Reviews by the_tourist

    the_tourist's avatar
    the_tourist
    United States United States

    Showing 1 to 9 of 9.
    rating


    Serge Noire by Serge Lutens Les Salons du Palais Royal Shiseido

    The scent of a deranged Cinnabon employee who chain-smokes clove cigarettes...abrasively dry and discordant.

    01st September, 2010

    rating


    Chez Bond by Bond No. 9

    Imagine GIT without the bite of green at the top, and its iris note replaced by a syrupy-sweet synthetic one... yick. Further proof that some imitation is neither sincere nor flattering.

    24 May, 2010

    rating


    French Lover / Bois d'Orage by Editions de Parfums Frederic Malle

    As I read through the thumbs-up reviews here, I feel as though I'm reviewing a completely different fragrance (mine is an official sample from Barney's in Chicago, just for the record). I get the bitter citrus of Terre d'Hermes atop a horrific fecal/skin/musk accord... no incense, no woods. The only "French lover" here is an unwashed whore in a 19th-century Parisian brothel.

    28 October, 2009

    rating


    Original Vetiver by Creed

    The comparison to Mugler's Cologne seems unavoidable. However I find Creed's Original Vetiver to be much creamier (prominence of sandalwood), and less sharp/citrusy than the Mugler.

    18 October, 2009

    rating


    Dirty English by Juicy Couture

    Complex and intoxicating, this is reminiscent of the smell that lingers on your clothes after an evening spent in front of a campfire. The sweet mandarin is present at the beginning, but not at all overbearing, and blends well with the warm spice and woods. Unfortunately I can only smell DE on my skin for the first 30-45 minutes before I become anosmic to it (I have the same problem with other frags containing high amounts of Iso E Super), but others can smell it on my skin and clothes hours later. Two thumbs way up...

    30th September, 2009

    rating


    Cyprès-Musc by Creed

    Short-lived, astringent lemon and pine give way to luxurious urinal cakes. Maybe I'm just not getting the era from which this originates, but this was a total scrubber on my skin.

    30th September, 2009

    rating


    Bois du Portugal by Creed

    Urinal cakes and Frank Sinatra's ashtray. Blech.

    15 August, 2009

    rating


    Méchant Loup by L'Artisan Parfumeur

    When I was four or five years old, I raided my grandmother's spice rack and poured the contents of various bottles into a saucepan. This is what it smelled like.

    21st January, 2009

    rating


    Infusion d'Homme by Prada

    I really tried to find something redeeming in this fragrance, especially after being so intrigued and impressed by "Amber". Unfortunately all I get with "Infusion" is a fizzy mix of Cherry Coke (neroli + "clean notes" morph into this, I guess) and iris-scented hand soap. On my skin, the fizz dissipated after about 30 minutes and I was left with heavy, heady iris. It just seemed more suited to a middle aged woman than any construct of masculinity that I can imagine. I would've given this a neutral rating on the basis of complexity or development, but it's just not there.

    04 October, 2008

    Showing 1 to 9 of 9.




Loving perfume on the Internet since 2000