovers.

    11th July, 2009 (Last Edited: 16 July, 2009)

    rating


    Ô pour Homme by Lancôme

    Green means, in this case, a sharp, pungent, aggresive feeling to the nose. It shares much of the same character of scents launched in the 1990's and easily found everywhere. Reviewers mention ginger, I can get bergamot on a very linear, straightforward way. I expected the drydown imporving it, and it does after one or two hours.

    Get the traditional Ô, which is better blended. Subtler and fresher, in no way less masculine due to this.

    09 July, 2009

    rating


    Homme de Grès by Grès

    A classic chypre, so classic that, as mentioned before, it gets one attention as to the year it was launched. As an analogy, think of it as being of the type of Chanel pour Monsieur due to its subtlety and charm.

    Homme de Grès takes hesperidic - "lemons" - notes and keep Cabochard's base notes - leather. Thus, comparissons to Halston Z-14 are somehow valid due to the fact that Z-14 is a chypre, but while Halston has presence, Homme de Grès does not: it is the type of fragrance that won't get noticed by others, this meaning sillage is limited, a very valid attribute for those that still think that a man can only wear perfumes precluding this, even more so on social occasions.

    A classic choice indeed, unfortunately discontinued, to no surprise. After all, Homme de Grès ' character is at odds with contemporary fragrance styles, specially when it comes to the fact that getting noticed seems to be the ruler rather than the exception.

    Edit (september 2009): Lancôme's Trophée and Ô (1969) are very similar in character. So if, by chance, you regret Homme de Gres being discontinued, you might as weel try these two, or just choose Ô, since Trophée, even though in production, is difficult to get.

    07 July, 2009 (Last Edited: 18 October, 2009)

    rating


    Mediterráneo by Antonio Banderas


    A good option for a low / mid priced fragrance.

    You might regard this as a contemporary interpretation of citric scents, in that its top notes are acquatic, making of MbyAB a fairly common, far from original, fragrance. On some occasions I can perceive the presence of vetiver, while base notes are quite traditonal though, reminding me of such classics like Signoricci 2.

    One more thing that comes to mind is the fact that sillage and longevity are not in line with those one finds in low / mid priced scents, making out of this option a good value for money in the case you are looking for attributes most people identify with quality scents.

    28 June, 2009

    rating


    Polo Modern Reserve by Ralph Lauren

    It is almost like Polo Crest with some notes of the original Polo. So I guess it will be quite welcomed by lovers of the now defunct Polo Crest. As for me, I appreciate the fact that is not, at all, in line with modern or present templates, which in the times being, is surprising.

    01st June, 2009

    rating


    Kenzo Power by Kenzo

    A spicier take of Dior Homme with a prominent iris - like drydown, maybe Olivier Polge's signature? Feels too contemporary in its femenine character.

    01st June, 2009

    rating


    Heno de Pravia by Gal

    A classic, inexpensive Spanish eau de cologne easily available in its country if origin as well as in many Latin American countries, made by Gal, a subsidary of Antonio Puig. The line is complemented with a stronger eau de cologne, soap, deodorant and talcum powder.

    I am resorting to notes I know of and I can easily perceive.

    Initial notes are hesperidic-like, their main characteristic being that they are kind of sparkling. As it develops, it settles down to notes similar to the ones found in woody scents, later changing to a mixture of green -amberine notes.

    As in all eaux de colognes, longevity and sillage are limited, but sometimes - I can not recall when or why, if it is because of weather conditions, accidental layering or foods eaten - I feel a very unique beeswax drydown lasting a very acceptable time.

    Edit, Aug. 2009: the "stronger eau de cologne" is not sold anymore, it has been replaced by a flanker named "Agua de Pravia 1905",

    In the original article I wrote in the second paragraph:

    "In Spanish, "heno" means fern, "fougere" in French In Spanish, so I wonder if this is what the original fougere smelt like. Since I can't tell if this is so,".

    The translation of the word "heno" was wrong since "heno" means "hay", so I decide to cut out this passage.

    Thank you fellow BNoter for letting me aware of this mistake!

    17 April, 2009 (Last Edited: 23 August, 2009)

    rating


    Catalyst for Men by Halston

    Tried it from an old bottle; it has not been imported in the last ten years. Thus, my opinions must be taken with caution.

    In my case, the "spicey" description most reviewers mention was limited to a very marked bergamot note that reminded me of Calvin Klein's Eternity, thus I am tempted to say that it might be Halston's version of Calvin Klein's classic 1990's scent.

    It might be a good choice if you are fond of a spicy bergamot notes.

    17 April, 2009

    Showing 61 to 90 of 98.