Reviews by kewart

    kewart's avatar
    kewart
    United Kingdom United Kingdom

    Showing 1 to 30 of 93.
    rating


    Y by Yves Saint Laurent

    I have a bottle of vintage "Y" and find it one of the most versatile scents
    in my collection. It has my name written all over it - a shape-shifting beauty
    with gorgeous top notes and a subtle, mossy, powdery dry down, that lingers for
    hours. "Y" is a well-behaved, elegant perfume that everyone should sniff at least
    once. If she doesn't suit you, send her to me!

    13 December, 2013

    rating


    Armand Basi Lovely Blossom by Armand Basi

    Light, summery, pretty fragrance.

    Lovely Blossom is a pink juice, presented in a very pretty bottle, that looks

    great on a dressing table. I find it very easy to wear, if a little "safe!" It doesn't

    draw attention to itself but is nonetheless a nice fruity, jasmine scent that would

    be hard to dislike. Fruits include plums and apricots. Other notes include jasmine and

    heliotrope.

    Pros: Easy to wear and not expensive. Nose is Francis Kurkdjian.
    Cons: A little "safe" with only average longevity.

    29 May, 2013

    rating


    Gold by Donna Karan

    Gold is a scent I only wear on those "big" occasions when I want to stand up and be counted! This is no "shrinking violet" scent, or a perfume for a stick-thin adolescent -
    oh no!
    Donna Karan's homage to her favourite precious metal is a voluptuous, creamy, salty full-blown masterpiece that requires a certain panache to carry it off.
    It is about Casablanca lilies tempered with amber and pollen with a hint of spices and patchouli. I love it and am in awe of it at the same time.

    31st March, 2013

    rating


    Thé des Vignes by Caudalíe

    This is more of a therapeutic skin scent than a real perfume.
    It seems pleasant enough - I get ginger and orange blossom then a light
    musk - but it isn't very noticeable unless you are very near someone.
    It does smell quite refined, clean and French, however.
    A good scent for the office if you don't want to cause any offence.

    22 January, 2013

    rating


    Noa by Cacharel

    Noa is a "transformer!" The start is rather generic and, dare I say it, a little
    boring. But wait - it blossoms on the skin and morphs into a soft, nuzzly,
    addictive little gem. I too have skin that turns it slightly coconutty and the combination
    with the coffee not is truly scrumptious.

    Olivier Cresp was the perfumer and he got it so right. Why this isn't flying off the shelves
    I have no idea..... Maybe it's inoffensive charm doesn't cut the mustard in these go-getting times.

    I see this as a lazy Sunday morning scent. THe roast is cooking in the oven, the papers have been collected and it's coffee time.

    22 June, 2011

    rating


    Douceur de Vanille by Les Néréides

    I find this scent to be both comforting and alluring.
    It makes the wearer seem approachable.

    07 June, 2011

    rating


    Douce Amère by Serge Lutens Les Salons du Palais Royal Shiseido

    I only have a small sample of Douce Amere, but that is enough for me to say that this is a scent I would swim oceans to procure.

    It is highly addictive and totally delicious - if only it weren't so expensive!

    I love the combination of the anise and wormwood, softened by the flowers and chocolate notes - right up my street. Bittter-sweet is where it's at.

    This and Le Parfum De Therese are the nearest I have come to my Holy Grail and I have sniffed thousands of scents in that quest, believe me.

    11th March, 2011

    rating


    Visa by Robert Piguet

    You've all seen a cat rolling around in ecstasy in a patch of catmint (nepeta) with
    a glazed expression on it's face and body all a twitching - well that's me when I spray on
    the 2007 Visa! I won't even begin to describe this scent except to say "SWOON!"
    Definitely does it for me....

    20th February, 2011

    rating


    Premier Figuier by L'Artisan Parfumeur

    This scent actually lasts quite a long time on my skin! I find it strangely appealing and especially appreciate the drydown.

    I love the smell of figs and detect an almond note in here somewhere (or maybe its the coconut.)

    Anyway, I would wear this in the summer months with pleasure and feel it is a beautifully constructed scent with quality ingredients.

    23 June, 2010

    rating


    Ferré by Gianfranco Ferré

    This is a totally gorgeous scent!
    I adore this way it uses iris as the main player -
    utilising the roots, leaves and flowers to make sure
    it is not overlooked! I feel so pampered and confident
    when I wear this gem by Pierre Boudon.

    13 June, 2010

    rating


    Cuir Beluga by Guerlain

    Pure class and olfactory heaven!
    This is a masterclass in perfumery and so expensive I
    only have a small sample, which I shall attempt to make
    last for as long as I can.
    Cashmery,snuggly, sensuous and so much more.
    When I win the lottery, this will be top of my wishlist.

    10th June, 2010

    rating


    Noir de Noir by Tom Ford

    I tried this in Neiman Markus whilst on holiday in San Francisco
    I was immediately taken in by Noir de Noir's mesmerising notes.
    This is a very slick, up-market scent that smells as expensive as it
    is! I can't afford a full bottle yet, but wouldn't mind another testing!!
    I love my scents on the dry side and this one definitely is.

    28 May, 2010

    rating


    Dream Angels Heavenly by Victoria's Secret

    I bought a bottle of this whilst on a visit to California,
    simply because we don't have a VS shop over here and this is
    the scent I liked most in the shop. It''s not a great work of art
    but it is easy on the nose and reminds me of my holiday in San
    Francisco.

    24 May, 2010

    rating


    Armani Attitude by Giorgio Armani

    I love to smell this on my husband. It is a warm, spicy, gourmandy scent that
    is great to snuggle up to. Very well-blended and all the notes seem to mesh.
    I actually rather like the bottle!

    01st May, 2010

    rating


    Youth Dew Amber Nude by Estée Lauder

    I ordered a 30ml EDP of this Tom Ford version of the original Youth Dew.
    It kind of reminds me of Cinnabar and is a warm, ambery retro scent. The first
    10 minutes are almost too powerful and slighty musty, then the heart notes
    kick in an d it becomes more luminous.However,I like the drydown best of all:
    very sensuous and inviting. I find this smells best if applyed lightly to the crooks
    of my arms - not sure why!

    13 April, 2010

    rating


    Un Jour Se Lève by Yves Rocher

    Beautiful top notes of Rhubarb (yes you read that correctly!) and Lily of the Valley.
    This scent is a hymn to joy and cannot fail to make the wearer feel uplifted.

    07 February, 2010

    rating


    Hypnotic Poison by Christian Dior

    I only discovered this recently and it is the elixir version that I am referring to.
    Very addictive, heady, gourmand/woodsy scent that suits winter evening time
    wear. Almonds and vanilla dominate but not in a cloying way. Excellent sillage and
    lasting power.
    Love this new discovery by the perfumer Annick Menardo, who seems to have struck gold
    with this version from the Dior Poison stable.

    17 December, 2009 (Last Edited: 14 March, 2010)

    rating


    October by Neil Morris Fragrances

    This perfume deserves the first prize for the"Autumn in a bottle contest!"
    When you look at the notes it's easy to see why. Who could resist
    caramelised apples, pine, pumkin, bitter orange, cinnamon and the combined
    richness of frankincense and myrrh? Not me, that's for sure. These notes have been
    the backdrop to this cool, October day and have accompanied me like a comfort blanket,
    as I go about my daily life. I feel sure this scent is going to become very special to me.

    17 October, 2009

    rating


    A Scent by Issey Miyake

    I liked this on initial application - clean, minimalist and heavy on the verbena.
    The galbanum note is the star in this reasonably-priced, well-behaved,somewhat
    innocuous and yet strangely appealing, soapy scent. Wear it when you want to
    blend in rather than draw attention.

    13 September, 2009 (Last Edited: 17 September, 2009)

    rating


    Escale à Portofino by Christian Dior

    This is an awesome summer fragrance from the house of Dior.
    It is like diving into a pool of cool, blue water and emerging feeling
    revived and fresh. I love the interplay of citrus notes with the almond
    in this very well-crafted beauty. Did I mention the bottle was
    gorgeous too?

    16 April, 2009

    rating


    Omnia by Bulgari

    I wear this scent a lot. It is incredibly versatile and easy to love.
    I consider it my "go to" fragrance of choice. The notes combine in
    the most delicious way and I get lots of compliments when I wear it.

    20th January, 2009

    rating


    Après L'ondée by Guerlain

    Wonderful, wonderful scent. Like an impressionist painting of a country landscape after a shower.
    It is luminous and poignant, soft and memorable. I normally like rich, ambery perfumes but this is
    like a breath of fresh air and surprisingly modern, despite it's age. Can't believe anyone wouldn't fall
    in love with this!

    16 January, 2009

    rating


    Colonia Santa Maria Novella by Santa Maria Novella

    This has to be the most gorgeous way to wake up in the morning!
    A really classy edc with loads of personality. Neroli, citrus top notes
    and a beautiful spicyness in the drydown. This is as good as an eau de
    cologne gets and this one lasts longer than most.
    It was originally created for Catherine de Medici who went to France to
    marry Henry II and took her own personal perfumer with her.
    All I can say is the man was a genius! I want to bathe in this.

    11th December, 2008

    rating


    Daim Blond by Serge Lutens Les Salons du Palais Royal Shiseido

    This is an exquisite fragrance! I adore the smell of leather, iris and heliotrope, so this was
    always going to get me interested. Daim Blond is soft, buttery, sensual and SMOOTH. Not a sillage monster
    in any way - just subtle and quietly beautiful.

    09 December, 2008

    rating


    New York Nights by Girard

    This is quite a nice evening fragrance that reminds me of Samsara and Armani Code combined.
    It has a complex fruity/floral heart and the drydown is quite attractive too.
    Not earth-shattering, just inexpensive and wearable.

    17 November, 2008

    rating


    Freesia by Crabtree & Evelyn

    Fresh, pretty and floral! Simplicity and sillage all in one.

    10th November, 2008

    rating


    Eau Ressourçante / Eau Tranquility by Clarins

    Love this soft, relaxing scent. It's great for those days when a heavier scent would
    be too much e.g. when you are feeling worse for waer or have a headache threatening.
    It contains cedarwood, benzoin and iris along with several non-fragrant plants (which seems rather odd!!)
    I get a fresh opening and a lovely musky drydown.

    18 October, 2008

    rating


    Love in Black by Creed

    I received a sample of this free with another order and couldn't wait to try it.
    Well to say I was underwhelmed is an understatement!
    I couldn't find anything about it I liked. It's dark, creepy and not a little "goth"-like.
    Morticia Addams could carry this one off, but I certainly can't.

    16 October, 2008

    rating


    Hiroko Koshino by Hiroko Koshino

    This is a very pretty scent and I love the wonderful combination of notes.
    Not very noticeable or long-lasting, but great for those days when you
    don't want to over-power anyone, just to simply please.

    23 September, 2008

    rating


    L'Aimant by Coty

    My Aunt has worn this scent for years, so I thought iId try it on my skin.
    I bought the pink, cream version, which you apply with a little applicator.
    What I mostly get is powdery florals (rose and jasmine0 ans a nice woody
    drydown. Inexpensive and perfect for special nights out.

    05 August, 2008

    Showing 1 to 30 of 93.