Perfume Reviews

Reviews by kewart

Advertisement
kewart Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Séville à l'Aube by L'Artisan Parfumeur

Seville a l'Aube is a stunningly beautiful fragrance that is both uplifting and sensuous. It actually gives me goosebumps when I put it on!

I have worn this in the summer months but may well continue into autumn with it as well. The main notes my skin bring out are orange blossom, honey and lavender. I must smell like a bee magnet.

Duchaufour has created another little gem. It lasts well and sillage is good.
04th September, 2015
kewart Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Classic Sanctuary by The Sanctuary

I find this scent very suitable for a relaxing day at home. It feels therapeutic and relaxing but could be worn in the evening too, as it is subtly sensuous.
The overall feel is of a citrus, slightly spicy floral oriental and my only issue is the lasting power, which on me is minimal (2 hours tops!)
24th July, 2015
kewart Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Eau de Rochas by Rochas

There's something about this wonderful scent that makes me want to wear a floaty, diaphanous dress and sit by a pool sipping a cocktail. It perks me up and relaxes me at the same time with its beautiful blend of lime, grapefruit, lemon, carnation, coriander a smidgen of patchouli, oakmoss, musk and sandalwood.

I really can't imagine a more suitable concoction to spritz on when the heat is on and the days are long.
As it melds with my skin it becomes very sensuous and could easily be unisex in the way the Eau Sauvage became in the 70's.

French chic at its very best!
30th June, 2015
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

kewart Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Armani Privé Figuier Eden by Giorgio Armani

I am attracted to fig like a magnet so I had to test this one! I am wearing it on a cool wet day in June and it perfectly matches the mood of the weather - dry, unripe fig with citrus/peppery notes and a subtle underpinning of powdery iris.

This is an extremely elegant edt, which could be worn by a man or a woman. It has great longevity but not such strong sillage. I shall be wearing it for summer weddings and for work. It won't offend anyone and may just charm them!
02nd June, 2015
kewart Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Nohiba by E.Coudray

Oh dear, such luke-warm reviews so far!

This beauty is my "go to" fall/winter scent and I
love it to bits. It is strong, powdery, spicy oriental
which Opium must have drawn inspiration from.
This will keep you warm and interesting on a cold,
winter's night and entrance anyone who comes within
your proximity.
11th October, 2014
kewart Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Y by Yves Saint Laurent

I have a bottle of vintage "Y" and find it one of the most versatile scents
in my collection. It has my name written all over it - a shape-shifting beauty
with gorgeous top notes and a subtle, mossy, powdery dry down, that lingers for
hours. "Y" is a well-behaved, elegant perfume that everyone should sniff at least
once. If she doesn't suit you, send her to me!
13th December, 2013
kewart Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Armand Basi Lovely Blossom by Armand Basi

Light, summery, pretty fragrance.

Lovely Blossom is a pink juice, presented in a very pretty bottle, that looks

great on a dressing table. I find it very easy to wear, if a little "safe!" It doesn't

draw attention to itself but is nonetheless a nice fruity, jasmine scent that would

be hard to dislike. Fruits include plums and apricots. Other notes include jasmine and

heliotrope.

Pros: Easy to wear and not expensive. Nose is Francis Kurkdjian.
Cons: A little "safe" with only average longevity.

29th May, 2013
kewart Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Donna Karan Gold by Donna Karan

Gold is a scent I only wear on those "big" occasions when I want to stand up and be counted! This is no "shrinking violet" scent, or a perfume for a stick-thin adolescent -
oh no!
Donna Karan's homage to her favourite precious metal is a voluptuous, creamy, salty full-blown masterpiece that requires a certain panache to carry it off.
It is about Casablanca lilies tempered with amber and pollen with a hint of spices and patchouli. I love it and am in awe of it at the same time.
31st March, 2013
kewart Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Thé des Vignes by Caudalíe

This is more of a therapeutic skin scent than a real perfume.
It seems pleasant enough - I get ginger and orange blossom then a light
musk - but it isn't very noticeable unless you are very near someone.
It does smell quite refined, clean and French, however.
A good scent for the office if you don't want to cause any offence.
22nd January, 2013
kewart Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Noa by Cacharel

Noa is a "transformer!" The start is rather generic and, dare I say it, a little
boring. But wait - it blossoms on the skin and morphs into a soft, nuzzly,
addictive little gem. I too have skin that turns it slightly coconutty and the combination
with the coffee not is truly scrumptious.

Olivier Cresp was the perfumer and he got it so right. Why this isn't flying off the shelves
I have no idea..... Maybe it's inoffensive charm doesn't cut the mustard in these go-getting times.

I see this as a lazy Sunday morning scent. THe roast is cooking in the oven, the papers have been collected and it's coffee time.
22nd June, 2011
kewart Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Douceur de Vanille by Les Néréides

I find this scent to be both comforting and alluring.
It makes the wearer seem approachable.
07th June, 2011
kewart Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Douce Amère by Serge Lutens Les Salons du Palais Royal Shiseido

I only have a small sample of Douce Amere, but that is enough for me to say that this is a scent I would swim oceans to procure.

It is highly addictive and totally delicious - if only it weren't so expensive!

I love the combination of the anise and wormwood, softened by the flowers and chocolate notes - right up my street. Bittter-sweet is where it's at.

This and Le Parfum De Therese are the nearest I have come to my Holy Grail and I have sniffed thousands of scents in that quest, believe me.
11th March, 2011
kewart Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Visa by Robert Piguet

You've all seen a cat rolling around in ecstasy in a patch of catmint (nepeta) with
a glazed expression on it's face and body all a twitching - well that's me when I spray on
the 2007 Visa! I won't even begin to describe this scent except to say "SWOON!"
Definitely does it for me....
20th February, 2011
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

kewart Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Premier Figuier by L'Artisan Parfumeur

This scent actually lasts quite a long time on my skin! I find it strangely appealing and especially appreciate the drydown.

I love the smell of figs and detect an almond note in here somewhere (or maybe its the coconut.)

Anyway, I would wear this in the summer months with pleasure and feel it is a beautifully constructed scent with quality ingredients.
23rd June, 2010
kewart Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Ferré by Gianfranco Ferré

This is a totally gorgeous scent!
I adore this way it uses iris as the main player -
utilising the roots, leaves and flowers to make sure
it is not overlooked! I feel so pampered and confident
when I wear this gem by Pierre Boudon.
13th June, 2010
kewart Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Cuir Beluga by Guerlain

Pure class and olfactory heaven!
This is a masterclass in perfumery and so expensive I
only have a small sample, which I shall attempt to make
last for as long as I can.
Cashmery,snuggly, sensuous and so much more.
When I win the lottery, this will be top of my wishlist.
10th June, 2010
kewart Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Noir de Noir by Tom Ford

I tried this in Neiman Markus whilst on holiday in San Francisco
I was immediately taken in by Noir de Noir's mesmerising notes.
This is a very slick, up-market scent that smells as expensive as it
is! I can't afford a full bottle yet, but wouldn't mind another testing!!
I love my scents on the dry side and this one definitely is.
28th May, 2010
kewart Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Dream Angels Heavenly by Victoria's Secret

I bought a bottle of this whilst on a visit to California,
simply because we don't have a VS shop over here and this is
the scent I liked most in the shop. It''s not a great work of art
but it is easy on the nose and reminds me of my holiday in San
Francisco.
24th May, 2010
kewart Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Armani Attitude by Giorgio Armani

I love to smell this on my husband. It is a warm, spicy, gourmandy scent that
is great to snuggle up to. Very well-blended and all the notes seem to mesh.
I actually rather like the bottle!
01st May, 2010
kewart Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Youth Dew Amber Nude by Estée Lauder

I ordered a 30ml EDP of this Tom Ford version of the original Youth Dew.
It kind of reminds me of Cinnabar and is a warm, ambery retro scent. The first
10 minutes are almost too powerful and slighty musty, then the heart notes
kick in an d it becomes more luminous.However,I like the drydown best of all:
very sensuous and inviting. I find this smells best if applyed lightly to the crooks
of my arms - not sure why!
13th April, 2010
kewart Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Un Jour Se Lève by Yves Rocher

Beautiful top notes of Rhubarb (yes you read that correctly!) and Lily of the Valley.
This scent is a hymn to joy and cannot fail to make the wearer feel uplifted.
07th February, 2010
kewart Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Hypnotic Poison by Christian Dior

I only discovered this recently and it is the elixir version that I am referring to.
Very addictive, heady, gourmand/woodsy scent that suits winter evening time
wear. Almonds and vanilla dominate but not in a cloying way. Excellent sillage and
lasting power.
Love this new discovery by the perfumer Annick Menardo, who seems to have struck gold
with this version from the Dior Poison stable.
17th December, 2009 (last edited: 14th March, 2010)
kewart Show all reviews
United Kingdom

October by Neil Morris Fragrances

This perfume deserves the first prize for the"Autumn in a bottle contest!"
When you look at the notes it's easy to see why. Who could resist
caramelised apples, pine, pumkin, bitter orange, cinnamon and the combined
richness of frankincense and myrrh? Not me, that's for sure. These notes have been
the backdrop to this cool, October day and have accompanied me like a comfort blanket,
as I go about my daily life. I feel sure this scent is going to become very special to me.
17th October, 2009
kewart Show all reviews
United Kingdom

A Scent by Issey Miyake

I liked this on initial application - clean, minimalist and heavy on the verbena.
The galbanum note is the star in this reasonably-priced, well-behaved,somewhat
innocuous and yet strangely appealing, soapy scent. Wear it when you want to
blend in rather than draw attention.
13th September, 2009 (last edited: 17th September, 2009)
kewart Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Escale à Portofino by Christian Dior

This is an awesome summer fragrance from the house of Dior.
It is like diving into a pool of cool, blue water and emerging feeling
revived and fresh. I love the interplay of citrus notes with the almond
in this very well-crafted beauty. Did I mention the bottle was
gorgeous too?
16th April, 2009
kewart Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Omnia by Bulgari

I wear this scent a lot. It is incredibly versatile and easy to love.
I consider it my "go to" fragrance of choice. The notes combine in
the most delicious way and I get lots of compliments when I wear it.
20th January, 2009
kewart Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Après L'ondée by Guerlain

Wonderful, wonderful scent. Like an impressionist painting of a country landscape after a shower.
It is luminous and poignant, soft and memorable. I normally like rich, ambery perfumes but this is
like a breath of fresh air and surprisingly modern, despite it's age. Can't believe anyone wouldn't fall
in love with this!
16th January, 2009
kewart Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Colonia Santa Maria Novella by Santa Maria Novella

This has to be the most gorgeous way to wake up in the morning!
A really classy edc with loads of personality. Neroli, citrus top notes
and a beautiful spicyness in the drydown. This is as good as an eau de
cologne gets and this one lasts longer than most.
It was originally created for Catherine de Medici who went to France to
marry Henry II and took her own personal perfumer with her.
All I can say is the man was a genius! I want to bathe in this.
11th December, 2008
kewart Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Daim Blond by Serge Lutens Les Salons du Palais Royal Shiseido

This is an exquisite fragrance! I adore the smell of leather, iris and heliotrope, so this was
always going to get me interested. Daim Blond is soft, buttery, sensual and SMOOTH. Not a sillage monster
in any way - just subtle and quietly beautiful.
09th December, 2008
kewart Show all reviews
United Kingdom

New York Nights by Girard

This is quite a nice evening fragrance that reminds me of Samsara and Armani Code combined.
It has a complex fruity/floral heart and the drydown is quite attractive too.
Not earth-shattering, just inexpensive and wearable.
17th November, 2008